Customer Reviews for COBRA Cobra® Power Inverters

COBRA Cobra® Power Inverters

Power up anything from a laptop to a refrigerator with these easy and safe Power Inverters from Cobra. The 200-watt model is designed to fit in your vehicle's cupholder and plug into the cigarette lighter to supply power to things like a laptop or DVD player. The 400-watt can be used with either the cigarette lighter adapter or direct-to-battery cables. All larger models use direct-to-battery cables (included on 400, 800, 1,000 models). All models feature USB outputs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
21 out of 24(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cobra® Power Inverters
Review 1 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: everett, wa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best ever

Date:February 11, 2011
works everytime for jumping my tundra when the battery went out. Used mulitple times and i totally relied on it until my battery was replaced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for my big rig

Date:July 2, 2013
Bought for my Kenworth W900. Works great. Very pleased so for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great for light duty electrical needs

Date:November 12, 2012
I originally bought this unit to run the kids DVD player on road trips. Well, it worked so good that I started using it for all of our camping, hunting and travels needs. It’s just the right size for running the DVD, charging cell phones, ipods etc. I’m always cautious about running it with the motor off but I’m happy we have it and would recommend it to others. One negative I noticed is that it takes longer to charge batteries than using a standard wall socket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Next best thing to a generator.

Date:September 3, 2011
I purchased this cobra 1575 watt power inverter as there were no generators to be found after hurricane irene struck the east coast. I wired it to my truck battery and was able to easily power my sump pump to get the 6" of water out of my basement. Digital read out tells you how many watts you are consuming which is an excellent feature for knowing just how much more you can plug in. I only powered a sump pump which was around 700 watts. Still left me with another 875 watts to use on something else like lights, freezer, etc. Easy to operate and works great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No reverse polarity protection or external fuse

Date:May 10, 2010
I bought the 400 watt power inverter to power a CPAP machine for when I am car camping. While the machine does work, it does not have reverse polarity protection and if you do hook it up in reverse you end up blowing a fuse that is soldered to the circuit board inside of the unit. For an extra 50 cents they could have put a replaceable fuse on the outside of the case. The manual states it has reverse polarity protection which is false. I bought a slightly more expensive unit as a replacement that has an external replaceable fuse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Black Creek, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

packs a punch

Date:September 30, 2009
this is a handy little unit. especially like the hard storage case it came with for when it is not being used--wasn't expecting that!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ARLINGTON, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cobra® Power Inverters 1500 WATT

Date:September 10, 2009
Doesn't come with cables like I thought, I didn't read the add fully when I purchased it. These come in handy anytime.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: bc canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

blackman

Date:August 25, 2009
cobra power inverter 2000 is excellent with its meter shows how much your heater is using and puts out high voltage with little drain on your batteries
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

110V when you need it

Date:August 24, 2009
Good product fair price. My son ran our lap top all day long on our last road trip while my wifes camera battery was charging. I wish I would have bought the nest size up so I could run even more stuff!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grat Buy

Date:August 3, 2009
The product went above and beyond my expectations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cobra Power Inverter 800W

Date:June 23, 2009
I highly recommend this inverter. Works great. Took it camping in Ocracoke and it did everything I needed it to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rowlett, Tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does the job

Date:April 20, 2009
works great. use it to charge the batteries for my cordless tools when traveling between jobs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cobra power inverter

Date:March 3, 2009
2500watt power inverter. Have yet to attempt full power. Was somewhat disappointed in the 'modified sine wave'. Very crude representation of sine wave, although it did provide 115VAC under load. This wave was one spike of voltage per alternation (as compared to a minimum of three spikes in most modified sine waves). Would not operate electronic equipment. OK for lights
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent

Date:January 22, 2009
High quality and a great price, cheaper than any comparable units I could find
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cobra !500 & 2500

Date:January 4, 2009
I purchased the 1500 and found that it work on most of my house hold items. I have well pump that need 1500 W to operate. On 5 tries it kicked my pump on twice. So I upgraded to the 2500 W thinking no problem. The problem was the the 2500 W pulled more power than a single deep cycle battery could product. So i put jumper cables on the battery off of my 1/2 ton truck. Still not good enough. A friend of my who is an electrician said I needed a tighter conection so we wired it to the positive side of the battery with a nut and used a split nut to the Neg wire. It now works great and kicks my pump on each time. The inverter will run all of my needs and will be better than having a generator sitting around that you have to keep starting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grand Rapids , Mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cobra invertor

Date:September 25, 2008
This works great. I use it power my Cpap machine when I'm hunting. Its works great!! It also powers our radio. It will do alot more also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Akron, Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

fair, not recommended

Date:August 26, 2008
Item runs with a loud, annoying, high-pitched tone and doesn't provide much power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cobra power inverter

Date:August 10, 2008
wanted a portable radio for my boat. tired of buying batteries. cobra power inverter solved my problem. works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great and well thought out product

Date:July 21, 2008
Great, easy to use, well thought out. Used at summer camp with Scouts, ran TV, DVD, and tent size AC Fan. Priceless!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cobra® Power Inverters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grafton, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Power inverter recommended...

Date:July 21, 2008
We purchased the 400/800 Cobra power inverter specifically for our trip to Glacier National Park. Driving from Milwaukee, WI to Glacier we knew would take quite a few hours and had planned on such, but we knew that the kids would run out of juice for their hand held computer games and iPods. The inverter was the perfect solution and turned out to be just that. It worked flawlessly and am very happy with the purchase. On a side note we used it again this last weekend to keep food hot in the slow cooker for an hour drive to the in-laws for a party. Perfect solution - kept in the truck all the time now...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 24