Customer Reviews for MAGNA-TOW OneMount® Towing System

MAGNA-TOW OneMount® Towing System

Original OneMount - For heavy-duty towing look no further. This adjustable-height, dual-ball system can handle towing up to 14,000 lbs. of GVWR and tongue weights up to 1,400 lbs. The receiver unit is a dual-position solid steel 2" shank with a ball- attachment platform that has 1" incremental height adjustments. The 2-5⁄16" and 2" solid forged-steel balls have chromate zinc coating for superior rust prevention. An incorporated anti-rattle device eliminates rattle between the shank and ball mount.   OneMount Jr./Light Duty - This smaller alternative to the Original OneMount handles loads up to 6,000 lbs. of GVWR and tongue weights up to 600 lbs. Ball-attachment platform has 1" incremental height adjustments. Hitch ball not included.   OneMount Pintle - An add-on for the Original One Mount allowing compatibility with Pintle hitches. The upper jaw of the pintle locks in the closed position for extreme-duty towing. The cast steel pintle jaw has a 13,000-lb. towing capacity and a 1,400-lb. tongue weight capacity. Chrome steel towing ball and black powder-coated finish. Requires OneMount receiver shank. Sizes: 2-5/16".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for OneMount® Towing System
Review 1 for OneMount® Towing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best hitch I have found

Date:April 4, 2014
Strong, easy to switch from size to size. I use this product everyday and have just ordered a third for my other work trucks.My first one is 9 years old and still going strong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for OneMount® Towing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hitch towing system

Date:March 7, 2014
great product, 5 star, the pins are easy to change adjustments heights, this is the real deal for a hitch, machined, welded and casted great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for OneMount® Towing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

last mount you'll need

Date:October 31, 2012
Love the product and it's versatility. I would like it better if it wasn't so heavy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for OneMount® Towing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Acushnet ,Ma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Onemount system

Date:September 3, 2011
One of thebest puchases we ever made. We have a
number of different trailers and carts. This product makes it very easy to change heights between our different tow vehicles and trailers. Its very strong and
very stable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for OneMount® Towing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Chubbuck, ID
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OneMount Jr. Missing Info

Date:July 17, 2010
The OneMount Jr. is the lighter duty version of the original OneMount. The Jr. has a 6,000 pound load rating with a maximum tongue weight of 600 pounds. It seems to be well made and the materials seem stout. The Jr. is made in India, not in the USA as I had hoped.
The range of adjustability seems to be missing, not just from the Cabela's website, but every website. I took some measurements and found that the drop is adjustable between 1.5 inches and 6.5 inches in one inch increments. I measured the drop in the standard way: from the top of the 2 inch square tube to the top of the ball mounting surface. When inserted with the long half of the channel pointed down, it is adjustable between 3.5 and 6.5 inches of drop. If you turn the long half of the channel up, it is adjustable between 1.5 and 4.5 inches of drop. It is capable of rise too, but you would have to take the ball off and re-install it upside down. For reference, the "tongue" that the ball mounts to is 3/4 inch thick.
The horizontal distance between the center of the ball (the ball is not included) and the pin hole in the 2 inch square tube is 11.25 or 12.25 inches (there are two holes). The unit weighs about 16 pounds with a 2 inch ball installed.
The only drawbacks I see to this product are:
1. It is not fully securable. The two pins that hold the adjustment in place are not locking. The pin diameter is the same as a standard locking receiver pin, but a standard pin is too short to fit through the channel (it is 3.5 inches wide). In reality, for someone to steal you trailer, they would have to also have a OneMount Jr.
2. It is not as quick to change positions as you might think. This is because you have to loosen an "anti-rattle" screw before you change positions. You then have to re-tighten it after the change.
Overall, this is a good product. If the adjustment range is what you need, and the load range is what you need, this is a good choice. The two drawbacks I listed knocked the rating down to four stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for OneMount® Towing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: S. Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it

Date:June 22, 2009
Pretty easy product to rate...simple, heavy duty, stout design, easy to adjust. Enough said???
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for OneMount® Towing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not enough info

Date:May 4, 2009
1 month after I got this hitch the one that would have been better for my application shows up in the catalog, and there was no weight listed for this item and its way heavy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for OneMount® Towing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: name is Joe G,south plainfield nj,deermaster
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great hitch

Date:February 3, 2009
This is one tough hitch,This is definetly the hitch you need for all your trailer,boat,etc...With having the 2 balls on one hitch,makes life way easier than swithing hitches,great deal for the money!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for OneMount® Towing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: s. Cal
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Mount

Date:August 20, 2008
The hitch is well made and works very well and is easy to adjust.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for OneMount® Towing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Benton, Ill.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Mount Adjustable Ball Mount

Date:August 2, 2008
Folks, this is the real deal! This hitch is built very strong (it's all solid, no tubing) and is very easy to adjust. I'm not sure how you could tear it up! If you need a hitch to do the hard work, that is very durable, give this one a look.
Thanks Cabelas for another great product. You guys are truly the BEST.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.