Customer Reviews for GUN SLICK Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

GUN SLICK Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators

The proof is in the performance – Generac portable generators surpass competitors’ similar-output models in three ways: smaller size, reduced weight and quieter operation. Generac’s industry-leading inverter technology gives these units amazingly high power-to-weight ratios. Plus, an electronics filter lets you run radios, televisions and computers interference-free. Two-mode FlexPower™ features a high mode for heavy loads and a whisper-quiet, fuel- saving economy mode. Anti-vibration mounts reduce noise and eliminate generator movement while under load. An electronic overload-protection breaker protects outlets and appliances. A low-oil shutdown guards the four-stroke OHV engines from damage. Generac’s two-year limited warranty. Engine oil included. Available: 800 watt, 2,000 watt. Item note: Before ordering please research potential power needs to ensure you select the appropriate size generator. Due to the nature of this product, returns cannot be accepted. However, all Generac iX models come with a 2-Year manufacturers limited warranty.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.895 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
9
10 out of 19(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Review 1 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Generac IX 2000

Date:May 19, 2012
I almost didn't buy this because of the reviews. But because of Cabelas sale and me holding some gift cards I decided to try it....and I'm glad I did!
Everyone says "it's a little louder than a Honda" , well its more power than a Honda also. The Generac puts out 2000 watts, the Honda 2000 is rated for 1600 watts. You can easily have the Generac between you and a friend and hold a conversation. Its NOT very loud. It is also excellent on gas. As far as starting....... I have never pulled more than twice. It ran a little rough the first 5 hours but held good power. After 5 hours I changed the oil ( as recommended by manual) to full synthetic oil and it did smooth out, but it never ran rough enough to be annoying or any kind of problem.
This generator is light, easy to start, and quiet! I would recommend the Generac IX 2000 to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kosrae, Micronesia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent... So far

Date:June 10, 2011
The "so far" is a reflection to the negative reviews preceding. We just received the unit in 3 days (Thanks Cabelas) and so far so good, I don't anticipate anything negative, but if any, will follow up.
Gassed, oiled, and primed, this baby started right up on the first half pull. Once warmed up consecutive start ups were at a fraction of a pull. Steady idle RPM, instant up and steady RPM, upon maximum load. It may be a bit louder than Honda and Yamaha, I did not have the units side by side. The oil fill is way inside the compartment (awkward to fill even with the enclosed funnel, and messy to drain.) This latter is not enough to detract from a 5 star rating.
A general comment on today's invertor generators: The idle speed is too high, mandated by the requirement for light weight portability, it does not provide the full economy possible in the variable RPM inverter concept. The ultimate economy genset would have a large flywheel or two, allowing it to idle at 250-300 RPM, sipping almost no fuel, and putting out 50W - two fluorecent lights or so, which is the load of the average portable generator 75% of the time.
This will require a wide range voltage regulator.
An ultracapacitor in the curcuitry will allow the unit to meet idle to full load transition in about 3 seconds.
This supereconomy version can be marketed separatedly from the superlightweight (not fully economical) units currently on the market.
For example: Semi-portable Ultra-economical.
With kind regards,
Earthwile
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: p.a
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BUY ONE

Date:May 1, 2011
bought the 2000 watt 7 moths ago, came within 3days of ordering. filled with gas & oil primed , & started up on 3rd pull. ran my 13 amp sds max hammer drill drill ran great. broke motor in by running for 6hrs then changed the oil to full synthetic as recommended. unit sat outside in shed all winter in below freezing temp. once a month i would start it to see how it would do sitting in those temps. primed motor, choked & always started in 2 pulls.its slightly louder than the honda , its a generator they make noise, you can have a normal conversation standing next to it while it runs. well built machine.if you want something with less noise , run an extension cord.i use it on construction sites when power is an issue to run power tools ( one @ a time ) if you need to run more, buy a bigger unit. check the wattage for what you need to run.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quiet Generator

Date:December 8, 2010
This is a good little generator. It's not as quiet as a honda at idle, but under load it's about the same. Using this with my camper provides nice quiet power. I've not tried running the A/C, but this little unit will run the full rated 2000 watts.
It's bigger than it looks in the picture, but it is still very portable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dallas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1/2 Price of a Honda

Date:August 3, 2010
This is a great little generator. This is a replacement purchase for another little generac that i bought in the early 90's....which still works. Was overall very impressed by the whole package. Box included all needed accessories, and the machine seems pretty well built. Cannot argue with the price either. Filled up with oil, gas, and this puppy started right up and was very quiet. Thanks Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ran a sump pump and shop vac

Date:July 28, 2010
My power went out a couple weeks ago during a bad thunderstorm and I didn't have my 1/3 hp sump pump on battery backup. Unfortunately my finished basement started flooding so I grabbed my IX2000 that I actually purchased online for camping and was able to successfully run my 1/3 hp sump pump AND my large shop vac without issues for 3 hours until the power came back on. It ran like a champ and I had no problem starting the unit.
Overall I would recommend this unit to anyone; easy to start and powered exactly what I needed for my flooded basement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy one

Date:April 23, 2010
Generac ix2000. After reading the reviews here I was concerned but knowing Cabelas' customer service and considering the price, I gave it a shot. Upon receiving it appeared well made and I was impressed with the quality. Bigger than expected but still easily lifted with one hand. The choke lever is heavy plastic and well proctected by the outside case. I am unsure how this would break. Started on the second pull and ran fine. Not as quiet as a Honda or a Yahama, but for $400-500 less, its worth it. Its definitely not as loud as lawnmower, and far quieter than any cheap generators I have owned. Can hold a converstation at normal levels while standing next to it. Estimated 62-64 db. Other outside reviews complained of leaking oil in packaging. Mine was completely clean. It also came with 12v battery charging cables, screwdriver and spark plug wrench in a case, funnel, and oil.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good purchase

Date:January 7, 2013
i bought this generator 2 years ago and have used it on 4 ice fishing trips. the generator is great. does everything i need it to and more. i almost was scared away by the bad reviews as well but generac's customer service just made me happy i made this purchase. i had an issue with the gas cap on my last winter trip and being a procrastinator have not dealt with it until now. my warranty card did not get to generac. i just got off the phone with them and no problem, no fee, no hassle they are sending me my replacement part. i never write these things but i love the product and love the great customer service i had to fix my problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Denver Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Machine!

Date:July 26, 2010
Picked this machine up prior to a camping trip out of the Ft. Worth Tx store. Read the reviews online before I bought and was a bit hesitant to pull the trigger on this. I am glad that I did not listen to the reviews as I am very satisified with the purchase. I was very impressed with packaging which included the oil, a oil funnel tool, a little tool kit for servicing, and a spare spark plug.....wow! Anyway, filled up with oil, primed the engine as the starting instructions stated and it fired right up. Compared to my other generator that is much larger, this thing was quiet. One of the other campers at our site had a honda inverter generator and it was very similar to mine. The generac was slightly louder when it started but was just as quiet when under load. This machine would have gotten five stars if it wouldnt have been missing an owners manual in the box. I called generac and they emailed me a link to download the manual.......which was very helpful btw. Again, I am very happy with this little machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Gaylord, MI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good once you get it started.

Date:September 28, 2011
Follow the instructions to the letter. It does take quite a few pulls for this generator to start but once it does and it runs for the first 5hours; it runs great afterward. Be sure to change the oil. It was quite loud during the first oil run but when we put the second can of oil in it --- it seems to start with one pull and run flawlessly. We ran, lights, charged batteries, phones, and play a DVD as well as run the fridge. It's not a Honda but it's definitively worth save 400.00 dollars. It comes with a two year warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Generac is worthless

Date:July 3, 2012
Unreliable, doesn't work, worthless. Don't buy this generator. Don't even think about buying this generator. I gave a rating of 1 because there is no lower rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Central Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't

Date:August 1, 2011
I'm a generac dealer and installer. My unit literally burned up the first few hours of use. I lost several weeks use when I needed the unit waiting on a repair not a replacement and it never worked correctly afterwards. Would not idle down. I got a refund from the company.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Glendale AZ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Lost trust in Cabelas selling quality products!

Date:July 5, 2011
Everything negitive said about this generator is true! Less then 10 hours and unit is leaking oil and starter pulley broke. There is also some kind of fiber coming out of generator unit! I have owned many generators over the years and I have never had so many problems! WORST EVER OWNED!!! In the end I bought a Honda to replace it! Faithfull customer of Cabelas since 1972! From not on I will only by a minimal amount of fishing products from here if at all!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst purchase ever.

Date:April 17, 2011
I bought the 2000i Generator used it two weeks and It started to surge and then stop and hard to start. I took it into the recommended shop for Warrenty work and it has been there knows for4 months and counting. Generace does not suppont their shop very well and does not offer much help in getting it fixed. When I talk to Generace they do not care if it gets fixed very fast and tell not to worry some day it will get fixed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mt. Olive, North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not happy with purchase

Date:December 27, 2010
use to power flounder gigging lights, had for 4 months and has became increasingly harder to start. If I run it for a little while, turn it off to move to another area, I can't restart it. Took it to an autherized generac repair shop, had to tell him 3 different time what the problem was. He said he had to spray gas in carburator and it would start right up. charged me $25, said warrenty was worthless. I brought it home and have not been able to get it started since. NOT VERY HAPPY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

You get what you pay for

Date:September 13, 2010
Purchased it and am not happy at all. I plugged it into my pickup camper and it showed it was overloaded and no power to the camper. Nothing but the power inverter was on in the camper. I plugged in my father-in-law’s 650 watt Honda and no problems. Not a good generator so I will be returning it!
Do yourself a favor and do not even look at this in the store!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texarkana, TX/AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wouldn't Start

Date:April 6, 2010
Got my first one in and it would not start. Took it to a factory authorized Generac service center here in town. It was not getting any fire. Cabela's replaced it. Got the second one in and it would not start either.
So I can't speak to the noise level since I never heard it running.
Cabela's customer service department was top notch in refunding my money. Thank you for that.
One good thing I liked about the generator was the 12V direct plug that Honda's don't have .... but if they don't run you can't use them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Dahlonega Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

It not like the Honda

Date:April 2, 2010
Thought it would be like the honda.No DB Rating they just say it is very quite well its not.It is as loud your lawn mower and does not have the starting amps as the honda no even though they are rated the same.I have Returned
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Generac® iX Series Inverter Generators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Out of the Box

Date:February 9, 2010
I purchased this product and un-boxed it for the first time. One of the major parts was made of plastic "the choke regulator" and when I started it for the first time it broke off. looking at the unit it appears to be mainly developed out of cheap plastic and cheap hoses. I thought Generac was a top of the line company, but I guess I will go back to Honda.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.