Customer Reviews for COBRA Cobra® Power Inverters

COBRA Cobra® Power Inverters

Power up anything from a laptop to a refrigerator with these easy and safe Power Inverters from Cobra. The 200-watt model is designed to fit in your vehicle's cupholder and plug into the cigarette lighter to supply power to things like a laptop or DVD player. The 400-watt can be used with either the cigarette lighter adapter or direct-to-battery cables. All larger models use direct-to-battery cables (included on 400, 800, 1,000 models). All models feature USB outputs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
38 out of 44(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cobra® Power Inverters
Review 1 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2011

best ever

By
Location: everett, wa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
works everytime for jumping my tundra when the battery went out. Used mulitple times and i totally relied on it until my battery was replaced.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2015

Broken out of the box

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought a large investor no longer carried by Cabela's and it did not work. No longer stock it, so I'm stuck with no item to replace it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2015

Works For Me

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is a great product as long as you understand it's design limitations. It will run off your cigarette lighter/Accessory power outlets and produce 150 watts AC as long as you are equipped with a 12v 15amp fuse. Also Included is a set of battery cables if you need to use a maximum of 400 watts (800 watts surge). However the unit will only run for about an hour (according to the manual) before it will shut itself down to avoid overheating. This unit works great for me because I only need it to produce 150 to 200 watts AC at any given time. If your needs are at 400 watts AC for an extended period then do yourself A favor and buy A more powerful unit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

Works Great

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this for camping, With no power I couldn't run my CPAP. With the inverter I can run it all weekend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Better than listening to a loud generator

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Great to charge phones or lights between hunts. The battery I have the inverter hooked up to is connected to a solar panel and it keeps the battery charged enough to run anything I need without having to burn gas in the generator.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

Great product

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Cobra quality, at a very reasonable price. Works as described. Very happy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2014

Love it!

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have this inverter mounted to the front of the center console in my truck. So far I have only used the inverter for grinding fresh coffee out elk and duck hunting. Over time I'm confident that this purchase will be well worth the while. I love the thought of being able to plug in a variety of small appliances and have ac power when I'm out in the field.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2014

Cobra Power Inverter

By
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Very quiet running inverter. We had to make sure the lights were on to tell if it was in operation. This does not use a fuse. So be careful not to hook it up wrong or it will blow the circuit board. But all in all the price is right so I am order 2 more of these to have extras on hand. It did run my high end laptop and printer well.
I would like to see if Cabelas would also carry the remote switch kit as well made by Cobra. If enough of us ask maybe they will do it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2014

Beware

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I bought this for the ac outlet. This part works as advertised. The usb does not work and this unit fits in the cup holder like socks on a rooster! The trouble to return and get a new one is more than i wish to endure, so as long as the ac works i will use this one. I bought this for recharging my tablet and for smaller battery recharging. If you want to run a laptop you will want a larger wattage unit. I probably would have done better to get a better one to begin with.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2013

Great for my big rig

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Bought for my Kenworth W900. Works great. Very pleased so for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2012

Works great for light duty electrical needs

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I originally bought this unit to run the kids DVD player on road trips. Well, it worked so good that I started using it for all of our camping, hunting and travels needs. It’s just the right size for running the DVD, charging cell phones, ipods etc. I’m always cautious about running it with the motor off but I’m happy we have it and would recommend it to others. One negative I noticed is that it takes longer to charge batteries than using a standard wall socket.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2011

Next best thing to a generator.

By
Location: Eastern Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this cobra 1575 watt power inverter as there were no generators to be found after hurricane irene struck the east coast. I wired it to my truck battery and was able to easily power my sump pump to get the 6" of water out of my basement. Digital read out tells you how many watts you are consuming which is an excellent feature for knowing just how much more you can plug in. I only powered a sump pump which was around 700 watts. Still left me with another 875 watts to use on something else like lights, freezer, etc. Easy to operate and works great!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2010

No reverse polarity protection or external fuse

By
Location: PA
I bought the 400 watt power inverter to power a CPAP machine for when I am car camping. While the machine does work, it does not have reverse polarity protection and if you do hook it up in reverse you end up blowing a fuse that is soldered to the circuit board inside of the unit. For an extra 50 cents they could have put a replaceable fuse on the outside of the case. The manual states it has reverse polarity protection which is false. I bought a slightly more expensive unit as a replacement that has an external replaceable fuse.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2009

packs a punch

By
Location: Black Creek, VA
this is a handy little unit. especially like the hard storage case it came with for when it is not being used--wasn't expecting that!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2009

Cobra® Power Inverters 1500 WATT

By
Location: ARLINGTON, WA
Doesn't come with cables like I thought, I didn't read the add fully when I purchased it. These come in handy anytime.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2009

blackman

By
Location: bc canada
cobra power inverter 2000 is excellent with its meter shows how much your heater is using and puts out high voltage with little drain on your batteries
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2009

110V when you need it

By
Location: Colorado
Good product fair price. My son ran our lap top all day long on our last road trip while my wifes camera battery was charging. I wish I would have bought the nest size up so I could run even more stuff!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2009

Grat Buy

By
The product went above and beyond my expectations.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009

Cobra Power Inverter 800W

By
I highly recommend this inverter. Works great. Took it camping in Ocracoke and it did everything I needed it to.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2009

Does the job

By
Location: Rowlett, Tx
works great. use it to charge the batteries for my cordless tools when traveling between jobs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 33