Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights

Our Alaskan Guide® flashlights are two lighting sources in one. With the push of a button, they switch between the benefits of long-lasting LEDs and the extra brightness of a 50-lumen xenon lamp. They are available in four LED colors and the tail cap and bezel are O-ring-sealed for water resistance. The hard anodized-aluminum construction ensures these flashlights live up to the quality and performance the Alaskan Guide name is known for. The 2-in-1 prefocus aluminum reflector intensifies the brightness of the light beam creating more useful light at longer distances. Four-stage on/off switch controls light modes. Includes nylon sheath with battery holder. Runs on two CR123A batteries (included) for 50 hours in LED mode and one hour in xenon mode. Built-in pocket clip. Length: 5-1/8". Weight: 4 oz.Due to limited quantities, current stock will be checked when you add an item to your basket.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
12
39 out of 54(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Review 1 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: chicago il
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product so far

Date:October 15, 2009
some people have had some issues... not sure how many of these cabelas sells but mine has worked great... ive been using it for two months now in the subway tunnels in chicago its dark the xenon bulb shoots a good beam that i can shine down the railroad tracks to make sure the track is properly aligned. the LED has good light for general purpose light need and can run i think 20hr on that setting be sure not to run the xenon bulb for over ten minutes though some people may have made that mistake it will burn the bulb out...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

you need one

Date:March 9, 2009
This past Elk season while everyboby was walking around with their big old 3 battery flashlights or carry laterns. I had my nice and small yet brighter than theirs my alaskan guide flashlight. I was able to use it every day to go out hunting in the early am and use it at night around the camp. Everybody wanted to try it. I was nice about it and told them to get their own. I liked so much that when I got home I orderd another one to keep in my truck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eureka,CA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alaskan guide flashlights

Date:January 6, 2009
My husband for his job is underneath houses or in dark places and in attics.He was thrilled to see it could clip to your belt and had a real bright light for its size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Shenandoah PA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great light!!!

Date:December 30, 2008
For a small light this unit put's out a good beam and battery life seems good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Westfield,MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Light!

Date:December 12, 2008
Bright and reliable would some up this light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Carlstadt,NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great flashlight

Date:December 3, 2008
I am a Police Lt. in NJ, great powerful light! I use it on my duty belt! The dual beem light comes in really handy, well worth the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alaskan Guide Flashlight

Date:November 12, 2008
I have been very impressed with the quality and performance of the flashlight and would highly recommend it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant

Date:October 22, 2008
The best flashlight I have. Solid, versatile, and bright !! Has been thru a raging rainstorm and no leaks or breaks in service. Well made, well worth the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: COLORADO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great flashlight

Date:July 27, 2008
this light is of great quality as are all the alaskan guide series products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: seattle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabelas alaskan flashlight

Date:April 1, 2008
Outstanding light, I've bought 2 now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic

Date:March 17, 2008
I purchased one and was so impressed I bought another for work....The Different colored LED's combined with the bright white xenon bulb make for nice options for hunting, stargazing, hiking in the woods, etc...
Buy one, you won't regret it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice light

Date:March 11, 2008
Great hunting light! nice thing is if you run out of the bright light you still have a back up for a long time. Every hunter or outdoorsman should have one!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Antonio, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy for the money

Date:March 10, 2008
Overall a great flashlight, especially if you want a small backup to put in your hunting pack. Batteries seem to last a little longer than other CR123 flashlights.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very small, rugged and bright.

Date:February 28, 2008
This is a really sweet little light. It has a very rugged exterior and the case is also very nice. It has a little expandable pocket on the side to hold two extra batteries. Speaking of batteries, they can be VERY expensive, but I found them online for a dollar a piece if you buy them bulk. I only had to get 8 or 10 of them to get the good price. The light works better than most regular flashlights in LED mode, and is very bright in the other mode.
I'm quite happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marble Falls, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:February 26, 2008
This thing is great. Really brite on Xenon (but short battery life) and outstanding on LED. I have blue light and it is very bright. Would reccommend this to anyone. And it tough as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lima, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alaskan Flashlight

Date:February 20, 2008
This is the most powerful, handheld flashlight I have ever owned. With the two stage lights, it can illuminate a large area or be used to see your way in the dark.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Darien, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brightness in Darkness

Date:February 20, 2008
Awesome, powerful little light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri City, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

holstered flashlight

Date:February 9, 2008
the well made flashlight has a nice holster that keeps your hands free until you need the brilliant light emitted from the flashlight. Lightweight and a real boon to the bow hunter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Buy for the $$$

Date:January 28, 2008
I purchased this light as a closeout when the lady taking the phone order brought it to my attention it was on sale to Cabela's VIP customers, so I said sure let's try it out and I'll compare it to my Surefire lights.
I had looked at these lights before and noticed how similar in looks they were to Surefire flashlights, but of a much smaller scale that is awkward for larger hands. This flashlight is of durable construction and does work very well as claimed. The 2 modes of operation makes it very versatile for all types of situations. The super bright Xenon allows you to see at fairly long distances and the lower intensity LED is perfect for walking in and out of your deer stand area without spooking game. The light is a bit small for the larger handed individual, but a powerhouse for the price, very comparable to higher priced lights, very compact and easily concealable if you don't want to use the carry case that comes with it. The carry case is of durable material and along with a side battery compartment makes for reliable protection of the light when not in use, but make sure you put the light in the carrier with the lens to the topside to protect the lens and better holding ability or it could come out of the bottom and be lost.
I own 2 surefire flashlights and the Surefire construction is outstanding and they are the brightest and nicest flashlights I have ever owned or seen, but along with that type of high quality comes the higher price tags than here with the Cabela's Alaskan Guide Series lights. If you want "similar" looks, construction and durability of a higher priced light at an affordable cost, then the Alaskan Guide Series is the flashlight you will want to buy. The 50 lumen beam is brighter than most 2 & 3 D cell flashlights on the market and can temporarily blind your night vision, so it is also can be a nice compact light that you can give the wife or girlfriend for some added protection when out alone at night.
The only downfall to any flashlight that has the higher lumen output is the battery life is going to be shorter and you will have to use it sparingly on the bright mode, but accompanied with the LED and long run time you should be happy, if not you weren't going to be satisfied no matter the battery life.
Another person stated "It's not a Surefire"... He was right! It is the Cabela's Alaskan Guide Series, but to compare apples to apples and oranges to oranges all flashlights are just like other products that can be classified. Low End vs. High End, Low Price vs. High Price... so if you want a good light with the features of the Alaskan Guide Series at a price at the affordable end of the price spectrum for most consumers...
Buy It and you will be satisfied~!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Alaskan Guide® Flashlights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Guide Light

Date:November 28, 2007
For the money, you will not find a better flashlight. The blue light picks up blood for tracking at night and the other is extremely bright for everything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 54