Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's ATV Spreader

CABELA'S Cabela's ATV Spreader

A larger capacity, minimal assembly and a life-long industrial motor make our spreader the envy of the market. Unlike other spreaders that are limited by a specific weight capacity, our hopper will fit as much as the weight capacity of your ATV rack will allow (up to 15 gallons). Assembly is quick and easy. Just attach back plate to your ATV rack and connect the motor wires to the motor. The high-torque motor has a longer life span and higher throw volume than comparable spreaders. Plus, it won't slow when spreading heavier objects such as fertilizer or salt. The switch is completely sealed for protection from the elements. A universal quick-disconnect interface allows you to attach or detach the spreader without use of tools. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
42 out of 50(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Review 21 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

speader

Date:August 18, 2008
I was a little worried because of the bad reviews that other speaders were getting. But the Cabelas ATV spreader works great. It mounts to the back of my Polaris 500 with no problem and was easy to install. My deer lanes were a carpet of green within a week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arley, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Solid Product

Date:September 24, 2008
This spreader works as advertised, the only drawback is that it is a little hard to attach and remove.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Clinton, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ATV Spreader

Date:October 10, 2008
I purchased this spreader to plant food plots etc.. After mounting on 4 wheeler I noticed that the seed flow control was very hard to adjust and there was a couple of bolts that were loose and needed tightned before use. After geeting adjustments made I was ready to plant. Planting was pretty easy after you finally get the seed flow adjusted correctly. The only other thing I dislike about it is that it throws quite of bit of seed back towards the operator due to the back plate not being quite big enough. I will probably fab a bigger back plate over the winter so that I won't have to shop vac all the seed that went under the seat. Other that that it worked fine.
Brian S.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

ATV Spreader

Date:October 14, 2008
Ordered to use with ranger, the extension for the ranger did not work, also no instructions book or marking on the spreader to gauge how much seed or fertilizer your getting on, not up to Cabella's standards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pensacola, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ATV Spreader Review

Date:October 14, 2008
Overall, very good product. Good distribution pattern, sturdy, durable, large capacity, and easy to install. I use it for spreading seed in food plots. Works well with both small and large seed. Wouldn't recommend for spreading fertilizer because it's difficult to get totally clean and prevent corrosion.
My only suggestion would be to have the ability to plug into a 12V outlet found on most ATV's these days.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's ATV Spreader

Date:November 7, 2008
Spreader not intended for clover seeds. The adjustable feed slide gate does not attach to the bottom of the uneven plastic hopper bottom close enough. This allows the clover seeds to leak out of the hopper when the slide gate is closed. I had to modify the hopper bottom with a piece of hard smooth plastic in order to prevent seed leakage when not in use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Used for salt spreading

Date:January 10, 2009
If you are going to deal with salt or lawn fertilizer, this product will not last one season, it will rust to the core. The plastic canistor is not the problem, the motor and its parts will rust. I just through mine away, perhaps Cabelas would have take it back. Light duty use only and must wash every time used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cross Lanes, WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Salt Spreader faults

Date:February 3, 2009
The spreader needs 1) larger shield to prevent salt throwing on the back of the ATV 2) low speed option on the motor for more control of the salt distance 3) a lighter plug adapter in the kit. Otherwise, a good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: alexander nc
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not got it

Date:March 15, 2009
spreader lacks the guts to be a good spreader, did not like the width of spread, and like everyone else said it needs a big shield for the potection of your atv.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

atv spreader

Date:March 23, 2009
seems to work ok if there are no clumps in your product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: BROOKVILLE ,OHIO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CABELAS ATV SPREADER

Date:May 19, 2009
THIS SPREADER IS A 11 OUT OF 10.
IT WORKS GREAT & IS EASY TO USE & FILL.
I DONT BELIEVE THAT YOU COULD MAKE A BETTER UNIT.
THANKS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Eastern Mt., harvested my first rooster in 1960
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Spreader

Date:May 19, 2009
My primary reason for purchasing this spreader was to seed native grass. The seed simply would not flow through the holes. I believe this is due to the fact that the seed is so light. Possibly if the holes were bigger or they were some sort of vibrator attachment for the bin, this implement might be more effective for this purpose. It probably does well with fertilizer, salt or various kinds of feed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dallas TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good experience

Date:August 9, 2009
I bought the Cabelas ATV spreader at the last minute after scrambling to decide which spreader I would choose.
Assembly was straightforward and easy. Mounted on my Honda Foreman 500 very nicely, and alligator clips fit on the battery perfectly.
I used the spreader to broadcast Japanese Millet on my wetlands. The size of the seed was not an issue, and the spreader provided a very even and nice broadcast pattern. Some reviews complain that the shield allowed some seeds to hit rider. That was not an issue at all for me.
I put out 800lbs of millet yesterday, and am 100% satisfied with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mississippi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works well

Date:October 7, 2009
The spreader itself works well and throws the seeds about 20 feet to the left and 20 to the right. The only problem with this spreader is that it was missing the pin and cotter pin that holds it to the mount. I just used a bolt and nut instead. I think I read another post that said the same thing. It definately holds at least 100 pounds of seeds or fertilizer like nothing. Overall I am pleased with this product. Very easy to mount to your ATV rack.....spreader slides into the mount so you can leave it on your rack and easily mount and unmount the spreader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CT, Shoreline
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ATV Spreader

Date:January 13, 2010
Bought this spreader for the winter months. I used it a couple of times so far. The first time I ran rock salt through it and had to shake the hopper to get the salt to flow. The second time i used ice melt pellets, and they flowed right out no problem. Like other reviews stated the shield needs to be a little bigger, but over all i would say it beats slinging this stuff by hand if you have a long driveway. I cut the battery clips off and installed cig lighter end. For the price it does a good job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

spreader

Date:March 18, 2010
purchased March, 2010. good spreader for fertilizer, pelletized lime, seed (if you mix with fertilizer and lime) which is all I've used in it. I would give it a 5-star, but for three things I think could be improved without much cost. 1. larger deflector (I fabbed one) 2. actuator arm that opens the chute for the whatever to drop out is quite flimsy, both stops were on the same side of the bracket, which I think was a mistake. Can't change because of bends in the rod. 3. should have the cigar lighter type connection for power (3.50 at the auto parts store). I will use it mainly for seeding/fertilizing logging roads, plus home use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Laporte, Mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

atv spreader

Date:April 26, 2010
well built, no major problems, spread pelletized lime and whole corn to test it out. only about 100 lbs of lime could be put in at a time or it will compact too much and plug up.
some complained that the slide gate didn't close completely and let out small seed. it also did on my spreader but two turns from a 9/16 inch wrench fixed that problem
the arm that opens the slide gate is a little flimsy but overall
this spreader works good and i would recommend this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Ga
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Ok for small seed

Date:September 7, 2010
Works OK for small seed such as wheat but not oats. There is no "stirrer" inside the hopper to keep the seed or fertilizer from clogging. New fertilizer OK but not old fertilizer with clumps in it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: LOUISIANA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST SPREADER LOCATED

Date:September 13, 2011
I HAVE HAD ONE OF THESE FOR 5 YEARS NOW, AND IT IS STILL GOING. USED IT EVERY YEAR FOR PELLITIZED LIME, SEEDS, AND FERTILIZER. AS LONG AS FERT. AND LIME ARE NOT DAMP, IT WILL WORK WITH NO PROBLEMS. ARM BRACKET IS LITTLE FLIMSEY, BUT WORKS. HAD TO USE HOME-MADE ALUMINUM EXTENDERS ON BACK PLATE, TO LIMIT THE SPREAD BEHIND THE ATV. KEEP CLEAN AFTER USE WITH WATER, THEN WD-40. GOOD PRODUCT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's ATV Spreader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Argyle, NY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It does the job

Date:January 9, 2012
Great spreader. Easy assembly and extremely easy to use. I primarily use it to salt my driveway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 50