Customer Reviews for Gerber Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Gerber Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw

A telescoping pole that extends from 22" to 60" coupled with a rugged pruning head or saw head makes this a handy tool to carry when cutting shooting lanes or removing brush from around your stand. The upright pruner has a 1" capacity and a smooth-operating compounding pulley system. All components fit easily in the provided nylon carry case. Optional 24" Extension also available. Available: Tele-Cutter Pruner/Saw Tele-Cutter Extension Pole.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.828 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
10
13 out of 29(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Review 1 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2009

Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw

By
Location: MI
I am very impressed with how light this pole is, without giving up strength. The extendability is great, and I also got the 3' extension. No ladder needed now for those limbs and branches. The saw and pruner are very sharp and cut thru branches and limbs with ease.
A must for treestand hunters out there.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2009

A MUST HAVE FOR EVERY BOWHUNTER

By
Location: IL
A SMALL COMPACT DESIGN, WHICH GIVES YOU THE EXTRA LENTH YOU NEEDTO GET BRANCHS CUT.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2009

Prunes to Pruner

By
Location: Virginia oaks and N. Florida pines
I bought the GERBER EXTEND A CUTTER to clear branches and small limbs around my deer stand. The saw part works great. The string operated pruner stinks. The blades will wedge sideways rather than cut the limb and bind on the wood. Hardwood is impossible, pine is fair. Also, I used it for maybe 30-40 branches and the string frayed and bound up. The string is a very long BOOTLACE.....not up to the job. PRUNES to this Pruner.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2008

A must have

By
Location: West Plains, MO
We love our new Gerber Pruner and Saw. It is very convenient, easy to get to, and the pouch it comes in keeps it all neat and tidy. The blades are very sharp and also easy to use. A wonderful product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2008

Don't waste your money

By
Location: Minnesota
This thing is terrible. The pruner barely cuts anything. And the saw is too short to get a decent cutting motion going.
I ended up breaking the string for the pruner because you have to pull so hard to cut and ended up bending the saw blade because it's too short.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2008

a must for the archer

By
Location: Northern Western Pennsylvania
i bought the gerber pruner/saw and found that it wasn't much good with out the extend-a -cutter.It allows you to reach those branches that are out of reach with just the pruner.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2008

Not good for Gerber

By
Location: Davenport, IA
I was expecting a great trimming saw, and what I got was a short flimsy pole saw. It takes forever to saw through branches and if they are thick, the hook blade does not allow much of a stroke.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2008

major disappointment

By
Location: Prescott, MI
The pole flexes, is too short for any practical work, does not have a 1" pruning capability and the saw is so slow my pocket Leatherman could saw through a limb faster. Puts a bad taste in my mouth for any other Gerber product that I might be tempted to buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2008

Nice idea but a weak product

By
Location: Red River County, TX
the compact size is nice to keep behind the seat of my gator as I ride around on ranch trails. The Gerber blades are nice and sharp on both the saw and the pruning blades. Unfortunately, when the pole is extended all the way it becomes weak and getting pressure on anything over 1/4" is difficult for the pruning blades. The saw works great and the hooked end is helpful. But again, when extended, the pole makes it difficult to apply good pressure on the limb. Overall it is a decent product for small work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2008

Immediate Failure

By
Location: Lake Arthur, LA
Product looks great, but threaded connection on extenda pole broke on me the first time I used it. I hope it's a factory defect, otherwise this device is a waste of money. I e-mailed Gerber and I am waiting on a respose to have my pole swapped out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2008

worstr ever

By
ever time you use the saw the pole would come undone... the limb cutters do not cut anything bigger than one inch... not worth the money for this , should be sold for 5 - 10 dollars
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2008

Extend A Cutter

By
Location: Halifax, NS
Works well, however the pole is not very strong. It broke after a few days of work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2008

Gerber Pruner

By
Location: NJ
Great small size to fit in a backpack and it works very well to reach those "just out of reach" branches.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

gerber extend -a-cutter pruner/saw

By
Location: ozark,alabama
easy to handle, great product for bowhunters
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2008

gerber saw

By
Location: Indianapolis In.
this is a good tool other than the fact i broke the head off the handle the first trip out. i dont think it was made as solid as it could be made the rivits broke in the head, nothing a bolt couldnt fix. the saw works great now no problem since the fix. the pruning blade isnt bad but it doesnt cut much thicker than 3/4 inch limbs. overall not bad but understand its not a chainsaw it only does so much.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2007

GERBER EXTEND-A-CUTTER PRUNER A + FOR BOW HUNTER

By
THE SAW WORK VERY WELL WITH BIGGER BRANCH AND THE PRUNER ON SMALLER BRANCH YOU NEED ONE IF YOU ARE A BOW HUNTER IN THE MIDLE OF THE BUSH PUT REMEMBER IT NOT CHAIN SAW
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2007

Good fOR Pruning Only

By
Location: Lafayette, Louisiana
Don't expect this to do any thing but prune. If you want to do some serious limb trimming in the woods or on your lanes this is not the tool. It's plastic construction is not strong enough to cut thru a 1 -1 1/2" limb in one cut you have to baby the tool or you will break it. This was not made for the woods.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2007

Works great

By
Location: Austin, TX
It's compact easy to use. and it cuts great. just have to know how to use it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2007

Nice Product

By
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This is a nice tool to use when clearing out shooting lanes for your stand with out making a lot of noise. If you are going to cut anything over an inch the saw is the only way to go. The pruner and the rope mechanism is only good for small branches. Anything with size and you can not pull hard enough to get the pruner to cut the limb.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gerber Extend-A-Cutter Pruner/Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2007

Gerber, you let me down!

By
Location: Chisago City, MN
I had great hopes for this tool. I own a gerber folding saw and it has worked like a charm for two years. The Gerber Pruner Saw never managed to trim a single limb! The telescoping pole was jammed solid right out of the box. I was never able to get the sections to separate to allow me to use the saw as intended. I also purchased the Extension Pole to give me extra reach. This was so poorly machined that it would not mate to the telescoping primary pole. I took the enter kit back after the first day. Gerber, you failed miserably with this product and have lost my faith as a customer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 29