Customer Reviews for CHAMPION Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package

CHAMPION Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package

This feature-packed generator delivers 3,500 running watts and up to 4,000 peak watts. Plus, you get even more with the Weekender Package: heavy-duty wheels, a clamp-on handle kit and polyester-lined PVC storage cover. With a noise level of 68db, it’s quiet – only 8db above normal conversation. Runs 12 hours at 50% load from a 4-gallon fuel tank. Receptacles include a 30-amp, 120-volt twist-lock; one 30-amp, 120-volt RV receptacle; and a 20-amp, 120-volt. Push-to-reset circuit breakers. Single-cylinder, four-stroke, air-cooled engine with recoil start and low-oil shut-off. 1"-diameter tubular steel frame. Includes oil funnel, spark arrester and spark-plug wrench. Two-year limited warranty. New 2013 model is EPA approved. Dimensions: 23-1/4"L x 17-1/2"W x 17-1/4"H. Weight: 100 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.539 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(165 Reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 165 reviews
5 Stars
131
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
11
152 out of 165(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions | 122 Answers
Customer Reviews for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Review 1 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2016

Runs the AC in fifth wheel with no problem!

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I did a lot of researching generators before I decided to finally pull the trigger on this generator. I had a Generac portable generator that made 5550 running watts and 8550 peak surge watts. It had a briggs and stratton motor and ran like a dream; only problem was it was very heavy and VERY loud when running. I needed something more friendly when we go camping with our 5th wheel as my wife hated how loud that other generator was.
I sold the Generac reluctantly as I had nothing but good things with that generator, but was now on the search for a generator that was not so heavy, not so loud and still portable to load into the truck to head out into the hills.
I tried a smaller portable generac i2000 and that could not even run my microwave so I bagged that. I looked at many reviews on most major brands and finally felt there were way more positive reviews for the Champion generator.
For the deal Cabela's had on this package, I could not beat it. I tried looking on local advertising websites and people wanted used machines for more or equal price of this unit and most did not even come with the wheel package / cover. I was so pleased with this package deal. It arrived in 4 days. I put it together without looking at the instructions in maybe 10-15 minutes tops. It started right up like everyone says. I was so pleased with how quiet it is! I would dare say it is a minimum of 1/2 as loud as my Generac was. I would highly recommend getting the wheel package, b/c once you get fuel loaded, the generator is manageable to load into a truck, but moving it around would get old without wheels.
I have a 26' fifth wheel and I was worried that this unit may not run the AC, but I was wrong. It runs the AC Ice cold with no problems at all. I wanted a generator that could run my microwave and AC if needed as those are the 2 main wattage users. I spent a fraction of the cost a Yamaha or Honda would cost and got a great looking and great running machine.
I am nothing but happy with this purchase and look forward to running it for years to come. Even if it lasts me a few seasons then dies, I can still buy 3-4 of these units before I would be able to buy 1 of the Honda or Yamaha units and still not be able to run the AC.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2015

Handy Dandy

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought on sale. It sat in the box for a year then we had a freak (for our area) windstorm. Power was out for four days. I un-boxed it, filed with oil and gas - started on second pull. Ran two freezers, big frig, couple lamps, TV and internet modem, router and laptop also a window air-conditioner. Ran flawlessly and saved a lot of frozen food. I'm very pleased. It is now in the storage shed, filled with fuel stabilized gas and ready to rumble.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2015

good deal

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I used this generator for camping 11/2015 along the Delaware River. It started on the first or second pull. I was very surprised by the fuel economy. I brought extra gas expecting it would use a lot more. It was fairly quiet. they have made some improvements over earlier models.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2015

Great Generator!

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
We bought this generator primarily for powering our trailer when camping, but also for back-up power in case of outages at home. We got it just before a hunting trip so literally unpacked it, prepped it and loaded it. I did start it and test it quickly before loading, one pull started it and it ran everything in the trailer. We used it daily for 8 days for an average of 2 to 3 hours per day to power the trailer in the evening and charge the trailers battery. We were camped at about 9,000 feet and the temperatures during the week ranged from 20 to 60 degrees Fahrenheit. On 2 days I had to pull the starter cord twice, every other day one pull started it. It ran great, powered the trailer fine and it is very quiet. We didn't really notice it running inside the trailer. I gassed it up in the middle of the week. It still had about a quarter tank at that point and still had about a third tank at the end of the week. Additionally, the handle and wheels make it easy to move, the folding handle makes it easy to store and it came with a cover, funnel and spark plug socket. This is a great generator, especially for the price. I would highly recommend this product to others.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2015

Way quieter than expectrd

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Performed and powered better than we thought it would. Did not notice the noise. Ran satellite TV, camper heat, Keirig coffee maker, microwave. Never struggled at all. Recommended highly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2015

Very Impressed - buying another

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
We bought our first one of these almost 5 years ago, to power our weekend cabin before utility power was available. Each weekend we spent there, we would fill it with fuel, set choke, pull rope (usually only once, even in freezing weather). We would refill it each morning and night, then shut it off on Sunday night. Every other weekend of use, I changed the oil and checked the valve gap. We put at least 500 hours on this little unit in that 6 month period.
We have used it on a 35' travel trailer to run the A/C (and everything else). We put it out at the end of a 50' power cord and never notice the generator noise.
I did have to replace the throttle spring a couple of years ago, but all it took was one call to get one sent to me.
It has been living at our house, in case of extended power failures, and now I want a second one to keep at the cabin.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2015

Great purchase for emergency power outages

By
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Good for the price. Easy to operate
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2015

But this generator

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Buy it. Go to an electrical supply dealer and buy a transfer switch. Have an electrician install it in your breaker box and you can run your fridge, A/C-heater, TV and components, several lamps, and a few electric heaters if needed. Best purchase I've made in 10 years. Here in TX with the spring storms and frequent power outages, there was no way I was gonna go without power: we're having a baby soon! Seriously, it's quite, easy to use, and great value for the price. Change the oil after the first 5 hours like the instructions say. It ran my hunting camp for the weekend on 10 gallons of gas and had plenty of power to spare. Cabela's for win again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2015

Looks Good!

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this solely as an insurance policy for my fridge/freezer in the event the power went out. It is exactly what I expected.
One improvement I would suggest is to include an adapter for multiple appliances to run at the same time. Would be a small increase in price, but I would pay it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2015

quiet

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
was worried it was going to be very loud. have run it at home every weekend since i bought it. no issues at all. have not put any ethanol in it either
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2015

Peace of mind

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The greatest thing about this purchase is that I haven't had to use it yet. I lost power 2 years in a row for 4 days in which I lost food and froze. I'm hoping that I never have to use this generator, but if I do I know I will be prepared. So I guess the best thing about this purchase is that it has given me peace of mind.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Champion Weekender Generator Is a Winner

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This generator is perfect for the tent trailer enthusiast, whose rig doesn't have creature comforts like air conditioning or heat. It is not too loud to run in the early
evening and can run enough appliances on a short term basis to make campng even more enjoyable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2015

recieved on time as exspected and Started 1st pull

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have not had to use it yet only to test my home emergency system. It worked just fine any thing i could say would be a repeat of what has already been said. The reviews on here has helped very much in making this purchase of this. The price was good on Black Friday sale also bought the three plug twist lock adapter to use when needed. The fact this one does not have the 220 does not mean much because every thing I'm using it on is 110 shutting down 220 items in electric panel. The reason for staying a little smaller is that in case of power outage gas could hard to get. And 3.8 gallons per 12 hours sounds better and easier to store enough safely for needs. Rotating with out side yard power equipment to keep fresh gas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015

buy now

By
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought this for ice fishing works awesome runs my lights,tv,rado and even toaster oven to cook pizza,not loud at all have it right next to ice shack and barely hear it when I'm in the shack
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2015

Good Generator

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Waited for this deal to go on sale. Had to pay a few extra bucks to have delivered, but that is expected. Does not come with oil....no problem. Seems to be pretty well made and is fairly quiet. Haven't used it a bunch, but so far has done everything asked of it .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

Super Generator

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is the second one of these I purchased excellent,easy start,I always put Sta-bil in the gas tank,keeps carburetor clean.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

One Pull

By
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I received this generator quicker than expected. This was a replacement for my backup that died on me. After installing the oil and gassed it up, it started on the first pull. I was familiar with this model since we use it at our deer camp for the last 2 years. This unit also runs much quieter than the one it replaced. I would recommend this product to a friend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014

excellent

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
We use this for our pop up camper. It ran all weekend (Fri-Sun) filled it Fri n Sat night before we went to bed. Ran our lights furnace n TV with no issues!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2014

Generator

By
A little work horse. Efficient
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Champion 3500W/4000 Watt Generator Weekender Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2014

Gas oil started first pull..

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This powerplant runs like a champ quiter than i expected glad i got it thanks Cabela's.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 165