Customer Reviews for Valley Industries Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Valley Industries Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier

Frees up space inside your vehicle and secures all the extra gear you never had room for. The two-piece design, with optional basket extension, lets you extend the length from 43-1/2" to 64-1/2" for longer vehicles and more payload. Round steel tubing is treated with an E-coat process then finished with a durable black powder coating. Unique mounting system offers universal fit on all roof rack bar shapes. Fits all factory, round, oval or square bars. No tools required for installation. Cargo Basket measures 39-1/4"W x 43-1/2"L x 4"H, and weighs 17 lbs.Available: Cargo Basket Basket Extension Stretch Net with Hooks
Overall Customer Rating:
4.268 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
1
53 out of 56(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Review 21 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gate City, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Roof Basket Cargo Carrier

Date:April 30, 2008
Received in 4 days (didn't order express). It was very easy to put together and install. Instructions were easy to understand. The hard part was adjusting my roof rails (had to have a special screw driver) thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Roof top carrier

Date:January 29, 2008
I used the roof top carrier on a car trip from Michigan to Florida and back. The rack adapted well to the roof bars on my car and worked great as a support for the roof top bag we used to protect our gear. The rack also works great for transporting my ice fishing shelter and other gear that won't fit inside the car. So far this product has been great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Orange County, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:November 21, 2007
This carrier is great! Just like everyone else says it is sturdy, attractive, and very useful. The problem I have is that it does not fit all cross bars. Just like the guy with the Hummer, my Xterra has very large cross bars that do not work at all with the attachments. However, I was able to rig it with a couple extra long bolts and it is just as secure. Well worth it! Though someone needs to update the description. Thanks Cabelas!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vancouver. BC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Roof Cargo Carrier

Date:October 31, 2007
I own a ford explorer and love my rack. We do alot of camping and fishing and it is perfect. Strong and durable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: We Live in Colorado and are avid campers.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great rack for camping

Date:October 30, 2007
We installed this basket rack on our Dodge Grand Caravan. The installation was straight forward and all parts fit together just fine. No problems with thread sizes. The black finish on the rack seems very durable and similar to spray on bed liner stuff. We bought the larger rack.
We set the minivan up to sleep inside on an air mattress by folding down the rear seats and removing the passenger seats as they were designed to to.
The roof top rack and the underfloor board storage in the minivan were the keys to giving us room inside the minivan for an always ready sleeping area.
We stored all our camping gear that wouldn't be affected by rain or snow in the roof top basket. 2 Camp chairs, small BBQ, 2 folding aluminum tables(one 4ft long and one smaller end table, A tent (enclosed in a larger waterproof bag), Fishing poles and a small two burner Coleman cook stove. Then used the bungee spider net (available separately) to hold every thing in place.
Then we took off on a 2400 mile odyssey in the western USA, camping and visiting relatives. The rack worked perfectly and was the key for any storage problems. We also found that the rack when empty was perfect for driving around and gathering fire wood since it kept the wood away from the surface of the minivan, no scratched paint.
Might not be a motor home, but dang, the rack made our little minivan into a camping swiss army knife. A very good buy for us.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

leslie

Date:August 21, 2007
i just got my cargo basket looks great on my jeep liberty hats off to cabelas for there freindly fast shippment..ps..thnk you
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

roof basket carrier

Date:June 26, 2007
easily assembled and mounted.heavy duty carrier
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Roof Basket

Date:June 5, 2007
Very good product. Easy to asseble and install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tacoma WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:April 23, 2007
I took a road trip from WA thru the Grand Canyon to NM back thru UT Aches NP. Over 4000 miles the basket did all I expected and is very heavy duty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BASKET

Date:November 23, 2006
GREAT PRODUCT TO BUY, LOTS OF USE. LOOKS GOOD.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: White Water Rafters from Magic Valley Area, Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Value Combined with Functionality

Date:November 21, 2006
The Valley Roof Top Cargo Net was a lifesaver for our White Water Rafting Shuttle Crew. We purchased (2) of the Valley Roof Basket cargo nets to use on rooftop and hitch mounted cargo carriers. (Two nets also work great stretched across a pickup bed. )The nets stretch elastiscity allowed our crew to quickly and securely hold a wide range of camping, cooking and rafting equipment in a miriad of sizes. without a single item falling off or dislodging on both the freeway and across rugged bumpy mountain roads during our rafting expedition. We plan on purchasing more for all of our shuttle vehicles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Roof Rack

Date:November 13, 2006
I had been wanting a roof rack for my Grand Cherokee for several years but refused to pay the price the big name companied wanted. Then one day, I ran across the Valley Industries roof rack available from Cabela's. When I saw the Cabela's price, I ordered one. I questioned the quality for the price, but I knew I had nothing to lose because Cabela's stands behind everything they sell.
When it arrived, I could see that the quality was typical Cabela's, exellent. The roof rack assembled easily and fit pretty solid after it was installed, and it looked good. I didn't even have to pay extra for mounting hardware. It was included and worked very well. It can be installed and removed in minutes. The finish is good and will last many years.
Leave it to Cabela's to give you the best bang for you buck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Deal

Date:March 9, 2011
I purchased the cargo basket extension for more space on top. Works great. Only issue is they should use stainless steel screws. The ones provided will start to rust if the carrier is left on the vehicle for extended periods of time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lincoln
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Handy to have.

Date:February 26, 2011
I use it with my 4-wheeler, Pickup and SUV. Very handy to have around when you don't want to mess with ropes to tie things in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minot,Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cargo net

Date:August 5, 2010
very well made & great fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Valley Industries Roof Basket

Date:April 19, 2010
Went on just fine, though at first I wasn't sure how well it was going to line up... but it all fell right into place.
Does make noise at highway speed, but most roof accessories do... so that was partly expected. Haven't had a chance to load it up and try it yet for gear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Newport News, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good rack, can carry the weight!

Date:November 1, 2009
I like this rack, assembly was a snap and it will carry the weight it is rated for...I have used it for hauling mulch and other stuff close to the capacity of the rack.
The only problem I see it that is is somewhat lose in the receiver. I think I may have to buy the piece that holds it more still.
Finally, I really like the folding feature so I can move it out of the way when am not using it and I don't have to worry about someone not seeing it and bumping into it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice Quality

Date:September 18, 2009
My recent purchase of the Valley Roof Cargo Carrier was a nice addition to my '04 Suburban. The quality is excellent and the basket is sturdy and appears to be something that will last.
My only complaint is that it was a bearcat to attach to my luggage rack. The clamps wouldn't grip the bars of my luggage rack tight enough to make it not shift side to side. I ended up using 4 pieces of farm machinery belting to fill in the gaps in the clamps. I had to put 1 1/2 wraps of the belting around the bars on the Suburban to make it tight enough to clamp down and properly secure it.
This wasn't too difficult, but was time consuming.
My original plan was to take off the rack in the winter because of the salt we use in MN might be tough on it. I was unable to do so due to the calmps sticking up too high once I tightened them down. I had to use a bolt cutter to nip off the ends of the clamps so they wouldn't scratch my cargo so I guess it'll be on there all year.
This is why I only gave this item a 4 star rating. Otherwise I'm very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the price

Date:March 24, 2009
For the money, this rack is nice. I bought the rack and rack extension and mounted it on a pair of Thule load bars which sits on my Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. The rack itself is not the heavy duty type I have seen as with the Thule or Yakima, but, it is well worth the money. It is adequete for my use as it can be loaded with sleeping bags, tents, chairs etc. that seem to clutter the small interior space of a jeep. It looks nice, perfoms well and I am very pleased with its design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: El Paso Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cargo Rack

Date:August 26, 2008
I spend a lot of time off road in extreme conditions. So far this cargo rack has performed excellently.
The only problem I've had was getting the rack fasteners tight enough to keep it from sliding back and forth on the roof rack. The problem was solved by shimming the fasteners and replacing the hand tightened nuts with real nuts so you could bear down and really snug it up. It has worked great since.
I imagine this was not designed for the kind of conditions I drive in more for the weekend warrior or a trip to camp. I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 56