Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0

CABELA'S Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0

A larger capacity and a life-long industrial motor make our ATV Spreader the envy of the market. Unlike other spreaders that are limited by a specific weight capacity, our hopper will fit as much as the weight capacity of your ATV rack will allow (up to 15 gal.). The high-torque, corrosion-resistant motor, a Cabela's exclusive, has a longer life span and higher throw volume than comparable spreaders. Plus, it won't slow when spreading heavier objects such as fertilizer or salt. Switch is completely sealed for protection from the elements. Included spreader screen eliminates clogs. Universal quick-disconnect interface allows you to attach or detach the spreader without use of tools. Cabela's-exclusive 12-volt power outlet. Some assembly required.  Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
44 out of 52(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Review 21 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2008

speader

By
Location: North Carolina
I was a little worried because of the bad reviews that other speaders were getting. But the Cabelas ATV spreader works great. It mounts to the back of my Polaris 500 with no problem and was easy to install. My deer lanes were a carpet of green within a week.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2008

Good Solid Product

By
Location: Arley, AL
This spreader works as advertised, the only drawback is that it is a little hard to attach and remove.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2008

ATV Spreader

By
Location: Clinton, IN
I purchased this spreader to plant food plots etc.. After mounting on 4 wheeler I noticed that the seed flow control was very hard to adjust and there was a couple of bolts that were loose and needed tightned before use. After geeting adjustments made I was ready to plant. Planting was pretty easy after you finally get the seed flow adjusted correctly. The only other thing I dislike about it is that it throws quite of bit of seed back towards the operator due to the back plate not being quite big enough. I will probably fab a bigger back plate over the winter so that I won't have to shop vac all the seed that went under the seat. Other that that it worked fine.
Brian S.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2008

ATV Spreader

By
Location: Iowa
Ordered to use with ranger, the extension for the ranger did not work, also no instructions book or marking on the spreader to gauge how much seed or fertilizer your getting on, not up to Cabella's standards
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2008

ATV Spreader Review

By
Location: Pensacola, FL
Overall, very good product. Good distribution pattern, sturdy, durable, large capacity, and easy to install. I use it for spreading seed in food plots. Works well with both small and large seed. Wouldn't recommend for spreading fertilizer because it's difficult to get totally clean and prevent corrosion.
My only suggestion would be to have the ability to plug into a 12V outlet found on most ATV's these days.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2008

Cabela's ATV Spreader

By
Spreader not intended for clover seeds. The adjustable feed slide gate does not attach to the bottom of the uneven plastic hopper bottom close enough. This allows the clover seeds to leak out of the hopper when the slide gate is closed. I had to modify the hopper bottom with a piece of hard smooth plastic in order to prevent seed leakage when not in use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2009

Used for salt spreading

By
Location: New Jersey
If you are going to deal with salt or lawn fertilizer, this product will not last one season, it will rust to the core. The plastic canistor is not the problem, the motor and its parts will rust. I just through mine away, perhaps Cabelas would have take it back. Light duty use only and must wash every time used.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2009

Cabela's Salt Spreader faults

By
Location: Cross Lanes, WV
The spreader needs 1) larger shield to prevent salt throwing on the back of the ATV 2) low speed option on the motor for more control of the salt distance 3) a lighter plug adapter in the kit. Otherwise, a good product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2009

not got it

By
Location: alexander nc
spreader lacks the guts to be a good spreader, did not like the width of spread, and like everyone else said it needs a big shield for the potection of your atv.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2009

atv spreader

By
Location: missouri
seems to work ok if there are no clumps in your product
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2009

CABELAS ATV SPREADER

By
Location: BROOKVILLE ,OHIO
THIS SPREADER IS A 11 OUT OF 10.
IT WORKS GREAT & IS EASY TO USE & FILL.
I DONT BELIEVE THAT YOU COULD MAKE A BETTER UNIT.
THANKS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2009

Spreader

By
Location: Eastern Mt., harvested my first rooster in 1960
My primary reason for purchasing this spreader was to seed native grass. The seed simply would not flow through the holes. I believe this is due to the fact that the seed is so light. Possibly if the holes were bigger or they were some sort of vibrator attachment for the bin, this implement might be more effective for this purpose. It probably does well with fertilizer, salt or various kinds of feed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2009

Very good experience

By
Location: Dallas TX
I bought the Cabelas ATV spreader at the last minute after scrambling to decide which spreader I would choose.
Assembly was straightforward and easy. Mounted on my Honda Foreman 500 very nicely, and alligator clips fit on the battery perfectly.
I used the spreader to broadcast Japanese Millet on my wetlands. The size of the seed was not an issue, and the spreader provided a very even and nice broadcast pattern. Some reviews complain that the shield allowed some seeds to hit rider. That was not an issue at all for me.
I put out 800lbs of millet yesterday, and am 100% satisfied with my purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2009

works well

By
Location: Mississippi
The spreader itself works well and throws the seeds about 20 feet to the left and 20 to the right. The only problem with this spreader is that it was missing the pin and cotter pin that holds it to the mount. I just used a bolt and nut instead. I think I read another post that said the same thing. It definately holds at least 100 pounds of seeds or fertilizer like nothing. Overall I am pleased with this product. Very easy to mount to your ATV rack.....spreader slides into the mount so you can leave it on your rack and easily mount and unmount the spreader.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2010

ATV Spreader

By
Location: CT, Shoreline
Bought this spreader for the winter months. I used it a couple of times so far. The first time I ran rock salt through it and had to shake the hopper to get the salt to flow. The second time i used ice melt pellets, and they flowed right out no problem. Like other reviews stated the shield needs to be a little bigger, but over all i would say it beats slinging this stuff by hand if you have a long driveway. I cut the battery clips off and installed cig lighter end. For the price it does a good job.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2010

spreader

By
purchased March, 2010. good spreader for fertilizer, pelletized lime, seed (if you mix with fertilizer and lime) which is all I've used in it. I would give it a 5-star, but for three things I think could be improved without much cost. 1. larger deflector (I fabbed one) 2. actuator arm that opens the chute for the whatever to drop out is quite flimsy, both stops were on the same side of the bracket, which I think was a mistake. Can't change because of bends in the rod. 3. should have the cigar lighter type connection for power (3.50 at the auto parts store). I will use it mainly for seeding/fertilizing logging roads, plus home use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2010

atv spreader

By
Location: Laporte, Mn
well built, no major problems, spread pelletized lime and whole corn to test it out. only about 100 lbs of lime could be put in at a time or it will compact too much and plug up.
some complained that the slide gate didn't close completely and let out small seed. it also did on my spreader but two turns from a 9/16 inch wrench fixed that problem
the arm that opens the slide gate is a little flimsy but overall
this spreader works good and i would recommend this product
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2010

Ok for small seed

By
Location: Ga
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Works OK for small seed such as wheat but not oats. There is no "stirrer" inside the hopper to keep the seed or fertilizer from clogging. New fertilizer OK but not old fertilizer with clumps in it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2011

BEST SPREADER LOCATED

By
Location: LOUISIANA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I HAVE HAD ONE OF THESE FOR 5 YEARS NOW, AND IT IS STILL GOING. USED IT EVERY YEAR FOR PELLITIZED LIME, SEEDS, AND FERTILIZER. AS LONG AS FERT. AND LIME ARE NOT DAMP, IT WILL WORK WITH NO PROBLEMS. ARM BRACKET IS LITTLE FLIMSEY, BUT WORKS. HAD TO USE HOME-MADE ALUMINUM EXTENDERS ON BACK PLATE, TO LIMIT THE SPREAD BEHIND THE ATV. KEEP CLEAN AFTER USE WITH WATER, THEN WD-40. GOOD PRODUCT.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's ATV Spreader 2.0
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

It does the job

By
Location: Argyle, NY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Great spreader. Easy assembly and extremely easy to use. I primarily use it to salt my driveway.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 52