Customer Reviews for WIZARD INDUSTRIES Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector

WIZARD INDUSTRIES Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector

Detect and remove elusive pieces of shot before cooking and help avoid biting into shot with the Little Wizard II Bird Shot Detector. It pinpoints most types of shot used in commercially sold shotgun shells. Easy to use and sanitary. The scanning head doesn't have to touch the meat. Just wrap the scanning head in plastic wrap or a sandwich bag and scan all the meat you're cooking. To clean, just wipe the head with a lightly dampened cloth. Works on one 9-volt battery (not included).
Overall Customer Rating:
2.812 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
7 out of 16(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Review 1 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2009

Can't get it tuned

By
Location: Oklahoma/Colorado, Career Army Anesthetist
I am a pretty mechanical fella, I've been a helicopter mechanic, I've re-built my old truck, and I build cool things out of wood. When I read the negative reviews I figured it was one of my non-mechanical brethern that couldn't get it figured out. Well, its really simple. And mine did not work. I could locate the bumper of my truck, or nothing. There was no in-between to tune it to. As a check, I let a couple of my hunting buddies give it a try. They repeated my results exactly. I expect that a certain percentage of them work, but the one I got did not. I gave it back.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2009

Learn to tune it and it works great

By
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
I bought my Little Wizard Birdshot Detector almost two years ago and I can tell you that if you learn to tune it and it works great. It's not magic folks! Metal detectors need calibrating throughout the year. If you learn to use it as the instructions say you will be able to keep your teeth! It's that simple! NO... It will not find a number 6 shot deep in a turkey. But.... It will find shot in typical birds.
This is a great product for what it is intended to do. Beyond that its also a WONDERFUL tool for finding metal objects inside of recycled wood before running it through your planer or band saw. It is sold through many tool dealers as a Woodworking Metal Detector too... It's also a supreme stud finder! I'm gonna look at the larger version Lumber Wizard III too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2009

I would describe the Little Wizard as...

By
Location: Willmar, MN
some flashy red lights, and a buzzer in a plastic case that does absolutely nothing unless you count sensing your refrigerator or dish washer. I can't get it to locate shot in my own hand.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2009

Little Wizard II Bird Shot Detector

By
Location: Forsyth, Mt. Goose hunter
When first opened shipment it sounded as though there was something really loose inside. It would detect large items like knives and forks. When it came to goose breasts with #bb shot it would not detect anything that was over 3/8 of an inch thick. Maybe because of the loose part in the item? I sent it back for a refund.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2009

little wizard 11 bird shot detector

By
Location: wilmington, de
great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2008

Poor results - Being Returned

By
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Used the Little Wizard on a lot of goose breasts this year and it didn't work as advertised. Attempted to set it as described and used several new batteries and the unit would pick up BBB when on the counter but when hid in even a 1/4" of breast meat it wouldn't pick them up.
Unit is being returned.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2008

Save your teeth

By
Location: Northern Minnesota
This devise works great. I've found shot in geese as small as #4 steel. It's a great price, allot cheaper then the dentist.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2008

BIRD SHOT DETECTOR

By
Location: MODESTO, CALIFORNIA
IF YOU HAVE EVER CLEANED A SHOT BIRD IN THE KITCHEN SINK AND USED THE GARBAGE DISPOSAL AFTERWARD, YOU WILL KNOW WHY WE'VE FOUND THE BIRD SHOT DETECTOR A NEW AND EXTREMELY USEFUL GADGIT. WE HAVEN'T RUN ANY SHOT THROUGHT THE DISPOSAL SINCE WE PURCHASED IT. HOW MANY TIMES HAVE YOU BITEN DOWN ON A PIECE OF SHOT IN A COOKED BIRD. NOT NO MORE. WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE THAT HUNTS GAME BIRDS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2008

Finicky, But works

By
Location: Southwestern PA
Tried it on some geese that I shot...Kept getting what I thought were false positives. Turns out they weren't. I seems like a lot of guess work to get it to work well. When you turn it off, you lose your sensitivity setting. I'm sure I wouldn't trust it 100%. Also, make sure you hold the meat you are testing. It will pick up metal that may be under your kitchen counter. Probably wouldn't buy again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2008

Don't Buy the Little Wizard

By
Location: Wautoma, WI
Although the reviews of this product were not very good, I thought I could make it work, by using the fine adjustment. Not true!! It could not even find #6 lead shot consistently, even without anything over the shot. It is definately not reliable enough to bother with!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2008

Only ok if you are looking for a CHUNK of metal...

By
Location: NYC, NY
This product works great if you are looking for a BIG piece of metal, such as maybe a size T or F shot. But if you are looking for just one size 6 shot pellet, forget it!
The amazing thing is that it will detect large metal objects (a filin cabinet, let's say) from 4 - 6 inches away, but a tiny pellet is not picked up.
Great idea, but more power is needed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2008

Mr.

By
Location: Upstate New York, Rochester area Lake Ontario
Product was of no value. Current regulations require waterfowl hunters in New York State to use other than lead shot. I was using Remington Wingmaster HD and the product could not detect this shot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2007

Little Wizard ll

By
Location: hunt Centrel Washington State.
My old buddy Bogey gave this to me as a retirement gift he knew I couldn't afford to break a tooth. I've been reluctant to serve or give away birds because of this happening.
The thing works great. I put a #2 steel shot under a big greenhead filleted breast on a paper plate, no problem.
My only complaint it's not as easy to adjust as the direction state.You must have one shot to adjust the fine tuning. I'm going to buy another just in case I loose this one.
Oh, I needed a new battery to start with.
Tank
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2007

very nice

By
works great,
I read a review of some one that was not happy about the sensitivity of this detector,
this works very well, but you have to adjust the fine tuning with a screw driver, if you do not, then it will not pick up much.
follow the instructions and it will work well for you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2007

really bummed

By
Location: Reardan, wa
I bought this item believeing that it would detect all types of bird shot. So me and a friend went hunting for some pheasants. We happened to be very lucky that day. As we your clean the pheasant i happened to try the lil' wizard. I didnt get any detection. So as we were cleaning we found some shot. I took it into my hand and began scanning the shot and nothing i was basically rubbing the shot on the detector and I didn't get one beep. I was really disappointed with it. I figure it might make a nice hand held metal detector for when I go prospecting. Other than that I dont recommend this product of its actual use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Little Wizard™ II Bird Shot Detector
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2007

little wizzard

By
Location: alma, wisc
products works well
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.