Customer Reviews for WORK SHARP Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener

WORK SHARP Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener

This award-winning tool is the first tool engineered to sharpen every knife you own with precision, speed and ease. Professionals use flexible abrasive belts to put a razor-sharp edge on cutting instruments and now you can take advantage of the same technology. This system works on knives of all kinds – hunting knives with straight or serrated edges and gut hooks, kitchen knives, pocketknives, survival knives and fishing knives. It uses precision sharpening guides to achieve a precise and repeatable angle each and every time it’s used. The 25° guide is ideal for hunting knives and pocketknives. The 20° guide works extremely well on scissors, axes, lawn-mower blades and garden tools. System comes with two P80-grit, two P220-grit and two 6,000-grit abrasive belts and are specially made to last, even when working on hardened-steel edges.  Compact and powerful, this system operates off any 12-volt system with a power inverter in a vehicle, boat or RV. System measures 9" x 6" x 5", comes with an instruction manual and includes a demo DVD. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 95 reviews
5 Stars
79
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
92 out of 95(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Review 1 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Temperance, Mi.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Knife sharpener

Date:July 1, 2011
This product is very light weight and too flimsy to use on any heavy sharpining jobs. It is also somewhat uncomfortale to use as it can not be clamped down with out cracking the plastic body. The sharping guide attachments are not fixed on the tool, just snapped on. The sharper the blade gets the more of the belt gets trimed from the width. The most disconcerning point of this tool is the unit dissassembles the pullies from the drive housing while in use. If I had it to do again, I would not perchase this device, but look for a more heavy duty unit.
Respectfully Yours, MDC
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great sharpener

Date:July 6, 2011
I'm able to sharpen knives and hatchets to a very sharp edge in no time with this sharpener. I am very impressed with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

By far the best sharpener i have ever used.

Date:July 19, 2011
The Work sharp tool is a must have for the avid outdoorsman. Some of my hunting knives require sending back to the company to sharpen. After using the work sharp there will be no need for that. Product very easy to use. I highy reccoment this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:July 20, 2011
I have had this product for amost a year and have sharpened everything from hunting knives to lawnmower blades. I am still using the original sharpening belts that came with the product. I am very pleased with the edge it puts on all my knives and this device makes resharpening quick, easy and very effective. I would highly recommend this product for all your home sharpening needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Work Sharp

Date:July 22, 2011
This is great. I have used several methods of sharpening but this is the best and no need to find something better. If you likd a sharp knife it is a must! 2 mintes of practice and every knife I have I can shave with!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bonneau, SC
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Sharpener

Date:July 25, 2011
This is the easiest sharpener I have ever used. I use to spend hours sharpening knlves, mostly because I believe that a knife should be sharpened or at least touched up after each use. Follow the directions and it will make your knife razor sharp. It now only takes a few minutes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NYC, NY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It's great, but rounds off the tips

Date:August 24, 2011
The other reviewer was right about how it rounds off the tips...other than that, it's awesome! Sharpened 3 kitchen knives in no time, not as great as when new & straight from the factory, but still razor sharp!
If not for the rounded tips, I'd give it 5 stars...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice!

Date:September 3, 2011
I was reluctant to fork out the $$$ but I finally did. I have been using the lansky systems for years. Within an hour of bringing this product home every knife in the house is razor sharp. For most of my kitchen knives the 220 grit left me with a satisfying edge. My pocket and personal carry knives all got the 6000 grit hone. Set up and use is a no brainer. I do have to admit that I have already used up one of the 6000 grit belts and wish they were a little more readily available. I also think that a 400 or 600 grit would be a great plus to this item. I dug out an old very thick and dull knife as the ultimate test and in about 5 minutes had an awesome edge on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Champlin, MN
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The easiest, and best, sharpener I have ever used

Date:September 11, 2011
The real secret of the worksharp is that unlike most easy to use sharpeners, it creates a convex edge. And a very sharp convex edge with just a few passes.
The sharpener includes belts with three different grits (two of each) There is an P80, a P220 and a 16000. For most knife applications all that is needed for a shaving sharp edge is the P220 and the 16000. The P80 works great for those dull hatchets and tools, and if you have a really bad knife edge.
Once I got the unit home I sharpened every kitchen knife in the house, and then moved onto my hunting knifes, filet knifes, pocket knifes, and leatherman. Pretty much anything with an edge on it. It sharpened all of them with ease.
I also brought in my camp axes and hatchets, including one that was destined for the trash heap. With the P80 belt I was able to easily re-grind a razors edge on the old hatchet and it is now as good as new.
The sharpener most impressed me though on an old Western hunting knife of mine. I bought the knife over twenty years ago, mostly because it was identical to one my Grandpa had. I used it for many years but each year it would get duller and duller. No matter what I tried I could not get an edge on that knife.
I finally replaced it and it had been relegated to the back of my gun safe. When my boys got old enough to start hunting I wanted them to be able to carry and use that same knife. Again, I tried my hand at sharpening and no amount of effort would put even a usable edge on that blade.
So, with the WorkSharp in hand I dug out the old Western and went to work. The blade was in poor shape and I decided to start with the P80 (so far this is the only knife that has needed such a course grit) and re-cut the edge. In less than 6-8 passes per side I had the start of a beautiful convex edge. I switched to the P220 and made five passes per side, next the same with the 16000.
I was left with a beautiful polished edge that is literally shaving sharp. I could not have been more impressed.
I admit that I am not very good at knife sharpening (well, at least I wasn't before the WorkSharp) but then again that is kind of the point with this tool. Even novices can now get spectacular convex sharpened edges with ease.
The fact that this tool was able to sharpen my "unsharpenable" knife (and we all have at least one of these, right? :-)) alone makes it worth the price.
One last thing, for almost all applications all that you will ever need is the three grits provided (and the vast majority of those times just the two). However, for those who really want to work an edge there are several other grits avaialable, both from Worksharp and other vendors.
I am sure there is still a place for professional knife sharpeners, but not for me! It is getting towards hunting season, you owe it to yourself to get a Worksharp and be the guy in the field who always has the sharp knife. ;-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gift Idea!!

Date:October 28, 2011
Several months ago I purchased this little sharpener and it has truly taken the work out of sharpening knives. The sharpener has several belts of different grits....so it can harpen all kinds of knives. Get all you kitchen, hunting, pocket knives out and make quick work of sharpening the whole lot. Great Christmas or birthday gift idea!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Battle Creek, Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product

Date:November 19, 2011
I was a meat cutter for over 25 years and I will not use a dull knife. Even though I can put a razor edge on a knife with a hone it does take quite a bit of time. With the work Sharp sharpener anyone can put a razor edge on a knife in 4 or 5 minutes. I really mean it when I say anyone. It's easy, it's quick, and It has a reasonable price. I love the one I bought.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grover Beach CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bare Spot

Date:December 24, 2011
So after sharpening all the knives in the house I started showing my friends how well it worked. I now have a prominent bare spot on my arm. Razor sharp means just that.
My daughter is a hair dresser and has paid big dollars to get her scissors sharpened professionally. The work sharp did as good a job as they could do.
I'm putting a lot of miles on it and it is working well. Replacement belts are available locally when needed.
This is the best tool I have purchased in years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Now my 'Go To' knife sharpener!

Date:December 30, 2011
I’ve been sharpening knives for over 50 years and have used honing stones both with and without angle holding apparati (see Gatco systems), electric sharpeners (Chef’s Choice), various carbide steel ‘quick’/’pull through’ sharpeners, and now the WorkSharp abrasive belt sharpener which I am rating here (excellent).
I notice that Cabelas sells 47 choices in the ‘knife sharpening’ category, hopefully this rating will provide some comparative insights. I would note from the onset, any of the 47 systems will do a good job given good steel and good technique, it’s really a matter of personal choice and budget. BTW – start with ‘good steel’ – buy good knives. BTW2: best way to sharpen is to not let knives get dull!
My kitchen knives are Henckel Pro ‘S’ and Forschner Victorinox. Outdoor knives are Benchmade ‘Griptillion’, Gerber, Buck, and Swiss Army knife. And .. some miscellaneous ‘Heinz 57’ variety knives.
The worksharp is a 120 VAC, 0.7 Amp unit. This works out to 85 watts which is well within the range of a typical inverter, meaning it is easy to power this in the field from a 12 VDC car/truck battery and low cost inverter. A three position switch (Momentary On, On, Off) switch controls the motor drive. The belt ‘head’ has three pulleys, one powered, one idle, one spring loaded for tensioning and belt change. Six ½ in X 12 in belts were provided (2 x 80 grit, 2 x 220 grit, and 2 x 6000 grit for honing). Replacement sets are about $ 15 online. Only the 220 and 6000 grit belts are used for knife sharpening. The 80 grit is reserved for tool sharpening (axes, lawn mower blades, etc). I haven’t tried big sharpening jobs with the 80 grit. When I do, I’ll do all the heavy lifting with a file and just finish with the Worksharp since I can’t see those little belts holding up well for a lot a steel removal – what I’m rating is a knife sharpening, not a workshop grinding system.
The belt ‘head’ rotates and locks in several position relative to the motor drive. One position is for counter top use, the others for mobile workshop grinding tasks.
Two guides are provided. One fully encloses the belt head and has two angle slots for sharpening chef knives with 20 degree single, 40 degree total angle. Because the guide fully encloses the moving belts, you can only sharpen up to 3/32 inch from the bolster of a knife and the guide interferes with protruding thumb studs on flip blade knives (my Benchmade Griptillion). Both of these issues are easy to workaround. A second, smaller guide attaches to the back of the belt head leaving most of the belt exposed. It has two angle slots for 25/50 degree outdoor knives and one slot for 65 degree scissors. With the exposed belt, you can sharpen right up to the bolster of a knife (all of a pocket knife blade) and there is no interference with thumbstuds.
Note that with both guides, two angle slots are provided, one on the belt upslope, and one on the downslope. The instructional DVD video (very good) and manual (very good) show the operator facing the belt head (and edge of belt) and alternating between these two angle slots while holding the power unit in the left hand (and using the momentary trigger). Personally I agree with another reviewer in wanting to always using the downslope guide (belt drives away from edge). I don’t know – it just doesn’t seem right to have the belt drive into the edge – personal issue. Anyway there is no problem moving 90 degrees, facing the edge of the belt head (facing the belt), and drawing the knife through left and right, but always on the downslope.
While on personal issues let me say that using the Worksharp for sharpening serrated knives as claimed, is rubbish. I guess this is to sell units, but what they propose is ‘sharpening’ the flat side of a serrated knife. Maybe that will restore several use sessions, but it is NOT the way to sharpen a serrated knife. For that you need a round diamond or ceramic hone and sharpen each ‘tooth’, working on the serrated side (the way the knife was made in the first place!).
Because the belt is quite flexible, as you exit the knife, the belt wraps around and wears down the point. I had to re-dress my Santoku knife when this happened. Now I make sure to NOT draw the knife all the way through, but rather to stop just short of the point and carefully finish it off separately - just a technique issue.
The 220 grit belt establishes an edge very fast. I’d say you should inspect your knives carefully and only put the knife through as many passes as really necessary. The 6000 honing belt does a nice job of smoothing out the striations left by the 220 belt and I don’t feel any ‘wire’ edge after using the honing belt. As a result, right off the 6000 belt, the knife is ready for use, but I like to strop and polish all my knives. For this I have a piece of 1 x 2 wood with a piece of old belt glued on it. The belt is impregnated with rubbing compound I get from Harbor Freight. In addition to using the strop board after using the Worksharp, I use it frequently when carving and chopping in the kitchen (for big jobs I may use a burnishing steel).
Typically I resharpen 1 or 2 passes each side on the 220 belt, 5 passes each side on the 6000 belt, and 10 passes each side on my strop board. All happens pretty fast.
As opposed to say, the Chef’s Choice which has multiple sharpening stations of various ‘grits’, the Worksharp does require belt change during a sharpening session. I line up all my knives, run through the 220 belt (if needed) for all knives, and then switch once to the 6000/honing belt and finish the job.
While mentioning the Chef’s Choice (which comes in a wide variety and prices), it is designed to be a ‘permanent’ countertop unit, always at the ready. The Worksharp is more a store it and bring it out type unit. However, the Worksharp does the job much faster so when sharpening multiple knives, the Worksharp gets the job done faster even with the in-out of storage factor. If you are not going to make room on your counter for the Chef’s Choice, it offers no advantage.
Also, the Chef’s Choice and any system with flat stones, or vee carbide cutters leaves a ‘vee’ cross section. Abrasive belt systems (Workshare and EdgeCraft) wrap around the edge leaving a doubly convex (‘rounded arch?’) shaped cross section. The convex cross section is superior in that more steel backs up the cutting edge, making it more durable and holding a sharp edge longer. But …. If you strop and polish a ‘vee’ edge you wind up with a micro, convex secondary edge. Given the stronger edge with the Worksharp/convex edge, I am content to sharpen my outdoor knives with the 20/40 guides.
I do like to sharpen knives with a stone, either with or without angle control apparati; but this is a much more time consuming ‘Zen’ type experience. As mentioned, I use my Worksharp with an inverter on the back of my truck in the field, but for times when power isn’t available I still pack a stone and oil.
I personally dislike all those ‘quick’ sharpeners where you draw the knife through carbide cutters. In my opinion, while the knife comes out sharp, the rough edge doesn’t hold up. I haven’t tried the ‘vee’ ceramic rod systems – they look pretty good.
All said, I am very pleased with the Worksharp. It is now my ‘go to’ sharpening system for both kitchen knives and outdoor knives. All the others are stored away in the garage.
Buy it, you’ll like it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Razor Sharp

Date:January 20, 2012
I've been using this for 8 months now and couldn't be happier. Very easy to use, great for both old blades that have not had a good edge for years and keeping a razor sharp edge on new ones. Hunting, pocket or kitchen knife - it doesn't matter, it's so fast and easy, Just follow the instruction and never have a dull blade again. The belts are durable and when needed, the replacement belts are inexpensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best knife sharpener I've ever used!

Date:April 24, 2012
Over the years, I've tried all kinds of knife sharpening devices, with mixed results and found nothing that consistently sharpened everything. Then, a guy working at Cabela's suggested the Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener. He showed me how it worked and I was sold.
I brought home the product, sharpened 26 knives (kitchen, hunting and pocket knives) and two pair of scissors in an hour. I got everything hair shaving sharp, literally, you should've seen my hairless arm when I was done!
This is the first knife sharpener I've owned that really works as it should! It's easy to operate, extremely versatile (sharpens all kinds of knives, scissors, lawnmower blades, axes, etc.) and it's made in America. How about that!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the price

Date:June 18, 2012
Bought this to replace a much cheaper sharpener that I had purchased which didn't hold up. This sharpener is far superior, probably because it is American made, and has replaceable sharpener belts. Very well made, very flexible and easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best sharpener ever

Date:July 2, 2012
Hands down the best sharpener on the market! This sharpener is fast and in just a few strokes will have the blade be able to shave the hair off your arm! Works on anything axes scissors yard tools. You wont be disappointed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Knife Sharpener Ever

Date:September 11, 2012
I have used every stone, diamond steel and ceramic knife sharpener you can imagine. The work sharpe tool and knive sharpener is by far the best.
In about 20 seconds, I put an edge on my favorite fillet knife that beats anything I was able to obtain with any other device "ever".
I bought the extra belt kit and have now put great edge's on every cutting tool I own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Much better than I thought it would be!

Date:September 11, 2012
Finally a sharpener that produces a great edge is easy to use and is really fast. I have sharpened every edge I could find in my home and camper... field and kitchen knives, scissors even a machete and I am really impressed. The work sharp produces a consistently great edge in a remarkably short time (I have the hairless arms to prove it) Plus it's made in the U.S.A.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Work Sharp Electric Knife and Tool Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wow

Date:September 11, 2012
I have used lots of knife sharpeners and have been extremely frustrated with how long it takes. This is the best sharpener I have ever found. Broadheads are about impossible, but works well on everything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 95