Customer Reviews for Trekker Trekker™ Privy Shelter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Trekker Trekker™ Privy Shelter

Affordable, rugged and ready to go anywhere you need privacy for showering and other personal duties. This new Privy Shelter opens to a spacious 4 ft. x 4 ft. x 7 ft.H and is crafted of durable polyethylene for waterproof protection. Its rigid steel frame sets up and clips on in seconds, and packs down just as fast. There's a large, zippered U-shaped door for easy entry and an interior loop for securing ashower head. No floor. Carry bag and four stakes included. Imported. Weight: 17 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
57 out of 59(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Review 1 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Trekker Privy

Date:October 13, 2009
The only fault I found with this shelter was, when I put it up at home all went well. 2 weeks later we went out into the field and it was very cold, and while putting up the shelter the Plastic Holders which support the top broke leaving us without a top and had to use guide lines with stakes to keep the unit up right to be able to use it. Finding replacement parts is on going.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Privey shelter

Date:July 6, 2009
Nice, but not a necessary product. Good for primitive camping, but when it is that primitive you don't need the excess baggage and it is cumbersome to set up and take down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: az
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trekker Privy Shelter

Date:March 27, 2007
The plastic corner pieces in which the metal rods fit are not very strong. We have used the shelter three times and two of the plastic corner pieces have broken.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Valley City, ND
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simple and convienent

Date:January 9, 2012
This shelter packs easily and was easy to setup. It made taking a shower enjoyable and essential when you are archery elk hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Union, OR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DEFINITELY AN UPGRADE

Date:November 22, 2011
I had to replace my older privy tent due to bear damage when it went through the back fabric wall after a scented candle left inside. (Lesson learned...no scented candles to be left in the camp privy.) The Trekker Privy Shelter was the obvious choice. Priced right and built with amply sturdy enough fabric and frame to withstand the harsh winter weather of our elk camp. Easy to use and easy to set up...the shock corded poles are really a nice feature. Standing head room is excellent.
If there is a drawback, it would have to be its limiting dimensions. At 4'X4' big guys have difficulty standing and redressing without having to leave the tent to do so. A 4'X6' sized tent would allow dressing behind a closed flap, sheltered from the cold, wind and snow. If a 4'X6' were available, I'd buy it and have two...one for regular guys and the current one for small contortionists.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Portland OR
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great as a shower shelter

Date:August 10, 2011
We purchased the Cabela's battery powered pump and used the privy shelter with a 5 gal. bucket of hot water for a shower. We used a water proof welcome mat for the floor and it was the best shower I've ever had while camping. Plenty of standing room.
I would suggest you pay attention to the directions and set it up at home before you go on the road. It can be a little tricky and no one wants more complications when setting up camp. Specifically, there is a trick to the roof frame but once you get the hang of it, it's quick and simple.
The trick for the roof frame is to put the whole thing together except one corner. Then click in all three bars that pop into the corner at the same time. If you try to click them in one at a time it just doesn't work.
Also DON"T forget that the walls go INSIDE the frame. My son almost ripped the walls trying to force them over the frame.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: PARK FALLS, WI
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD VALUE

Date:January 6, 2011
SETS UP EASILY, LIGHT WEIGHT, PACKS DOWN TO SMALL PAKAGE. EASILY MOVED TO USE FOR PRIVY & SHOWER. GOOD QUALITY FOR THE MONEY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Pekin, IL
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good

Date:October 4, 2010
I thinks this product is good but it really needs better ILLUSTRATED INSTRUCTION. Once you put it up. yes you can do it in 5 min. by your self
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Centennial
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well Made

Date:July 7, 2010
This unit is well made and works perfectly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: western north carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good to have on a camping trip with women

Date:January 6, 2010
easy to put up and take down. would have been nice if it had included some type of floor to shield against the mud, otherwise a really nice addition to the camping gear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Money Well Spent

Date:October 13, 2009
this item provides privacy on our remote property. Use both as lavatory and shower and love it..............
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trekker Privy Shelter

Date:September 10, 2009
Easy to set up, spacious, and sturdy. Breaks down into compact carry. Could use storage spaces for tp, light, etc. Still, a good privy and no regrets on the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Privy

Date:April 20, 2009
Well worth the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: california
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

treker

Date:July 1, 2008
easy and fast to set up even under breezy conditions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trekker Privy Shelter

Date:May 28, 2008
I used this shelter camping and was satisfied with it. I would recommend that you set it up at home first. After that it should not be a problem to setup. I would like to see small screened windows for additional ventilation. Another thing I would change is the zippered door. I would like the door to be attached on the side not the top. It seemed somewhat awkward to get in and out of and slightly claustrophobic when closed. Overall a good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Privy Shelter

Date:June 4, 2007
Sets up quick- works just fine!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alberta, Canada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Shower Tent

Date:January 27, 2011
Quality shower tent. Takes only a few minutes to put together. Packs up compact into bag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OREGON
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT PRODUCT

Date:January 13, 2011
Most of our camping is out in the woods away from regular campgrounds. The Trekker worked perfectly and was extremely easy to set and take down. It worked so well that I bought another one for my son.
A great purchase for a privy or shower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Shelter

Date:January 15, 2012
The past couple of years I have been hunting in a Treeless area in Colorado and have used make shift privy shelters until last year when I purchased the Trekker. Easy to setup, roomy and worked great. It stood up to very windy and snowy conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Trekker™ Privy Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sweet Home, Oregon, Cascade Mountains
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect Privy

Date:January 9, 2012
I purchased the Trekker Privy Shelter for use during the 2011 elk season. It was positively perfect. We dug a latrine hole and then placed our homemade john (made of plywood and a toilet seat over the hole. The Trekker Privy Shelter was then erected over the john. It was the next best thing to a solid wood outhouse. It went up easily in minutes and was taken down after the hunt with no hassle and packed away in the case that comes with it. I highly recommend this item. It keeps the elements out when nature calls.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 59