Customer Reviews for SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

Developed in cooperation with the U.S. military, government agencies, universities and others, this insect repellent offers superior protection from disease-carrying biting insects. The active ingredient is permethrin, developed from a substance called pyrethrin found in certain flowers. Not only does this product repel insects, but it actually kills ticks, mosquitoes, chiggers, mites and more than 100 other kinds of insects. Sawyer Duranon repellents are not for use on skin, but on your clothing, tents and other gear. A single application can last up to six weeks and will remain effective even if you wash the garment once a week. Permethrin is odorless when dry, and during the drying process it chemically bonds with the fibers of the treated garment, but will not stain or damage clothing, fabrics, plastics, finished surfaces, or any of your outdoor gear. Available: 9-oz. aerosol can, 24-oz. spray, 9-oz. aerosol can 4-pack, 24-oz. spray 4-pack.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.787 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(244 Reviews) 244
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 244 reviews
5 Stars
211
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
236 out of 244(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Review 1 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2016

Tick no more

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I watched a tick drop off my pants when I used this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2016

No bites

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The best insect repellent I've ever used. I hunt early season bow and have gone far beyond the 48 days of it's effectiveness. I couldn't say enough about this product. I recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy the outdoors.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2016

Keeps bugs away

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I use this around my tent area before setting up and it works great. I spray my clothing with it and let it dry and it's good for many washings. I also sprayed the seats in my kayaks and in the hold areas to keep the spiders away while they are not in use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2016

DURANON PERMETHAIN INSECT REPELLENT

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Works very well, I spray my insect repelling clothing with it ,about every couple of months. Then just let dry and wear,I also use it on my hunting and other outdoor clothes. Works well on misquitoes and ticks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2016

stop bugging me

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
it is pretty simple, my wife is happy.no bugs. now she wishes they would make something to keep me from bugging her
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2016

Missing ticks

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is my first time using this but will not be the last. Finished turkey hunting without a single tick or any bugs bothering me. It really does work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2016

No more creepy crawlies

By
I live in Southern Oregon, known for a plethora of ticks, especially in the spring. I sprayed down my pants, shirt and turkey vest. After 3 full days of hunting, that included hiking through high grass, sitting on field edges, etc... I've counted 2 ticks. You live in an area w/ ticks? Get this stuff. It works!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2016

Best tick protection there is!

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This stuff is by far the best tick repellant there is. I won't enter the woods with out it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2016

SAWYER® DURANON PERMETHRIN INSECT REPELLENT

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Sprayed my clothing per directions and headed out to the field, very satisfied I didn't get any ticks on me as I did in prior days that I had been out in the woods. Works as advertised.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016

no tics

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
2 words IT WORKS!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016

great stuff!!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This works great to keep ticks off during spring turkey season. Spray clothes the day before season starts and you're good to go for the next couple of weeks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2016

Divorce ticks

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Best product for avoiding ticks. I turkey hunt in spring sitting on ground and walking in woods. Since started using several years ago no longer have noticed ticks on me when I get home and helpful against mosquitoes.the Permethrin paralyzes the tick
No smelll once dries
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Tick free hunting

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've been using Saywer/ permethrin for years and I spent at least a couple of weeks a year, hunting deer in Virginia. Ever since I start using this product I haven't seen a single tick on my hunting clothes or my car.
Great product. I highly recommend this great safe chemical to all hunters and outdoor enthusiasts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2015

This product works!

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
My first day in deer season was earmarked by the presence of deer ticks...never seen them before in this area. After a "tick check" by my wife, a hot shower, and another "tick check," I found an embedded tick in my forearm. That night I purchased some Sawyer's Permethrin Repellent and treated all my outerwear, cushion, fanny pack, etc. It took about 15 mins. to complete the process, and I allowed everything to dry overnight. (The labels says it drys in two hours.) From that point on I never saw another tick. My son hunted with me one day and he had them crawling all over him. Standing alongside of him I had NO ticks. I hunted through season's end and did not encounter another tick. The label claims the treatment last six weeks and that was the case for me. I will always treat my clothing with Sawyers from now on..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2015

best buy ever

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
this stuff is the bet i've ever used i tried it out the day after i bought it and it worked just like i was told it would the only down fall is you can't spray it in doors the smell while spraying it inside will make you fell sick i spayed all my hunting gear with it and after 42 days i'll have to reorder more that 42 days is how long it will last and even if i wash my hunting clothes i'll not have to respray them again i would recommend this to everyone plus i suggest that you spray it out doors.not sorry i bought this
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2015

No Ticks!

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been using this product for the past four years and have not found a tick on me or my clothing. Once dried it is scent free.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2015

Ticked off

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Tried to find something to keep ticks off in the spring and fall. Sawyers did the trick. Haven't had 1 since I tried it. Follow the instructions for applying it and you will be pleased with the results.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2015

Works great

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have been using this for years on my clothes and gear. My friends that don't use it are busy picking ticks off themselves. This simply works awesome every time you use it - and you don't have to douse yourself in deet and other potentially harmful chemicals. Treat your clothes and boots and gear and go out with confidence
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2015

Works well

By
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
When first applying it has a strong chemical smell, but once it drys and airs out a day the smell dissiapates. It has worked great. You can see the mosquitoes flying up to your gear but not a single bite while wearing it. Also it has lasted 4 wash cycles with no issues. Be advised you still need insect repellant on exposed skin.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2015

Worked as advertised.

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Sprayed my hunting clothes and boots and avoided all of the preseason issues I was having with seed ticks. Would recommend this product to anyone that hunts in the South!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 244