Customer Reviews for Valley Industries Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Valley Industries Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier

Frees up space inside your vehicle and secures all the extra gear you never had room for. The two-piece design, with optional basket extension, lets you extend the length from 43-1/2" to 64-1/2" for longer vehicles and more payload. Round steel tubing is treated with an E-coat process then finished with a durable black powder coating. Unique mounting system offers universal fit on all roof rack bar shapes. Fits all factory, round, oval or square bars. No tools required for installation. Cargo Basket measures 39-1/4"W x 43-1/2"L x 4"H, and weighs 17 lbs.Available: Cargo Basket Basket Extension Stretch Net with Hooks
Overall Customer Rating:
4.268 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
1
53 out of 56(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Review 1 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Deal

Date:March 9, 2011
I purchased the cargo basket extension for more space on top. Works great. Only issue is they should use stainless steel screws. The ones provided will start to rust if the carrier is left on the vehicle for extended periods of time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lincoln
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Handy to have.

Date:February 26, 2011
I use it with my 4-wheeler, Pickup and SUV. Very handy to have around when you don't want to mess with ropes to tie things in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lexington, KY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cargo Carrier Extension

Date:February 11, 2011
Excellent solution for additional space for existing rooftop carrier. Provides larger area for more cargo with consistent and easy assembly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colchester, CT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works as described

Date:January 13, 2011
Simple and dependable. Holds items in place. Won't work for really heavy items if they are not secured properly, but I wouldn't expect it to make up for being stupid! :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: On the Delta in CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cargo Net

Date:September 20, 2010
Net stretches to very large, fits over all the suite cases I had in the roof basket, has plenty of hooks that can be relocated as needed, well made product and beats the heck out of trying to secure everything with ropes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works but lots of wind noise

Date:September 2, 2010
Works fine. Solid and easy to secure items. One con and it was a big one. Causes a lot of wind noise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Verona, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cargo Net

Date:August 16, 2010
very nice product, good quality. i debated about buying this, instead of just using rope to tie my camp stuff down with, but this thing rocks and works great. the plastic hooks are heavy-duty, too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minot,Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cargo net

Date:August 5, 2010
very well made & great fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: fremont,ne
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cargo net

Date:July 12, 2010
cargo net covered several different size loads. very safe @ interstate speeds.great strech ability w/multiple hooks. comes w/mesh bag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Valley Industries Roof Basket

Date:April 19, 2010
Went on just fine, though at first I wasn't sure how well it was going to line up... but it all fell right into place.
Does make noise at highway speed, but most roof accessories do... so that was partly expected. Haven't had a chance to load it up and try it yet for gear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does not work on H3 and Some Nissans

Date:March 15, 2010
This is NOT a universal part!! I purchased this cargo basket. I attempted to install it on my 2006 H3 which has factory roof rails. I failed. No amount of adjustment will work because the roof rails have pre-selected lock groves and the basket does not align with those groves. I have since discovered (from a knowledgeable source) the rack definitely does not work on H3s or some years of Nissan Xterras and pick-ups. Otherwise, it is easy to assemble and disassemble. Lightweight and can be placed on the vehicle and installed by one person. I also purchased the extension and it is easy to assemble as well. Too bad it won't fit my vehicles...(If you don't have one of the above-mentioned vehicles, it is a good buy.)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Newport News, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good rack, can carry the weight!

Date:November 1, 2009
I like this rack, assembly was a snap and it will carry the weight it is rated for...I have used it for hauling mulch and other stuff close to the capacity of the rack.
The only problem I see it that is is somewhat lose in the receiver. I think I may have to buy the piece that holds it more still.
Finally, I really like the folding feature so I can move it out of the way when am not using it and I don't have to worry about someone not seeing it and bumping into it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice Quality

Date:September 18, 2009
My recent purchase of the Valley Roof Cargo Carrier was a nice addition to my '04 Suburban. The quality is excellent and the basket is sturdy and appears to be something that will last.
My only complaint is that it was a bearcat to attach to my luggage rack. The clamps wouldn't grip the bars of my luggage rack tight enough to make it not shift side to side. I ended up using 4 pieces of farm machinery belting to fill in the gaps in the clamps. I had to put 1 1/2 wraps of the belting around the bars on the Suburban to make it tight enough to clamp down and properly secure it.
This wasn't too difficult, but was time consuming.
My original plan was to take off the rack in the winter because of the salt we use in MN might be tough on it. I was unable to do so due to the calmps sticking up too high once I tightened them down. I had to use a bolt cutter to nip off the ends of the clamps so they wouldn't scratch my cargo so I guess it'll be on there all year.
This is why I only gave this item a 4 star rating. Otherwise I'm very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:September 15, 2009
I love this basket on my Jeep Patriot and recently used it on a dove hunting trip! It is just the right size to be very useful and not be too large. I also bought the Valley net for this basket and would recommend that too. I don't hear any whistling noises or anything like that from the basket. I am using a cable lock with it because it is kinda held on with wing nuts on top.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Strongsville, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

roof basket

Date:August 18, 2009
I recently purchased the Valley Roof Rack and it fit very well on my Yukon. The basket was easy to install and looks great. Should open up the inside of my truck, since now I can put my coolers, child bike, etc. on the roof and not take up space inside. I also purchased the matching valley cargo basket that installs into my 2" hitch, which is also very well made and larger than most other products out there. This will make it much easier to transport deer or bear from the field. If you want a nice looking and functional roof basket or rear hitch storage, I would recommend both products from valley.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Valley Roof Basket

Date:July 23, 2009
Excellent product for the price. Easy to install, minimal wind noise. Have used it for long trips (11 + hrs) carrying coolers, tackle boxes and have strapped on rod holders as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works for me

Date:July 15, 2009
Awesome roof rack. Tough and holds a lot. I could see some mounting problems with some vehicles but you just have to get creative. It fit perfectly and after 2000 miles of rough country roads and about 75lbs of gear and it still is on there as tight as it was when I installed it. It would be nice to see a side mount for shovels or larger tools but it's a great product for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best value

Date:July 3, 2009
I bought the Valley roof top basket to fit my 96 Jeep Cherokee.And bought the net as well. This basket also is so easy to install and uninstall I can change it back and forth to my Trail blazer and it fits fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Northern Calif
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Carrier net

Date:June 30, 2009
There is nothing wrong with the cargo net itself. The one I ordered is to small, my mistake. i returned it for a points refund. As far as a recomedation, just make sure you order the right size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Valley Industries Roof Basket Cargo Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the price

Date:March 24, 2009
For the money, this rack is nice. I bought the rack and rack extension and mounted it on a pair of Thule load bars which sits on my Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. The rack itself is not the heavy duty type I have seen as with the Thule or Yakima, but, it is well worth the money. It is adequete for my use as it can be loaded with sleeping bags, tents, chairs etc. that seem to clutter the small interior space of a jeep. It looks nice, perfoms well and I am very pleased with its design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 56