Customer Reviews for ZIPPO Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour

ZIPPO Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour

Wrap cold hands around a sleek, thin handwarmer perfect for keeping in your pocket on brisk days. Stays warm for up to 12 hours when used with Zippo premium lighter fluid. Comes with a filler cup and warming bag. Dimensions: 3.75"H x 2.75"W 0.25"D. Color: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.949 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 78 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
65 out of 78(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Review 1 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2016

moderate heat, but great

By
These don't make a lot of heat, but sure work. Takes a few times to figure put, but love it, bought 2 more
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2016

Hand warmer

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The hand warmer does warm up. It advertises not having any odor, it however does have some smell from the fuel. So if you're thinking to us it for hunting, it can be done. Maybe not for in the woods where the deer will smell it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2016

somewhat disappointed

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have 2 older hand warmer made in the 1950's. The older units always worked and put out a nice amount of heat even when put in their pouch. I purchased 2 of the Zippo hand warmers thinking I would get the same results, however, i have been disappointed by their performance. The heat they produce is little more then luke warm and almost none when placed in the pouch. Also, they have a difficult time keeping the cap part on the body. I'd prefer quality - next time I will get the original peacock!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2016

Warm Hands

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Fill it up the night before and put in a zip lock bag and you will be ready to go in the morning. Will stay warm up to 16 hours. If you want to put it out simply put in a zip lock bag and you can reuse again the next day. This hand warmer will save you money over the disposable ones. A can of fluid costs the same amount as one pair of disposables and will last you an entire hunting season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2016

Roarks ReTreaT review of Zippo Hand Warmer

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
After three uses of the Zippo hand warmer, we noticed a few issues. The first is that it is excessively difficult to fill the hand warmer with fluid. When trying to fill it, the fluid spills all over the place. The second issue we noticed is that it is difficult to tell whether it is lit or not. The last issue we noticed is that it does not get very warm. That being said. This is a good product. I use a Zippo lighter and like the products. The hand warmer itself is an attractive product, and the little fabric case for it is nice. The hand warmer itself is about the right size for a pocket and should provide a little heat. I would not recommend this for hunting as there is a slight odor from the zippo fluid used to fill it. Overall, it is a good product, however, I do not think it can replace the single use hand warmers. It would be a nice addition to an emergency car kit. It won’t keep you toasty warm, but it will keep your hands from freezing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2016

Lacks functionality

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Having two other versions of this type of hand warmer, I was familiar with the difficulties of getting initial catalytic burn from lighter fluid and was aware that with "seasoning" these warmers can work well.
However, after multiple lightings and refillings, this model refuses to maintain a burn. Bought this at 50% off regular price and now I see why it was on sale. Don't waste the ten bucks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2016

Hand warmer

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Great fun! I bought two of them. I use these ICE FISHING ONE FOR EACH POCKET. Say goodbye to cold hands
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

I like it!

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This guy gets nice and toasty! I was skeptical but bought a few. It's easy enough to follow the directions and fuel it up and get lit. You might be able to smell some lighter fluid and it may not be the best for scent proofing. I bought them for waterfowling in mind. Thumbs up.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Great product

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased two of these for deer season this year and despite other reviews I followed the directions and filled them , lit them and they lasted well over the 12 hour mark. I and my hunting companion used them for a few days without any problems. The only thing I will change for next year is to use the hand warmer fuel instead of the lighter fuel because of the odor of them burning. I plan to purchase two more for next season one on the back of the neck and one in the hands is perfect. Thanks Cabelas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Old School Hand Warmer

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This stays warm all day when you fill it up. I use to use one of these back in my paper route days. This model is better because it stays lit. It is warm but not hot, works best when put in a coat pocket, 2 would be optimal.
I would have given it 5 stars but I don't think it is warm enough when your hand are very cold.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Awesome small handy hand warmer

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Bought three of these!! We use it for hunting, skiing and my youngest son who has suffered frozen fingers at very young age uses his daily working on the dairy farm keeping his has comfortable outdoors!! Great gift at a great price from Cabelas!! Love how compact and comes in case!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2015

Impressed with performance!

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
My Granddaughter and I tried these for the first time on a Thanksgiving vacation backpacking trip. We filled and lit these at 1900 hours and they were still producing heat at 1000 hours the next morning. A bit of a gas smell in the small backpacking tent, but not enough that we didn't continue to use them. Great product! Buy and try for yourself - I'm getting a couple of more for my go bag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2015

Waste of money

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have a Zippo lighter that I carried around throughout my military career, so when I saw this hand warmer by Zippo I was excited. However, it isn't what I expected it to be. It's extremely difficult to get lit, and the doesn't get very warm at all. I hunt ducks and geese in all kinds of weather, but mostly cold. I put my hand warmers inside a muff, so it's kept dry. The Zippo handwarmer hardly got warm and I was never really sure if it stayed lit or not. I WOULD NOT recommend this product to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2015

Zippo® Handwarmer

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Couldn't be happier with a pair of these while ice fishing. They are awesome. Take some time to learn to fill them and light them and all is good. They stay warm for a very long time and I have not had either go out after properly lighting them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2015

Worked For One Week

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I've had good luck with these in the past but it seems that Zippo quality is beginning to suffer. After one week of use the cotton type filler that holds the fuel had become packed near the bottom of the unit causing it not to light.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2015

really good, not great

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Does an excellent job, if you dont follow the instructions. I use mine waterfowl hunting. I wear cabelas supermag waders and if i keep it in the pouch it is supposed to be kept in, and place it in the kangaroo pocket of my waders it doesn't get very warm. However if i slide the pouch down and allow the warmer to breath more, it warms the entire pouch and both hands great. i mean it really does a great job. Don't use this deer hunting because it does give off the odor of lighter fluid,which i find kind of plesent smelling.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2015

Newest zippo has new filiment style

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought 2 more hand warmers for my nephew. They now come in a plastic package that you have to cut apart to get the product out. Now no place to store the little funnel that comes with it. Old package was a black cardboard package that you could put everything back into for storage. The new hand warmer comes with a new style filament that was easy to light and stays lit. Filament just lays flat. Has been no problem with it and they are working great my nephew told me. You can read my past post on how to get the old filament to work better and not go out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2015

A Little Disappointed

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Zippo has built a reputation on being reliable. I own two of these hand warmers and found both to be less than reliable. Mine were hard to keep lit and required constant monitoring. I followed directions exactly but they were hard to ignite and keep going. Most of the time they work. After fiddling with the wicks they seemed to do better. The heat output level doesn't get high enough to need the included carry sack. I had trouble with the tops coming off while carrying my two warmers. I still like them better than the chemical powder types though.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

Great hand warmer

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
This was my go to gift for Christmas. I bought one for every guy in my family. They get the job done though they are a little smelly but it hasn't bothered anyone that received them. We took it to Canada in -25F temps and it kept hands warm. They were passed around from person to person. Great little gift!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Zippo® Hand Warmer – 12-Hour
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

warmer hands

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
handwarmer works great . just light it for at least 10 secs wait a min or 2 and u are good to go . nice gentle heat& does not take much space in your pocket
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 78