Customer Reviews for ZIPPO Zippo® Handwarmer

ZIPPO Zippo® Handwarmer

Wrap cold hands around a sleek, thin handwarmer perfect for keeping in your pocket on brisk days. Stays warm for up to 12 hours when used with Zippo premium lighter fluid. Comes with a filler cup and warming bag. Dimensions: 3.75"H x 2.75"W 0.25"D. Color: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.794 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
26 out of 34(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zippo® Handwarmer
Review 1 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'm glad I bought this..(TWSS)

Date:December 15, 2014
After reading the many reviews, I was actually a little afraid to purchase this. However, after reading & following the directions exactly. It works perfectly! Imagine that. The metal can get hot, so just keep it in the bag. I put a little bit of fluid in it, and it stayed warm for 3 hours. This is an excellent product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hot hands

Date:December 8, 2014
I bought this product last year. At first I had trouble getting them to work. I have some old one's from my grandfather and they work great so I knew how these should work. Not many parts. Finally figured it out. Its the catalyst element. Its too flat. That left a void in the middle so it couldn't hold the ignition "like a cherry ember flame inside." It was like a upside down "u". I removed the retention clip and fluffed up the middle of the catalyst "looks like layered dryer lint" so it filled in the void. Put it back together. Now it works great. Love it. I mostly use mine out of the pouch that it comes with. The pouch does tend to smother it. I also light it with a few drops of lighter fluid on the element. It flames up, then dies down. This gets enough heat into it to get it going. I use mine ice fishing. It's great to be able to instantly warm your hands to get your fingers moving again so you can reset a tip up, use your bare hands in the minnow bucket and get the ice out of the hole.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

warm hands

Date:November 18, 2014
if you are in a tree stand great, helps thin fumes of lighter fuel, keeps hands nice n warm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It's a Zippo

Date:July 30, 2014
I purchased a waterproof torch lighter and this in the same day. I filled it a quarter to give it a good test. A few things I would like to point out. With a strong flame and immediate lighting after filling it the thing fired right up. This is not a product with an on and off button, it is an old school method that works without batteries. There are a lot of bad reviews on here and I think it comes down to not knowing how to use a Zippo product. You need to test your gear before you go to the field. I am a little odd and stand in the shower with my wet gear to check for leaks. I love that this has the old Zippo smell when lit, but I would be cautious on big game hunts to use it. I look forward to my mountain trip in a few weeks in Colorado with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Australia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pocket heater

Date:March 8, 2014
Have not used it yet.Winter is still cumin, I had one before it was fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So So

Date:March 5, 2014
This have used the warmer several times with mixed results. when it works its great. It seems there is no rhyme or reason on when it will work. Operator error? Not a chance, Follow the instruction and there is a darn good chance that it will not warm up. Beats me!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not as expected

Date:March 5, 2014
Very hard to light and stay lit. Barely noticeable heat when it was placed in the bag. Like someone else stated, it needs a lot of oxygen. Gets super hot out of the bag but goes out quickly in the bag and put in your pocket. Not worth the trouble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice!!!

Date:March 4, 2014
Got one for each hand. Works great. Great gift idea.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not as expected

Date:March 4, 2014
Worked great the first time. All other times, very hard to keep lit. Does not produce as much heat as I expected. When lit, it does produce a noticeable smell even when it is in your pocket
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hard to get lit

Date:January 14, 2014
This is hard to get lit but once you get it going it can produce heat for up to 12 hours. I have never had a problem with it leaking like others. The overall quality is superb, just like all other Zippo products. I love having this while duck hunting or winter camping, it does make a difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A bit finicky

Date:January 8, 2014
I've used this about 4 times in the past 3 weeks. When it works - it works well. It requires a bit of work to get it lit - and KEEP it lit. The temperature seems to vary from kinda-sorta warm to EXTRA TOASTY. Still trying to play with it and understand the variables, plus any lessons learned on YouTube postings.
I bought this because a fishing buddy has one for cold days wading in a stream and "won't leave home without it"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hand warmer

Date:January 7, 2014
I love this thing, puts off a low heat just like one of the throw away hand warmers and lasts for 12 hours like they say. Great for hunting and hiking...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not worth the money

Date:December 31, 2013
The first time I tried to use it, it took over 30 minutes to stay lit. The second time I tried to use it, but after 30 minutes of trying I gave up and met my hunting partner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very cool hand warmer

Date:December 18, 2013
This is my first Zippo hand warmer and it is a good one.
No complaints. It works very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hard to light, flame goes out if in pocket

Date:December 14, 2013
This is a good product if you are going to set it out or if you are going to hold it in your hand the entire time it is lit. The first problem I had was it would take a while to light the flame to get it warm. You need a lighter to initially get it to heat up but it will stay lit until it is either out of fuel or you put it in your pocket. This needs a lot of oxygen to stay lit and if you put it in your pocket it will go out after a minute or two. I bought this to use for ice fishing and you cannot keep this thing lit. You have to have a space to set it down when you are reeling in a fish or working the fish. I've been out a few times now and when I put it in my pocket to fish or drill holes it is always cooled off by the time I get it back out. Lighting it while out on the ice isn't the easiest either. You will need to buy some sort of clip for the bag it comes with to clip it onto your suit or clothing to make it useable, otherwise there is a high probability that it will be cold by the time you use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Zippo Hand Warmer

Date:December 5, 2013
I have two of these-- They work great-- May take a while to light-- I place a little fluid on the catalyst to start it- and it will burn out;Put the lid on and then it gets warm- It takes a few minutes-- We do Chainsaw carving outdoors-- These things have worked great-- I have had them last for 24 hours-- As with all Zippo's or any fluid filled lighters will leak if you lay them on their sides,, you'll learn not to..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My hands were warm all deer season

Date:November 30, 2013
We had a really cold deer season with single digit wind chills. Started this up before I left, put it in a muff and I was good for an all day sit in the tree stand.|
It does take a couple minutes to light or maybe it take a couple minutes for the fluid to become vapor.....either way getting it started took longer than the directions say.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solution for cold hands

Date:November 21, 2013
Effective product. However, first time lighting is far more difficult than instructions indicate. Took several tries and a lot longer than a couple of seconds as specified by Zippo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product old idea

Date:November 12, 2013
good product just an old idea used to be called by a different name. filled the absorbent material with fluid and shook out the excess. lit the top and let it sit for about a min, sometimes it got pretty hot but was dependable there were a couple sizes and came in a red bag this was back in the early 60's that i used them. glad to see them back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Zippo® Handwarmer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm hands now.

Date:February 5, 2013
Used the handwarmer ice fishing last week. Worked well and my buddies liked it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 34