Customer Reviews for CHAMPION Champion 3500 Watt Generator

CHAMPION Champion 3500 Watt Generator

Get portable electric power when and where you want it with this feature-packed Generator. 3,500 running watts and up to 4,000 peak watts of power with a run time of 12 hours at 50% load from a 4-gallon fuel tank. With a noise level of 68dB it’s quiet, only 8dB above normal conversation. Receptacles include 30 amp 120 volt AC twistlock, one 30-amp 120-volt RV receptacle, a 20-amp 120-volt. Push-to-reset circuit breakers. Single-cylinder, four-stroke, air-cooled engine with recoil start and low-oil shut-off. 1"-diameter tubular steel frame. Includes oil funnel, spark arrester and sparkplug wrench. Dimensions: 23-1/4"L x 17-1/2"W x 17-1/4"H. Weight: 100 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.527 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(169 Reviews) 169
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 169 reviews
5 Stars
124
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
156 out of 169(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Review 21 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fantastic

Date:November 3, 2011
bought this generator right after hurricane irene hit ct. fired it up a couple times worked great. then 3 weeks later storm albert came and lost power for 6 days and it ran all 6 days not shutting it off . 2 pulls every time to start. it did everything i wanted it to do and more i had a gas boiler ,sump pump, refrigerator,radio,couple lights 37"lcd tv and dvd, and neighbors gas boiler all running and it didnt skip a beat it ran like a champ (no pun intended). i got adapters to go from the rv plug to a regular plug and also got an adapter to go twistlock to regular plug. was good on gas was filling it up twice a day not bad.definitely a great price worth every penny. the wheel kit is a must though.the volt meter onboard showed very steady voltage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Central NJ
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Broke where it sits.

Date:September 11, 2011
Pulled out of box a week ago, added oil, moved to location, attached to grounding rod, put gas in tank. Gas ran out of petcock that broke off at the tank. The freakin petcock broke right off from the weight of the gas in the tank! We'll see how and whether Champion will fix it. Caveat Emptor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Eastern Shore, Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor customer service

Date:April 19, 2011
Got this generator and didn't unpack it for several weeks due to going on a fishing trip. Once opened found the engine on off switch broken. Well champion wants you to call their service line, but it is only open Monday to Friday 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. Pacific time. When you do get through they need you to fax your reciept to them before they will send any parts, with no free fax number. So you have to pay to fax this on your own dime. They do not want their generators returned to where you purchased them. Sorry Cabelas you are getting this one back though no fault of yours. Champion's service is horrible.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good generator

Date:April 6, 2011
Have to say, both this little generator and Cabela's came through solid on this one.
No problem with shipping at all.
No damage on the unit..
Easily assembled
Fill it with oil (although check it first) and fuel
2 pulls and you'll be making electricity.
Simple as that. The noise is less than my 4 stroke lawn mower, my neighbors 40ft away tell me they can't hear it barely in their brick house.
The wheel kit is a great purchase even if to move it from storage to it's running position. It's not a one man lift.
Very happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Adrian, Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:February 23, 2011
I recently purchased this generator during a 3 day power outage. It has plenty of power to run my 8 Amp furnace blower and everything else except the dryer. This only has 120 service and 240 is required to run a well so if you live in the country this would not give you water. Overall, I am 100% completely satisfied with my purchase and would recommend this to anyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Terre Haute, Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Generator

Date:December 30, 2010
I purchased this generator over a year ago. I have used it on my 24' motor home and it powers everything including the AC and microwave all at the same time !! I have the wheel kit and highly recommend it. I now have about 300 hours on this unit (I added an hour meter) and have used it to power my home when needed (3 times now). It has run flawlessly and is quieter than comparable units I have heard. I recommend this unit to anyone looking for a reliable unit at a great price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SW Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great generator

Date:December 5, 2010
I bought this generator during the blizzard in Feb. 2010. Since no one else in a 100 mile radius had any in stock, I had no choice as to what generator to buy. We were not dissapointed in this purchase though. it was 6 days we were without power. The generator ran our house the whole time without being shut off. It would have been better if there was a 220 outlet on this model, But we still got it connected, since there are 3 different 120 outlets on this model. If I had my choice I would defentley buy the one with the 220 rather then this one. but if you know what your doing is will run everything 120 that you want.
Also I have used it several times since then for a few hours at a time, just to be sure everything is working fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Rochester, NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not bad for the money

Date:August 23, 2010
I purchased this a little while back. I use it for running my 29 foot travel trailer's electric needs. It had a couple little burps when it tried to start the 13.5 btu unit. The first time I took it out for a full run, it also, actually tripped it's onboard breakers when I tried to run the microwave at the same time the coffee maker was brewing. I was initially very impressed with it being quiet, but that went away after about 5 hours run time. It's still somewhat quiet, but there were times when it was running without a load that it got very loud.I wish it was available with "throttle management" so it backed down when there was no load. I put about 70 hours on it the first long weekend on a remote camping trip. I used about 16 gallons of gas. You have to change the oil at 5 and 50 hours, that was kind of messy. The oil drain is lined up right along the steel roll cage base frame. Filling it was like any motor but it came with a special funnel that made it bearable. I'm thinking I'll add a piece of pipe to the drain with a plug so that future oil changes are cleaner and easier. I liked the hour/voltage meter.
I would say, for the money it's a "fair" buy. Nothing horrible about it but nothing amazing either. It's better than paying over $2000 for a Honda that is only rated at 10 Db quieter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!

Date:July 27, 2010
DO NOT BUY THIS GENERATOR! I purchased this generator in 2008. Ran great the first year. Powered my a/c in a 24' 5th wheel. Very happy with it, at first. Used it the second year to run power tools, still good. Took it camping this summer, would not power my a/c in a 19' trailer! Generator would bog down and not allow the a/c compressor to start. Had to shut down the a/c to save the compressor. Would rather blow up a cheap generator than a $600 a/c unit. Took it to 2 different shops in town and when I told them it was a Champion Generator, they both said that I got what I paid for. I took care of this unit. Tuned it up, changed the oil, spark plug, cleaned the filter, used fuel stabilizer and all I have now is an anchor for my boat. It still runs my TV, coffee pot and broiler oven (not at the same time) and keeps the batteries charged. But put more than 12 or so amps on it and it quits (my a/c draws 17.2 amps at compressor start up).
Put your money in a higher ended generator and you won't get stuck in 90deg+ temperatures without a/c!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wis.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Champion 3500 generator

Date:July 15, 2010
Purchased this a few weeks ago and I am very happy with it. I am glad I had it because storms knocked out our electricity for 3 hours while we got over 3" of rain. I was able to run my sump pumps before I had a big problem. It ran perfectly for two hours until our power was restored. I highly recommend the optional wheel kit. The unit starts easy and runs smooth. I wouldn't consider it super quiet, but for the power it puts out, the noise level is acceptable. It is quieter than others I have had in this size. With it running outside the house, I could barely hear it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Champion Generator 46515

Date:July 5, 2010
Took it out of the box today and after Googleing the conversion to ounces for oil (20.16) oz of oil. Put it to the test of running my 38 foot 5th wheel. It ran the 15000 Watt a/c with little diffaculty, but if I needed to run the microwave I had to shut the a/c off for a minute and run the micro. I did have the fridg on propane so not sure if it would handle the a/c and fridg at the same time. With a little watt management this is a good machine for the price. It was deffently quiter than my 7000Watt generator. I will continue to use it all week for a few hours hear and there to make sure there is no bugs in the unit. After reading all the reviews I went ahead and purchased it. So far so good, I'll post back if any negative feedback exists.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RV A/C - No problem

Date:June 22, 2010
Works great! Runs the A/C with no problem on my 32' RV. Not too loud to run while you sleep or watch TV.. can barely even hear it over the A/C while inside the camper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Livingston, Mt.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Power

Date:June 3, 2010
After receiving this unit i uncrated it and set it all up. It ran great and starts on the first or second pull every time. I did not need it for a couple of weeks and was dissapointed to find that the first time i needed it on a camping trip it does not generate any electricity. I have contacted the service hotline (only open 8-5 monday thru friday pacific time) and they are sending replacement parts for me to try. The nearest service center is 3 hours away so they are making me the repair tech nician. I will also say that the unit is louder than advertised. I will write a follow up with repair results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:May 6, 2010
I bought this generator last summer to run our camp trailer. It did a great job. Ran the a/c unit with no problem. Realiy quiet for the price. Would recommend this prduct to anybody. Thanks Cabelas!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: INDIANA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

champion generator 3500

Date:April 16, 2010
Bought this for my camper and it works fantastic. will run my a/c and every light inside the camper at once. starts on the first pull and for a cheaper unit it is very quiet. nice fuel gauge on the top. its heavy to haul around if your not as young as u used to be. put some wheels on it and that will help. thanks cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hondo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Buy!!!!

Date:April 7, 2010
I ordered this generator online and received it in 1 week. I was kind of skeptical about its performance and noise level. I needed a generator for my BBQ pit on a 18 ft. homemade trailer that is fully lighted with a sound system and a Kegerator. Long story short, as soon as I got it I filled it with gas and oil, turned the fuel on and put it on choke, and the first pull it started. The best part is while it is running you can have a normal conversation. Awesome product for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Generator

Date:March 20, 2010
I bought this generator 3 weeks ago and used it right away for about 25 hours during a three day period.
First the bad: It took 10 days to arrive and I could not track it while in transit. Also,it is not as quiet as everyone says it is.
The good: It was easy to get it running. It started on the first pull. I would recommend that you take a few minutes to read the manual though. We took it camping to a near by lake in NM. We used it to run the electricity on our pop-up trailer. We ran the lights, water pump and heater on our pop-up trailer all night (13 hours) on one tank of gas (4 gallons). Worked great. Well worth the money. Specially if you get it on sale under $300.
I would highly recommend it for someone looking for a cheap generator that works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kinda loud from WV

Date:March 6, 2010
I Picked up my Champion Generator today, brought it home added gas,oil and it started right up!
Runs very well. I also checked the voltage with a meter and man it is a well balanced machine. Added a couple wattage users and the voltage stayed on. Kinda loud.... Very nice machine; read a lot reviews before I purchased can't wait to try it! Also gave in for the wheel kit glad I did...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No Brainer

Date:February 14, 2010
The "Chonda" engine (Chinese clone of Honda) starts reliably and is quieter than friend's B&S. Price is right. Lent it out to three people during blizzard of 2010 and ran about 40 hours without a problem. Small enough to take camping, powerful enough to make my house comfortable for power outages. I use a pellet stove to heat 3200 sq ft. house that uses 400 watts. Sweet spot generator for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Champion 3500 Watt Generator
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very impressed

Date:February 8, 2010
Lucky buy, since everyone else was sold out of generators, heaters, and propane. Brought home, filled with gas AND OIL, fired up on first pull, no kidding. Ran a furnace blower, fridg, couple lamps, tv and the wii (kids) for 10 1/2 hours then we shut it down for the night. 5:45 next morning went to fire it back up and discovered it was 5 below zero (don't ask me why I didn't drag it back inside), 3 pulls and a little choke tweaking and it ran till I got back from work at 5:15PM to hook the furnace back up to house power. Very impressed to say the least. Quiter than I thought, heavier than it looks, NO REGET PURCHASE. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 169