Customer Reviews for CHAMPION Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator

CHAMPION Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator

Get portable electric power when and where you want it with this feature-packed Generator. 3,500 running watts and up to 4,000 peak watts of power with a run time of 12 hours at 50% load from a 4-gallon fuel tank. With a noise level of 68dB it’s quiet, only 8dB above normal conversation. Receptacles include 30 amp 120 volt AC twistlock, one 30-amp 120-volt RV receptacle, a 20-amp 120-volt. Push-to-reset circuit breakers. Single-cylinder, four-stroke, air-cooled engine with recoil start and low-oil shut-off. 1"-diameter tubular steel frame. Includes oil funnel, spark arrester and sparkplug wrench. Dimensions: 23-1/4"L x 17-1/2"W x 17-1/4"H. Weight: 100 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.535 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(174 Reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 174 reviews
5 Stars
128
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
161 out of 174(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Review 21 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2012

BEST GENERATOR EVER

By
I bought one of these generators 5 or 6 years ago. I use it nearly every Saturday and Sunday in the spring summer and fall. I have never had a problem with it. I keep waiting for it to die and it wont! I even hadn't given it its first oil change for probably about 2 years of use. It has thousands of hours of use and still starts on the first pull and runs like new. If it ever does finally decide to quit on me I will replace it with the same model. Money well spent!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2012

outstandiing

By
Location: Bangor, Wa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I looked through all the reviews before I bought this generator and i have no idea why it received bad reviews, I opened the box added oil and fuel, one pull and it fired up, let it warm up for 5 minutes and started plugging things in and had no problems I had a 50 gallon aquarium, refrigerator, 65" TV with surround sound and a ps3 as well as a couple lights and never had a problem with it. great generator, I would recommend it to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2011

marginal

By
I bought this to power my AC in my trailer. Not up to the job. It barely runs the microwave if everything else is turned off. Doesn't seem to have anymore power than my Honda 2000.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2011

Great value

By
Mine came without any damage, the powdercoat and paint are flawless, and it starts up easy every time. It uses much less fuel than I expected, and automatically throttles up and down based on the load. The manual is clearly written by someone who learned English as their first language.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2011

Great value

By
Location: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought his unit from Cabela's last year hoping to never need it's use. Well, it got pressed into service for six days in a row after a terrible storm knocked out power in most of our county. It lit up about 25% of our house and the refrigerator with nary a whimper. It is a relatively quiet unit and consumed less fuel than I expected.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2011

fantastic

By
bought this generator right after hurricane irene hit ct. fired it up a couple times worked great. then 3 weeks later storm albert came and lost power for 6 days and it ran all 6 days not shutting it off . 2 pulls every time to start. it did everything i wanted it to do and more i had a gas boiler ,sump pump, refrigerator,radio,couple lights 37"lcd tv and dvd, and neighbors gas boiler all running and it didnt skip a beat it ran like a champ (no pun intended). i got adapters to go from the rv plug to a regular plug and also got an adapter to go twistlock to regular plug. was good on gas was filling it up twice a day not bad.definitely a great price worth every penny. the wheel kit is a must though.the volt meter onboard showed very steady voltage.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2011

Broke where it sits.

By
Location: Central NJ
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Pulled out of box a week ago, added oil, moved to location, attached to grounding rod, put gas in tank. Gas ran out of petcock that broke off at the tank. The freakin petcock broke right off from the weight of the gas in the tank! We'll see how and whether Champion will fix it. Caveat Emptor.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2011

poor customer service

By
Location: Eastern Shore, Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Got this generator and didn't unpack it for several weeks due to going on a fishing trip. Once opened found the engine on off switch broken. Well champion wants you to call their service line, but it is only open Monday to Friday 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. Pacific time. When you do get through they need you to fax your reciept to them before they will send any parts, with no free fax number. So you have to pay to fax this on your own dime. They do not want their generators returned to where you purchased them. Sorry Cabelas you are getting this one back though no fault of yours. Champion's service is horrible.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2011

Good generator

By
Location: Northern Virginia
Have to say, both this little generator and Cabela's came through solid on this one.
No problem with shipping at all.
No damage on the unit..
Easily assembled
Fill it with oil (although check it first) and fuel
2 pulls and you'll be making electricity.
Simple as that. The noise is less than my 4 stroke lawn mower, my neighbors 40ft away tell me they can't hear it barely in their brick house.
The wheel kit is a great purchase even if to move it from storage to it's running position. It's not a one man lift.
Very happy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

Great Purchase

By
Location: Adrian, Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I recently purchased this generator during a 3 day power outage. It has plenty of power to run my 8 Amp furnace blower and everything else except the dryer. This only has 120 service and 240 is required to run a well so if you live in the country this would not give you water. Overall, I am 100% completely satisfied with my purchase and would recommend this to anyone!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2010

Great Generator

By
Location: Terre Haute, Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I purchased this generator over a year ago. I have used it on my 24' motor home and it powers everything including the AC and microwave all at the same time !! I have the wheel kit and highly recommend it. I now have about 300 hours on this unit (I added an hour meter) and have used it to power my home when needed (3 times now). It has run flawlessly and is quieter than comparable units I have heard. I recommend this unit to anyone looking for a reliable unit at a great price!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2010

Great generator

By
Location: SW Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this generator during the blizzard in Feb. 2010. Since no one else in a 100 mile radius had any in stock, I had no choice as to what generator to buy. We were not dissapointed in this purchase though. it was 6 days we were without power. The generator ran our house the whole time without being shut off. It would have been better if there was a 220 outlet on this model, But we still got it connected, since there are 3 different 120 outlets on this model. If I had my choice I would defentley buy the one with the 220 rather then this one. but if you know what your doing is will run everything 120 that you want.
Also I have used it several times since then for a few hours at a time, just to be sure everything is working fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2010

Not bad for the money

By
Location: Rochester, NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased this a little while back. I use it for running my 29 foot travel trailer's electric needs. It had a couple little burps when it tried to start the 13.5 btu unit. The first time I took it out for a full run, it also, actually tripped it's onboard breakers when I tried to run the microwave at the same time the coffee maker was brewing. I was initially very impressed with it being quiet, but that went away after about 5 hours run time. It's still somewhat quiet, but there were times when it was running without a load that it got very loud.I wish it was available with "throttle management" so it backed down when there was no load. I put about 70 hours on it the first long weekend on a remote camping trip. I used about 16 gallons of gas. You have to change the oil at 5 and 50 hours, that was kind of messy. The oil drain is lined up right along the steel roll cage base frame. Filling it was like any motor but it came with a special funnel that made it bearable. I'm thinking I'll add a piece of pipe to the drain with a plug so that future oil changes are cleaner and easier. I liked the hour/voltage meter.
I would say, for the money it's a "fair" buy. Nothing horrible about it but nothing amazing either. It's better than paying over $2000 for a Honda that is only rated at 10 Db quieter.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2010

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!

By
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
DO NOT BUY THIS GENERATOR! I purchased this generator in 2008. Ran great the first year. Powered my a/c in a 24' 5th wheel. Very happy with it, at first. Used it the second year to run power tools, still good. Took it camping this summer, would not power my a/c in a 19' trailer! Generator would bog down and not allow the a/c compressor to start. Had to shut down the a/c to save the compressor. Would rather blow up a cheap generator than a $600 a/c unit. Took it to 2 different shops in town and when I told them it was a Champion Generator, they both said that I got what I paid for. I took care of this unit. Tuned it up, changed the oil, spark plug, cleaned the filter, used fuel stabilizer and all I have now is an anchor for my boat. It still runs my TV, coffee pot and broiler oven (not at the same time) and keeps the batteries charged. But put more than 12 or so amps on it and it quits (my a/c draws 17.2 amps at compressor start up).
Put your money in a higher ended generator and you won't get stuck in 90deg+ temperatures without a/c!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2010

Champion 3500 generator

By
Location: Wis.
Purchased this a few weeks ago and I am very happy with it. I am glad I had it because storms knocked out our electricity for 3 hours while we got over 3" of rain. I was able to run my sump pumps before I had a big problem. It ran perfectly for two hours until our power was restored. I highly recommend the optional wheel kit. The unit starts easy and runs smooth. I wouldn't consider it super quiet, but for the power it puts out, the noise level is acceptable. It is quieter than others I have had in this size. With it running outside the house, I could barely hear it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2010

Champion Generator 46515

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Took it out of the box today and after Googleing the conversion to ounces for oil (20.16) oz of oil. Put it to the test of running my 38 foot 5th wheel. It ran the 15000 Watt a/c with little diffaculty, but if I needed to run the microwave I had to shut the a/c off for a minute and run the micro. I did have the fridg on propane so not sure if it would handle the a/c and fridg at the same time. With a little watt management this is a good machine for the price. It was deffently quiter than my 7000Watt generator. I will continue to use it all week for a few hours hear and there to make sure there is no bugs in the unit. After reading all the reviews I went ahead and purchased it. So far so good, I'll post back if any negative feedback exists.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2010

RV A/C - No problem

By
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Works great! Runs the A/C with no problem on my 32' RV. Not too loud to run while you sleep or watch TV.. can barely even hear it over the A/C while inside the camper.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2010

No Power

By
Location: Livingston, Mt.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
After receiving this unit i uncrated it and set it all up. It ran great and starts on the first or second pull every time. I did not need it for a couple of weeks and was dissapointed to find that the first time i needed it on a camping trip it does not generate any electricity. I have contacted the service hotline (only open 8-5 monday thru friday pacific time) and they are sending replacement parts for me to try. The nearest service center is 3 hours away so they are making me the repair tech nician. I will also say that the unit is louder than advertised. I will write a follow up with repair results.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2010

Great Product

By
Location: New Mexico
I bought this generator last summer to run our camp trailer. It did a great job. Ran the a/c unit with no problem. Realiy quiet for the price. Would recommend this prduct to anybody. Thanks Cabelas!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Champion 3500W/4000-Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2010

champion generator 3500

By
Location: INDIANA
Bought this for my camper and it works fantastic. will run my a/c and every light inside the camper at once. starts on the first pull and for a cheaper unit it is very quiet. nice fuel gauge on the top. its heavy to haul around if your not as young as u used to be. put some wheels on it and that will help. thanks cabelas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 174