Customer Reviews for PEAK PERFORMANCE Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter

PEAK PERFORMANCE Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter

Jump-start a vehicle or bring electricity to your campsite or home with these innovative power sources. Dependable and compact, these units can be easily stored in your vehicle or garage for emergencies. Use them to provide 12-volt DC power to run worklights, radios and charge cell phones. Low-charge alert automatically sounds when jump-starter needs recharging. Other highlights include 120-volt AC wall charger, polarity indicator for added safety, battery-status check button, charging/status LED indicators, on/off safety switch and high-impact rubber housing. The 450-amp model boasts a high-surge, 200-watt (400 Peak) inverter that provides 110 volts of AC power anywhere. Available: 900 amp, 600 amp.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
13 out of 18(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Review 1 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

battery charger portable

Date:March 11, 2014
works well and built well. Don't know how I lived without this for so long.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect Tool

Date:November 19, 2013
I purchased this 1 month ago with the sole purpose of using it for jump starting my lawn tractor, snowmobiles and possibly a car. Since my purchase I have used it 3 times, twice on the lawn tractor and once on a dead car battery. In each instance the jump-starter worked perfectly. All on a single (initial) charge. The unit still has 99% power after 3 uses.
Not sure what some of these other reviewers were thinking, this IS for jumping a dead battery, not powering items that should be run by a generator. A+ in my book.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Portable power

Date:April 16, 2013
Amazing find, This is such a great addition to my car and is so much easier to help a friend with their cars when they won't start and yet it also has tons of other uses too like I can use my million candle power search light or run most electronics with it so it will be great for camping!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Item!!

Date:February 23, 2013
This is a great item, even lets you know when its needs recharged!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peak Portable Power Plus

Date:February 12, 2013
Every sportsman should own this product. Very easy to handle and easy to use. Pump up ATV tires, boat trailer tires etc. Also emergency jump starter.
Lifesaver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Don't leave home on a long trip without it.

Date:January 8, 2013
This is great, I carry it everywhere i tow my boat or ATV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

PEAK Power Supply 450/900

Date:December 27, 2012
I bought 2 online as Christmas presents and neither one worked. One seemed to have a defective battery that would not take a charge while the other had a defective gage that would not show the amount of charge in the unit. Cabela's exchanged them with no problems. I hope the new ones work, or it will be on to a different store for these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Toms River, NJ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worst purchase ever

Date:July 5, 2011
please do not buy this unit. Own this unit for only 6 months. Totally fail to charge. Try to charge it for 24hrs and the battery meter still in RED. Don't waste you $$$.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Old Church, VA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far so good

Date:August 16, 2010
Lots of nice features not found on other jump-its. The AC plug comes in handy - ran a small fan for my wife last week when the power (and air conditioner) went out in a storm. The air pump has worked fine for me on vehicle tires. I got it, and will use it, for emergencies, so I don't expect it to power my whole house. I have not tried jumping a dead car battery with it yet (I have jumper cables for that), but it has jumped my riding mower, generator, and tractor batteries no problem. It's a lot more expensive than standard jump-it units, but I think the added features were worth the added cost. The only thing I don't like is there isn't anywhere on it to store the chargers (but I guess that would have just made the unit bigger).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: la junta, co
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not worth it

Date:March 18, 2010
OK I tested it to the max.
1. Jump start dead car batt. from full charge NO
2. Jump start lawn mower and 4 wheeler YES
3. ac to dc converter could not run what stated. charged cell and razor
4. dc to charge batt pack quick but all the wire connections broke
5.ac to charge batt ok until circuit board inside failed
6. air compressor worked great for lawn , 4 wheeler , and even on my horse trailer tires a little slow but will pump them up to what i need.
7. 12v out puts worked great ran spot light, charged phones
i suggest buy a seperate AC/DC converter, seperate compressor and/or small generator. you have all your eggs in one basket with this unit. I am going to send back to cabelas or if that fails send back too company and if that fails trash.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Taos, New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the Price!

Date:March 7, 2010
This next summer (2010) will be the true test for my new Peak Power Plus.
But, so far, it has been fine, along with my two other Black & Decker units.
I will test the A/C side and write back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Kosrae, Micronesia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not as advertised

Date:January 28, 2010
I bought a unit a couple of months ago and it worked beautifully, for a very short time. AC output was a good continuous 280 watts untill it quit altogether after less than a month. Cabela,s were very nice and replaced the item minus the cost of shipping it back. The replacement item was far worse: the battery status button malfunctioned almost immediately, the inverter would put out no more than 100 watts before tripping off, and quit altogether after only a week. I gave up on sending the second unit back to Cabella's a second time and took it apart. What I found was poor design and workmanship, the inverter part is just a tiny printed circuit board, no wonder that it fails.
My advice: Do not buy this item unles you want it only for the battery, charger, and the heavy duty jumper cables. The Inverter part is worthless.
The inverter and battery status button failure may also indicate that the other modules may be equally shabby and due to fail within a sort time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Doha
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Charger

Date:October 27, 2009
I bought one for me , also my freind bought one ,
its totaly great product .
its in the car and at home , and its always ready to help you.
you dont need to worry again when u have power out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ventura, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Portable Power Plus

Date:July 14, 2009
The unit continues to work perfectly fine and is versatile. One aspect that the unit has which pleases my wife is the clear identification and markings on the unit which make the unit easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Marietta,Ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Could you some more juice

Date:April 1, 2009
As a 12 volt power supply it's fine, but using the 110 volt is pushing this unit to far. Fully charged my units low battery alarm sounds after 10 minutes of 110 use. I thought it would at least run my laptop ? Using it for TV is a complete waste 13 tv drains this to fast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PEAK PERFORMANCE PLUS

Date:March 24, 2009
THIS DOES IT ALL. FOR THE PRICE IT IS THE BEST BUY I HAVE FOUND. I WANTED A JUMPER ( IT TELLS YOU IF IT IS HOOKED UP WRONG)---AND A BIG AIR COMPRESSOR (MOST OF THEM ARE TO SMALL AND WILL NOT BLOW UP A PICKUP TIRE) THIS ONE WILL ----AND THE BEST PART IS THE 110 OUTLET iT WILL RUN A TABLE LAMP WITH 60 WATT BULB FOR OVER 3 HOURS ---IT HAS A GAUGE (NOT A LIGHT) WITH A NEEDLE TO SHOW HOW MUCH BATTERY IS IN THE PACK WITH A NICE SAFETY COVER AND GOOD BUT SMALL WORK LIGHT. I HAVE HAD IT 3 MONTHS AND SO FAR IT HAS WORKED GREAT!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Orlando, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Large But Packed With Features

Date:March 23, 2009
This is one industrial grade power source. It has a 110 volt connection, (2) auto supplies, a light, and a air compressor.
It is big, but chock full of features. The handle makes it easy to carry around. It also has a clear cover over the gauges and electrical connections.
Well made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Peak Performance Portable Power Plus™ Jump-Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peak Power Plus

Date:February 5, 2009
Compact with plenty of power. Light weight and easy to handle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.