Customer Reviews for CHAMPION Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package

CHAMPION Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package

This feature-packed generator delivers 3,500 running watts and up to 4,000 peak watts. Plus, you get even more with the Weekender Package: heavy-duty wheels, a clamp-on handle kit and polyester-lined PVC storage cover. With a noise level of 68db, it’s quiet – only 8db above normal conversation. Runs 12 hours at 50% load from a 4-gallon fuel tank. Receptacles include a 30-amp, 120-volt twist-lock; one 30-amp, 120-volt RV receptacle; and a 20-amp, 120-volt. Push-to-reset circuit breakers. Single-cylinder, four-stroke, air-cooled engine with recoil start and low-oil shut-off. 1"-diameter tubular steel frame. Includes oil funnel, spark arrester and spark-plug wrench. Two-year limited warranty. New 2013 model is EPA approved. Dimensions: 23-1/4"L x 17-1/2"W x 17-1/4"H. Weight: 100 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.558 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(163 Reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 163 reviews
5 Stars
130
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
10
151 out of 163(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions | 122 Answers
Customer Reviews for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Review 1 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Handy Dandy

Date:November 25, 2015
Bought on sale. It sat in the box for a year then we had a freak (for our area) windstorm. Power was out for four days. I un-boxed it, filed with oil and gas - started on second pull. Ran two freezers, big frig, couple lamps, TV and internet modem, router and laptop also a window air-conditioner. Ran flawlessly and saved a lot of frozen food. I'm very pleased. It is now in the storage shed, filled with fuel stabilized gas and ready to rumble.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good deal

Date:November 19, 2015
I used this generator for camping 11/2015 along the Delaware River. It started on the first or second pull. I was very surprised by the fuel economy. I brought extra gas expecting it would use a lot more. It was fairly quiet. they have made some improvements over earlier models.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Generator!

Date:November 4, 2015
We bought this generator primarily for powering our trailer when camping, but also for back-up power in case of outages at home. We got it just before a hunting trip so literally unpacked it, prepped it and loaded it. I did start it and test it quickly before loading, one pull started it and it ran everything in the trailer. We used it daily for 8 days for an average of 2 to 3 hours per day to power the trailer in the evening and charge the trailers battery. We were camped at about 9,000 feet and the temperatures during the week ranged from 20 to 60 degrees Fahrenheit. On 2 days I had to pull the starter cord twice, every other day one pull started it. It ran great, powered the trailer fine and it is very quiet. We didn't really notice it running inside the trailer. I gassed it up in the middle of the week. It still had about a quarter tank at that point and still had about a third tank at the end of the week. Additionally, the handle and wheels make it easy to move, the folding handle makes it easy to store and it came with a cover, funnel and spark plug socket. This is a great generator, especially for the price. I would highly recommend this product to others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Way quieter than expectrd

Date:November 3, 2015
Performed and powered better than we thought it would. Did not notice the noise. Ran satellite TV, camper heat, Keirig coffee maker, microwave. Never struggled at all. Recommended highly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Impressed - buying another

Date:August 2, 2015
We bought our first one of these almost 5 years ago, to power our weekend cabin before utility power was available. Each weekend we spent there, we would fill it with fuel, set choke, pull rope (usually only once, even in freezing weather). We would refill it each morning and night, then shut it off on Sunday night. Every other weekend of use, I changed the oil and checked the valve gap. We put at least 500 hours on this little unit in that 6 month period.
We have used it on a 35' travel trailer to run the A/C (and everything else). We put it out at the end of a 50' power cord and never notice the generator noise.
I did have to replace the throttle spring a couple of years ago, but all it took was one call to get one sent to me.
It has been living at our house, in case of extended power failures, and now I want a second one to keep at the cabin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase for emergency power outages

Date:July 21, 2015
Good for the price. Easy to operate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

But this generator

Date:April 21, 2015
Buy it. Go to an electrical supply dealer and buy a transfer switch. Have an electrician install it in your breaker box and you can run your fridge, A/C-heater, TV and components, several lamps, and a few electric heaters if needed. Best purchase I've made in 10 years. Here in TX with the spring storms and frequent power outages, there was no way I was gonna go without power: we're having a baby soon! Seriously, it's quite, easy to use, and great value for the price. Change the oil after the first 5 hours like the instructions say. It ran my hunting camp for the weekend on 10 gallons of gas and had plenty of power to spare. Cabela's for win again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Looks Good!

Date:April 7, 2015
I purchased this solely as an insurance policy for my fridge/freezer in the event the power went out. It is exactly what I expected.
One improvement I would suggest is to include an adapter for multiple appliances to run at the same time. Would be a small increase in price, but I would pay it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

quiet

Date:March 1, 2015
was worried it was going to be very loud. have run it at home every weekend since i bought it. no issues at all. have not put any ethanol in it either
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peace of mind

Date:January 28, 2015
The greatest thing about this purchase is that I haven't had to use it yet. I lost power 2 years in a row for 4 days in which I lost food and froze. I'm hoping that I never have to use this generator, but if I do I know I will be prepared. So I guess the best thing about this purchase is that it has given me peace of mind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Champion Weekender Generator Is a Winner

Date:January 13, 2015
This generator is perfect for the tent trailer enthusiast, whose rig doesn't have creature comforts like air conditioning or heat. It is not too loud to run in the early
evening and can run enough appliances on a short term basis to make campng even more enjoyable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

recieved on time as exspected and Started 1st pull

Date:January 7, 2015
I have not had to use it yet only to test my home emergency system. It worked just fine any thing i could say would be a repeat of what has already been said. The reviews on here has helped very much in making this purchase of this. The price was good on Black Friday sale also bought the three plug twist lock adapter to use when needed. The fact this one does not have the 220 does not mean much because every thing I'm using it on is 110 shutting down 220 items in electric panel. The reason for staying a little smaller is that in case of power outage gas could hard to get. And 3.8 gallons per 12 hours sounds better and easier to store enough safely for needs. Rotating with out side yard power equipment to keep fresh gas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buy now

Date:January 6, 2015
Bought this for ice fishing works awesome runs my lights,tv,rado and even toaster oven to cook pizza,not loud at all have it right next to ice shack and barely hear it when I'm in the shack
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Generator

Date:January 3, 2015
Waited for this deal to go on sale. Had to pay a few extra bucks to have delivered, but that is expected. Does not come with oil....no problem. Seems to be pretty well made and is fairly quiet. Haven't used it a bunch, but so far has done everything asked of it .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super Generator

Date:December 30, 2014
This is the second one of these I purchased excellent,easy start,I always put Sta-bil in the gas tank,keeps carburetor clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Pull

Date:December 30, 2014
I received this generator quicker than expected. This was a replacement for my backup that died on me. After installing the oil and gassed it up, it started on the first pull. I was familiar with this model since we use it at our deer camp for the last 2 years. This unit also runs much quieter than the one it replaced. I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent

Date:December 19, 2014
We use this for our pop up camper. It ran all weekend (Fri-Sun) filled it Fri n Sat night before we went to bed. Ran our lights furnace n TV with no issues!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Generator

Date:December 2, 2014
A little work horse. Efficient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gas oil started first pull..

Date:November 18, 2014
This powerplant runs like a champ quiter than i expected glad i got it thanks Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!

Date:October 19, 2014
We arrived at camp in the middle of the Glamis sand dunes just before dark our Generator just stopped working after about 15 min. I could not get it started again. I called the 24/7 phone number right on the Generator panel. I had to call from a friends phone as i had no phone service. All I got was a message. If this is a emergency please leave a message. I left a messaget that i was in the middle of the Desert and my generator quit working please call me back befor dark. I left my friends phone number. The Technician called back not once but 4 time untill he was able to talk to us. With a little help he told us to disconnect a yellow wire that was telling us we needed to change the oil. When we did this the Generator fired right up. Thank You Champion for your Customer service and persistence in calling us back. The Weekend was awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 163