Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer

Thin-slice meat and other foods just like the local deli or carve steaks up to 7/8" thick with our Heavy-Duty Slicer. The durable cast aluminum housing sits atop a gravity-fed tilted stand for easy use, and a convenient plastic food tray catches the sliced food below. It's equipped with a Soligen? stainless steel 6-5/8" diameter cutting blade that's removable for easy cleaning. Thickness adjustment is easy thanks to clearly marked measurements. The unit is powered by a potent 90-watt A/C motor. CE Approved. Weight: 11 lbs. Dimensions: 15.2" x 12.2" x 11.2".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.184 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(136 Reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 136 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
6
1 Star
7
118 out of 136(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Review 21 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2007

Meat Slicer

By
Location: South Dakota
I was very pleased with the heavy duty slicer, it is very sharp and made slicing the pork loin very easy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2007

Cabelas Heavy duty meat slicer

By
Location: Pocatello Idaho
Nice cutter easy to clean could sit up a little higher with a bigger catch tray
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2007

Cabela's meat slicer

By
Location: Frontier Sask. Canada
This product, in my opinion, was a big disappointment. It definatly lacked the quality that I've come to expect from Cabela's. First you had to hold the power switch on leaving only one hand free to manage the meat and the slices. The thickness setting was too course for deli style thin slicing, which was why we purchased it. Also the sliding tray was very flimsy and would actually contact the cutting blade. The blade would carry meat slices all the way around and jam them by the sliding tray.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2007

Good slicer, but the name is misleading

By
Location: Maryland
Don't get me wrong, this is a great meat slicer, and is exactly what I want for my once every week or so usage. But usually when I see the words "Heavy-Duty" I expect something close to commercial grade. This meat slicer is a cconsumer slicer.
There is no on/off switch, but a "deadmans" switch that has to be held the whole time you are using it.
The blade is not very fast, so it doesn't go easily through some real tough stuff.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2007

Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer

By
Location: Diamond Bar, CA
Another great kitchen device to have even if for only occasional use. Easy to clean. Easy to use dial to set cutting thickness. Safety switch was awkward the first couple of slices, but it will keep a person from slicing something other than what they intend to slice, so I am all for the dual start/on switches. I recommend this device for home use without reservation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2007

slicer

By
Location: Galloway, OH
I really was surprised how quickly it arrived, in 2 days!!
I do love the item!
It's only draw back to me, is the on button.
I had previously used a different slicer that had a squeeze handle on the slide, and it was more convenient to hold the item and the power switch at the same time with both hands or either hand. I find this 2 button system on the left side a bit awkward.
But overall, I do enjoy the item and the costumer service I received over the phone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2007

awesome

By
Location: Ga
it works great for normal household use you can't beat it for the price. It sure is great for people like me who eats sandwichs everyday and get tired of the normal lunch meat!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2007

Does what is needed

By
Location: Caddo Mills, TX
This product did a great job. I have used it to cut meats and cheeses, it has performed perfect. I would highly recommend it. If you plan on using it for multiple hours of use a day then go with a higher powered unit, but for home use this is all you need.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2007

meat slicer

By
Location: rural central Maine just north of Bangor
Heavy duty it is not, but for slicing fruit for drying and meat for jerky it is worth the price I paid.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2008

Meat Slicer

By
Location: North Dakota
I bought this item last year and have used it countless times. I wish I had bought one sooner! The safty feature that allows it to shut off is a bit of a challange , but all in all I am very happy with it. As anyone knows , common sense dictates, that in order to get maximum performance, the meat being cut, should be slightly frozen. I think it would be silly to try to do it totally thawed! I have cut mountains of jerky with it in no time flat! I have yet to try it on other items...in time. So I would recommend this slicer to all who want to make their slicing jobs a little easier.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

heavy duty meat slicer

By
The meat slicer worked very well but you have to use 2 hands to hold the power switch. I would reccomend using a standard toggle switch to turn it on instead of the switch it has.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2008

Meat slicer for jerkey

By
Location: Retired and born to hunt the Grand Canyon State
I found this slicer very easy to use and just as easy to clean. I gave the old one I had to my son. I spent more time cleaning it then making jerkey. It is very simple to take apart for cleaning. Looking foward to useing it on wild game.
AZBob
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2008

didn't work so well

By
Location: cleveland, oh
the slicer worked good on the part of the blade that contacted what I was slicing. I was making jerky and I had to go back and cut the bottom of the meat where the blade did not cut.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2008

works great, easy to clean

By
Location: Long Island, NY
Slices every thing I throw at it. and cleans up like a charm
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2008

GREAT FOOD SLICER

By
Location: BRYAN, TEXAS
I HAVE BOUGHT MANY ITEMS FROM CABELAS OVER THE YEARS AND HAVE NEVER BEEN DISSAPPOINTED.
THE MOST RECENT ITEM WAS MEAT SLICER. IT WAS REASONABLY PRICED, WORKS LIKE A CHARM AND IS VERY EASY TO KEEP CLEAN. WE CAN NOW SLICE HAM, ROAST AND TURKEY BETTER THAN THE DELI. IT IS GREAT!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2008

Disappointing.

By
Location: San Francisco
Having had extensive experience with professional slicers, I was not expecting anything near that quality - but this machine doesn't even come up to pessimistic expectations. In brief, I have three primary objections and a couple of minor ones.
First, the slicer is woefully underpowered and under geard. The rotational speed of the blade is so slow that, in order to slice, you must move the slide very slowly. Secondly, the blade itself is scalloped, somewhat like a bread slicer, which, combined with the slow rotational speed, tends to rip meats rather than cut. And, third, the "safety switch" requires that you keep your left had on the switch(es) rather than have it free to catch and position the sliced product.
The minor disappointments are in the design which prevent easy thorough cleaning of the machine. Several places which require a knifepoint to remove extraneous foods. Another point is the need for "hopefully" edible lubricant for the nylon gears and blade back. theoretically, you can wash the blade without removing the lubricant, but I have not managed to do so.
I've used the machine three times and now it is sitting in it's box, probably never to see the light of day again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

meat slicer

By
Location: Benton City, WA
Very fast service in shipping. Easy to use, take apart, and clean ! Does a fine job - sits well and stable on the counter.
Perfect size for kitchen use and storage. I am very glad we purchased this meat slicer. We use it on lunch meat, cheese, roast, brisket......... I researched meat slicers,and I am very glad I chose Cabela's.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

deer chip steak maker

By
Location: bethlehem,pa
great meat slicer for the price,does well on deer,ham,turkey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

A Must have for Game You have Harvested

By
Location: Up State New York where the Hunting is FANTASTIC
This is a must have Slicer that to date can and has done every single thing i was looking for and after buying all the other items From Cabelas Such as the 1 HP Meat Ginder and the Pattie maker it was a must for Sliceing up the Real Nice cuts of game Into Thin Strips for the Very First time and Be able to make Jerkey using Even their Marinades as well so Yes This is A very fine slicer for Just the Nedds of a family that hunts and Processes their own Game. and it's Great also for The Store Bought Meats when you want to Slice up a fine Cut of Cooked meat that you would like to serve to Gueasts Or just your self and Very Easy to clean too.. So Yes another Great buy From Cabelas again..
Blaster...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's Heavy-Duty Meat Slicer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

cabela's heavy-duty meat slicer

By
Location: tazewell,va
It's a good slicer for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 136