Customer Reviews for TREKKER Trekker Fold-A-Privy

TREKKER Trekker Fold-A-Privy

Answering the call of nature in the outdoors is a breeze with our pop-up Fold-A-Privy. This 4 ft. x 4 ft. x 7 ft. privacy shelter can be used as a portable outhouse, a changing room or shower. Four bendable rings support the tough polyester shell that has a weather-resistant polyurethane coating. Sets up in less than a minute. U-shaped door with durable zipper. There are two showered wand holders, a removable waterproof floor, slash-zippered opening on the side or port hole in the bottom to run a shower line. Two mesh side panels at top for ventilation. Two mesh pockets on each side to hold toiletries. Includes stakes, guy lines, sandbags and carry bag with shoulder strap. Imported.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.566 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
56
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
73 out of 76(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Review 41 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice item, good value.

Date:October 4, 2012
I set this up and found it to be spacious and well laid out. The material is what you would expect for this price, sort of lightweight and easily torn. I wouldn't recommend leaving it up in any sort of high winds (20 - 30 mph) as I feel it would be destroyed. This was the best priced of the four different similar items I looked at for this purpose. Sets up easy, but not so easy to get back into the bag. Took a few tries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very roomy and very easy to setup

Date:October 15, 2012
i was impressed with this. After setting up a tent who wants to deal with more poles and stakes. I used the sandbags, if it had been very windy i would have probably staked it but i put large rocks in the sandbags which worked fine. It setups up in no time at all, just pop up it goes! Fantastic and much bigger than i had expected. We used it for an outhouse and changing room. Pretty good ventilation. I have no complaints. I like that the floor tarp is included but you get to decide whether or not to use it. If you want to use as a shower you will either need to rig up the house through the side slit or the back hole. It is not strong enough to support a solar bag. i read the reviews so i was easy on the zipper but i do see that that is a potential problem so we take great care with the zipper or just leave it unzipped which gives pretty good privacy even unzipped. If you purchase this practice disassembly at home before you take this out to the wilderness. I looked at the you tubes due to the complaints about disassembly, glad i did this or i never would have gotten it disassembled but once you watch the video its easy peasy to disassemble. Cabelas should give better disassembly instructions on it because that would have been a nightmare had i not watched the video on you tube by a private party.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Item durability and storage

Date:October 16, 2012
The first time that I used the "privy" I tried to return it to the case that stores the unit. I may have two left hands, as well as feet, but I swear that it will not fold into that small carrier.
While attempting to fold, the very thin covering on the wire frame started to split. To continue to use the "privy", I will need to place black tape on the torn fabrick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing for tailgates

Date:November 26, 2012
Forget the long bathroom lines at tailgates! Combine the fold-a-privy with a 5 gallong bucket and you have an instant port-a-potty. Held up great at the tailgate. Top vents keep it from smelling and the side walls keep the wind out. Just enough storage pockets to hold toliet paper and other bathroom necessities. Ample space to stand or sit, plus space for hand sanitizer and spare buckets. Great purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PORTABLE SHOWER STALL

Date:November 27, 2012
This thing is neat. It does not have a hundred parts - just two - the shower stall and carrying case.
Takes a bit of learning to fold it properly - just follow instructions - or find a 12 year old kid to do it for you.
Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dallasph

Date:December 5, 2012
Easy setup a little difficult to take down
once you get it goes easy. Glad I got it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tent Privy

Date:December 11, 2012
Awesome. Very easy to assemble. Basically shake it and it's open! Roomy and tall. Easy to fold up too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Its big

Date:April 27, 2013
Lots bigger than I expected. Nice features. Practically effortless setup. Had to watch a couple of videos on packing it back up, you might want to practice before leaving.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:May 5, 2013
wished I got this a long time ago
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderfull

Date:June 18, 2013
I have looked for years for a easy to set up changing area that we can use at our running club practices and races as well as for our own use at the beach etc.
Wanted one that could be set up in a parking lot or area where staking down was not an option. This is perfect for all of this and more. Roomy and aerie. Literally springs up and into place within seconds of taking it out of its carrying case. However - lol - as other reviews have stated it can be difficult to put back into the case. Have only used it at one club event and we laughed as it took 6 of us to figure out the directions (which has a couple of unclear pics and descriptions). Probably just need to practice a bit. Would highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but well you know

Date:June 18, 2013
The hole for the water shower nozzle was small and would be nice to have a place for the towel especially if camping where others are around. If more private who cares just be one with nature YEEHAW.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Almost heaven on earth!

Date:June 21, 2013
We recently got to use this with our motorcycle camp trailer on a remote, extended weekend camp out. We set it up over our tiny port-a-potty, right next to our Kwik Kamp, and it was SOOOO nice to take only a few steps for that middle of the night run, and the early morning dash! Then, we used our dish washing bucket, stripped naked, and got a fantastic sponge bath. Almost heaven in the middle of no where!
This cabana is tall enough for my 6' husband to stand upright, and still have room to lift his arms overhead! The mesh ventilation at the top kept it from being too hot & stuffy. The mesh pockets held goodies, but we just clamped out towel, wash cloth, etc. to the outside of the pockets and zippered opening at the head.
It was wide enough at the bottom to hold the potty, a camp chair, a camp bucket, and ourselves while bathing. Since we set it up on gravel, we did not have to use the removable floor.
It did well in the light breezes, but it was so well staked down inside and out, I believe it would have been fine in a stronger blow.
Three negatives. 1) The door only opened about 3/4 the way up so you had to duck to get in. It had a reinforcement seam at the top of the door and I believe that was needed to preserve the integrity from having put a hole into the thing so you could get in & out.
2) The door zippers (2) could be heavier, a small kink may make it unusable.
3) The zippered opening in the roof is nice, but may be a problem in rainy conditions. It has no 'rain fly' so just be prepared.
It was intimating to think about trying to get it back into the bag, but once we got started, followed the instructions (after understanding what was being said) it was a snap to fold it back up! It folds up exactly like a car's two piece sun shade. And it lays flat in our tiny motorcycle camp trailer.
Looking forward to many more remote camping trips!!!!! Am now looking for a camp shower. No, this does NOT have the strength to support a 5 gallon shower, and maybe not even a 3 gallon one. I think the zippered top is so you can hang one from a tree. That will work :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

perfict

Date:June 25, 2013
NEEDED PRIVCEY FOR WELL YOU KNOW. ANYWAY SETUP AND TAKE DOWN WAS A SNAP. RECOMENDED TO PRACTICE AT HOME GOOD IDEA .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Value

Date:July 13, 2013
I use this as a shower stall. I works well at keeping the breeze off while showering so it stays warm in cool climates. When setting it up for the first time carefully study how it opens to make it easier to fold when taking it down. It can be tricky to fold it up. Don't force it.
The video is helpful. Easy to store in my camper under the bed.
Enjoy Vern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Some recommendations for anyone buying the Trekker

Date:August 15, 2013
I recently went on a three week trip to an area with no running water, showers, toilets, etc. I was in charge of group sanitation for the expedition among other things. I decided after much research to purchase the Trekker Fold-A-Privy to house our bucket toilet. The shelter is light weight and easy to pack and carry however I would not recommend it for backpacking. The ease of set up and take down were great, however what makes it easy to set up and take down is also a negative for strength of the shelter while set up.
This shelter is NOT suitable for any windy conditions or any type of adverse weather. If you do purchase this shelter, plan to set it up in an area with a natural or man-made wind break, and do use all of the tent stakes and tie downs provided even if you do not think you need them. Even in calm wind it seems to want to fold in on itself, even when properly staked.
I didn't like the top of the shelter. It has a zippered opening, I suppose for added ventilation. However this area captured rain and weighed down the structure to the point of collapsing. On two of the top four sides there is mesh to allow ventilation, however rain also comes in those easily. There is no rain-fly. It was good we had a bucket toilet and we kept the lid closed when not in use. We figured out quickly that the toilet paper needs to be kept in a plastic bag. We looped the toilet paper bag up off the ground on one of the loops which holds the tent door open. That worked out well. We used the pockets inside for baby wipes, hand sanitizer, and extra bags for the toilet.
Overall I suppose I would recommend this product. It served us pretty well, however do take the things I said into consideration and take care where and how you set it up.
For the toilet I went with a bucket toilet which served us well. It was not purchased from Cabela's, but they do carry bucket toilets here which are the same as what we have. The bucket toilet worked very well and I would highly recommend. I used it in conjunction with 8-gallon bags (regular 8-gallon trash can liner bags purchased at the local super-store ) doubled and tied at the top to fit snug on the rim of the bucket toilet. I changed the bags one or two times a day (up to 4 bags a day for a group of 6 to give you an idea of how much a group needs).
I also purchased after much research Cleanwaste Poo Powder. When I changed the toilet bag(s) I put one scoop of Poo Powder in to solidify the waste (up to about 24oz. of liquid per scoop) and make it suitable for regular trash disposal. I purchased the large can of Poo Powder and it was enough for three weeks and 6 people with about 1/3 of the container left over after the trip....just to give you an idea of how much you might need if you choose to go this route. I had no idea how much I would need so I bought the big canister of Poo Powder.
I had originally thought to purchase the Cleanwaste Wagbags for this trip -sold at Cabela's- but for the amount we needed for our group it would have been cost prohibitive. I know the Wagbags work well, but might be better for a day or weekend trip and a small group or family. I found the 8 gallon bags - doubled just in case- to be more than adequate along with the Cleanwaste Poo Powder which I have absolutely glowing reviews for.....no mess, little to no stink...just great!
Overall our "Restroom" worked out very well; shelter, bucket toilet, Poo Powder and I would recommend all of these.
Anyway, I hope that you find this review helpful in your decision-making process. I wish I had such detailed information when I was trying to make decisions on what to get and how much of everything to bring. That is what motivated me to take the time to write a detailed review on the things I used for this trip so it might be of some help to others.
I will also soon be reviewing the "Cabela's Deluxe Shower Shelter" which we also used on this trip so look for that if it is applicable to your needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good purchase

Date:August 27, 2013
Have been needing 1 and finally made the purchase. Good item for the intended purpose, no frills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great!

Date:August 27, 2013
Love it! So easy to pop open and fold up. Way larger then I thought very happy with it. There is a video on YouTube of this product that is very helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT PURCHASE

Date:September 10, 2013
This makes days at the beach much more enjoyable for the wife and therefore me too. This has become the first item set up when we get to the beach. Set up and take down is very easy and each can be completed in about a minute including stakes and guy lines. I did replace the stakes with larger plastic ones to hold better in the sand and have had this in 20 mph winds with no problem. If you need privacy at any outdoor activity this is a great solution.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this thing!!

Date:October 8, 2013
I purchased this with the Luggable Loo and it is my favorite camping accessory. Having your own porta potty just steps away is priceless!
Folding it back up can be difficult, until you get it - then it's a snap. You may want to practice before you take it live. :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Trekker Fold-A-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

quick road stop

Date:October 8, 2013
i work a lot in residential neighborhoods, and i do not have the ability to just drop what i am doing and find a restroom. this is great, as it self expands quickly, and folds as easy as a car sunshield. all you people that are mobile.....give this some serious thought.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 76