Customer Reviews for KOLPIN Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System

KOLPIN Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System

An all-in-one plow system. Made of high-strength 14-gauge steel, the three-piece, five-position blade adjusts right and left. A double layer of steel at the X and a tube-steel frame ensure years of relentless plowing. The 52"-wide blade has an adjustable angle. It bolts or clamps to all ATV frames from 2002 through 2014 (except Can-Am models). Dual trip springs and adjustable skid shoes protect plow and machine. Requires a winch or Manual Quick Lift (not included).
Overall Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
33 out of 35(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
101 Questions | 111 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Review 1 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016

Kolpin X-Factor Complete Plow System

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Bought this for our 2000 Arctic Cat ATV; it was on sale for an amazing deal so figured we couldn't go too wrong. I contacted Kolpin prior to purchase to ensure it would fit our model year; Kolpin's response (their customer service was speedy and accurate!) was that they hadn't run across Arctic Cat models that it didn't fit, and Cabela's said we could return it if it didn't fit. Not only did it fit, my husband said it was easy to assemble (make sure your ATV has a winch!) and right after he installed it, we got a major storm (over 13" of snow on the ground). This plow handled it and then some; hubby plowed not only our driveway (large enough for 6 vehicles) but also our neighbor's and the road around our house! Works great and I think will be a good investment for many years.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2016

good plow

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
For the price, you can't beat it. I put this plow together by myself and had no issues, untill the mounting bracket. First suggestion, lay the bolts out and seperate by lengths. Follow instructions. Took 2 hrs to assemble the plow by myself. I have a 2012 sportsman 500. I had to get 1/2 inch longer bolts for the mounting bracket. And add spacers(washers) to fill in gap. The plow mounted very easily once I got the bracket mounted and is very sturdy. I would definitely recommend this snow plow. Just get longer bolts and extra washers for the mounting bracket
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2016

Snow plow

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
It works great. I had a little trouble getting it assembled by my self, an extra pair of hands would have helped. But I got it after spending about 3 hours on it. It is well worth the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2016

2011 Sportsman 500 HO

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Everything about install described by 2010 sportsman is accurate. Plow works great for clearing long driveways, ponds, your yard, etc.....and the price is great if you buy it on sale!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2015

2010 sportsman 500 HO

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Let me start by saying this is my first experience with a plow of any type so i have nothing to compare this unit to. Here's what i noticed from my install only as i have not used it yet..
first, i was skeptical of a "plow in a box", but after i put it together it seems very sturdy and well built. The install took a couple hours and a trip to the hardware store, whice is where the 3 star rating came from. There is a section in the instructions for intalling the mounting hardware on ploaris sportsmans, and they were straight forward, but the supplied bolts were way too short. On this type of quad you will use a total of 6 bolts to mount the recieving plates, and all 6 should be about 1/4 longer. After i got the new bolts the install completed easily.
After putting together the plow and mounting it i noticed there is a lot of side to side play on the plow. This is because its held in place by two pins about a quarter way back and obviously all the weight is in the front on the plow itself. Again, this being my first plow i'm not sure if this is normal or will be a problem when plowing and trying to keep a straight line.
I will update this post after i finally get to use it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2015

Great Product

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Less than 2 weeks after the snow plow arrived, we had 8" of snow on top of 1" of ice. The snow plow performed excellent. My wife took pictures and I had a smile on my face the whole time. I plowed my drive and two of my neighbors drives, their drive being 1/4 mile long. Looking forward to the next snow.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2015

simple and easy

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have yet to attach it to my atv, but i assembled the rest today. I did it alone and it only took around an hour, i took my time . A torque wrench is very important , i did break one bolt due to over tightening it is also important to have a 15/16 socket . The instructions were clear and simple. the plow appears to be good quality but i dislike the 3 piece wear guard, also the height skids are not ideal , which is ok since i only plow on concrete. i will be mounting this on a honda recon 250 and plan to get alot of use out of it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2015

EXCELLENT product

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Purchased this plow to put on my 2013 Polaris sportsman. Easy to assemble and install. Used it this past week after getting 8 plus inches of snow in Ky, it worked flawlessly. The blade was easy to reposition from right to left.. Well made.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2015

A good product

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I was very impressed with the Kolpin snow plow design and simplicity of operation. I did have to assemble the unit myself which was easy and the parts and hardware was of a high degree of quality. There was additional hardware to accommodate installation for a variety of ATVs. Best feature of this product was the price! I am extremely pleased with this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2015

Not bad for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this as a Christmas present for myself. At the time of purchase it was on sale and the best for my occasional needs. It didn't come until the end of January. Upon receiving the box was torn apart, but everything was there and there was only a few scratches in the paint. Assembly took quite awhile,( about 4.5 hours) however I was pushing the envelope because we had a snowstorm coming. and was working in a non-heated garage. The longest and most painful part was mounting the mount plate underneath my 2003 Polaris. However, I figured out the best way and with the included spacers was able to clear my rock guard. One complaint I do have is that you are going to need a 15/16ths socket and wrench. I know most tool kits don't come with one that big. The instructions don't say anything about what tools you will need, but at least they aren't written in broken english.
Once it was assembled, mounting the plow to the ATV is a breeze. I really like how quick and easy it is connecting the 2 pins.
The plow itself performs well. I used it in about 3 inches (6-10 coming tonight!) of snow and I am happy. the only thing I recommend is that your winch hook has a clasp otherwise the winch keeps coming undone. The plow seems rigid, and was pushing the fresh snow as well as frozen old snow without much problem.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2014

So Far So Good

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have this plow mounted on my Grizzly 700. I can't comment on the assembly of the plow and push bars, as my father-in-law put that together. He said it wasn't too bad. I had to remove two skid plates to install the mount on the ATV, pretty easy though. The plow works awesome! I hardly have to shovel my driveway at all. Now it is actually fun to clear out the driveway. Can't wait for more snow here in Minnesota.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2014

satisfying purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
good quality easy to assemble just pay attention to bolt size.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2014

Great Snow Plow

By
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is a really good product. When I picked up the plow I thought that the plow was missing from the order.
It comes in three peices and is very rugid when put together. However plan on taking it back apart a couple of times when putting it together since the directiong are horrible. The only way to figure out how to put it together is by looking at the pictures of it completed. Thankfully I have a compresser and an air wrench. We just recieved 12 inches of wet snow and then rain. It worked fantastic. I can't wait for more snow.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

great buy

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Was easy to install. Quality is good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2014

2014 Sportsman 570

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this plow system for my 2014 sportsman 570. The mounting did not fit on my atv because of the battery placement of my atv. I had to move the battery a little bit backwards to allow the mounting plates to fit. I found the kit easy to install, took me about an hour. I thought the plow was a little thin but for my purposes I think it will do fine. Overall, it is a great value. I suggest you make sure the mounting plate will fit your machine before you assemble the plow. I followed the direction, assembling the plow then attaching the bracket to my machine, and found that the bracket did not fit. I had to find a way to modify my machine to install the bracket as I did not want to take the plow apart in order to return it. Lastly, make sure you check and retighten the mounting bolts after your first use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2014

Kolpin X-Factor Complete Plow System

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Purchased this plow for use on a Polaris Sportsman. Had it professionally installed. The installer stated it had a lot of nuts and bolts and took him 4 1/2 hours to install. He also mentioned that he thought the plow was a little flimsy. I used the plow the same day it was installed as we received approx. 13" of snow that day. I thought the plow did a good job at handling the fresh snow. The next day we received about 4" of snow. The plow did fine except when plowing next to the road where the County Rd Commission had plowed as the snow hardened. The plow was a little flimsy when trying to push the hardened snow/ice around. I also found the mounting bracket to be a little weak on the support side. The mounting bracket is attached to the frame using four bolts that just pinch a plate to the frame. It started to loosen the second time I used the plow. However, I just tightened them and it was fine. I'll just keep an eye on it and tighten when needed. Overall, I am pleased with this product but I don't expect to move large and heavy loads with it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2014

Awesome plow

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Went together easy. Instructions were very informative. Haven't got to use plow yet, just wIting for snow.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2014

ease of assymbly

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
was leary with all the pieces but it went together real easy and the fit to the machine was also easy . i put it on a machine that was not on the recommended list but is working fine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2014

ease of assembly

By
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Right out of box,easy to read instructions.Had assembled in a afternoon. I'm ready.for the Montana winter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kolpin® X-Factor™ Complete Plow System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2014

Snow plow

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Lots of nuts and bolts, you better have basic hand tools and patience, directions are good if you take your time and think it through.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 35