Customer Reviews for COLORADO CYLINDER ST Colorado Cylinder Stoves

COLORADO CYLINDER ST Colorado Cylinder Stoves

Built to last, these airtight stoves are made of welded 1⁄8" steel that holds heat longer and gives off more radiant heat than sheet-metal designs. Welded braces underneath the stove surfaces keep them flat and warp-free. Rounded main cylinders allow for uniform expansion and contraction while helping ashes settle to the bottom to prevent burnout. Recessed stove pipe holes are offset for a larger cooking surface. Damper baffle plates on the inside of the door reduce the escape of puffing smoke and sparks. The legs are 1⁄2"-diameter threaded pipe that tighten or loosen to level the stove. Attachments on both sides accommodate warming trays and water heaters. Both models are finished with heat-resistant black stove paint. Spruce holds heat for 4-6 hours. Timberline holds heat for 6-7 hours. All components stow in the stoves for transport. Packages include a set of 12" legs, brass faucet, warming tray, water heater, stovepipe, stovepipe damper, spark arrestor, wire handle for the stove and a coal grate. Made in USA. Available: Spruce Stove – 24"L x 14"W x 11"H. 22"H assembled. Wt: 42 lbs. Spruce Stove Package Timberline Stove – 26"L x 16"W x 13"H. 23-1/2"H assembled. Wt: 54 lbs. Timberline Stove Package
Overall Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Review 1 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't Even Think About It

Date:October 13, 2010
I recently purchased the Timberline Package to heat an outfitter tent during an upcoming Montana elk hunt. The package arrived without assembly instructions of any type; the "nesting" stovepipe did not nest (all sleeves were of the same I.D. dimensions); the spark arrester did not fit on the top of the stovepipe without cutting and altering the arrestor; there was no hood or bonnet on the spark arrestor which would result in water entering the stove's chimney during rain or snow; the stovepipe elbow was not included in the package, and the welds on the water heater were defective and leaked. The poor workmanship, missing and or incorrectly sized parts, and other issues resulted in my returning the unit and ordering a Sheepherder stove and accessories. Apparently this is a new product and I would not recommend it to anyone until Cabelas is able to resolve these issues with the manufacturer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: El Paso, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:October 17, 2010
I purchased the aspen package for an Elk hunt in Wyoming, the first night it was 13 degrees I filled the stove with wood at about 11pm and when i woke up at 4:30 it still had good coals in it, The water jacket was great to, it was nice to have hot water. I would recommend this product and its nice to see Cabelas selling products made in the USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fruita, CO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Toasty Quality!

Date:October 18, 2010
I purchased the Aspen Stove Package and the first thing I noticed was the "Made in America" label on the box. I was happy to see assembly instructions, safety considerations, a parts list, and all the pieces. The heavy gage steel chosen for manufacturing, the quality welding of the cylinder and tray, and the tight welding of the water tank were notable. The water tank and faucet were the first to be tested-no leaks. I wore gloves for assembling the stovepipe. Assembly in 10 minutes. I expect the stove to last longer than me. Keep up the good work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Columbus,Oh
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stove OK

Date:October 20, 2010
The stove itself is alright however the timberline is not 28" inches long it is colorados 26" model. They have the 28" model but Cabelas does not carry it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:November 4, 2010
I recently purchased the Timberline package for a week long hunting trip in Montana. The weather outside was terrible but thanks to the stove we stayed warm all night as the temperature dropped outside. The water tank doubled as a humidifier as well as a hot water source. The stove and accesories were well built and performed very well. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

check it out before you pack in

Date:April 2, 2011
Right on Noella..your review mirrors mine. Avoid this product!
The stove pipe is misrepresented, it does not 'nest'. If one is a horse packer, plan on taking up more valuable space because the stove tank will not fit inside the stove because the pipe does not nest.
(check out the sheephearder stove Cabelas lists...they DO supply nested/tapered stove pipe which is a great space saver)
We only got the 12 inch legs, the longer ones were missing. One of the 4 threaded connectors was of such poor quality it almost stripped out the pipe thread.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bayfeild Co
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great customer service

Date:May 26, 2011
I bought a Timberline Stove Package for my annual elk hunt, the stove arrived in great condition, it was real quality, the welds on the stainless water tank were some of the best i had seen. I did have one problem with the pipe not nesting, so i called the manufacturer. They told me that they carried both nesting and straight pipe for different tent applications, He apologized for my inconvienence, and not only let me keep the original pipe but sent me a set of nesting stove pipe and a larger spark arrestor free of charge, Thats what i call great customer service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cedar Creek Tx.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So Far so Good

Date:August 5, 2011
So far this product is everything I have read about in the reviews. I like what I see so far as far as craftmmanship goes. I had questions about the correct size to by for my specific tent. I called the manufacturer and he was very responsive to my questions. Pros & Cons. When my Timberline stove arrived I was all excited. Only to see the spark arrestor was damaged. I call the manufacturer again and again no problem they sent me a new one in the same day I called. Great customer support. I would recomend this product to all. Thanks again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southern New Zealand
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Southern New Zealand

Date:December 10, 2011
I purchased this stove last year to go into the our very wet and cold Fiordland area at the bottom of New Zealand, I simply found it amazing, I had read some handy tips,about placing the damper up high just before it went through the seal in the roof, this worked well for extra heat off the pipe, I also put a temperature gauge there to ensure I didn't over heat the seal which I feel is required, I put a clamp round the pipe on the 2nd extention with guide wires to pegs in the ground to ensure the pipe couldn't lift off in wind and bouight a better cap for the pipe, needed adjustable legs to be 5 out 5 for leveling the plate,also clean your pipes really well before packing otherwise you'll have issues extending them out again, banks over night really well, snows and you don't know until you go outside
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Package is a good deal

Date:January 9, 2012
We used the Timberline Stove Package in our Alaknak II tent during our 2011 Colorado Elk hunt. Overall it worked very well. We used hardwood in it and it held heat well overnight. The water heater was extremely handy. However, we found that if we used the water heater overnight it did cause some condensation on the inside of the tent. I recommend you place something under the legs to keep them from sinking into the ground. We cribbed up four pieces of 2x6s which raised the stove to a comfortable height for cooking on. I didn't like the spark arrestor that was sent in the package. I contacted the manufacturer and got one with a cap on it. We actually did most of our cooking on top of the stove with skillets which saved on propane.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT AMERICAN MADE QUALITY

Date:January 12, 2013
I received my Timberline Stove Package, After opening the package, I was amazed at the quality, The overall construction was great, The nested stove pipe was neat how it all slid back together in one compact bundle. The welds on the stainless steel water heater was by far the best i had ever seen. I was looking forward to using it on my elk hunt in Idaho. At the last minute I realized i needed some type of rain cap for the top of the stack so i called the manufacturer, he thanked me for my business and sent the rain cap out that day to my Idaho location, When i got to Idaho two days later the cap had beat me there. Thats great service in my book.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Made in USA Quality

Date:February 26, 2013
Colorado cylinder stoves are made with pride. I have had others and would not settle for less after owning these. Waking up in a tent with ice on the floor is no fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Colorado Cylinder Stoves
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Understand what you are getting...

Date:September 10, 2013
I got a cylinder stove. I understood that it was a package deal & if I wanted certain items I needed to go to the manufacturer directly. Which I did. The owner is unbelievable. I told him I was hesitant to pay the big $ for shipping & he told me he was going to be in town for a trade show & would bring what I wanted. Unbelievable. I got a rain cap + heat robber + some other items & have been extremely happy. I highly recommend you get one for your canvas outfitter or Alaknak. I have used it quite a few times & it has held up very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.