Customer Reviews for COLEMAN Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler

COLEMAN Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler

The Road Trip's extra-large capacity keeps food cold with a lot less effort than traditional coolers, as it lowers the interior temperature to 40° below its outside surroundings. It transitions from vertical to horizontal for use at home or in a vehicle. Adjustable doors open to the right or left, and molded handles make for easy carry. Plugged in, the unit is so quiet, you'll hardly know it's running. It's not only great for tailgating or transporting food to your campsite, but also ideal for the office or dorm room. 12-volt DC power only; 110/12-volt inverter (Item 51-9008) needed for indoor 110-AC power use. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.19 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Review 1 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Northern NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Battery Killer

Date:November 3, 2007
This is a worthless product. A bag of ice lasts much longer to keep something cool. This literally kills a car battery in 4 hours and a deep cell marine battery in less than 12. It certainly is not for extended use at a camp or anywhere you will need your battery when you are done.
I brought it to camp....only ran it for an hour every couple of hours.... and went through two (2) deep cell batteries and both were completely dead before we left to go home the second day (and this was in northern NY in October)
Also, it is LOUD. The fan on this thing sounds like an air conditioner (and it still works like garbage).
I WOULD RECOMMEND NOT BUYING THIS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Central Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

well known maker with a loser

Date:October 22, 2006
The Coleman Power Chill Cooler does work, but the build quality is far below Coleman's standards. During 2005. I worked away from home and used this to keep my food cold. The thermo electric unit which worked well at the start became very noisy after a few weeks of use. I have taken the thermo unit apart several times but nothing seems to work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: las vegas nv
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cooler 12 volt

Date:February 4, 2011
should be able to keep items colder then it does
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Coleman Power Chill Cooler

Date:November 21, 2006
The Coleman Power Chill Cooler does work nicely as an additional refrigerator. We purchased this item because the fridge in our travel trailer wasn't large enough to hold extra chilled beverages. The cooling factor of this item does vary quite a bit depending on the outside temperature. I wouldn't use the cooler to keep food from spoiling but it does come in handy for beverages since no ice is required.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wind Gap, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Glad to see Cabela's are stocking the cooler

Date:January 11, 2012
I really like the cooler. It was cold enough to keep frozen food frozen over a 7 hour trip. I only wish cabela's would stock the model that both heats and cools.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Road Trip Cooler

Date:June 27, 2011
This cooler is a great addition to your road trip kit. We ran ours for 30 days with only one problem. The plug got hot and the plastic case melted out of shape. When using the electical adapter it wouldn't stay in the receptical very well. We ran this cooler in the car and when we had a camp site with electricity we used the 110 volt adapter. This cooler performed very well and I don't hesitate to recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ocean County, New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good cooler

Date:January 31, 2011
The cooler performed well on my trip - just as well as the instructions indicated. I would prefer a freezer that would keep frozen foods frozen even in warm temperatures. If it would cost more or have more insulation, I would not care. Still, the benefit of not having to deal with thawing ice or leaky ice packs makes this item worth having.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works good, just a little power hungry.

Date:September 9, 2010
Takes awhile to actually chill things, but if cold....WORKS GREAT. Just watch your batteries, rated a four because it sucks batteries very fast. Otherwise, great COOLER!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Coleman Roadtrip electronic cooler

Date:June 8, 2010
Very nice unit, I have owned (and worn out) an Igloo and Koolatron cooler over the past decade or so.
The Coleman is lightweight and a good size, it fits on the car seat but holds a respectable amount of food and drink.
It cools quickly, I use the A/C adapter to pre-chill the cooler and put cold product into, it keeps everything very cold in a hot car.
Yes, you do have to take care not to wear down your car battery but as long as the vehicle is running, that is not an issue.
At night I typically use the adpater to plug into an outlet, alternatively a second battery or battery pack would do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: La Grange, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Cooler but Be Careful

Date:May 4, 2009
This cooler worked very well to keep our family's food cold while on a long road trip. Not having to worry about ice every day was great. Also, we could pack more food and drinks and not have to save space for ice or be bothered by everything being wet. The only problem we had with it was when we left it plugged in our vehicle for about 5 hours while we went into a zoo. When we came back our car battery was dead. Later, we just unplugged it when we were gonna be away from our vehicle for over a couple of hours. It held it's temp quite well without any other problems. I would definitely recommend this to a friend! The 120 volt adapter is a must have!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works better than ice

Date:December 16, 2014
I was surprised how well it kept everything cold and dry. It worked well in the truck on battery and the ac adapter. Not having to buy ice and have a dry cooler was worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

road trip cooler

Date:November 25, 2014
It did the job, had it full of frozen antelope meat from Montana to New Mexico, several days on the road. Had to keep switching from freezer to cooler but got down here with the meat in good shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tecumseh, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for Camping

Date:April 16, 2012
My family and I use this a lot while camping we hook it up to our Goal Zero power pack and keep it running. Just wish it came with more then just 12 volt plug to make it a little more versatile.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

terrific

Date:January 11, 2012
my friend had one so I thought I would try works great keeps at about 35 degrees I go to Canada quite a lot an use crawlers an buy them by the flats an keep them in the coleman an take out what I need each day , I was using a cooler an ice , that was a hasle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hattiesburg, Ms.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trucker's Test Gives Thumbs Up !!

Date:April 7, 2011
I am an Over the Road Truck driver, and this Cooler is in constant use because I live in my truck when I'm on the road...and I'm the type of person that searches for something to complain about...this time, my search came up empty...5 stars
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Granbury, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Coleman 40 qt ac/dc cooler

Date:July 6, 2010
It worked great, we used it in our car and also for a entire week while we were on vacation. It kept food and drinks cold without any spoiling of our food.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW - buy it!!!!

Date:March 15, 2009
We borrowed one of these to take to Yellowstone for 10 days.
We had a cabin at Lake lodge, so we had electricity, but no fridge. This unit actually froze our sodas if we put them on the top shelf!! The fan was audible, but quiter than a motel room airconditioner.
Having this along to keep our lunchmeat, mayo, milk, etc cold saved us a bunch over the store prices in the park - we bought our groceries in Cody before entering.
After the trip we bought one of our own and have used it constantly.
My only gripe is it needs to be a bit bigger - otherwise well worth the price and convenience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: central, Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alot better than Ice

Date:March 26, 2008
I have used this cooler in the extreme heat and cold of Minnesota with the only complaint being "I wish they also made larger units". The noise that it makes while functioning is that of a small fan running would normally make, which I would consider to be rather quiet. It keeps everything that I have put in it, nice and cool without the mess and hassles of Ice. It will drain a standard car battery within less than a days time if the vehicle is not running but so will a car stereo if left on all day. I highly recommend buying the optional 120volt invertor if you plan on using it for more than traveling from on place to another in a vehicle. I installed a 12VDC outlet in the bed of my truck just for this unit while transporting. When I arrive at where I am going, I then plug it into the optional 120volt invertor and use it as a second refrigerator. I use it the most when we go camping and we're sitting outside, I will set it just outside my camper door to hold beverages so were not going in and out of the camper constantly when we want something to drink. If my existing unit were to die tomorrow, I would buy a second one in a heart beat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Cooler

Date:January 29, 2008
Has worked well in my motorhome on either city power or 12V battery power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Coleman 40-qt. Road Trip Cooler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cooler

Date:April 3, 2007
So far, this is a great product. My wife has been in the hospital for five weeks and the room does not have a place to keep things cold. I ordered this so we could keep a few items there such as snacks and drinks. It has run solid for four weeks and has kept everything ice cold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 21