Customer Reviews for MR. HEATER Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MR. HEATER Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater

With the output to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 120 hours on a bulk cylinder, this powerful little heater is ideal for taking the chill off almost any place you need extra warmth. And because it’s equipped with a low-oxygen shut-off pilot safety, it can be used safely in tents, blinds, ice shacks and other enclosed areas. Three settings let you adjust the heat from 4,000, to 9,000 or 18,000 BTUs/hr. Two one-pound propane cylinders provide from 6 to 12 hours of radiant and convection heat for maximum efficiency. It even includes a blower fan, powered by four D-cell batteries (batteries not included) so you can direct warmed air into chilly corners or other hard-to-heat areas. A storage bay accommodates up to 12 feet of hose, sold separately, for use with bulk propane cylinders. Recommended for use at altitudes below 7,000 feet. Cannot be sold in Massachusetts. Dimensions: 17-1/2"H x 17"W x 10"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
43 out of 45(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Generates great heat with fan

Date:November 19, 2013
Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The goog thing

Date:November 12, 2013
A good thing, but on the fifth case use stopped working sensor. Until I figured out what the problem is, rubbed his very experienced. But now everything is OK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WARM AS A BED BUG

Date:November 5, 2013
THE TEMP. IN ELK CAMP WAS IN THE HIGH 20'S, LOW 30'S. USED HEATER TO HEAT TENT WHEN STOVE WAS OUT. DID A GREAT JOB.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Buy

Date:October 29, 2013
This is a excellent product, even if it was a refurbished unit. Saved some money and very satisfied with performance of heater.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hot Box

Date:January 22, 2013
I bought the heater to use in the camper until we could get the regular heater working. Works great. A great heater to have in the event of a power failure also. After getting hit with Sandy here in NJ, I feel a lot better...warmer.
Remember to buy American when you can. The few extra dollars are worth the satisfaction that you are helping another American put food on the plate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm heater for ice fishing

Date:January 15, 2013
I had a Buddy Heater and got cold. I used this reconditioned Big Buddy Heater connected to a 20 lb propane tank and was toasty in my ice house. Temp outside was around -10 degrees. Works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Heater

Date:January 15, 2013
Unfortunately, the heater continued to turn itself off. We returned the product and Cabela lived up to its Return Policy. For that, we will contiue to be customer of Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase

Date:January 3, 2013
We found this while black Friday shopping and paired it with an additional coupon making this deal hard to pass up. We were a little hesitant with this being reconditioned but once it arrived you couldn't tell that it wasn't brand new. In the few weeks we have owned this heater we have found many uses for it both indoors and out. We are completely satisfied with this product and would highly recommended it to anyone considering purchasing this heater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than expected

Date:January 3, 2013
Bought this heater for ice fishing/tailgating works better than i expected great unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reconditioned Big Buddy Heater

Date:January 2, 2013
This is the second reconditioned big buddy that I've ordered and both of them operate like brand new units. Why pay retail when you can get an excellent deal on a reconditioned unit. Buy reconditioned an save
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Is working so good in door and out door is awesome

Date:December 27, 2012
I will recommend it works like new there is no different from a new one I save a lot of money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great deal

Date:December 27, 2012
I bought a reconditioned Big Buddy heater. It looks brand new. I have had a Mr. Heater before and love it.
This one looks just as good. I'm very satisfied with my purchase and could save money too. Thanks Cabela's!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy

Date:December 9, 2012
This reconditioned unit was just like new. My guess is that most folks send them back because they don't understand how long it takes to purge a 12 ft. hose when it's hooked up to a 20 lb. bottle. It takes well over a minute of holding down on the pilot knob to get propane to the system. I used a stove lighter to light the unit in stead of the piazza striker built into the heater. Worked great right out of the box. I bought the heater as an emergency heat source for power outages during cold weather. Because its propane, the fuel is very stable and will set idle for years if you don't need it. Unlike kerosene which degrades rapidly with time. The fan is not particularly great but that's really not needed as a space heater.
All said, I couldn't be happier with the heater. Great prices, great heater!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elk River, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Deal Around!

Date:November 15, 2011
I purchased one of these last fall to heat my ice house. You would never be able to tell by looking at the unit that it was "reconditioned" other than a small sticker stating so. The box also indicated this. I used it all winter with out so much as a hiccup. I would not hesitate to buy another!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln,NE
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most amazing heater

Date:November 15, 2011
I've had other portable heaters and this one is by far the best. I will never have to purchase another heater for anything I can use this thing indoors/outdoors. I popped it out of the box hooked-up both tanks and it fired right up. I picked it up the night before Opening Day took it out to the deer blind and was hunting in jeans and a t-shirt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great heater

Date:November 7, 2011
Just like new! No dust, no oil on mine like I had read in other reviews. Works flawlessly. Glad I purchased refurbished and saved some cash. I was worried it would be too powerful because many of the reviews talk about not using high. I think it is perfect. I'm glad I didn't buy the smaller one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: prescott, arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

reconditioned Bad idea

Date:September 17, 2011
I love Cabela’s products unfortunately they don’t have control over all products that are reconditioned. This heater came with a broken base and striped knob so I couldn’t even turn it on. I looks like they put some armor all on it and sent it back out. There was obviously no attempt to make sure this item worked properly before it was sent out. Buy new from this company only!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Toasty Mobile Home Living in the Rocky Mountains

Date:November 28, 2010
100% Off grid in the Mountains at 7500 feet means we needed an efficient, affordable back-up heating system. The Big Buddy was the PERFECT solution! AFFORDABLE - so I bought 2 - one for our mobile home and one for the battery bank house.
I also got the optional 12 hose with regulator, the cover/carrier and the AC adapters. (worth the extra dollars)
Arrived in near new condition - no noticable imperfections. Fired right up with no problem at high elevation. Works like a charm to quickly heat our mobile home within MINUTES - even in the harsh Colorado winters.
We use an outside woodburner for our main heat, so this is perfect for days to take the chill off while the wood stove is heating up or as a room-size heater to suppliment on those really cold winter days or as a use-alone when it isn't cold enough to fire up the wood stove.
We'll be using it for camping, in the work shop, garage, etc. as the Big Buddy is the perfect size for portability and heats quickly at up to 18K BTUs.
I did put it up on 2 cement blocks, mainly to raise it off the wood floor and also to act as additional heat retention when the blocks warm up and provide extra radiant heat.
I'd recommend these heaters in a NY minute! And I LOVE the fact that they have a 1 year warranty, even though they are reconditioned.
SCORE!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCEPTIONAL RECONDITIONED

Date:November 13, 2010
The Big Buddy unit i received was nothing less than what you would expect from Cabela's. An excellent value for your money. The unit was received in exceptional condition and looked brand new. Very happy with the way it heats my cabin in a matter of minutes. I would highly suggest this unit to anyone who is looking for a great heat source.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:November 3, 2010
I received my big buddy heater today (reconditioned) It was clean and had no indications that it was used ever except a factory reconditioned decal on the back. I fired it up in my garage, 35 degrees. The heater on high heated the uninsulated 2 car garage to 60 in about 15 min. so I turned it off, I'm sure we could gotten it much warmer if needed. I also bought the 12' quick connect hose with it. I had read it in another post but forgot but it is true that if you hook up a 20lb tank it takes a while to get started. If you are in a real cold area you may want to use a 1lb tank as a started to get it going until things get going. Light weight, easy to handle, in perfect shape and the fan seems to act like a turbo for initial heating but can only imagine that 4d batteries will not last long. Would suggest that you start with the fan on and then turn off when nearing the comfort range and let the natural convection to work. I am really happy initially and am so excited to use it in my hunting tent so I can kiss the wood burner and smoke goodbye.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 45