Customer Reviews for KERSHAW Kershaw® RJ I Knife

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

KERSHAW Kershaw® RJ I Knife

Its thick, flat-ground tanto tip delivers the piercing strength needed for your toughest jobs. The partially serrated blade is built of 8Cr13MoV stainless steel for supreme strength and practicality. The SpeedSafe® assisted opening and thumb stud deliver quick and easy openings. Designed by RJ Martin, the RJ I boasts machined G-10 handles and a stainless steel liner lock. Pocket clip included. Blade length: 3-1/2". Overall length: 8-1/2". Closed length: 4-5/8". Weight: 4.4 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kershaw® RJ I Knife
Review 1 for Kershaw® RJ I Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good buy

Date:February 26, 2013
enjoy the knife
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kershaw® RJ I Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knife

Date:January 22, 2013
For the money, it is a excellent knife. Quick action and sharp edge. Deep carry clip and sturdy construction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kershaw® RJ I Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

expectations

Date:January 22, 2013
When purchasing a knife,the general use of the item should be considered. I was looking for a knife equal to,or similar, to a sheath knife.It is difficult to carry a sheath knife in public,but through out the day you might be in and out of the public in your activity.I needed a knife that I could have available at all times,capable of doing heavy cut chores.
The Kershaw RJ1knife satisfied my needs.It clips easily in the pocket. I found It sharpens easily with a diamond sharpener.Holds a fine edge,even doing heavy duty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kershaw® RJ I Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knife for a leftie!

Date:January 15, 2013
Easy open for a leftie, belt clip is easily switched, very easy to open and super sharp.. Great knife for a great price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kershaw® RJ I Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just might be the perfect EDC knife under $50.

Date:January 3, 2013
I've had mixed results with previous assisted-opening knives, either because the opening mechanism wasn't reliable or because the overall design wasn't actually practical. This is my favorite Kerhaw "SpeedSafe" model for a number of reasons, with smooth, consistent opening via the "flipper" and a comfortable grip being at the top of the list. Kershaw has a lot of eye-catching designs that I don't find very comfortable or very useful in most situations, but the RJI is the right size and shape for everything from routine cutting duties to self-defense. I liked the first so much that I bought another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kershaw® RJ I Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kershaw RJ 1: excellent price, excellent product.

Date:November 28, 2012
A co-worker of mine owns this knife, so I had some hands-on experience with it before I decided to order it. There are a few features that really impressed me.
1: Price, its a great, well made knife for the price.
2: Build quality - It just feels tough...very solid in the hand.
3: Reinforced "Tanto" style blade. The blade is a uniform thickness until about 1/4" from the tip, the blade is quite thick also.
4: Sharpness(!!!) the blade is extremely sharp and holds an edge unlike any other knife I've seen due to the special hardened steel.
5: Speedsafe assist mechanism. The blade has the typical large "flipper" for easy opening.It also has dual tumbstuds, but they are more difficult to use than the flipper
6: Appearance: the entire knife has a great black stealthy look to it. Very aggressive.
The only downsides I have noticed are that the belt clip is somewhat small, the tumbstuds are basically useless, and the fact that you need a special sharpening stone to sharpen the blade. (due to the hardened steel) Other than that, its a fantastic knife for the price!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kershaw® RJ I Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent knife

Date:November 27, 2012
Very satisfied with this knife, good quality for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kershaw® RJ I Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:February 19, 2013
There was a question about the blade being serrated or plain edged. Q & A on the site stated that even though a plain edge was pictured the actual product was partially serrated. To my surprise and delight when I recieved mine it was the plain edge which I prefer.
I would have given it 5 stars except for the fact that the pocket clip is extremely tight and difficult to push over the sewn edge of a pants pocket. It requires a two handed method of clipping it to your pocket or bending of the clip to relieve some of the excess pressure.
The action is quick, easy and secure. One handed operation is no problem. The liner lock works well but could be extended out of the frame just a little bit more to make it just a tad easier to manipulate.
Very happy with my purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.