Customer Reviews for DAKOTA ALERT Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor

DAKOTA ALERT Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor

Dakota Alert Driveway Monitor With this wireless driveway motion alert system you'll know when someone is coming up the driveway. The weatherproof transmitter is engineered for year-round outdoor use and projects a passive infared beam across the driveway that will sense motion of people or vehicles up to 80 ft. away. You program the receiver in your home to sound one of four tones when the beam is crossed. You control the volume, tone style and duration of the sound. The sensor operates on a 9-volt battery (not included) and the receiver plugs into a home wall outlet. (Maximum range is 600 ft.) Wireless Probe Alert This is a very effective tool for detection of vehicles only. The probe is buried parallel to the driveway and will detect any vehicle passing within 10-12 ft. Powered by a 9-volt battery (not included), the unit comes with 50 ft. of burial cable to connect the probe to a transmitter box. When the probe senses a vehicle, the transmitter activates a tone on the receiver in your home up to 600 ft. away. Because it detects only metal objects, it's ideal for areas where deer, farm animals or pedestrians could trigger false alarms from motion detection systems. Available: Infared, Probe.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
40 out of 48(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Review 21 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Orleans, La
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

driveway alert

Date:February 26, 2008
What an excellent product. Performs as described and has plenty of range. I would recomend this to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dakota Driveway Monitor

Date:April 14, 2008
I purchased this item several weeks ago and so far I have been very satisfied. It does pick up deer and coyotes too.
My driveway is 400 ft long and we live in a remote area.
I hope it continues to work as well in the future. So far
its great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great - But...

Date:August 3, 2008
My first receiver worked erratically but I had another from the mfr in about a week. No prob
The transmitter stopped working one day. I'd hidden it by a stump, sitting directly on the ground. Once I opened it and let the inside dry out, it worked fine again. I remembered my mother putting a paper towel in jars to absorb moisture so I gently packed a couple around the inside. I also hung it off the ground. No problems after that. It's kinda high in price but we're very happy with ours. Also - you can call Dakota Alert and talk to a real person!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dakota Drievway Alarm

Date:August 24, 2008
Excellent product. I have had it for six weeks and it works as advertised. It is easy to set up with good instructions. I have not had any problems with the battery. The alarm is sensitive, if our Lab goes by it with her tail up it will go off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hart, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Driveway Alert

Date:September 1, 2008
This alert works just as the advertising said it would. Very good security alert, works every time it should, even when a wild animal walks by.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Sequim, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beware the bug...

Date:October 16, 2008
If a flying or crawling insect crosses the lens surface the alert will be triggered. This can happen more than one might imagine, especially in the Summer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: crestview, fl.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DRIVEWAY ALERT

Date:October 22, 2008
...THE UNIT WORK'S WHEN IT WANTS TO AND IF IT DOES NOT WANT TO WORK TODAY IT WILL NOT. AFTER ONE UNIT FAILED TO "SOUND AN ALERT "SEVERAL TIMES AND AFTER CONTACTING A CONCERNED COMPANY REPRESENTATIVE I OPTED TO REPLACE THE UNIT (CABELA'S REPLACED IT SINCE IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRENTY.. NO HASSLE, OF COURSE) I'M NOT SURE IF "DAKOTA" WOULD HAVE REPLACED THE UNIT,,, BUT I AM SURE THEY WOULD HAVE EXCEPT I CALLED CABELA'S FIRST!!
IT WOULD BE AN EXCELLENT PRODUCT EXCEPT IT IS TOO PICKY WHEN IT WANTS TO BE AND YOU ARE CONSTANTLY MAKING ADJUSTMENTS TO SEE IF THAT IS WHAT IT NEEDS..
WE NEED THE WARNING SYSTEM SO I AM NOW TRYING THE SECOND ONE WITH HOPES OF THE BEST BUT IT ALREADY FAILED ONCE AND I MADE ANOTHER INTERNAL ADJUSTMENT ACCORDING TO THE DIRECTIONS.
SO WE WILL GIVE IT A MONTH OR SO AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS.. FIRST VEHICLE TO GET PASSED IT DRAWS THE LINE FOR ME.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rural Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dakota Drive Monitor

Date:November 10, 2008
We love the product! It works great!! :) Our unit only alerts us when vehicles or atv's are approaching. We like the fact the it alerts us when a vehicle has turned down our driveway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Luray, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No work

Date:January 5, 2009
I could not get the Driveway Monitor to work. I called Dakota Alert and they said to set the unit back about 20 feet from the drive (it was already 15 feet) or mount it up to about 6 feet high looking down on the driveway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Simsbury, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dakota Driveway probe

Date:January 21, 2009
Have had the driveway probe now for 3 weeks, it is winter and the probe is burried approx 8-10 inches underground next to my 10 foot wide paved driveway. There is at least 2 feet of plowed snow ontop of the probe. So far this has worked excellent. I chose the probe only because we are more concerned about cars coming up the drive and it seemed from other reviews that for my needs this would have less false alarms.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Happy in South Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dakota Driveway Alert Monitor

Date:February 17, 2009
Excellent product! I have it installed about 50 yards from the reciever and positioned so that it covers both my driveway and my neighbors (about 40 yards from the transmitter and who's home is just for vacations) so that I am monitering the two driveways with the one transmitter. I had it set too low to begin with, and cats and small dogs would set it off. With a little tinkering with the height it now only goes off for vehicles, people and deer. We do turn it off at night when the house alarm goes on. My wife loves it because it does give you a heads up when something or someone is approaching your home. I also bought the bird house made to put the transmitter in. Highly reccomend this product!
George in SC
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: McVeytown, Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor

Date:March 19, 2009
I put this at the end of my driveway, it works great, nothing gets by.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Driveway Monitor

Date:March 30, 2009
Tech was not sure if this would work, being the driveway has a turn and up hill grade. It works great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: tn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Driveway Alert

Date:May 27, 2009
I received my first Dakota Wireless Driveway Alert and it worked perfectly for a week, then the transitter quit. I returned it to Cabela's for an exchange, and the second one is doing great after two weeks use. We live back in the woods and it gives us a real feeling of increased security to be alerted when someone drives or even walks down our driveway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Car Bell

Date:June 16, 2009
Got the underground model for my parents as their "lane" is a little over a quarter mile long from the road to the house and since there are cattle and other critters walking around the other model would not work. Other than digging a small thrench for 50 feet, the installation was a snap. This thing really works, not only on cars/trucks but also on "Mules" and even mowers. I think it may drive mom crazy when dad mows but at least they'll know now when visitors are coming well in advance. So far it works great so I would recommend it if you are only trying to pick up vehicle traffic in a discreet way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Doorbell to wine

Date:July 6, 2009
A neighbor of ours has this driveway monitor and suggested we get one, too. We have a home-based winery business in a very rural area and our tasting room is about 600 feet from our home. We used to put a sign on the door of the tasting room telling people to call us if we were not there. Now, we can be down at the house, and when a vehicle comes through the entry, the monitor alerts us immediately. We can be up to the tasting room just as people are getting out of their cars, saving them the hassle of having to call or come down to the house. We wish we had known about this a few years ago!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Snow Camp, North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dakota alert

Date:August 3, 2009
We absolutely love our Dakota Alert wireless driveway moniter, we have a driveway over 600ft long and it works great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Huntsville, Al.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor

Date:August 10, 2009
Bought for son last Christmas. He like it so well, we decided to replace our current driveway monitor with the Dakota Alert Wireless. So very pleased with performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:September 1, 2009
Once installed the alarm wouldn't stop going off. Had it set on high and everything including lightning would set it off. Just play with the sensitivity at the monitor until its just right. The receiver is about 1700 feet away, on the other side of a hill, and through some trees and it works great every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Dakota Alert Wireless Driveway Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DAKOTA ALERT PROBE

Date:December 5, 2009
Easy to install works every time since I have had it. Picks up metal only great since we live in the country. We tried the other Monitor with out the probe went of all the time ,but this one has worked great .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 48