Customer Reviews for SOG SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife

SOG SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife

One can instantly turn this knife into a small machete, limb saw or hammer, making it a highly versatile outdoor tool for hunting, camping or adventuring. Using SOG’s TiNi Hardcased coating on the 420 stainless steel, the SOG Fusion Jungle Primitive is durable and comfortable with a molded Kraton handle that features Digi-Grip™, which guarantees gripping power where and when you need it. The blade is partially serrated for making tougher cuts. Includes a nylon sheath with utility pouch. Blade length: 9.5". Overall length: 15.3". Weight: 14 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.415 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
60 out of 65(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Review 1 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Get what you pay for

Date:December 22, 2010
From the box it comes in to the quality of the knife, you will instantly know where it was made. A poor reflection on a respected name. The kind quality you expect to find at a swap meet. I mailed it back and Cabelas was great as always.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Kelowna, B.C.,Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

SOG fusion

Date:January 13, 2010
If your looking for a machete that will stand up to abuse and hard use, this is NOT it! I found that it is way too light for heavy chopping or use as a saw. The most anyone could hope to use this for is brush clearing or as a combat/defense weapon. I own many SOG knives and tools and love the quality and design of their products, BUT, I think they missed the mark on this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not good steel

Date:December 3, 2009
i bought this nife but it did not hold up well to hard use. steel is not suitible alloy for blade this size, should be high carbon steel 1065, 1075, 1085 1095 or spring steel 6150
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't rely on this knife

Date:February 26, 2008
I bought this knife because of its killer looks and utility features. It's made of good steel and holds a good edge. I had to use it to split some firewood last week. I used a smaller piece of wood to strike the top of the knife at the thickest point to drive the blade through the wood. I was splitting the wood pretty thin to minimize the impact I was putting on the knife. I got through a few logs and stopped to inspect the blade. To my surprise the blade was trashed, parts of it were bent into "C" and "S" shapes and I was splitting pretty dry pine. In my opinion what I was using this knife for falls into the reasonable expectations for usage. A survival knife should be able to split wood and not come out of the situation almost usesless. Sure I could still cut some stuff with it, but the knifes ability to perform in a survival situation has been seriously limited. The handle is too light and cheap. SOG should have extended the steel all the way through the handle. The knife looks cool and its sharp, but I would not depend on this knife to perform the necissary functions to help me get out alive in a survival situation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Get what you pay for...

Date:May 7, 2007
You definitely get what you pay for with this knife. For the money it is probably worth it, but if you are looking for quality...look somewhere else! I have other SOG knives such as the Seal and Seal Pup. This knife is no where near the quality of them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

jungle knife

Date:September 11, 2007
This is a fun knife and looks nasty, i have used it a few times and the blade has already developed a slight twist in it, i would have thought that the knofe made for jungle things would be stronger. still lots of fun but cluld be a bit more durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Westfield, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SOG Jungle Fusion Knife

Date:August 21, 2007
The sheath is excellent and the blade is very sharp, it shaves hair off your arm if you're so inclined.... the thin plastic handle is cheap and will not last long with hard use. It could be much improved with a polymer or rubberized handle and in a bigger, more palm filling diameter. It's a decent camp knife for the price though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good knife

Date:September 17, 2013
This knife is great for a lot of tasks. anything from cutting, gutting, sawing large branches, and the skull crusher can be used to tenderize meat. only issue is the tip breaks very easy but can be sharpened back to form.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great knife!

Date:November 2, 2012
I purchased this knife before a week long camping trip over the summer in northern Minnesota. For the price it has held up quite well! Out of the box it was hair shaving sharp, which is more than I was expecting! This knife sharpens easy and quick so keeping a good edge is no problem. It is light but a bit blade heavy so chopping strokes are made easier. A wider point near the tip allows for batoning firewood as long as you don't miss. The saw on the spine took some geting used to as it only cuts in ONE direction, so take note of that if you plan on using it. I have taken it with me every time I've gone hunting and it's plenty light on the hip if not long on my shorter frame. The pocket on the sheath has held a magnesium fire starter and my EDC pocket knife when I go hunting and my quiver blocks my pocket. A good knife at a great price, it would get 5 stars but I have yet to use the hammer or use it for field dressing, so 4 stars, for now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: California High Country
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Knife

Date:July 14, 2009
Very attractive blade; large and intimidating. Surprisingly light weight. Great grip, excellent feel and balance. This is a fun knife, not sure how durable or how it would hold up in heavy use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Puero Rico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SOG Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife

Date:May 29, 2009
This knive is a great item and very light for the jungle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good camping tool- not a survival knife

Date:April 11, 2009
This inexpensive knife is great to keep with your camping gear or in your vehicle when you need a large knife or small machete. I use it for cutting or chopping tasks that I would rather not do with an expensive hunting or survival knife that I need to keep sharp for more detailed uses such as cleaning fish and game or food preparation. This knife was not designed to be used as a log splitter and anyone who is disappointed that such use damages the blade needs to buy an axe. Use the right tool for the right job and you wont be disappointed with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Long Island surf
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

impressive

Date:December 8, 2008
Definitely a big knife
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knife for the money

Date:September 29, 2008
I am very happy with the knife. Very sharp and has what I need when out on camping and fishing trips. The handle could be a little better, but with some tape and tack wrap it is very comfortable to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:July 15, 2008
Bought for husband and son. It's nickname is Rambo knife. Recieved just in time to go camping and they love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: San Diego, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great utility service knife

Date:July 7, 2008
I've been real pleased with the SOG Fusion Jungle Primitve Knife. Handier than a larger machete, this knife holds a good edge and is easy to resharpen when needed. The blade has good flexibility and can be bent quite far while still returning straight and true. The gator back saw teeth actually cut quite well through small limbs and soft woods. It is a little light for heavy cutting. Good camp knife but as far as survivial knifes go, I'll stick with my Gerber LMF II ASEK knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Califonia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Handy Tool

Date:July 3, 2008
Not a bad knife, not a bad price. Nice and sturdy. Should be handy for various camp chores. Sharp as a razor! I'm sure I'll use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big but thin.

Date:June 17, 2008
I agree with most of the feedback I read prior to purchase. Handle and blade are thinner than you might anticipate looking at the catalog pictures. Per prior review I wrapped the handle with para-cord and it FEELS much more substantial. Saw blades on back of handle aren't teribbly effective and I'd avoid extreme pressures (using this to split wood by pounding on the back of the blade), but with reasonable limits, good knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: So.Cal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Now it Rocks!

Date:May 10, 2008
Got the knife and was saddened by the handle. Everything else about the knife is awesome but the handle is lame. Sooo...I wrapped it with some tuna cord and resin coated it and now IT IS GREAT!!!!
Buy it, wrap it, coat it, and it rocks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SOG® Fusion Jungle Primitive Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fortson GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rambo Knife

Date:April 14, 2008
This knife was a gift for my husband. Great for taking in the woods, to target practice........ect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 65