Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station

CABELA'S Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station

Keep track of weather and changing conditions no matter where your adventures take you with this pocket-sized atmospheric data center. The highly accurate altimeter boasts 3-ft. resolution up to 30,000 ft. An integrated barometer displays the current atmospheric pressure and stores pressure tendency trends over the previous 16 hours. This compact unit also measures wind speed and temperature, calculates wind chill, and displays the time. Weight : 1.5 oz. Dimensions : 3.9" x 1.5" x 7".
Overall Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
16 out of 20(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Review 1 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2008

Sherpa

By
I still have not been able to figure out how to calibrate the altimeter. I had an older Brunton altimeter/windmeter that I used in competetive precision rifle shooting and it was much easier to calibrate and use.
The altimeter and wind meter were my primary reasons for the purchase.
I would like to think it has potential but right now I am not pleased.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

Sherpa

By
Location: Clarkston, Wa
so-so, altimiter does not give accurate info--I'm at 800ft and i would get 400 ft one dy and 1400 ft the next dqy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2008

Brunton Sherpa Altimeter

By
Location: Billings, MT
I haven't had a chance to use it in the field since receiving it. I really like the basic functions but there are to many options that require a reference card to naviagte them all unless you use it a lot. Card not needed for the basics. It was a little larger than I thought but that makes the data display easier to read. Good advantage for older eyes. Only serious complaint is the strap had a plastic rivet that broke right away with a little stain on it. Rather fix it myself than send it back. Good tool for outdoorsman that wants to monitor the weather and weather changes. I wish it also had the ability to display humidity in same unit. It would double it usefullness such as weather while shooting of test loads when developing accurate reloads.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2008

a little unhappy

By
Location: johnstown,new york
i found it to be very hard to program the altimeter
everything else works great
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2008

altimeter

By
Location: wyoming
very accurate - convenient - good price and quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2008

Great

By
This product is awesome!! I received it as a gift from a friend of mine and use it daily
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2008

Needs an instruction book

By
Location: Texas
I like the product in that it is pretty simple to use, but wish it had an instruction book instead of an instruction cd-rom. It is hard to go back and look at how to do something when you are in the field with no computer. Pretty good buy for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2008

Brunton Sherpa Altimeter

By
Location: B.C. Canada
Don`t purchase this unless you like very complicated tools. A technical degree might help but I`m not sure. Too many features, the printed instructions are vague at best, the CD is not even for this specific unit, the altimeter feature is way oversensitive and seems to adjust itself for no apparent reason within seconds of being set at a known site. It seems to need to be corrected constantly. If I knew the elevations of my daily travels I wouldn`t need the altimeter in the first place. As for many of the other features I have yet to figure out how to use them or where they are on this thing. A waste of hard earned money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2008

Altimeter/Weatherstation

By
Location: Reno, NV
This a great little hand held altimeter combination weather station. It is accurate and easy to use and would be great out on the ski slope. It is small, portabe and easy to use.
The only drawback is it is hard to read in less than full sunlight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2008

weather ststion hand held

By
Location: ocala national forest,trail ranger
Does lots of interesting things I can use on patrol each day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2008

So good....my friend had to have one too!

By
Location: Canada
Everything that is promised it delivers on. Had accurate wind data that helped me take a shot out past 300 yards on a 15 mph windy day. One shot one kill.....without this little puppy there is no way I would have made that shot first time out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2008

Great tool but don't expect the world

By
Location: Colorado
After reading some of the reviews I figured I better post one. As a storm chaser I purchased this unit to help me take readings of the areas I was in while chasing storms and then relay that info to the NWS. At first the instructions are a little complicated but once you understand that the Altimeter and barometer functions work together and are not separate from each other it makes it easy to use. In other words you can't set one then set the other without them affecting with each other. Your best bet is to just set the Altimeter and leave it. You can also find instruction and user forums at Brunton's site this helps a lot.
I'm able to track a lot of information with this tool so take some time and read the instructions, visit the user forums and play with the tool until you feel comfortable with it. Once you know it you'll love it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2009

Good piece of equipment

By
Location: Honolulu, HI
The Brunton Sherpa is a handy device and I like it. The CD that comes with it does not seem to be the correct one for the Sherpa and leaves you guessing a bit as to which set of instructions to read. The very fine print instructions on the CD caused me to have to zoom in to follow the calibration procedures. I would have preferred a weather proof card that would walk one through the procedures if you can't remember the details for each mode. Agree with the comment that it would also be nice to have the relative humidity reading included. Possible future feature could be wind chill readout as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2009

handheld weather station

By
Location: Alamogordo, NM
I have used the weather station several time since its arrival here in Alamogordo, NM.
I am a radio broadcaster and use it while out on remotes. It keeps me current with winds, temps and the like. I also use it at the studio location to check and match wind direction, temps, and other weather factors.
It is ideal for me and my use. Easy to use and easy to find hanging around my neck.
Now, let me think of what else I need from Cabela's!
Lots of things.
Thank you.
Bob
Alamogordo, NM
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2009

BlowinghardinIdaho

By
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
This product is one of the best I have used. Great for backpacking, checking Idaho "Breezes" (speed) and for the long range shooting validation of windspeed before the shot. Highly recommend!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2009

Brunton ADC Sherpa

By
Location: Peoria, Arizona
This unit is NOT a Sherpa, according to Brunton's web site. It is a Summit. If you down load the instructions for a Summit you will be able to figure this device out. I did not have a problem with the unit just it's instructions. Hope this helps you out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009

Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station

By
Location: Stacy, MN
I recieved 2 of these for my birthday. One for home and one for the cabin. They are great! We have had lots of fun with it, finding out how fast the wind is blowing and if the fish will bite because of barometer changes. It does so much we are finding new things all the time.
I would recommend this product to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2009

receiverswife

By
Location: Cashiers, NC
The handheld altimeter and weather station are great! My only negative comment would be that more detailed printed instructions in additon to the cd would be helpful.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2010

Wish I returned it!

By
Location: Erie, PA
I purchased the Sherpa because I was interested in a digital thermometer, and wind guage to help my reloading evaluation. Plus the altimeter and the weather predictor seemed to be a cool idea.
Well, all I can say is that the therometer works. The Clock works. The annometer hardly works at all, and the altimeter is highly inconvient to calibrate. I realize that barometric altimeters need to be calibrate, but I can leave the unit in the same place for days, logging the change in barometric pressure, yet the barometer can be off by 50 to 100 feet.
I am really disappointed, and I would have returned it if I had not lost my reciept.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's/Brunton Sherpa Altimeter Handheld Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2010

Exchanged it, barometer still gives wrong reading

By
Location: Colorado
This is my second Sherpa. I like the idea of this unit, but the barometer will not give a correct reading. If you offset it for correction, it throws off the elevation by several thousand feet. Even Brunton support said its not right. The barometer is the way the altitude is calculated. I bought it for elevation on 14ers, so basically I get a clock and a thermometer. I will say that Cabelas made the exchange thru mail easy, but I would not recommend this unit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.