Customer Reviews for ADIRONDACK LEATHER Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

ADIRONDACK LEATHER Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives

Josh Buck took many of the same design elements that made his great grandfather’s knives so popular and created the Gen 5 Skinner. By removing the bulk, he crafted a functional, versatile skinner without the added weight. Knives boast thick, corrosion-resistant 420HC steel blades with exceptional edge-holding and sharpening abilities. Each knife is finished with an all-wood handle. Made in USA. Blade length: 3". Overall length: 7-7/8". Weight: 4.2 oz. Available: Charcoal Birchwood Handle – Includes a heavy-duty black nylon sheath. Rosewood Handle – Includes a brown leather sheath. 
Overall Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives
Review 1 for Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good-looking small skinner

Date:December 18, 2012
This is a small good-looking almost 'pretty' knife. Haven't yet used it seriously but it feels good, sharp out the box and from close inspection looks like it will hold an edge. Fits very snuggly into the sheath but there is no fastening strap on the nice, pre-formed leather sheath. So not sure how secure the sheathed knife on the belt will be when doing the usual rigors of hunting or fishing. Might have to be a backup backpack knife so as to not loose it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Knife

Date:July 29, 2012
Buck Knifes you did it again. Great Knife .Has good steel will hold a edge very well. Box stated made in the USA but the knife sheath was not. Also I had to sharpen it, It did not have a sharp edge on it .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gift

Date:January 17, 2012
Given as a gift, nice knife
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW!!

Date:February 19, 2013
This knife is absolutely gorgeous! Great length and thickness to the blade, which make it good for dressing and skinning game. The heavy brass finger guard and rosewood handle make it nice to look at, and the sheath is contoured and could only be made more attractive if it was tooled. I consider this purchase a steal!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent purchase

Date:January 2, 2013
Holds the edge perfectly!! This is my new skinning knife!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sharp deal!

Date:December 27, 2012
For the price in the bargain cave -outstanding quality and performance. Warranty from buck is unsurpassed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Working Knife!

Date:October 27, 2012
I bought two of these from Cabela's, one rosewood and one charcoal. They both have a good feel to them but I think I favor the rosewood. Have skinned my first whitetail with it now and it did a great job. Both knives came sharp and I still don't need to sharpen. I did strop it to bring it back a little. One of the more comfortable skinners that I have used. The handle is big enough to where you can hold it comfortably. I would recommend this knife to a good friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Purchase

Date:October 15, 2012
Knife has a full shank for strength. Has good balance for skinning, or caping. I purchased the Rosewood handle, makes for a decent looking knife. I think it could have been sharper. I would touch up the edge before 1st time use. Made in USA. I'll forgive Buck for the made in China Leather Sheath. I Own many Buck Knives. I am pleased to add this one to my collection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality

Date:September 4, 2012
I am very pleased with this beautiful knife. It is very sharp. The handle is very nice.
You can't go wrong with a US made Buck or Case knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great quality, as expected

Date:August 14, 2012
Perfect size, shape and quality for skinning and caping. Beautiful sheath. Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Buck Knives® Gen 5 Skinner Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent knife

Date:April 28, 2012
Like most buck knive this is a solid little knife. Comes with a heavy duty leather sheath.
I use mine to clean small game
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.