Customer Reviews for Broil-Mate Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Broil-Mate Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill

Far more than just a gas grill, this is a complete outdoor cooking station that can be used to roast, grill, fry, boil and prepare a wide range of foods the way you like them. It's outfitted with a 50,000-BTU stainless steel Dual-Tube™ burner system, a 10,000-BTU stainless steel side burner, a 15,000-BTU stainless steel rear rotisserie burner and a premium rotisserie kit. 700 sq. in. of total cooking area including, 500 sq. in. of primary cooking space and a porcelain-coated warming rack. Cast-iron cooking grids are porcelain-coated, making them easy to clean. Linear-Flow™ valves with 180° Sensi-Touch™ controls make precise temperature control possible, and a deluxe Accu-Temp™ thermometer displays temperature accurately. Reliable, fast and consistent lighting is ensured by a Sure-Lite™ electronic ignition system. As sharp-looking as it is functional, this unit sports a black porcelain-enamel hood panel with stylish cast-aluminum end caps, a Dura-Bilt™ porcelain-enamel cookbox that also has cast-aluminum end caps, and a stainless steel control panel. The base, cabinet and side shelves are black chrome, and the doors are powder-coated black. Handy resin condiment bins hold your favorite cooking sauces. Casters are outfitted with wheel locks to secure the cooking system in place. Cast-aluminum components are covered by a limited lifetime warranty. Stainless steel components and the burner system are covered by a five-year manufacturer's warranty. Remaining parts and paint are covered for two years. Weight: 218 lbs.Dimensions: 49"H x 62"W x 25"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill
Review 1 for Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Troy, IL
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value, Easy to Put Together

Date:November 13, 2010
Recently I made a decision to replace my 10 year old Ducane gas grill. I have researched online and in stores. Yesterday I went to Cabela's and seen the display for this grill. It looked like a sturdy, well built grill, and a bargin for the price. So I bought it and hauled it home. This morning I put the grill together in a little less than two hours. It went together without a problem. I have not cooked on it yet, can't wait...........Great Value, Easy to Put Together
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Grill, assembly doable, could be made easier

Date:August 29, 2010
After much research I had been focused in on Broil King or Weber. Finding this model was identical to the Broil King Regal 490 at Cabela's at a great price sealed the deal. Very pleased to be able to get a unit with the Broil King dual tube burners, which are the best on the market IMO. The parts had a nice finish and were packaged well with removable plastic film on the stainless parts. Assembly took a good 4 hours but it wouldn't have had to be that difficult if they made the instructions just a bit more user friendly and detailed and I had not hit two stumbling blocks. The assembly instructions are graphics without text or part numbers, and adding the part numbers would be so easy I'm not sure why they didn't do that. Many of the steps in the drawings were actually not needed as a lot of the assemblies were complete already. The only manufacturing flaw was the holes in the cookbox for the right side shelf were just a *smidgen* out of dimension with the holes in the shelf and would not allow the screws to completely engage without drilling the holes in the box just a little larger. I had quite a bit of confusion on installing the grease tray as the drawing had no details on what held it up. I called the Cabela's store and they were kind enough to look at the display model and confirm that the tray goes over two small tabs at each end above the rotisserie gas tube; this part isn't secured well but survived the move to the patio. There were no instructions on where to put the battery for the ignitor; just unscrew the ignitor knob and put the battery in negative end first. As far as grilling we have one meal under our belt and it worked flawlessly. The grill will hit 700 degrees if you need that. Time will tell but I am very pleased so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Flimsy and flawed

Date:August 27, 2010
The base for this grill is made of very flimsy metal that provides little stability. I did not get to the point where I could use this grill because after assembling the base, I found that some the manufacturer had neglected to drill screwholes necessary for attaching the main body of the grill to it.
Had the base been sturdier, it might have been worth pursuing the missing holes problem but the flimsy base and the manufacturing flaw made me decide not to chance the kinds of problems that could occur when gas gets pumped through this and high temperatures are involved.
The features for the money and a couple of very good internet reviews made me decide to take a chance on what seemed like a bargain but I would warn against investing the time and effort in such an unreliable and potentially unsafe product. I would stick with a more established brand you know you can trust.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: East Greenbush, NY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Grill but Lacks some

Date:July 16, 2010
I read all the reviews on this grill before I purchased but as I just saw on another review the quality of craftmanship leaves a little bit to be desired. I myself went to my hardware store and replaced all of there screws and bolts with stainless it cost me another 8 dollars and I believe will be well worth it. The screws that they give you to attatch the grill to the stand will in my opinion rot away in 2 years from cooking and other elements, for the amount I paid for the stainless I will never have to worry about that.I also had some problems with the way the holes were lining up but me and my 3 year old son got it together in about 2 hours .
The Grill grates were supposed to be procelain coated but mine look like just cast iron, the company said thats what there porcelain coated cast iron looks like but im not so sure they just dont want to send me the right ones, and they also sent me the wrong manual for the grill.
With all that being said the grill cooks great so far. have only had 4 days but have been cooking on it for breakfast , lunch ,and dinner trying to get the grates seasoned.Cabelas did a great job shipping and were helpful with the problem of the manual and the grates, the same cannot be said for the manufacturer "Onward Manufacturing" but nobodys perfect.
I would have given it 3 stars do to the problems with craftmanship and Onward Maunfacturing companies customer service, but Cabelas customer service and my happiness with the way its been cooking ( even high heat, holds temp well) brought it up another point. So only time will tell on the rest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Moses Lake WA.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Huntington Forge Grill

Date:June 25, 2010
Model 6781-84 (Cabela's number Item:9IS-519970)
Ordered on 5-27-2010 after much research on similar grills and read several reviews. Also based on owning two other grills made by same company as this one.
Arrived on 6-4-2010 and assembled in three hours the next day. Did find a broken cast Iron Grid. Called warranty number on Monday morning. They said they would ship one . Shipped next day, received in 7 days due to mail service.
Have used the grill to bbq 1.5" thick pork chops, steaks and rotisserie a roast. All came out good. My wife's comment on pork chops, was: "best we have ever had". Today is a chicken and corn.
Overall very satisfied with the grill. Also ordered a grill cover as non depth enough were available locally.
upscope
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good grill with a few hiccups.

Date:June 18, 2010
First off let me start by saying that the grill cooks wonderfully. Nice even heat, racks and rotisserie work great and the space is wonderful. Having said that there are a few concerns that need to be pointed out.
1. The quality of the materials is good, however the process was flawed. Screw holes and screws were sometimes 1cm off. That may not seem like a lot, but it leads to stripped screws and cross-threading. The assembly was a pain. With 2 helpers we had a hard time with it, they really need to match up the parts better. Even the store demo had some "altercations" to the grill.
2. Instructions could be a little clearer with some wording in then. The pictures work well and seem to do the trick, but the finer details are lost in the mix.
3. Shipping was a disaster. It is shipped UPS Freight and not only are they about as rude as they can be, but you need 2 people at the house to receive the grill. I would imagine if you are paying over $100 for shipping they would at least put it in your garage for you.
Other then these issues dealing with assembly and shipping the grill is wonderful. We have been using it for a few weeks now with wonderful results, just be prepared to sweat a lot in putting it together. After talking with the company about it I was told "Well these things happen but at least you got it together".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:June 13, 2010
I ordered this on Monday night online and Cabelas, as usual, over-achieved with their service and the thing arrived Thursday afternoon! So a separate kudos to Cabelas there.
One thing to note is, this grill is HEAVY, so keep that in mind when planning either pick-up or delivery.
Assembly instructions looked sparse at first, but really all of the trickier parts of assembly (like installing burners and hoses) are already done. It took an hour to put together the pieces.
Fired it up yesterday and loved the performance. the cast-iron grates are so much better than stainless, in my opinion. Won't know for a few years how it holds up, but my initial are impressions are that for the price, you won't find a better grill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Asheville, NC
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy One Now

Date:June 7, 2010
A grill made in the USA. I cannot find a problem with this grill.
Plenty of cook space. High heat for searing. The heat control is fast and true. Not a filmsy grill from the box stores. This is the real deal for a reasonable price.
I am a grill freak and have four different types in use, this is my favorite by far. Get one before the price goes up. It will when word gets out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this grill!!

Date:June 1, 2010
I was weary about buying this grill because at the time it had no reviews. I am glad I did!!! It was easy to assemble, and I was surprised at the quality and weight of the steel! This is no flimsy grill!
Starting the grill is easy with the push button starter and I was impressed with the porcelain coated warming rack! We used the rotissary this past weekend and the back burner really worked well!
I couldn't ask for a better grill!!
No other grill compares to it's quality in this price range!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Huntington™ Forge Gas Grill
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tewksbury Ma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Grill

Date:May 3, 2010
Have had this grill for three weeks know have cooked 6 times on it, 2 times with rotisserie, very happy with the results, for the price it is a very well made grill, great heat output and very even heat distribution, I have always owned Weber grills but wanted to try something bigger with more burners and a rotisserie, only complaint is it didn't come with the owners manual so I called them and was told it hadn't gone to press yet so im wating for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.