Customer Reviews for MasterBuilt Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MasterBuilt Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window

Now you can observe the smoking process with something no other smoker has – a built-in glass viewing window! An internal light also lets you see the interior clearly. Digital controls help you make culinary masterpieces. The heating element adjusts from 100° to 275° with a push of a button and is regulated by a digital thermostat, providing consistently even cooking temperatures. A built-in meat probe displays the internal temperature of the food you're smoking. The wood of your choice smolders in the electrically heated, removable wood chute. Insulated walls trap heat and eliminate drying. Four racks for cooking sausage,chicken, ham, fish, jerky and vegetables, providing 930 sq. in. of cooking space.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window
Review 1 for Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Edmond, OK
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Problems in less than 24 hours

Date:May 28, 2010
just bought the 40″ with glass window yesterday pre-seasoned last night and started a brisket, first off the probe read over 300 F when the smoker was only 215 F. So obviously the probe doesn't work, then by noon today the LCD Control panel quit working. It came on but would not get heat past 100 F. Had to take it back today to trade the control panel for the one on the display model. I sure hope it works! Waiting for husband to return home with it as we speak. Hoping this doesn’t ruin our brisket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

masterbuilt 40

Date:May 9, 2010
Poor quality starting with the assembely. Under powered and can not produce low staedy heat. Leaks around the door on the hindge side, no resonable fix. Vent must be fully opened to allow smoke to rise to uper racks. This is going back!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst Masterbuilt Smoker Ever

Date:October 24, 2009
I purchased this smoker to replace the previous model without the window. When I used it the first time the tempreture droped 50 deg when I put my brisket in then the temp would swing 25 deg +-- from the set temp. The secand time I tried to use it the heating element stoped working after I put my ribs in. I had to cook the ribs in the oven. By the way the viewing window is now almost completly smoked up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Class Smoker

Date:September 25, 2010
I've owned this smoker for almost a year now and I LOVE IT! I have smoke everything from salmon to pork shoulder, even atomic buffalo turds (ABT's) and its done a remarkable job and everyone who has ate my food has loved it as well. A great feature is the meat probe inside which allows the door to remain closed and not lose heat or smoke. I do very much agree with one of the other reviews about it taking a little time for it to get up to temperature and that is also why I only gave it 4 stars, but to me its not that big of a deal, its still a great product. This is not a smoker for the hard core, mass producing competitionist, but for the typical home person that just wants to experiment and enjoy some great food it's worth it. Just like anything else you purchase in this world, there are some cases where you get a product that doesn't work properly because it might of been mishandled in shipping or maybe a factory defect, but the one I received has worked great from the time i removed it from the box to almost a year later. One other thing, if you need an extention cord for the location of your smoker there is a power drain if the cord is light gage. The manufacturer says not to use one at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

masterbuilt 40 smoker

Date:September 16, 2010
I have had this smoker for about a month now and have have great success with it. I have been smoking for 20 years now and simply wanted to try an electric model. I've done ribs, brisket and pork butt and all have been great. Had some people over last weekend and did 15 racks of babybacks on upright racks with Applewood pellets and they were some of the best I've done. Verified the temps with a separate digital thermometer and found that the Masterbuilt readout was within a couple of degrees. Price was right and size was plenty. In spite of some negative posting on this product I have found it to be a great little smoker. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating was because it is a bit underpowered as it takes some time for it to come up to temp or to recover when adding other items, but it you are smokin' and in a hurry you have the wrong hobby! (Masterbuilt, if your reading this, a minimum of a couple more hundred watts for the element would really help.) Can't speak about longevity but I purchased the 2 year repair / replacement plan through Cabela's and have always had good luck with their customer service, so I'm comfortable. Keep in mind this is a newer model 20070508 that Masterbuilt put out to correct some issues with earlier models. So far, so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Smoker

Date:May 6, 2011
This is my first smoker. I have had it for about a month now and have used it twice. I've smoked pork loins, pork shoulder, chickens and top round. Everything has turned out great. This smoker is so easy to use it makes you feel like a pro the first time you use it. I have seen some horrible reviews, they must have gotten a bad one. I would highly recommend this smoker to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rural, Minnestoa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product, Excellent Results

Date:March 9, 2010
We were undecided about what smoker to purchase. After discussing our options with a Cabela's employee we decided on the Masterbuilt 40" with window. We couldn't be any happier. It maintains proper temperature and the temp probe works perfectly. We have used this smoker every weekend since we purchased it nearly 3 months ago. We would (and have) recommend this smoker to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ME
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Smoker

Date:February 16, 2010
I had a tough time picking between the many different smokers that Cabelas had and finally narrowed it down to the Masterbuilt 40" with Window, the big features that sold me were the latch to hold the door tight to the seal, the digital temp readout and controls, and the internal meat temp probe. It's great to be able to check the temp of the meat you're smoking without opening the door and allowing the smoke and moisture to escape. This unit works excellent and I have no buyer's remorse whatsoever. I also love the fact that a cup of chips will do the whole smoke with this unit, after using a Brinkman Vertical Charcoal Smoker that is a very nice change.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: So. Calif.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works as advertised

Date:January 18, 2010
I have had the 40 inch MES for approx. 2 months now. Smoked
Ribs, a 10 lb brisket, ABTs, A couple fatties, and 2 pork shoulders. Everything came out wonderful. It is alot of bang for the buck. The window is okay, and is easy to clean with Dawn and a sponge. The meat probe is accurate. There are a few improvements that could be done from the engineering standpoint, but overall a very good electric smoker. By the way, I own an offset firebox type, and a Weber. The electric puts out a decent product. If you don't want to tend your fire all day and nite, try the electric, you'll love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Masterbuilt 40" Smoker with Window
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Loup City, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Masterbuilt Electric Smoker

Date:December 2, 2009
We have smoked beef roasts, homemade venison summer sausage and turkeys with great success. The digital controls make smoking a breeze with this smoker.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.