Customer Reviews for COLEMAN Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler

COLEMAN Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler

The Road Trip's extra-large capacity keeps food cold with a lot less effort than traditional coolers, as it lowers the interior temperature to 40° below its outside surroundings. It transitions from vertical to horizontal for use at home or in a vehicle. Adjustable doors open to the right or left, and molded handles make for easy carry. Plugged in, the unit is so quiet, you'll hardly know it's running. It's not only great for tailgating or transporting food to your campsite, but also ideal for the office or dorm room. 12-volt DC power only; 110/12-volt inverter (Item 51-9008) needed for indoor 110-AC power use. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
22 out of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Review 1 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2007

Battery Killer

By
Location: Northern NY
This is a worthless product. A bag of ice lasts much longer to keep something cool. This literally kills a car battery in 4 hours and a deep cell marine battery in less than 12. It certainly is not for extended use at a camp or anywhere you will need your battery when you are done.
I brought it to camp....only ran it for an hour every couple of hours.... and went through two (2) deep cell batteries and both were completely dead before we left to go home the second day (and this was in northern NY in October)
Also, it is LOUD. The fan on this thing sounds like an air conditioner (and it still works like garbage).
I WOULD RECOMMEND NOT BUYING THIS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2006

well known maker with a loser

By
Location: Central Minnesota
The Coleman Power Chill Cooler does work, but the build quality is far below Coleman's standards. During 2005. I worked away from home and used this to keep my food cold. The thermo electric unit which worked well at the start became very noisy after a few weeks of use. I have taken the thermo unit apart several times but nothing seems to work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2011

cooler 12 volt

By
Location: las vegas nv
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
should be able to keep items colder then it does
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Coleman Power Chill Cooler

By
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
The Coleman Power Chill Cooler does work nicely as an additional refrigerator. We purchased this item because the fridge in our travel trailer wasn't large enough to hold extra chilled beverages. The cooling factor of this item does vary quite a bit depending on the outside temperature. I wouldn't use the cooler to keep food from spoiling but it does come in handy for beverages since no ice is required.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2016

Nice little cooler

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The cooler worked great for my use. I used it as a refrigerator in my camping trailer, the adaptor gets a little warm when converting from ac to dc, so give it some air space. Actually the cooler worked so well it froze some items. When plugged into the vehicle it performed perfectly. Quiet and dependable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Glad to see Cabela's are stocking the cooler

By
Location: Wind Gap, PA
I really like the cooler. It was cold enough to keep frozen food frozen over a 7 hour trip. I only wish cabela's would stock the model that both heats and cools.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2011

Great Road Trip Cooler

By
This cooler is a great addition to your road trip kit. We ran ours for 30 days with only one problem. The plug got hot and the plastic case melted out of shape. When using the electical adapter it wouldn't stay in the receptical very well. We ran this cooler in the car and when we had a camp site with electricity we used the 110 volt adapter. This cooler performed very well and I don't hesitate to recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2011

Good cooler

By
Location: Ocean County, New Jersey
The cooler performed well on my trip - just as well as the instructions indicated. I would prefer a freezer that would keep frozen foods frozen even in warm temperatures. If it would cost more or have more insulation, I would not care. Still, the benefit of not having to deal with thawing ice or leaky ice packs makes this item worth having.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2010

works good, just a little power hungry.

By
Location: Central Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Takes awhile to actually chill things, but if cold....WORKS GREAT. Just watch your batteries, rated a four because it sucks batteries very fast. Otherwise, great COOLER!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2010

Coleman Roadtrip electronic cooler

By
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Very nice unit, I have owned (and worn out) an Igloo and Koolatron cooler over the past decade or so.
The Coleman is lightweight and a good size, it fits on the car seat but holds a respectable amount of food and drink.
It cools quickly, I use the A/C adapter to pre-chill the cooler and put cold product into, it keeps everything very cold in a hot car.
Yes, you do have to take care not to wear down your car battery but as long as the vehicle is running, that is not an issue.
At night I typically use the adpater to plug into an outlet, alternatively a second battery or battery pack would do.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009

Good Cooler but Be Careful

By
Location: La Grange, Texas
This cooler worked very well to keep our family's food cold while on a long road trip. Not having to worry about ice every day was great. Also, we could pack more food and drinks and not have to save space for ice or be bothered by everything being wet. The only problem we had with it was when we left it plugged in our vehicle for about 5 hours while we went into a zoo. When we came back our car battery was dead. Later, we just unplugged it when we were gonna be away from our vehicle for over a couple of hours. It held it's temp quite well without any other problems. I would definitely recommend this to a friend! The 120 volt adapter is a must have!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2015

Super Cooler!

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Used cooler on long road trip. It worked well and was quiet. Actually worked better than I anticipated.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2015

Great Electric Cooler

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Works great. Only downside is they don't include the converter (wall plug in kit) or offer them for sale at the store. I had to go to 3 different hardware stores to find one (hard to find & explain to store staff), they kept thinking I needed an "inverter".
Very handy. I plug it in at home while packing it full, throw it in the rear truck seat and plug it into the cigarette lighter (nice long cord) while on the road. Once at the campsite I plug it in there. Keeps everything constant cold. It has formed approx. 1/4 cup of condensation in the bottom after prolonged use but not as bad as dealing with melted ice!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2014

Works better than ice

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I was surprised how well it kept everything cold and dry. It worked well in the truck on battery and the ac adapter. Not having to buy ice and have a dry cooler was worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2014

road trip cooler

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
It did the job, had it full of frozen antelope meat from Montana to New Mexico, several days on the road. Had to keep switching from freezer to cooler but got down here with the meat in good shape
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2012

Great for Camping

By
Location: Tecumseh, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
My family and I use this a lot while camping we hook it up to our Goal Zero power pack and keep it running. Just wish it came with more then just 12 volt plug to make it a little more versatile.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

terrific

By
Location: iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
my friend had one so I thought I would try works great keeps at about 35 degrees I go to Canada quite a lot an use crawlers an buy them by the flats an keep them in the coleman an take out what I need each day , I was using a cooler an ice , that was a hasle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2011

Trucker's Test Gives Thumbs Up !!

By
Location: Hattiesburg, Ms.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I am an Over the Road Truck driver, and this Cooler is in constant use because I live in my truck when I'm on the road...and I'm the type of person that searches for something to complain about...this time, my search came up empty...5 stars
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2010

Coleman 40 qt ac/dc cooler

By
Location: Granbury, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
It worked great, we used it in our car and also for a entire week while we were on vacation. It kept food and drinks cold without any spoiling of our food.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2009

WOW - buy it!!!!

By
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
We borrowed one of these to take to Yellowstone for 10 days.
We had a cabin at Lake lodge, so we had electricity, but no fridge. This unit actually froze our sodas if we put them on the top shelf!! The fan was audible, but quiter than a motel room airconditioner.
Having this along to keep our lunchmeat, mayo, milk, etc cold saved us a bunch over the store prices in the park - we bought our groceries in Cody before entering.
After the trip we bought one of our own and have used it constantly.
My only gripe is it needs to be a bit bigger - otherwise well worth the price and convenience.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 24