Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener

CABELA'S Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener

Designed specifically to keep hunting and sporting knives razor sharp. Incorporates the latest sharpening technology from Chef'sChoice®. The 100% diamond abrasive delivers an initial edge of 28°. And if you prefer a steeled edge, the second stage offers controlled-angle steeling to create a microscopic serration along the edge for extra bite. The third stage, with extra stropping discs, creates an unbelievably sharp polished edge and is also designed to resharpen serrated blades. Stainless steel body for unmatched durability. Dimensions: 4.25" x 4.25" x 10".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
27 out of 30(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Review 1 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reading, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Both 120, and 130 are excellent sharpeners

Date:November 12, 2007
I already own an Edgecraft Chef's Choice model 120 which has 3 sharpening wheels. I purchased the 130 from Cabelas for use around the camp. The 120 does an excellent job of sharpening knives. The 130 also does an excellent job but doesn't have the fine diamond wheel in position 2. Rather it incorporates a miniature section of sharpening steel, similar to what you would have in your knife block at home. The steel is just as effective as the wheel, is very hard, and doesn't wear out easily. You turn it slightly to another section if it wears out in one place. (Of course all wheels, etc. are replaceable by the factory if you wear it out.) This steeled edge does have more "bite" as advertised, but the both models produce edges that are at least nearly razor sharp with ease. I've sported a cut or two on the fingers from blades that previously were impossibly worn out and nearly unsharpenable from using hand sharpeners.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great machine

Date:November 18, 2007
Ok, I love this sharpener. I just got it today and ever knife I own, is now razer sharp. It shaves hair after just a minute of work on this machine. I have tried for years to get razer sharp knives and eventually get there, but it took forever. I tried the Lansky sharpener with great results, I just hated to take th 15 minutes it takes to sharpen a blade and clean up and put back in its place and this machine produces better results. I loved it so much, I am buying more for Christmas gifts for family. Everyone should get one of these. I got it mostly for hunting, but around the house, it is going to be constantly used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Erie, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent product

Date:January 16, 2008
Excellent product, I had it set up and within a few minutes I was sharpening all our kitchen knives like a pro. Sharpens to a razor like sharpness in a short amount of time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Chef's choice

Date:January 29, 2008
I have tried them all and from the time this was opened its performed. I have friends bringing there knifes to me too sharpen constantly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect

Date:January 29, 2008
I got this for my husband for Christmas. He loved it. I am so glad I got it. The only problem now is finding knives that need sharpened. :) Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Bakersfield, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor appearance of finished edge

Date:February 1, 2008
The finished edge was not even across the entire length of the blade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Keep knives sharp

Date:July 2, 2008
We use fillet knives daily in our business. They dull quickly, due to improper use by customers and from being used to clean many, many fish. A sharp knife usually only lasts from one day to a week.
I ordered the Sportsman hunting knife sharpener from Cabelas and it arrived the next day. Sweet!
After reading the directions, I began sharpening knives. Each knife, regardless of how dull or damaged it was, became sharp enough to shave with. I was very impressed.
My only regret is that we didn't order one sooner!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: minnesota, mn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

knife sharpener

Date:September 22, 2008
I do not know for sure how it works. my young boy got it out of the box when i recieved it and accdentally dropped it on the floor and ot broke into 3 pieces. It was an accident and he felt bad about it and i told him not to worry about it. he is now saving all his money and wants to buy me another one for christmas. i told him that was fine and not to worry about it. so mayby some day i will get the opportunity to use the sportsmans knife sharpener and will get to give you a report on this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kenai Peninsula, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sportsman's knife edge

Date:September 29, 2008
This sharpener is what I have been looking for for a long time. It is excellent for putting that great angle on my hunting and fishing knives. Until I got this sharpener I would spend literally hours hand sharpening my knives to get them perfect. Now it is so easy to get the right edge and maintain it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fultonville, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:January 8, 2009
I bought this for my brother in law for Christmas. He has used it to sharpen several knives and it works great. Now I might have to buy one for myself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Ever

Date:January 11, 2009
After getting use to it and how to use it correctly, it is hte best and most versitile sharpener I have ever used. I sharpened all my hunting knives, fishing knives and household knives. Even sharpened all my friends knives. This is well worth the money whether you are an avid outdoorsman or cook.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Runnemede, New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It's sharp now!!

Date:January 21, 2009
Probably the easiest and fastest way I've found to put a keen edge on all my knives. This ya gotta try!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western WY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Chefs Choice

Date:February 9, 2009
Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!
I used to spend hours with my set angle stones and always liked the results, always had the sharpest knife on the hill. But this machine produces just as good if not better results in minutes. I plan to buy another one so I won't be without this sharpener again. THANK YOU CABELAS AND CHEFS CHOICE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Portland, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:February 23, 2009
Works perfectly. Knives are very sharp with no personal expertise required. Perfect for the hand sharpening impaired such as myself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Handy Little Item

Date:March 9, 2009
I have owned this sharpener for about a week, and like most folks posting reviews, I've sharpened every knife in the house. It is absolute perfect for kitchen knives and those needing repair with damaged/rolled edges. However, I have noticed that on my pocket knives and hunting knives, I have had to finish them with my Smith’s Precision Sharpening System to obtain a razor edge. This might be due to my technique rather than to any deficiency with the Chef's Choice Sharpening system. In my mind, a hunting knife or a pocket knife isn't truly sharpened until it shaves hair. Maybe I'll get to that when and if my technique improves. All in all, quite handy to have around the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than I had expected!

Date:April 21, 2009
I bought this knife sharpener after seeing a Chef's Choice demonstration at a recent grocery vendor tradeshow that I attended, so I knew what to expect. My kitchen knives had not been professionally sharpened for a few years, so I thought it was time I invested in a knife sharpener, especially if it could do what I saw during the demo. I am very pleased with the product. It's well-constructed, easy to use, and made my very dull knives hair-splitting sharp again. I've even sharpened a few of my friends' and neighbors' knives - we're all very happy with the investment. I had high-expectations for this product and did not disappoint. Well worth the $$$.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Prescott Valley Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Chef's Sportsman Hunting Knife Sharpener

Date:August 24, 2009
The sharpener worked far and above my expectations. I would reccomend this sharpener to anyone who wants quality and speed from a sharpener.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hoquiam, Wa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sharpening made so easy

Date:October 15, 2009
Great investment, wife is happy now that she has sharp knives, so easy to use it, my wife now sharpens the knives. Pricey but well worth it for the final results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

unexpected results

Date:August 28, 2010
This sharpener works better than anticipated. It did everything claimed. Makes me want to junk my serrated knives. Anyone can use this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabelas Chef'sChoice® Sportsman Hunting Electric Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: McComb Ms.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the money

Date:November 22, 2010
I waited a year before writing this review because I wanted to see if it held up and see how it preformed. Well,it passed with flying colors. It is simple enough to operate that a monkey could use it. I have sharpened probably at least 300 knives in the last year and it has not let me down not even once.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 30