Customer Reviews for HAVALON Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives

HAVALON Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives

Hunters and professional guides will appreciate the lightweight convenience of this skinning knife. At under 3 oz., these surgically-sharp blades don't add extra weight to your field gear – and you won't have to carry additional knives and sharpening stones. Simply snap on a new blade for a forever-sharp edge. Each knife includes 12 surgically-sharp stainless steel #60XT replacement blades. Ambidextrous thumb stud. Easy-grip black rubber inlay. Liner-lock construction. Removable pocket clip. Includes holster, $5.95 value. Blade length: 2-3/4". Overall length: 7-1/4". Available: Stainless Steel – Rugged, stain-resistant ABS plastic handle
Overall Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
81 out of 85(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Review 21 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Havalon Piranta is the BOMB

Date:October 28, 2012
This knife has become a staple in my hunting gear. Both me and my brother each used one on a cow elk this year and we skinned and quartered the entire elk in an hour and half and only used 3 blades total. We broke one blade and the change out was super simple. You do need another longer blade / stronger blade to get the backstraps out but this Havalon in conjuction with my Kershaw Echo or Buck Packlite will be the only knives I take in the field. Love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Choice

Date:October 31, 2012
Blade is very sharp---However do not use knife at an angle---Blade will snap/Break.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Sharp!!!

Date:November 8, 2012
Very sharp!!! Great knife. Replacing blades is easy but isn't needed very often. Blades stay sharp for a long time. The only problem is that once you get your hands dirty, the knife gets dirty and can be very hard to clean because of the little crevices and creases. Nothing a little water pressure and soap can fix. Overall, a very great knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Havalon Piranta Folding Knives

Date:November 12, 2012
Used this during deer season and found it to make skinning almost effortless. It slices through meat like a scalpel, which I guess it is. Only drawback is the removal and storage of spent blades.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great, cheap, and sharp!

Date:November 19, 2012
Uses are endless, cleaned all sorts of game. Blades are cheap and razor sharp. Great for taxidermy work!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Knife

Date:November 19, 2012
This is the best and lightweight knife I have ever had. The only thing everyone wants to barrow it. You have to get it back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best knife I've ever owned

Date:November 19, 2012
This is a great knife! Skinned and boned two mule deer bucks this year, only using 1 blade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

it ok

Date:November 26, 2012
i've used it to skin beaver the blade goes dull fairly fast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Great Knife

Date:November 26, 2012
I use this knife to skin and breast out ducks and geese and it does the job better than any knife I have ever used in the past. I wish I had bought it 25 years ago! It's light weight and easy to use. The interchangeable blades provide constant sharpness for easy work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good hunting knife

Date:November 27, 2012
This is a good little knife to have on hand for field dressing animals. I gutted an elk with no problems, then the four wheeler broke down so I quartered and skinned the entire animal with it. Its very sharp but the blades wear out quickly. Any lateral pressure on the blade will easily break it. Luckily it comes with 12 replacement blades that are easy to change. I went through five of them on the elk because I kept breaking them. Can't beat it for the price though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing how sharp!

Date:December 5, 2012
I bought one of these to gut and skin deer with and boy do they work! This is the sharpest blade I've ever used and makes skinning a deer easy. Some other guys were standing around as I skinned out a doe and all were amazed. Be carfeul though, this thing is sharp! If you even get it close to your finger you'll get cut! Haven't changed blades yet, will see how that process goes but the knife is awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

must have

Date:December 5, 2012
These things are awesome. Definitely came in handy on this big boy. Makes skinning out the cape a breeze.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good knife!

Date:December 5, 2012
This knife is very sharp. With the replaceable blades you will never be caught with a dull blade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great knife

Date:December 6, 2012
I have had the knife for one big game hunting season and I have so far field dressed a bull moose and a four point (8 point for non westerners) mule deer. the knife holds the blades and cut very well. they can break if you arent careful and i have had two friends knick themselves with them since they are so sharp. i recomend the orange one. easy to see if dropped in it snow. trying to sharpen a knife in the field sucks. i often carried two to three knives to avoid this. now i have twelve knives in the field. GREAT PRODUCT. I would like them to offer aLONGER blade filet knife though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A hunters Best Friend

Date:December 11, 2012
I bought this knife because my long favored Puma Duke of 40 years was retired. I wanted something light and sharp. The Havalon Piranta is both light and sharp, Maybe that is an understatement. So far since its purchase I have taken and dressed three White Tails. The blade is plenty sharp still, and I am sure that I can do another deer or two before having to replace the blade. It comes with 12 replacement blades and a belt case. I have not decided on what I will replace my old Puma Duke with yet, but I will never go afield with out a Havalon in my kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic knife!

Date:December 11, 2012
I have drawers full of sharpeners, stones, oil, belts ect. all to sharpen knives. No need to sharpen pocket knives anymore. Just replace the scalpel blade and you are ready to go. Will be great for skinning deer. Would like the pocket clip to be higher for a lower ride in pocket, but otherwise would highly recommend this knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Havalon knives

Date:December 12, 2012
I purchased a havalon knive before gun season in Oklahoma and have used it to field dress 2 deer. This is the best little knive that I have found for field dressing and skinning. I broke one blade but it as my fault as I tried to cut through some bone. The blade is easy to replace and I was ready to go. Field dressed 2 large deer and the skinning was a breeze. Thank you Cabelas for a fine product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Havalon Piranta Folding Knives

Date:December 18, 2012
This knife is a very good skinning/caping knife. Knife is very light and extremely sharp. Down-falls are the blades are diffcult to change and if you put the blade on any kind of bind it will snap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

havalon piranta replaceable knife system

Date:December 27, 2012
simply the best way to skin a deer or elk. having replaceable blades available facilitates skinning and tissue cutting. not for bonework, however.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Havalon® Piranta Stainless Steel Folding Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best knife ever made

Date:December 27, 2012
This is the best knife I have ever put in my hand,bar none! Elk Deer Hog's what ever you are skining you will love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 85