Customer Reviews for MASTERBUILT Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier

MASTERBUILT Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier

Getting ready to take your dirt bike or motorcycle to new tracks or running grounds? Just plug this carrier into any 2" receiver hitch, roll your motorcycle up the ramp and into the carrying channel and secure the tires with the included bolt-in pins. The frame locks your bike in place while the tie-downs (not included) secure the upper portion to two lugs in the rack. Once the motorcycle is in place, unhook the ramp and secure it on the frame for convenient hauling. The rack is heavy-duty, 2" square tubular powder-coated steel. The carrying channel measures 5"W x 76"L. Carrier has 13" of clearance between receiver and frame. Hitch pin not included. Weight capacity: 300 pounds when used with a Class 2 reciever hitch.                             500 pounds when used with a Class 3 reciever hitch. Note: This item should not be used with scooters or bikes larger than 450cc, due to uneven weight distribution.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
33 out of 37(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Review 21 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: mcminnville oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

masterbuilt motorcycle carrier is great

Date:April 22, 2012
i purchased this carrier along with a receiver that i mounted on my rv .great service from CABELAS & a great product from masterbuilt
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Motorcycle Carrier

Date:November 28, 2011
This carrier was easy to assemble and my Honda CT 90 fits nicely in it. The carrier is heavy to put in the hitch tongue, but it holds the cargo nicely. It is secure and has never fallen off the carrier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: california
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

masterbuilt motorcycle carrier

Date:August 28, 2010
good price for a unit that is adjustable for different sized bikes. Holds bike securely. Purchased two more to convert boat trailer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western Washington State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

just what i wanted

Date:April 20, 2010
The bike rack works awesome for my Yamaha TW200 motorcycle. The fat tires on the TW 200 are not a problem. Buy good straps! i have a 3 inch lift on my Toyota Tacoma with 32 inch tires. i was concerned that the lifted truck would be a problem. I have used it on 2 trips to the beach about 100 miles each way. I have had no real problem getting the bike on/off the rack but i have had an extra person both times to insure the motorcycle remained upright during loading. i will always probably prefer to have a second person available on the loading/unloading of the motorcycle but would not hesitate to do it myself if circumstances dictated it. Unloading the bike has not been a problem,but again i would prefer to have an additional body available for this task. Both times i have loaded the vehicle i have powered it up the ramp(not recommended in the literature),but again i have a lifted truck and it is a tough push to get the bike up that high. I am considering devising a secondary ramp to make this a little easier. It would be a great advantage if the manufacturer offered a 18" to 24" longer ramp as an option or accessorary for those of us with lifted rigs, or for those of us that want to make the task easier. Are you listening manufacturer???The great advantage is i don't have to have a licensed trailer sitting on my lot deteriorating in the weather, and the rack is easily stored in my shed. I am a larger strong man and it might be a little more difficult to take the rack on and off if you are neither. The bottom line for me is i don't have to store a trailer or keep it licensed and i can take my bike with me whenever i go on my many outdoor forays.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reedsport, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Motorcycle carrier

Date:March 8, 2010
When I picked up my new Kawasaki KLR 650 and put it on the motorcycle carrier the salesman even said what a good carrier this was and where did I get it. I told him Cabelas and I will tell you that it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Charleston,SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Moto carrier

Date:February 8, 2010
I have a Yamaha 225xt and the carrier works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Jose, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rack

Date:December 1, 2009
I got this rack after borrowing a friends much better quality rack. The one I was using was all welded and very heavy. When this one came, I was a little dissapointed by the construction. HOWEVER, once I assembled and started to use this rack- IT FAR EXCEEDED the more expensive rack I was previously using. The bike does not move around nearly as much as the other rack I was using. I go up north quite a bit (about 250 miles each way) and use this rack all the time. I have never had an issue and absolutely LOVE this rack. I load it myself. I actually put the bike in 1st gear and ride/walk it up the ramp with no issue. Same with un-loading it... This rack rocks...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WHAT YOU WANT TO KNOW

Date:November 16, 2009
Just cause I did it does not mean it should be done. I Have a 27 foot fifth wheel that I put a class II reciever on. The heaviest the trailer could have. {so I was told} I wanted to take my bike, a TW200 on a deer hunt in Arizona, I live in Idaho. I got the bike carrier, shortend the tongue as much as I could that the bike would still clear. Loaded up the bike, about 300 pounds and took off. I pushed everything to the limmit and then some and did it for 2476 miles. No problems. If you notice, the people that complained it was to flimsy, not one had a failure they just thought it seemed to weak, and it does. The carrier is not ridged but it is more than strong enough for it's purpose. These type of carriers creat more tork than the same tongue wieght of a trailer so check for stress cracks in your welds and metal from the carrier to the frame of the tow rig.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hurricane, WVa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome cabelas did it again!!!!!

Date:September 10, 2009
I love this carrier. I have already used this thing a ton and it works like a champ. Its extremely easy to load my KXL 300, and I no longer have to take my tool box out of bed everytime we go riding. I have made several 200 mile trips already without incident. I only wish i would have waited and bought the two bike carrier due to a looming purchase in my near future for my oldest son.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Huntsville, Ontario
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Motorcycle carrier

Date:October 27, 2008
Needed it fast and got it fast for a last minute trip. Perfect fit and easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

what a deal!

Date:August 25, 2008
I own a haulmark trailer (6x10) and love it but I wanted something smaller for just taking my yahama yz 450 to the track for the day. It took me ten min to put it together. I put it on my truck, loaded my bike and around the block I went. if you only need to carry one bike this it the ticket! And a lot cheaper than flat bed trailer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product!

Date:June 16, 2008
I bought this to take my 650 Kawasaki to Alaska from San Diego. 3700 miles.I know my bike was bigger then recommended but It fit and I was short on time. After driving the worst road I have ever been on the carrier held up great. The bike was perfect in Alaska. I would buy this carrier again in a minute.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What's not to like? This thing rocks!

Date:October 22, 2007
The answer is Yes. Despite the "450 cc limit" of the ad copy, my 2007 Honda 650XL fits on there quite nicely. The bike is 325-or-so lbs., so I think the 'limit' is more of a weight guide than anything else.
There is a bit of slop in the holes that accept the hardware, but the thing is structurally very sound- it's built like a suspension bridge. I just assembled it with the bolts at the far ends of the holes- yeah, it's not perfectly square, but the center of gravity is lower and there is no way for it to move any further.
As it came. the bike did stick way out from the vehicle, and with the suspension on the truck compressed by the weight, a steep driveway required caution so the bike wouldn't drag. I didn't need nearly as much clearance as they gave me, so I ended up chopping off almost 6" of tubing and drilling a new pin hole. Now I have less sag and a closer fit, still with room to spare, and no worries of tearing up the bike tire or rim.
Much more convenient than any trailer, I can put it on and get the bike on and off with no help. Easy to store, no tag needed, no extra charges for 'axles' when on a toll road. For my bike, this is a great accessory. Be safe out there! S.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:September 18, 2007
I have a smaller dirtbike YZ85. Works excellent getting it in and out of some of the pits we ride in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Warm Springs, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceeded my expectation

Date:August 6, 2007
This motorcycle carrier is exactly what I was looking for. I have always had a camper top on the bed of my truck and I did not want to remove it just to carry my motorcycle. This carrier offers me the best of both options. It is very sturdy and carries my Yamaha TW200 or my TTR125 with easy. Even though the TW200 has an oversized rear tire this was not much of an issue. As long as you buy high quality straps to secure the bike to the carrier, you can rest assured that your bike will be safely transported to your riding destination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hilton, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice carrier

Date:April 30, 2007
I don't know of a more efficient way to transport a motorcycle. I can load it up and strap it down in 60 seconds, it's that easy. My dirtbike or my dual-sport fit perfectly behind my K1500 Blazer. I can see out the back window and there is virtually no drag like there is pulling a trailer. The price was the lowest I could find and shipping was quick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Masterbuilt Motorcycle Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OC, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW!

Date:November 21, 2006
Assembles very easily and quickly. A very nice way to carry a single bike.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-37 of 37