Customer Reviews for PRIMOS Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight

PRIMOS Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight

Finding a blood trail in the dark used to be a difficult, if not impossible, situation for hunters. Sometimes finding this trail quickly is the difference in recovering or losing an animal. Not anymore. The Bloodhunter™ has a patent-pending filter that diffuses red light over green to create the ideal yellow output that optimizes the reflective properties of blood to the human eye, making it stand out against most backdrops at night. The beam of the Bloodhunter is generated by two Luxeon™ 3-watt LEDs. In the 2-LED Bloodhunter light mode, it has a run time of 1-1/2 hours. Using the red or green light alone allows for a run time of up to 3 hours on 3 AA batteries.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.489 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(176 Reviews) 176
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 176 reviews
5 Stars
76
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
10
1 Star
46
114 out of 176(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Review 41 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2007

doesn't work

By
Location: Oklahoma
I have only used it once. In tall grass it is useless, a flashlight is better.
Don't know how it works on flat ground.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2007

blood hunter

By
I have used this product to track one deer, and would not even bother taking it with me a second time. A one star rating is to much for it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2007

Bloodhunter

By
Pure and simple it does not work. You cannot see blood any better with this light than any other common light. I was terribly dissapointed when I attempted to use it and found out that it was no help at all. I could never recommend that anyone buy it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2007

NO BLOOD

By
Location: TEXAS
THIS LIGHT DOES NOT WORK AS CLAIMED. I TRACKED A DEER DURING BOW SEASON WITHOUT SUCCESS WITH THE BLOODHUNTER. WE CAME BACK WITH A FLASHLIGHT AND FOUND BLOOD IMMEDIATELY. THIS IS A WASTE OF MONEY.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2007

Bloodhunter review

By
Location: Maryland
Absolute waste of money. Anyone who can track with a good flashlight will find this product more of a hindrance then a help. Any shadow due to tall grass or underbrush shows up red and will have you wasting time repeatedly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2007

Not Worth The $$

By
Location: Fenton, MI
I have tracked many deer over the years and I am always looking for a product that will increase the success rate on retieival of a wounded animal. I purchased this product in hopes of a better way to track an animal, but was very disappointed. When using this product in the weeds or brush it casts a red shadow on everything making it very difficult to find blood. The light uses a combination of a green light and a red light. When the green light is blocked by a weed, the red light shows up behind the weed causing an aray of red streaks in the weeds. We had to find the blood trail first with a flashlight and then used the bloodhunter on the trail. To my disappointment, the bloodhunter did not illuminate the blood any better than a flashlight. I returned the product to a Cabelas retail store for a full refund. I took the money and bought a new flashlight. A good flashlight and Lantern is hard to beat when tracking a wounded deer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2012

Good idea....not good enough.

By
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Very disappointed with this product. I thought the idea was cool so I gave it a try but thought the white light worked better than the two phase. After one season the green and red wouldn't turn on together, so I returned to cabelas no problem.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2010

Nice light but does not highlight blood

By
Location: Enfield, CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Have an older model of light but pretty much the same. Tried to use to follow blood trail at dusk in New England after some leaves have fallen. Results: Blood appeared as black. Which would have been great on a white background but not with rocks, leaves with black spots, acorns etc. Gave 2 stars instead of one since the light on mine is bright with a rubber pistol handled so in cold it helps. But to follow blood trail at night a standard flashlight is much better (the bigger the better).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2009

Night Lite - not a blood light

By
Location: Pike County IL Hunter
I think the verdict on this is in. But I wanted to give my two cents out of my respect to other hunters:
Pros
The red light is very effective in your stand as you look in your pack or find that fallen glove on the ground.
The green light absolutely works well in your trek in/out of the woods to your stand. Its a good tool that is not as invasive as a white light (I think).
Cons
THERE IS NO ADVANTAGE TO A WHITE LIGHT ON BLOOD. IT IS TOTALLY USELESS ON DRIED BLOOD.
You must charge this light every time before heading to the field.
It is very expensive and bulky.
Verdict: Save your money and buy a headlamp/hat clip if you want the green or red lights.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2008

Flashlight Not Useful

By
Location: Butler, Ohio
We did not find the flashlight useful in tracking a deer at night, don't waste your money on this expensive flashlight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2008

another disappointment

By
Location: Lancaster, PA
I read the reviews and thought that maybe someone actually produced a blood hunter/tracker flashlight that would enable me to track the blood after sunset.
2 weeks ago, I finally had the chance to use this product. I had hit an 8 pointer around 1:00pm. I followed and then lost the blood trail at the woods edge where the buck entered a sorghum field. Rather than push the deer any further, i decided to wait until after sunset to use the product to look for any drops of blood.
The product was a disappointment. I had trouble locating the blood i had found during the daylight. I found no blood using the light and I never did locate the buck.
In all fairness, where i hunt there are leaves on the ground which contain some red in them.
i will keep the light because the red and green beams are used to get me in and out of the woods in the dark.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2008

bloodhunter?

By
Location: M.D.
Only had one chance to use the product ,since purchace.Every thing that was higher than ground level (eg.greenbriars-sticks ect.)made a red shadow,it would seem that blood was everywere when it was not.If your tracking were no shadows can be made,the blood does show up very bright red.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2008

Expensive lesson!

By
Location: Georgia
Primos usually puts out some really great products but, we just were not impressed with this one. The construction looks good and it is definately bright but, in the places we've tryed it, the "Bloodhunter" made almost everything look like blood. If you hunt in places with no red or brown leaves, pine needles or mud, it may work better for you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

Primos blood light leaves you lost

By
Location: New Orleans, LA
Not impressed with the Primos bloodlight. Unless you have a significant amount of blood this light makes everything in the woods look blood-like red. Which makes even more difficult to track a blood trail.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

Review

By
Great gift idea, but the one draw back to this system is it does not help you in the rain. I live in Washington state and when I shot my deer during archery season this item can not help you when the ground is wet and weather is raining.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

Blood finding spot light

By
I did not think this worked any better than a regular spotlight. We tracked several deer and used regular spot lights and the Blood light. No appreciable difference
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2009

Bloodhunter Full Size

By
Location: Fort Leavenworth, Kansas
- This spotlight does highlight blood trail if fully charged; however, the battery does not last long enough for a bow hunter to use by itself.
- As batteries drain (after 45 minutes to 1 hour) it's difficult to tell that it no longer makes blood highlight since it still emits a similar light as when charged.
- Recommend sticking to white light as much as possible and only use bloodhunter to find lost trails. Would either try smaller bloodhunter with lots of rechargable batteries or multiple full size bloodhunters if wanting to use bloodhunter alone.
- Takes too long to recharge battery and can't change battery once dead (full size only). Can't recharge and get back in the woods the same night.
- It really helps to use several light sticks or small flashlights to mark blood trail so you can see the direction deer heading when trail gets spotty. Just mark a few spots then leap frog to the next spot.
- Bloodhunter is useless as soon as it rains; but, then so is white light.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2009

Curb your Enthusiasm!!!!!

By
Location: Alabaster, AL
I had higher expectations for the way this light would make blood stand out in the woods at night. I found that it wasn't that much different than a normal flashlight. Not to mention, I didn't like the way you have to push one button four different times to go through the progression of the different functional lights. I think some type of selector switch coupled with a button would have been a better option IMHO.
Overall, a decent product but not a must have.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2009

Disappointed

By
Location: Hartford WI
The light did not work like advertised. A plain white LED light worked just as good. It is also large and bulky. I would try and go for a smaller non hand held light.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Primos® BLOODHUNTER® Blood Trailing Spotlight
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2008

PRIMOS Blood HUnter

By
Location: North Carolina
Used once on known blood trail. Could see the blood trail better with a normal flashlight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 41-60 of 176