Customer Reviews for LOAD HANDLER Load Handler™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

LOAD HANDLER Load Handler™

Turn your pickup into a dump truck. Unloads up to 1-1/2 tons in less than 30 seconds. Just pull the heavy-duty sheeting off the spindle up to the front of the truck and load. Then simply wind the handle, rolling the sheeting back on the spindle and your load is dumped. Quickly installs and detaches. Available: 2,000-lb., 3,000-lb. load models.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Load Handler™
Review 1 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:May 17, 2012
I should have bought this years ago when I first saw the product advertised. I seemed to simple to really work. After reading Cabelas' reviews, I purchased it and have been amazed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Load handler

Date:May 16, 2012
Took a while to get assembled. Directions not to good but works so far with what I have unloaded. Think it will be a good investment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:May 8, 2012
After 23 years of unloading construction waste by hand,(there are a lot of sites that you just can't make a dumpster fit in), this product has cut the time it takes to unload a truck by at least 4X. I love it-the workmen love it!!! It is super easy to set up and take off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Load Handler: Great Product

Date:May 25, 2011
Assembled it in 10 minutes and everything fit together perfectly. First time I used it my 9yr old daughter cranked ~1200lbs of 2B stone off the back of my pick-up into the loader bucket. The truck has a plastic bed liner and the front end was slightly raised (on a small incline) but she was able to unload all 1200lbs with very little effort. Normally this would have been a 30 minute effort with a shovel...actual cranking time was less than 1 minute. I wish I would have found this sooner!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SHADYSIDE, OHIO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Load Handler - better than anticipated

Date:August 3, 2010
Only took about 10 minutes to unload 1340 pounds of gravel. 9 of the 10 minutes was from shoveling and sweeping out the remaining gravel that was was left by the wheel wells. The strap that was provided to keep the tailgate from bouncing when unloading is cheap. It is better off to use a ratchet strap to make sure that the tailgate does not bounce when unloading a heavy load. I was skeptical on purchasing this product. Looked too good to be true. Because I have unloaded multiple truck loads of gravel by the use of my back and shovel before, I give this item 5 stars because it was easy to put on, easy to use, and easy on the old back. It was better than I anticipated that it would be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Orrington Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Landscape back saver

Date:April 26, 2010
What a back and time saver. I use this as an inexpensive answer to a dump trailer. Just started a land care business. Drop the grass clippings in the bed of the pickup and out they come in a jiffy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: detroit
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:February 7, 2009
works well for fire wood, dirt, sand etc. but it is missing a few ideas , if it had a sturdier handle included and also some kind of bracket to hold down the tailgate while unloading it would be near perfect. if you ever over loaded it like i do all the time youll know what i mean. and mabey some kind of rotorary motor you could plug in to you hitch plug and it would turn the handle for you. but great product. i made a better handle and some brackets to hold down the tailget and even though it takes alot of muscle to crank it , it will unload probably twice as much 3500-4000 lbs. i had a bed full to the top of slag sand f250 and i had some one sit one the tailgate and it unloaded
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

loadhandler

Date:September 3, 2008
Works just as advertised. Really cuts back on unloading time. I have only used mine on topsoil and mulch and it worked great. Still have to clean out by hand around the wheel wells but on the whole big time saver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indian Head, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loadhandler 2000m (mid-size trucks)

Date:May 6, 2008
I got the loadhandler for my S-10 and it worked well for my first use - some fertilized topsoil. I put some large cardboard boxes (flattened) under the loadhandler fabric to reduce friction (rather than purchase the mat which is recommended), and it worked perfectly. The mat may be beneficial for heavier loads like stones, but the cardboard is definitely fine for lighter loads. It did get "loadlock" from settling around the wheel-wells, but I just shoveled some of the soil away from the front of the wheel-wells and it moved easily. Afterwards, I just broomed the leftovers and the bed was clean as a whistle. It would have helped to have a friend to drive the truck slowly while I cranked the loadhandler in order to spread the load faster. Easy installation, good directions given. I was able to slide my tri-fold vinyl tonneau cover forward a few inches, and bungee it down at the back (the back edge of the tonneau rested on the loadhandler since it's mounted on the top of the tailgate) so the soil didn't all blow away during transport. Have fun...Brad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Carnation, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beyond Expectations

Date:May 3, 2008
I purchased the loadhandler for my pickup to move 33 yards of mulch. I was absolutely amazed when the loadhandler worked EXACTLY as advertised. It literally took 30 seconds to unload my entire truck and was effortless. My husband was very skeptical when he first saw the product but was also thrilled and surprised by how well it worked and how easy it was to use. It was worth every penny and has already saved me hours of labor. I have not used the loadhandler with heavier material (rock, sand, gravel) but don't see why it wouldn't work well for those as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Load Handler

Date:October 10, 2007
I own a landscape company and have 2 of these, one for each pick-up truck. I have been using these for over 10 years and have only had to replace the strap that attaches to the bumper (the plastic buckle). I have hauled everything from mulch to 18" boulders on my 3/4 ton truck and haven't had any trouble unloading anything as long as you keep it centered as much as possible on the mat. At times I thought I might snap the bar in half because the load was so heavy, but it never broke. I have even had frozen road base and I could still unload it! I use mine all the time for everything, especially if my dump truck can't get into a site! JUst remember to strap down the tailgate to the bumper!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brewster, MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loadhandler

Date:July 14, 2007
This is the second Loadhandler I have owned. The first lasted me ten years. Yes, I had to repair the tailgate hold ons and sew the tarp itself but I could never have worked my landscaping job without it. It has saved my back too many times to count. The only problem I encountered was the problem of the load getting caught in front of the wheel wells of the bed in my truck up at the cab. I solved this problem by constructing a "half box" the length of the space and as high as the wheel well itself. No more stuck loads! I have pulled out wet leaves, grass, dirt and bags of mulch weighing who know how much. I have never been happier. The directions aren't quite as clear as they could be, but if you are in the type of work that requires a Loadhandler then you can figure out the way to put it on your truck. No big deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ballston Spa, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The load handler delivers

Date:April 28, 2007
I have owned a load handler for about 10 years. I have used it to haul logs, brush, sand, gravel, mulch, and more. It has performed very well. I hauled so much wood that it developed two large tears in the fabric. That was several years ago and it is still useable. The unit I have fit my step side pickup and I am buying a new one to better fit my fleet side pickup.
It is nice to pull up to someone unloading there pickup by hand. I get out, crank the load handler and in a few seconds I am pulling away while the other guy is still working.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Conowingo, MD
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Back saver purchase

Date:July 11, 2011
We are very pleased with our purchase of this product. It was very well worth the investment. It has saved time and back breaking labor. Although the product does allow small amounts of dirt to fall through the tailgate of the truck when hauling dirt...the end result is still awesome. It is also a bit difficult when unloading on an upward slope but that is to no fault of the product, simply gravity. I would highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oakland, MD
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Load Handler

Date:May 16, 2011
I purchased the Load Handler due to a bad spine and I am very satisfied. The only problem I had was I had to return my first order due to missing parts and a non-complete product or I would have given it 5 stars. When I recieved my second Load Handler it was great, everything was there and very easy to install. If you have a tail-gate protector that runs along the top of the tailgate it is a little harder to install. I used a small ratchet strap to tie everything together and it works great. I would definetly recommend it to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Rehoboth Beach, De
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Load Hauler

Date:April 13, 2010
It saves time and you need little strenght to operate. Best purchace made in a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northwestern Ont.,Canada..Hunt and fish lots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:July 15, 2009
Have only hauled a couple loads of firewood so far, and it worked great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fife Lake MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Saves my back

Date:May 28, 2009
The Load Handler really saves my sorry back. Sure beats shoveling heavy loads out of my truck bed! It gets 4 starts instead of 5 because you still have to hand-shovel everything behind the wheel wells.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works as advertised

Date:May 26, 2009
Nice gizmo for taking some of the hard work out of maintaining your yard, making runs to the dump/landfill. Having read the reviews prior, I do reccommend that you tie down the tailgate to the bumper hitch to avoid it raising up when you crank some heavier loads, as one prior reviewer had said. Works good for what it is. I'd reccommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Load Handler™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Placerville, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wouldn't fit....

Date:February 12, 2009
If you have a tailgate that has one of those plastic air foils on it, then this won't fit. At least not without serious modifications. I ended up giving it away to someone I owed a favor to. Works good for him though. Just be aware that if your tailgate has anything like a spoiler on it, then it won't work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25