Customer Reviews for TREKKER Trekker™ Privy Shelter

TREKKER Trekker™ Privy Shelter

Affordable, rugged and ready to go anywhere you need privacy for showering and other personal duties. This new Privy Shelter opens to a spacious 4 ft. x 4 ft. x 7 ft.H and is crafted of durable polyethylene for waterproof protection. Its rigid steel frame sets up and clips on in seconds, and packs down just as fast. There's a large, zippered U-shaped door for easy entry and an interior loop for securing a shower head. No floor. Carry bag and four stakes included. Imported. Weight: 17 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
57 out of 59(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Review 1 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2009

Trekker Privy

By
The only fault I found with this shelter was, when I put it up at home all went well. 2 weeks later we went out into the field and it was very cold, and while putting up the shelter the Plastic Holders which support the top broke leaving us without a top and had to use guide lines with stakes to keep the unit up right to be able to use it. Finding replacement parts is on going.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2009

Privey shelter

By
Location: Colorado
Nice, but not a necessary product. Good for primitive camping, but when it is that primitive you don't need the excess baggage and it is cumbersome to set up and take down.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2007

Trekker Privy Shelter

By
Location: az
The plastic corner pieces in which the metal rods fit are not very strong. We have used the shelter three times and two of the plastic corner pieces have broken.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

Simple and convienent

By
Location: Valley City, ND
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This shelter packs easily and was easy to setup. It made taking a shower enjoyable and essential when you are archery elk hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2011

DEFINITELY AN UPGRADE

By
Location: Union, OR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I had to replace my older privy tent due to bear damage when it went through the back fabric wall after a scented candle left inside. (Lesson learned...no scented candles to be left in the camp privy.) The Trekker Privy Shelter was the obvious choice. Priced right and built with amply sturdy enough fabric and frame to withstand the harsh winter weather of our elk camp. Easy to use and easy to set up...the shock corded poles are really a nice feature. Standing head room is excellent.
If there is a drawback, it would have to be its limiting dimensions. At 4'X4' big guys have difficulty standing and redressing without having to leave the tent to do so. A 4'X6' sized tent would allow dressing behind a closed flap, sheltered from the cold, wind and snow. If a 4'X6' were available, I'd buy it and have two...one for regular guys and the current one for small contortionists.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2011

Works great as a shower shelter

By
Location: Portland OR
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
We purchased the Cabela's battery powered pump and used the privy shelter with a 5 gal. bucket of hot water for a shower. We used a water proof welcome mat for the floor and it was the best shower I've ever had while camping. Plenty of standing room.
I would suggest you pay attention to the directions and set it up at home before you go on the road. It can be a little tricky and no one wants more complications when setting up camp. Specifically, there is a trick to the roof frame but once you get the hang of it, it's quick and simple.
The trick for the roof frame is to put the whole thing together except one corner. Then click in all three bars that pop into the corner at the same time. If you try to click them in one at a time it just doesn't work.
Also DON"T forget that the walls go INSIDE the frame. My son almost ripped the walls trying to force them over the frame.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

GOOD VALUE

By
Location: PARK FALLS, WI
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
SETS UP EASILY, LIGHT WEIGHT, PACKS DOWN TO SMALL PAKAGE. EASILY MOVED TO USE FOR PRIVY & SHOWER. GOOD QUALITY FOR THE MONEY.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2010

Good

By
Location: North Pekin, IL
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
I thinks this product is good but it really needs better ILLUSTRATED INSTRUCTION. Once you put it up. yes you can do it in 5 min. by your self
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2010

Well Made

By
Location: Centennial
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This unit is well made and works perfectly
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2010

good to have on a camping trip with women

By
Location: western north carolina
easy to put up and take down. would have been nice if it had included some type of floor to shield against the mud, otherwise a really nice addition to the camping gear.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2009

Money Well Spent

By
Location: Idaho
this item provides privacy on our remote property. Use both as lavatory and shower and love it..............
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2009

Trekker Privy Shelter

By
Easy to set up, spacious, and sturdy. Breaks down into compact carry. Could use storage spaces for tp, light, etc. Still, a good privy and no regrets on the purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2009

Privy

By
Well worth the money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2008

treker

By
Location: california
easy and fast to set up even under breezy conditions
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2008

Trekker Privy Shelter

By
Location: Maryland
I used this shelter camping and was satisfied with it. I would recommend that you set it up at home first. After that it should not be a problem to setup. I would like to see small screened windows for additional ventilation. Another thing I would change is the zippered door. I would like the door to be attached on the side not the top. It seemed somewhat awkward to get in and out of and slightly claustrophobic when closed. Overall a good product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2007

Privy Shelter

By
Location: Arizona
Sets up quick- works just fine!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2011

Good Shower Tent

By
Location: Alberta, Canada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Quality shower tent. Takes only a few minutes to put together. Packs up compact into bag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2011

GREAT PRODUCT

By
Location: OREGON
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Most of our camping is out in the woods away from regular campgrounds. The Trekker worked perfectly and was extremely easy to set and take down. It worked so well that I bought another one for my son.
A great purchase for a privy or shower.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2012

Nice Shelter

By
The past couple of years I have been hunting in a Treeless area in Colorado and have used make shift privy shelters until last year when I purchased the Trekker. Easy to setup, roomy and worked great. It stood up to very windy and snowy conditions.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

Perfect Privy

By
Location: Sweet Home, Oregon, Cascade Mountains
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the Trekker Privy Shelter for use during the 2011 elk season. It was positively perfect. We dug a latrine hole and then placed our homemade john (made of plywood and a toilet seat over the hole. The Trekker Privy Shelter was then erected over the john. It was the next best thing to a solid wood outhouse. It went up easily in minutes and was taken down after the hunt with no hassle and packed away in the case that comes with it. I highly recommend this item. It keeps the elements out when nature calls.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 59