Customer Reviews for SUPERWINCH Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch

SUPERWINCH Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch

A powerful pulling system at a powerfully enticing price. A full 2000 lbs. of tow-out power is at your fingertips with this handlebar-controlled winch system. The low-amp-draw 1-hp motor turns three-stage differential planetary gears for torque-rich performance. Pull-and-turn freespooling clutch. Dynamic braking. Circuit-breaker protected. Includes 49 ft. of 5/32" steel cable, pulley block, roller fairlead, handlebar switch, D-Shackle and a latched hook with rope thimble. Dimensions: 11"L x 4.1"D x 4.1"H. Weight: 14-1/2 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.776 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
9
45 out of 58(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Review 1 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst purchase ever

Date:September 18, 2012
Winch was mounted on the back of my UTV to help load game in the bed. Winch would not pull straight and jammed the cable. The winch had to be disassembled to remove it from the mount. Pay the extra and go with good quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Let me down when I needed it!

Date:March 23, 2011
I used this winch all winter to move my plow up and down with no problems at all. We got a big snow and I went out into the deep snow with a friend and we got totally buried. No problem...I have a brand new Superwinch right? Wrong! This thing was not designed to actually get you unstuck from anywhere. It was designed to lift and lower a plow. The cable jumped out of the spool and wrapped itself SO tightly around the shaft that it bent itself into an unusable state. 1 year later I am in the market for another winch. Don't waste your money if you actually intend to use it to get you out of trouble.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Central Fl.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not enought pull

Date:August 3, 2010
Installing it was easy, all of the wiring was simple for me; you will need to make a mounting plate for it. The only problem I have with it is, on a single line pull it is not even close on pulling 2000 lbs. I had to use the two block pulley, just to pull 900 lbs. For a cheap winch it is ok for very light duty work, I would not go deep in the woods and rely on this to get me out, incase I got stuck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: va
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

weak

Date:July 7, 2010
i was stuck in a mud hole and the superwinch wouldnt pull me out so i hooked up to my buddys promark offroad 1500lb winch and it pulled me out!!!!!!!!!!! just goes to show never go with the cheapest things spend the money the first time so you dont have to do it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

superwinch 2000

Date:March 9, 2010
The superwinch 2000 is HORRIBLE the worst thing i have ever spent my money on. It has gone out of its spool twice the first time it was fixable but the second time it bent the spool back onto its self. I had to take it off and throw it away DO NOT GET THIS WINCH! If you want a winch that will last more than 2 times get a warn or a promark offroad i have the promark now and it is amazing compared to the superwinch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

THIS IS NOT THE LT2000 DESCRIBED ON THE SUPERWINCH

Date:November 17, 2009
THIS IS NOT THE LT2000 DESCRIBED ON THE SUPERWINCH WEBSITE!
As I shopped for a replacement winch for my ATV I went directly to the Cabela’s website and found the LT2000 on sale. I wanted to learn more about the winch so I visited the Superwinch website and found the LT2000. I looked at the pictures of the items in the kit, read the descriptions, studied the Owners Guide and the Installation Guide and determined that the LT2000 was just what I wanted. I ordered it immediately from Cabela's.
When the winch arrived I was disappointed that the Superwinch LT2000 sold by Cabela’s was so much different than the Superwinch LT2000 described, pictured and documented on the Superwinch website.
This is NOT the LT2000 described on the Superwinch website!
It does not come with all of the items pictured on the Superwinch website!
It does not come with all of the items described on the Cabela’s website!
It does not come with all of the items, described in print, on the box!
It does not even come with all of the items detailed in the Superwinch installation guide that are required to make this a useable product! (Specifically it is lacking the mounting plate which is required to attach the roller fairlead to the winch.)
This is NOT the LT2000 described on the Superwinch website!
I called Superwinch after receiving the product and left repeated messages and no one has returned my call. I have also e-mailed them and not had a response. I searched the Superwinch website to order the mounting plate but couldn’t find it on their website!
I contacted Cabela’s customer service and they were very accommodating offering to possibly get the necessary items from Superwinch. But, based on my experience with my attempts to contact Superwinch directly AND what I believe is a deliberate attempt to mislead buyers of this LT2000 I’ve decided to return the winch Cabela’s and buy another brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Replacement solenoids

Date:August 4, 2009
I bought this winch with the undestanding that i could buy replacement parts since i use winches on more then just ATV's and UTV's. I only bought one winch to try it out and im glad thats all i bought. The winch lasted two weeks before one of the solenoids burnt out. Super winch would not honor their waranty or replace the solenoids. I have not yet found a replacement solenoid yet and that was almost a year ago. I bought a warn and love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Superwinch LT2000 ATV winch

Date:June 16, 2009
Solenoid to large to mount except on very back of ATV. Cables to short to reach battery/winch if mounted in the back of ATV. Item returned
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: jackson, nj
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

check before purchasing a superwinch

Date:October 6, 2008
the lt 2000 winch looks like a good winch but cannot use it due to the fact that i have a suzuki vinson500 that has a winch mounting plate from the factory on it and the winch mounts to it but there is no way to mount the fairlead that is needed for proper use of the winch. i called superwinch and they stated that i needed to purchase their mounting plate, which to me if i knew this i would have never purchased their winch due to the fact i already have a mounting plate on my quad. their response to me was there is nothing they can do for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ok product

Date:October 22, 2013
No directions or wiring diagrams included. Cables too short to mount equiptment where needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

less than superwinch

Date:April 2, 2013
ON removing the Superwich from the box, I tried to pull out the small tab to free spool the winch. It was difficult to engage and disengage this button, that is usually a lever on other brands. With this much difficulty manipulating the free spool mechanism with the winch on my lap, I decided that I would spend the money on a better winch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Buffalo,NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Impressed

Date:October 13, 2010
Not very impressed with this product, pulling power seems Ok but had several issues before I ever needed it in the field. Spool has no drag when in released (free spool) position. The cable tension creates a birds-nest when released. I completely unspooled the winch to correct the mess only to find out the cable completely pulled out of the spool. The cable is held into the spool with a small single set screw which was never tightened properly. The last 2-3 feet of cable is painted dark red, also not visible from 75 feet away when pulling out the cable. While winching all the cable back onto the spool by pulling the wheeler in neutral on a flat surface the cable jumped the non-motor end of the spool jamming it between the spool and end plate, creating a serious problem getting it back out. The black relay box is fairly large and was a little difficult to mount in a safe location. This also required the two main electrical cables to be lengthened, otherwise wiring is straight forward and simple. The winch has two electrical terminal bolts located 180 degrees apart. Due to the mounting on my rancher it put one of them in harms way, Requiring the fabrication of a steel bumper bracket to protect it from breakage. If any of these issues happened afield the winch would have let you down when needed most. If you choose to purchase this product do not go afield without testing it out first.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: north central iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

jpfletc

Date:June 26, 2009
there are no instructions for installation and it will require you make your own brackets or buy another kit to mount it. it you are not real handy i would buy a model that includes all brackets and hardware. looks like it will do what i expect of it once i get it mounted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: lafayette, la.
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ok once the kinks are worked out

Date:March 28, 2011
Got the winch and paid a buddy to put it on. Bought the winch plate to fit my Rancher. I ended up having to help him with it bc it was a bit difficult to figure out. The wiring was pretty straight forward. On the first ride out with it it quit working in the middle of use. I got home and took the whole winch apart. The magnet, motor, everything. Where the wires connect to the winch there are bolt heads on the inside of the casing with wiring soldered to it. I guess I had tightened up on the nut holding the negative wire too much and it twisted the wiring off the head of the bolt. Pretty cheap design. I ended up running another and securing it to get the connection right. Put it back together and everything worked fine. The wiring leading to the winch is a little short, but it will reach. I suggest adding a little more wire so it can be tie wrapped under the fender.
Overall the winch pulls very well. I pulled myself and others out of some deep mud. I was kinda surprised after the issues I had in the beginning. I'm going to add a synthetic rope to the winch bc the wire one has gotten tangled up and burred up on me. For the amount spent the winch I'm satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Sundance, WY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Bad

Date:August 29, 2010
A pain to install, but that was due to limited space. Used it after I flipped my RZR on its side to move the wheels downhill so I could flip it upright, slid the RZR after struggling a bit but when I was done the cable snapped. Looking to switch to a rope/synthetic and see how it does then. Also I would recommend using a round head bolt on the front of the winch so the cable spools up easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not a Warn

Date:December 30, 2009
I bought this winch solely based on price. I did not have any experience with it prior to this purchase. I had a Kawasaki Prairie 360 with Warn RT 25 on it, WAY to much winch for that ATV. Well I traded it in and bought a Kawasaki Brute Force 650, needed a winch and the price for this one was right. I bought it and had it installed. It works PERFECTLY for raising and lowering my snow plow, but.... A couple weeks back I sank my 650 in about 3½ft of water when I broke through ice crossing a ditch. I could not drive out so I had to winch out. I pulled the cable out to a bridge support, walked back to the ATV and started winching. It did not sound healthy, I thought it was not going to pull it out. If I had the cash I would immediately buy another Warn RT25. Like I said, for light duty (lifting snow plow) this thing is great, but I will not rely on it to much next time I am stuck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: El Paso, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mounting backets

Date:May 5, 2009
Make sure you have a mount built onto your ATV. This does not come with a mounting kit. My 2004 Polaris Sportsman 700 does not have anywhere to mount it. I'm having to build a custom bumber to mount the winch to so it isn't out front exposed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not complete

Date:April 7, 2009
Beware this winch does not come with a mounting plate. On most installations you will need the mounting plate to mount the fairlead. I emailed the factory about this and received no reply. If I had known this before, I would have ordered one of the many no name atv winches that do come with the mounting plate. Now I have to try to find a place to purchase a mounting plate....not happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Little Winch For the money

Date:February 12, 2013
Bought this winch to operate a snow plow on my Yamaha Grizzly 660. The only negative was that the power cord would not reach clear from the battery to the winch when mounted on the front bumper. I installed quick disconnect plugs anyway so was no big deal. Has been working well for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Superwinch LT2000 ATV Winch
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent deal on a small winch

Date:January 22, 2013
Very good product, install no to bad. Using it for a snow plow on small ATV. Would get a five star rating except for the solenoid box is pretty big and had some difficulty finding a good place to put it. Other thah that this was a very good purchase. No problems after about 15 hrs. of use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 58