Customer Reviews for MR. HEATER Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater

MR. HEATER Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater

With the output to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 120 hours on a bulk cylinder, this powerful little heater is ideal for taking the chill off almost any place you need extra warmth. And because it’s equipped with a low-oxygen shut-off pilot safety, it can be used safely in tents, blinds, ice shacks and other enclosed areas. Three settings let you adjust the heat from 4,000, to 9,000 or 18,000 BTUs/hr. Two one-pound propane cylinders provide from 6 to 12 hours of radiant and convection heat for maximum efficiency. It even includes a blower fan, powered by four D-cell batteries (batteries not included) so you can direct warmed air into chilly corners or other hard-to-heat areas. A storage bay accommodates up to 12 feet of hose, sold separately, for use with bulk propane cylinders. Recommended for use at altitudes below 7,000 feet. Cannot be sold in Massachusetts. Dimensions: 17-1/2"H x 17"W x 10"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.717 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
51 out of 53(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No-brainer

Date:December 22, 2015
The product arrived packaged well - like new.
The product was clean-like new
The product worked-like new
The product was a great value - NOT like new
Getting the extension hose for a larger propane tank would be a good idea.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Heater

Date:December 1, 2015
I bought this unit as a "reconditioned" heater.... It looks and performs as if it was brand new. I screwed a single propane bottle on and the pilot light lit almost instantly. Low and high heat performed flawlessly. The fan is enough air movement to keep a 10'x15' tent very warm on 20 degree nights. So far, there are absolutely no complaints. I would buy another "reconditioned" unit... if I needed one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:November 24, 2015
I bought a reconditioned unit to save some money and have not been disappointed. I have used it two of the last three weekends at my cottage with 20# tank, accessory hose and 6V power adapter. I ran it for approximately 36 hours straight both weekends on various heat settings and it worked flawlessly!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Den is COLD!

Date:November 18, 2015
That's my wife's complaint, so I bought this heater. I can still use it at the duck camp. For several years we use a space heater for this room to take the chill off. When I received it I installed the 1 lb. bottles that I had from lanterns. This heater does the trick on the lowest setting, the heater does a stellar job.
I have several propane tanks 20's,,30's and a 100lb that's about half full, with the recommended regulator and hose kit F271803, I have the 100lb tank hooked up from the old gas logs piping from the outside, using the connection in the heater.
Going to get another for the "Duck House"!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worth the money

Date:November 10, 2015
First heater I received nothing functioned. The representative was very helpful with instructions on how to return the malfunctioned unit. The unit I received the second time is in perfect condition. You cannot tell it was refurbished. Very, Very happy with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Quebec
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT PERFORMANCE

Date:October 23, 2015
WORKS GREAT AT EVERY LEVEL.PRETTY GOOD PURCHASE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great value

Date:October 11, 2015
We purchased this to be emergency heat in our disaster survival kit. Looks brand new, no dust or oil that some previous reviewers noted. Followed instructions and it fired right up. We went with the quick attach hose and 20lb tank. Pumps out the heat and saved a bunch on this reconditioned unit. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Owned it 2 years

Date:October 8, 2015
A great unit period.... had to clean the pilot with a pipecleaner and qtip now its fine.... called mr heater they said to do it every year.... great product... and also great 12 foot host to 20 lb
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Generates great heat with fan

Date:November 19, 2013
Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The goog thing

Date:November 12, 2013
A good thing, but on the fifth case use stopped working sensor. Until I figured out what the problem is, rubbed his very experienced. But now everything is OK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WARM AS A BED BUG

Date:November 5, 2013
THE TEMP. IN ELK CAMP WAS IN THE HIGH 20'S, LOW 30'S. USED HEATER TO HEAT TENT WHEN STOVE WAS OUT. DID A GREAT JOB.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Buy

Date:October 29, 2013
This is a excellent product, even if it was a refurbished unit. Saved some money and very satisfied with performance of heater.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hot Box

Date:January 22, 2013
I bought the heater to use in the camper until we could get the regular heater working. Works great. A great heater to have in the event of a power failure also. After getting hit with Sandy here in NJ, I feel a lot better...warmer.
Remember to buy American when you can. The few extra dollars are worth the satisfaction that you are helping another American put food on the plate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Warm heater for ice fishing

Date:January 15, 2013
I had a Buddy Heater and got cold. I used this reconditioned Big Buddy Heater connected to a 20 lb propane tank and was toasty in my ice house. Temp outside was around -10 degrees. Works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Heater

Date:January 15, 2013
Unfortunately, the heater continued to turn itself off. We returned the product and Cabela lived up to its Return Policy. For that, we will contiue to be customer of Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase

Date:January 3, 2013
We found this while black Friday shopping and paired it with an additional coupon making this deal hard to pass up. We were a little hesitant with this being reconditioned but once it arrived you couldn't tell that it wasn't brand new. In the few weeks we have owned this heater we have found many uses for it both indoors and out. We are completely satisfied with this product and would highly recommended it to anyone considering purchasing this heater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than expected

Date:January 3, 2013
Bought this heater for ice fishing/tailgating works better than i expected great unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reconditioned Big Buddy Heater

Date:January 2, 2013
This is the second reconditioned big buddy that I've ordered and both of them operate like brand new units. Why pay retail when you can get an excellent deal on a reconditioned unit. Buy reconditioned an save
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Is working so good in door and out door is awesome

Date:December 27, 2012
I will recommend it works like new there is no different from a new one I save a lot of money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Reconditioned Portable Big Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great deal

Date:December 27, 2012
I bought a reconditioned Big Buddy heater. It looks brand new. I have had a Mr. Heater before and love it.
This one looks just as good. I'm very satisfied with my purchase and could save money too. Thanks Cabela's!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 53