Customer Reviews for SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

Developed in cooperation with the U.S. military, government agencies, universities and others, this insect repellent offers superior protection from disease-carrying biting insects. The active ingredient is permethrin, developed from a substance called pyrethrin found in certain flowers. Not only does this product repel insects, but it actually kills ticks, mosquitoes, chiggers, mites and more than 100 other kinds of insects. Sawyer Duranon repellents are not for use on skin, but on your clothing, tents and other gear. A single application can last up to six weeks and will remain effective even if you wash the garment once a week. Permethrin is odorless when dry, and during the drying process it chemically bonds with the fibers of the treated garment, but will not stain or damage clothing, fabrics, plastics, finished surfaces, or any of your outdoor gear. Available: 9-oz. aerosol can, 24-oz. spray, 9-oz. aerosol can 4-pack, 24-oz. spray 4-pack.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.784 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(236 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 236 reviews
5 Stars
204
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
228 out of 236(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Review 1 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2016

SAWYER® DURANON PERMETHRIN INSECT REPELLENT

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Sprayed my clothing per directions and headed out to the field, very satisfied I didn't get any ticks on me as I did in prior days that I had been out in the woods. Works as advertised.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016

no tics

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
2 words IT WORKS!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016

great stuff!!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This works great to keep ticks off during spring turkey season. Spray clothes the day before season starts and you're good to go for the next couple of weeks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2016

Divorce ticks

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Best product for avoiding ticks. I turkey hunt in spring sitting on ground and walking in woods. Since started using several years ago no longer have noticed ticks on me when I get home and helpful against mosquitoes.the Permethrin paralyzes the tick
No smelll once dries
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Tick free hunting

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've been using Saywer/ permethrin for years and I spent at least a couple of weeks a year, hunting deer in Virginia. Ever since I start using this product I haven't seen a single tick on my hunting clothes or my car.
Great product. I highly recommend this great safe chemical to all hunters and outdoor enthusiasts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2015

This product works!

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
My first day in deer season was earmarked by the presence of deer ticks...never seen them before in this area. After a "tick check" by my wife, a hot shower, and another "tick check," I found an embedded tick in my forearm. That night I purchased some Sawyer's Permethrin Repellent and treated all my outerwear, cushion, fanny pack, etc. It took about 15 mins. to complete the process, and I allowed everything to dry overnight. (The labels says it drys in two hours.) From that point on I never saw another tick. My son hunted with me one day and he had them crawling all over him. Standing alongside of him I had NO ticks. I hunted through season's end and did not encounter another tick. The label claims the treatment last six weeks and that was the case for me. I will always treat my clothing with Sawyers from now on..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2015

best buy ever

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
this stuff is the bet i've ever used i tried it out the day after i bought it and it worked just like i was told it would the only down fall is you can't spray it in doors the smell while spraying it inside will make you fell sick i spayed all my hunting gear with it and after 42 days i'll have to reorder more that 42 days is how long it will last and even if i wash my hunting clothes i'll not have to respray them again i would recommend this to everyone plus i suggest that you spray it out doors.not sorry i bought this
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2015

No Ticks!

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been using this product for the past four years and have not found a tick on me or my clothing. Once dried it is scent free.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2015

Ticked off

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Tried to find something to keep ticks off in the spring and fall. Sawyers did the trick. Haven't had 1 since I tried it. Follow the instructions for applying it and you will be pleased with the results.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2015

Works great

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have been using this for years on my clothes and gear. My friends that don't use it are busy picking ticks off themselves. This simply works awesome every time you use it - and you don't have to douse yourself in deet and other potentially harmful chemicals. Treat your clothes and boots and gear and go out with confidence
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2015

Works well

By
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
When first applying it has a strong chemical smell, but once it drys and airs out a day the smell dissiapates. It has worked great. You can see the mosquitoes flying up to your gear but not a single bite while wearing it. Also it has lasted 4 wash cycles with no issues. Be advised you still need insect repellant on exposed skin.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2015

Worked as advertised.

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Sprayed my hunting clothes and boots and avoided all of the preseason issues I was having with seed ticks. Would recommend this product to anyone that hunts in the South!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2015

Security for Family

By
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Ticks here in Ontario are getting worse. My father in law was bitten by a black legged tick, that was confirmed to have The Powassan Virus. He was in ICU for over 7 weeks, and is now in Rehab learning how to walk again.
My family has now put this product on all of their hiking clothes, and since then all is well. This product needs to be available in Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2015

Use it regularly

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I hunt I tick and chigger infested woods. I make sure this is on my boots and all my clothes.
It makes a huge difference.
I keep it handy before I go in the woods. Spray bottle sends a mist on my clothes. Supposed to work thru 6 Washings, but can't hurt to do a mist before each hunt.
Do not get it on your skin per instructions.
Inexpensive solution to tick and chigger bits that last 2 weeks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2015

Permethrin

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Went squirrel hunting and the flying bugs were everywhere especially in the weeds and the trail I was on had plenty. No bites of any kind. I highly recommend this brand.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2015

keep the bugs away

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I spray this on my fly fishing shirt and hat at the beginning of the spring and it keeps the gnats, flies and mosquitoes off my face and hands all through the summer. I use the aerosol.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2015

Better than OFF

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Used this on a Canadian fishing trip with better results than the brand OFF that others had
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2015

Excellent choice

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
If there is a mosquito or chigger within 100 miles it will travel to find me. Bought the Permethrin repellent for a Boy Scout canoeing trip to the Boundary Waters in northern Minnesota knowing the reputation there for loads of mosquitoes! Wearing long sleeves, rubber gloves, eye protection and a face mask (followed precautions for not inhaling or getting it on skin for she says where she did get some skin contact her skin was tingly) my wife sprayed our clothing which the permethrin. I honestly believe it made a world of difference! Yes there were mosquitoes everywhere and they swarmed about me and my son but we were not bitten! If the others had tried this their skin might not have looked like a plague of continuous bites!
Take note-another adult tried the Permethrin as well but he had water repellent clothing which prevented the repellent from absorbing into the fabric so it was not as effective for him.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2015

this is a must have product

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Lyme dease is a huge problem and not understood by many in the medical field. I use this product all the time on any of my clothes I wear doing yard work, or simply taking my be able for a walk. Have yet to come home with a tick.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2015

Very Pleased with this Product

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Have used it on clothing and it has been great, no bugs bothering me. Also had an issue with carpenter bees, nothing was working, sprayed the areas they were hitting and they immediately disappeared and have not come back.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 236