Customer Reviews for CHAMPION Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator

CHAMPION Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator

Power at the push of a button. Activate this generator three ways: with the included wireless key chain remote, electronic push-button ignition or the back-up recoil starter. Its 196cc engine offers 4,000 watts at max. load and 3,500 running watts. The integrated control panel and Intelligauge™ display monitors voltage, frequency and operating hours for easy-to-use convenience. Runs 12 hours at 50% load on a 4-gallon fuel tank. Four 120-volt receptacles include a L-5 30-amp twist-lock, 30-amp RV and 20-amp duplex. Push-to-reset circuit breakers. Low 68db noise level. Includes 8" wheel kit and 12-volt starter and battery. Low-oil shut-off. CARB/EPA-certified. Dimensions: 27.2"L x 23.6"W x 21.5"H. Weight: 127 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
66 out of 69(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer Reviews for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Review 21 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome Generator!

Date:September 1, 2013
We bought this Generator to use with our Camper and we couldn't be happier!! We set it up at home and started it up in the driveway and it started write up. Took it to the lake and hooked it to the camper and it didn't even bog down with everything in the camper running at the same time! Noise was not a big issue and 100 feet or so from the trailer we couldn't even hear the generator running. Fiancée loves the Key Chain Remote and it ran for over 14 hours plus on about a tank of gas. I topped up the gas after about 8 hours so I am just guessing at the fuel. It did die once on us after about an hour of running. I had it in the back of the pick-up with the tailgate closed so I think it must have had a Carbon Monoxide build up and wasn't getting enough oxygen. We dropped the tailgate and moved it so the exhaust was blowing out the back and it ran like a dream after that. Pick-up does not have a topper but I think the fumes built up in the closed box anyway. Over all extremely Happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Plenty of power for A/C and appliances in my RV

Date:August 28, 2013
I LOVE THIS GENERATOR! This was the 2nd generator I purchased. I purchased two Yamaha 2000W generators with the parallel cord because my RV dealer told me they were "the best". They were supposed to be sufficient for my RV. They could not operate the A/C on most days and they would always trip the overloads if I turned on ANY appliance. The Champion 3500/4000 W generator is perfect.
One of the owners of the RV dealer had the exact problem I had with the Yamahas. They do not produce enough power for an avg sized RV A/C unit.
I can now operate my A/C and turn on appliances once the A/C is running.
I also love the remote start. And the price! Are you kidding me? The Champion is a fraction of the price of the Yamahas.
Let me see... More power, more reliable, remote start, a touch louder and a lot less money. Yep, I'll take my new Champion generator. This is definitely the best one for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:March 18, 2013
We used this for a 4 day outage during Sandy and it worked great and paid for itself then and there. I only wish it had 240V; you have to get a larger one for that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awsome purchase

Date:February 26, 2013
the only thing was it came in damaged and to try and get parts is a hold new world i've been waiting to fix my generator for the past three weeks WAITING FOR PARTS . it looks like a nice generator and looks durable but there again waiting for my parts to fix the damage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It does what I wanted it to.

Date:December 12, 2012
I've been thinking about buying a generator for sometime now, specifically ever since 2007 after I lost electrical power for four day's after a freak storm. Being w/o electricity and air conditioning during those four days of 100 degree temps got my attention. After listening to the distress stories of some friends negatively affected by Hurricane Sandy I went ahead and bought this model 46539. I bought this while it was on sale, and with the free "ship to store" option, Great Deal! .. I used the quick start guide to assemble and prep the unit for further testing. I added the oil and gas and stood about 10 feet away to try the wireless remote starter. It started within seconds, most reassuring! .. Using a decent grade extension cord plugged into the 120V/20A receptacle I was able to successfully run a 11,000 BTU portable A/C, a convection toaster oven, portable electric space heater, and an electric hand grinder just for the heck of it. All of my appliance tests were done separately, ie, I didn't have them running simultaneously. I would prioritize my needs as the situation dictated during an outage. I did order the 30A Twist-Lock 3 outlet extension cord separately, which I expect will give me better flexibility. .. I do wish that someone offered an exhaust extension that could be attached to the muffler/spark arrester flange. This would enable me to extend the exhaust outside of the Generator enclosure box I built, without having to fabricate my own. .. Very pleased with this generator, and now I feel better prepared for future power outages. .. Thanks Cabela's, and Champion Power Equipment!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As promised

Date:December 12, 2012
Wow power from across the yard! This is in my shed and at a push of the remote I have all the power i need to light up the house, charge stuff like phones and tablets and my wife can blow dry her hair! Girls this is why your man needs one of these to help you. This is my back up power plant brought after "Sandy" rolled thru and was a 5 star purchase, just remember to get a trickle charger to keep the battery in its prime . So stop reading the reviews and buy the thing!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Value for the price

Date:December 12, 2012
I have not used the generator in a power outage, however I have operated it under a load to test it. So far it has run great and handled my sump pump and some appliances without any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's does it again!

Date:December 12, 2012
A good price on a top piece of equement. This generator has not failed to start. Works great. As with anything you buy, take care of it and it will take of you. Looking forward to many years of service. Thanks to you Cabela's for the products you offer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Generator

Date:December 11, 2012
Bought two of these after Sandy hit Long Island. Did not have any long power outage during the storm, but one has to be ready for the next storms. The generators arrived a few days after I placed the order with Cabelas and in excellent condition. This was the only merchant that have these generators In stock, and on sale, after Sandy.
The setup instruction for the generator is clear and simple to follow. The features on this equipment makes it the best choice, and the remote start makes it a winner for me.
The generator starts easily and runs great, surprisingly not too loud.
This is an excellent choice for any house, or small business that needs power for a few major appliances and lights.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great buy

Date:December 11, 2012
Got it after sandy,so i havent used it to its full potential. However, i used it for lighting my shed with 2 100watt lights and a saw.no problem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sandy saver

Date:December 6, 2012
Got hit with Hurricane Sandy and it was the purchase I ever made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Family Purchase

Date:December 5, 2012
California Retired contractor gets another great buy from cabelas as usual; this last purchase of the Champion 3500 watt Remote start Generator has been a show stopper as it is such an outstanding piece of equipment at such a great price and no,I don't work for Cabelas ; they just are my favorite store! AND my wife likes it also with its ease of starting! Thanks again CABELA'S ,I will be back for more! "PAPABOB"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GENERATOR VS. HURRICANE SANDY

Date:November 27, 2012
I bought 2 of these generators (one for me and one for my son). He lost power for 3 days and this equipment worked flawlessly right out of the box! We used his and mine the next weekend at our summer home to power the entire house for the weekend. We were getting almost 12 hours on a tank of gas, so we are very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Too Late for Sandy but ready for Next Time!!

Date:November 24, 2012
Champion Generator 5 Stars!
Cabela's 4 Stars
Ordered this generator based on a reccomendation from a friend who bought it from Cabela's.
It was well priced, shipping was a little slow. I recieved the 1st one and it was clearly used and the box was torn up. I called and Cabela's was very responsive however,
I had to wait until the 1st one was picked up before they sent out the replacement. That cost another 2 days and then another week to recieve the replacement.
Got the new one, it works great! Assembly of handle, wheels and adding oil 20 minutes max. Real Easy.
I woud have given 5 stars has it not been for the inconvience..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy

Date:November 16, 2012
A little loud compared to an inverter gen. Worked right out of box with the remote.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Generator for an RV

Date:November 12, 2012
I purchased this generator for my RV so I could run the A/C while dry camping. It has worked flawlessly. It is a little louder than some of the other brand generators, but the price is unbeatable. Besides, when I dry camp and need a generator, there are few, if any other people around me. The remote start is real handy on those cold, rainy mornings when I need a cup of hot coffee or my wife needs to dry her hair. I also use it at home when the power goes out. Their customer service is first class. I broke one of the receptacles on my first try at using it and they mailed a new one, no questions asked and no charge. So far, I am very pleased with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hurricane Sandy

Date:November 12, 2012
I took the family to cabellas for a day trip during the black out after Hurricane sandy Just for somthing to do. While I was there I found out they had generators which was un beliveable since no one in south east pa nj ny or de had any and if they did they were over full price and gone in minuets. Not only did they have them but they were marked down about $125.00!!!! they also had a verry nice set up where they put it in the car and they were generally concerned for the situations we were in with the lack of power and downeed trees everywhere where I'm from!! They asked if there was anything they could do or anything we needed. I have a new respect for the company!! When we were in a time of crissses they didnt try to capitolize they lowered priced to help out!!! Also the generator ran great and the remote start feature is awesome you don't even need to go outside to start it!! Generator 5 stars Cabellas 6 !!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Happy

Date:November 9, 2012
Great product. Why, spend money on a Honda. Easy set-up, quiet, remote works great. Now I can have a beer and start my Generator with a remote. Very happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Did The Job!

Date:November 8, 2012
Bought this generator almost a year ago, after going without power for 8 days from hurricane Irene. Along came hurricane Sandy.....I ran this generator for 80 hours, stopping just to refuel and to do the initial oil change.It's loud standing next to it but can hardly be heard inside the house. It powered my oil burner with 2 circulator pumps, microwave, 2 tv's, refrigerator, various lights and my garage door opener. I used a transfer switch to hook up to my breaker panel. Oil change is fairly easy... used a flat plastic food container to catch the oil. I premeasured .63 quarts of 10w30 and used the provided funnel to refill. I highly recommend this model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Champion 3500-Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Generator

Date:October 15, 2012
I bought this to mount ahead of my fifth wheel hitch in the bed of my Ford F-150 and it fits perfect, started right up with remote and I even tried the pull start. I didn't use the wheel kit since it is hard mounted in my truck. I wanted the remote so I could start it from inside the RV which works great...
It powers my entire RV including A/C - refridgerator and microwave....I have run them all at the same time with no problems...opened up remote camping for me with all the conveniences.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 69