Customer Reviews for CAMILLUS Camillus Carnivore Machete

CAMILLUS Camillus Carnivore Machete

Sleek with clean-cut angles, this machete features multiple blade edges and is all about business in the field. It chisels, slices and saws, and is even strong enough for digging if survival necessitates it – thanks to a full tang and grommet-secured handle. Forged from 440A stainless steel and through-hardened, the .16"-thick blade is rugged and durable. It also features an integrated wire cutter on the spine that can double as a gut hook in a pinch. The ergonomic ABS handle is tough, stable and able to withstand a wide range of temperatures. A Camillus-exclusive camo pattern is printed on the handle, and it comes with a black, ballistic-nylon sheath. Camillus lifetime warranty. Imported. Blade length: 12". Overall length: 18". Weight: 35.2 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
8 out of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Review 1 for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cheap, cheap, CHEAP!

Date:March 22, 2014
I had high hopes for this machete, and was very much looking forward to getting some use out of it on my most recent deployment. Upon getting in country and unpacking the machete, I set up a piece of plywood to test it out. The very first swing caused the tip of the blade (just above the hook) to completely break off. Very dissatisfied with the quality of this machete. Buy a cold steel one instead.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Only good for soft wood

Date:March 21, 2014
I cut down a soft tree that was bout 6 or 7 inches thick with it before, but later I broke it in two on a 5inch thick Honey Suckle Vine so that's why I only gave it two stars. Be careful what you hit with it because it wont take too much abuse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice

Date:December 31, 2013
heavy, well made, thick blade
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:December 2, 2013
Garbage, it breaks inside the handle with very little use. DO NOT buy this if you intend on using it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Camillus Carnivore

Date:November 12, 2013
The Camillus Carnivore is very sharp. It's sharp enough to shave right out of the box. Overall, I'm pleased with the purchase. The price is very reasonable, and the quality is good. I'd like for it to have had an eyelet in the handle for a lanyard, and the size is a little small and the weight too light for it to be used for cutting much more than weeds as a conventional machete. Camillus also makes a Carnivore Maxx, which is heavier and about 6-inches longer, which is what I would have bought had it been available at the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Solid Performer

Date:August 14, 2013
I bought this machete after a losing battle with the Northwest's blackberry thickets during deer season last year. If you are looking for a yard tool this is not for you. But if you need something small and light enough to keep in your pack and have it when you need to get through that thick stuff to your down animal, or maybe to clear a shooting lane, then this is exactly what you need. I work in the woods and participate with my local search and rescue. This goes with me every time. It gets used too. It is stout enough to handle heavy dry branches, and works wonders for cutting small green limbs and vines. It is not an axe or saw so it won't fall trees for you. But it gets you through the thick stuff to where you need to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a full tang knife

Date:August 7, 2013
This knife does not come sharp,but you can cut lighter sized(thin)branches from shrubs and small trees mostly soft evergreens like White Pine or Eastern Hemlocks.I tried sharpening the blade with a file and it didn't seem to make it sharper.I tried chopping a notch into a 4" thick branch and it took to long in my opinion.And the Camillus Carnivore is not a full-tang blade,which wouldn't hold up under any prying.I suggest spending another $60 to $100 for something reliable.Overall I give it one star because of the low cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Camillus Machete

Date:March 21, 2013
This thing is neat. The front half of the 12' blade is a knife - the back half is a saw. The tip is a chisel. Perfect - who uses the bottom half of a machete to whack weeds? The handle is fastened by torx driven fasteners - among the best. And the blade is about 3/16" thick - good and stiff. The sheath is nice as well - with a velcro fastener to hold the tool securely.
All in all, a good combination of features.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Camillus Carnivore machete

Date:February 19, 2013
Extremely well made, is absolutely the best machete steel ever. If you want a sharp, indestructible, extremely good looking machete, this is the only one to choose.
I Strongly recommend, am certain you will be satisfied with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Carnivore

Date:January 13, 2013
this is a very tough very sharp and extremely reliable machete and it's at a good price. it holds an edge very well the only thing I wish was different was that the saw was on the back so it would give you more sawing capability. Overall this is a great tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CAMILLUS CARNIVORE

Date:January 3, 2013
I Love this tool I have three other Machete that are going to the trash.Thank's you Camillus for this tool and at a good price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Camillus Carnivore Machete
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice blade / Poor grip

Date:December 9, 2012
After watching the vid, I figured this was a decent machete compared to others I own. While the blade is solid and full tang, the grip feels like it's made for a school girl. If you're only going to whack a tree 3 times like the dude in the vid, I guess the Carnivore will do. If you're trying to chop through downfall 4" in diameter and need to take 40-50 swings the handle gets mighty slippery. Even with gloves on. Locking strap on sheath could be a tad longer and include a leg strap. I will continue to use this for clearing trails but will continue my search for a truly great machete.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.