Customer Reviews for CHAMPION Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator

CHAMPION Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator

Power at the push of a button. Activate this generator three ways: with the included wireless key chain remote, electronic push-button ignition or the back-up recoil starter. Its 196cc engine offers 4,000 watts at max. load and 3,500 running watts. The integrated control panel and Intelligauge™ display monitors voltage, frequency and operating hours for easy-to-use convenience. Runs 12 hours at 50% load on a 4-gallon fuel tank. Four 120-volt receptacles include a L-5 30-amp twist-lock, 30-amp RV and 20-amp duplex. Push-to-reset circuit breakers. Low 68db noise level. Includes 8" wheel kit and 12-volt starter and battery. Low-oil shut-off. CARB/EPA-certified. Dimensions: 27.2"L x 23.6"W x 21.5"H. Weight: 127 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
53 out of 55(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer Reviews for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Review 21 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Family Purchase

Date:December 5, 2012
California Retired contractor gets another great buy from cabelas as usual; this last purchase of the Champion 3500 watt Remote start Generator has been a show stopper as it is such an outstanding piece of equipment at such a great price and no,I don't work for Cabelas ; they just are my favorite store! AND my wife likes it also with its ease of starting! Thanks again CABELA'S ,I will be back for more! "PAPABOB"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GENERATOR VS. HURRICANE SANDY

Date:November 27, 2012
I bought 2 of these generators (one for me and one for my son). He lost power for 3 days and this equipment worked flawlessly right out of the box! We used his and mine the next weekend at our summer home to power the entire house for the weekend. We were getting almost 12 hours on a tank of gas, so we are very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Too Late for Sandy but ready for Next Time!!

Date:November 24, 2012
Champion Generator 5 Stars!
Cabela's 4 Stars
Ordered this generator based on a reccomendation from a friend who bought it from Cabela's.
It was well priced, shipping was a little slow. I recieved the 1st one and it was clearly used and the box was torn up. I called and Cabela's was very responsive however,
I had to wait until the 1st one was picked up before they sent out the replacement. That cost another 2 days and then another week to recieve the replacement.
Got the new one, it works great! Assembly of handle, wheels and adding oil 20 minutes max. Real Easy.
I woud have given 5 stars has it not been for the inconvience..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy

Date:November 16, 2012
A little loud compared to an inverter gen. Worked right out of box with the remote.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Generator for an RV

Date:November 12, 2012
I purchased this generator for my RV so I could run the A/C while dry camping. It has worked flawlessly. It is a little louder than some of the other brand generators, but the price is unbeatable. Besides, when I dry camp and need a generator, there are few, if any other people around me. The remote start is real handy on those cold, rainy mornings when I need a cup of hot coffee or my wife needs to dry her hair. I also use it at home when the power goes out. Their customer service is first class. I broke one of the receptacles on my first try at using it and they mailed a new one, no questions asked and no charge. So far, I am very pleased with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hurricane Sandy

Date:November 12, 2012
I took the family to cabellas for a day trip during the black out after Hurricane sandy Just for somthing to do. While I was there I found out they had generators which was un beliveable since no one in south east pa nj ny or de had any and if they did they were over full price and gone in minuets. Not only did they have them but they were marked down about $125.00!!!! they also had a verry nice set up where they put it in the car and they were generally concerned for the situations we were in with the lack of power and downeed trees everywhere where I'm from!! They asked if there was anything they could do or anything we needed. I have a new respect for the company!! When we were in a time of crissses they didnt try to capitolize they lowered priced to help out!!! Also the generator ran great and the remote start feature is awesome you don't even need to go outside to start it!! Generator 5 stars Cabellas 6 !!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Happy

Date:November 9, 2012
Great product. Why, spend money on a Honda. Easy set-up, quiet, remote works great. Now I can have a beer and start my Generator with a remote. Very happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Did The Job!

Date:November 8, 2012
Bought this generator almost a year ago, after going without power for 8 days from hurricane Irene. Along came hurricane Sandy.....I ran this generator for 80 hours, stopping just to refuel and to do the initial oil change.It's loud standing next to it but can hardly be heard inside the house. It powered my oil burner with 2 circulator pumps, microwave, 2 tv's, refrigerator, various lights and my garage door opener. I used a transfer switch to hook up to my breaker panel. Oil change is fairly easy... used a flat plastic food container to catch the oil. I premeasured .63 quarts of 10w30 and used the provided funnel to refill. I highly recommend this model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Generator

Date:October 15, 2012
I bought this to mount ahead of my fifth wheel hitch in the bed of my Ford F-150 and it fits perfect, started right up with remote and I even tried the pull start. I didn't use the wheel kit since it is hard mounted in my truck. I wanted the remote so I could start it from inside the RV which works great...
It powers my entire RV including A/C - refridgerator and microwave....I have run them all at the same time with no problems...opened up remote camping for me with all the conveniences.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

finally a generator even i can use (woman)

Date:October 2, 2012
i can start it myself if i have to in storms love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pleased with purchase

Date:October 2, 2012
nice generator,love the remote start.wish they had it on a larger unit.all in all it is a nice generator light weight,and quiet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

More power than expected

Date:February 19, 2012
Arrived in perfect condition, easy to put together, added gas and the included bottle of oil and it fired right up. Powers everything in my toy hauler (ac, fridge, lights, furnace fan, hot water tank, tv) at the same time. Remote start works from everywhere in the trailer with generator outside. Sound level seems a bit loud when you're standing next to it (it is a generator...) but inside its no louder than my furnace fan. Great buy for the price, and even if it lasts only two years its still cheaper than the equivalent Honda that will last a few years longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Suwanee, GA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome Little Generator

Date:February 2, 2012
First off Cabela's is great. Shipping was fast and box showed up undamaged. I have had 2 yamaha gen in the past and athough this one is louder it is still not bad. I have it installed on the back of my semi to power my heater and ac to avoid running my truck motor. Run time is about 4-5 hrs per gallon on senthiec oil which works out to be about 12-15 hrs total on a tank. Love the remote start! No need to get out of the truck. Great build quility and will buy another one when I wear this one out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent little generator

Date:December 24, 2011
I recommended this generator to my parents for emergency backup after a number of power outages in a row. I wanted an electric start to make it as easy as possible for them to get running. Took me less than an hour to unbox, attach the wheels and handle, fill with oil and get it fired up. Started up right away with the electric start and ran smoothly for a few hours while I broke it in.
The remote start is a nice feature—nearby gas stations were either out of gas or had hours-long lines during the last power outage, so being able to shut down and start up the generator with minimal effort makes it easier to save gas. When using the remote, the generator actually cuts off power before letting the engine die, and waits for the engine to be stable before powering the outlets, so you can start it and shut it down with things plugged in. Slick.
The generator was delivered in perfect condition, despite the UPS guy dropping off the back of the truck. The only damage was to the oil filler cap—5 minutes on the phone with Champion customer service and they had a new one in the mail to me, no questions asked. THAT's service!
Great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ravensdale WA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for 30 AMP RV

Date:December 18, 2011
I purchased this to replace a worn out 3000 watt generator for my trailer. I use it a lot. The built in 30 AMP RV plug is a nice feature. I chose this one for that and the remote start. After I opened it up and read the instructions I learned that, if you start and stop it with the remote, It will delay the power coming on and turn it off before it stops. This is an excellent feature. As a generator starts and stops the incorrect speed will send incorrect voltage and cycles to your electronics. This way it is running the correct speed when they are energized and disconnected. This way you do not need to unhook the cord before starting and stopping the engine. There is no way to turn off your power converter so this will protect it from damage. It is important to remember this only works when using the remote. It is however an excellent feature. It is also quieter than my old one and very quiet for an open frame model. I also like the smart display. It gives voltage and cycles which are good info for the protection of electronics and the readings match my multi meter on both functions. the hour meter will make keeping track of maintenance easier. Its something I always wished my old one had. .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western North Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Generator !!!!!

Date:December 9, 2011
First of all, I had shopped around the internet and this is the lowest price for this model of Generator. I cann't believe the SUPER fast shipping that I recieved from Cabelas. After I ordered, I recieved the Generator in three days ! My hats off to Cabelas. The box was banged up, but the Generator was not damage. This is my fourth Champion Generator (upgrading each time) and I have been happy with each one. This generator with a electric start is a nice plus, Champion has never failed me with my power outages and it's amazing how much electrical units I can run with this size generator. You cann't go wrong with Cabelas or Champion Generators !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Allentown,PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bought for a hurricane needed it for Snow

Date:November 2, 2011
I hate reading reviews about thing that people just purchased and never really used. I have now used my generator for 4 straight days because of an October noreaster. I love the electric starter works wonders. I also tried the pull start one morning ( 32 Degrees out) just to see how it worked and it started on the 3rd pull. I have run this unit from 7 am till 11 pm at night and gone through about a tank of gas. 3.8 gallons a day. (running 2 refrigearators, tv, dvd player, PC, and gas fireplace). You will not go wrong with this unit . Now granted I have had no issues with the generator so I have not tried the customers service side of thing. So I have no opion on that
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vernon CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Emergency Generator

Date:August 30, 2011
I bought this generator the day before Hurricane Irene hit CT. It was quick and easy to set up, started with one push of a button, and ran flawlessly. I was able to run my freezer, refrigerator, fish tank, and television without issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice for the price

Date:April 29, 2014
The Generator works very well so far and is pretty quite compared to similar models I have owned and used. The only Con I see so far is their selling point for the remote start. Yes the remote start works and from a good distance. However, you are supposed to unplug everything from generator before turning it off. Thus, you have to physically go outside and the remote is not needed. Also, if you do turn it off with the remote the battery on the generator has to be left ON and will die if the switch on the generator is not turned off (that's what it says in the manual). The point is, I don't use the remote. The push start is amazing however! I use this generator for everything as I live in a dry cabin in Alaska off the grid. I have only had it for 2 weeks but no mechanical problems so far and it runs like a champ!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Champion 3500 Watt Remote Start Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good little generator

Date:April 29, 2014
The only downfall of this little generator is that it is a little heavy to lift in and out of the pickup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 55