Customer Reviews for SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

Developed in cooperation with the U.S. military, government agencies, universities and others, this insect repellent offers superior protection from disease-carrying biting insects. The active ingredient is permethrin, developed from a substance called pyrethrin found in certain flowers. Not only does this product repel insects, but it actually kills ticks, mosquitoes, chiggers, mites and more than 100 other kinds of insects. Sawyer Duranon repellents are not for use on skin, but on your clothing, tents and other gear. A single application can last up to six weeks and will remain effective even if you wash the garment once a week. Permethrin is odorless when dry, and during the drying process it chemically bonds with the fibers of the treated garment, but will not stain or damage clothing, fabrics, plastics, finished surfaces, or any of your outdoor gear. Available: 9-oz. aerosol can, 24-oz. spray, 9-oz. aerosol can 4-pack, 24-oz. spray 4-pack.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(221 Reviews) 221
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 221 reviews
5 Stars
189
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
213 out of 221(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Review 1 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

keep the bugs away

Date:July 28, 2015
I spray this on my fly fishing shirt and hat at the beginning of the spring and it keeps the gnats, flies and mosquitoes off my face and hands all through the summer. I use the aerosol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than OFF

Date:July 21, 2015
Used this on a Canadian fishing trip with better results than the brand OFF that others had
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent choice

Date:July 21, 2015
If there is a mosquito or chigger within 100 miles it will travel to find me. Bought the Permethrin repellent for a Boy Scout canoeing trip to the Boundary Waters in northern Minnesota knowing the reputation there for loads of mosquitoes! Wearing long sleeves, rubber gloves, eye protection and a face mask (followed precautions for not inhaling or getting it on skin for she says where she did get some skin contact her skin was tingly) my wife sprayed our clothing which the permethrin. I honestly believe it made a world of difference! Yes there were mosquitoes everywhere and they swarmed about me and my son but we were not bitten! If the others had tried this their skin might not have looked like a plague of continuous bites!
Take note-another adult tried the Permethrin as well but he had water repellent clothing which prevented the repellent from absorbing into the fabric so it was not as effective for him.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

this is a must have product

Date:June 30, 2015
Lyme dease is a huge problem and not understood by many in the medical field. I use this product all the time on any of my clothes I wear doing yard work, or simply taking my be able for a walk. Have yet to come home with a tick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleased with this Product

Date:June 16, 2015
Have used it on clothing and it has been great, no bugs bothering me. Also had an issue with carpenter bees, nothing was working, sprayed the areas they were hitting and they immediately disappeared and have not come back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No insect bites

Date:June 16, 2015
Must obviously work, as I have not got any tick bites, even though working in the tick infested Ozarks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It works.

Date:June 16, 2015
Within the first ten minutes at my WI hunting land I had three ticks crawling on me without the product on my clothes or boots. After treatment, not one over three days. Beats spraying all the other smelly products on you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I hate ticks

Date:June 9, 2015
I trust this product to keep ticks off me and my gear, ordorless when it dries so great for hunting & hiking. If you are allergic to Chrysanthemum do not use this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tick Free

Date:June 9, 2015
I followed the directions with this product and during more than twenty days of turkey hunting I never had one tick on me. During my hunts I almost always sit directly on the ground, too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:June 9, 2015
I would not go in the woods without it, weather early bow or spring turkey. I have never had a tick, chigger on me. GREAT product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:June 9, 2015
Great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Keeps the Ticks off

Date:June 2, 2015
I always use this on my cloths as it keeps the Ticks off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Must

Date:May 19, 2015
This really does the trick, very effect
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

does what needs to

Date:May 19, 2015
bought this to keep ticks off while turkey hunting this year in ct as they are bad this year. sprayed camo and let dry 2 days and applied another day before not one tick my partner didn't want to use it found ticks on him all morning long!!! he went out bought a can for next outting GREAT PRODUCT!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First step in tick defense

Date:May 19, 2015
Have been using this for years here in Kentucky and wouldn't think of going into the woods in clothing that wasn't treated with Permethrin. It works and it lasts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product for turkey hunters

Date:April 7, 2015
I sprayed this product on all of my Turkey hunting clothes, vest, boots and hat and didn't have any bug problems during my spring turkey hunts. When you have turkeys in close the last thing you want is bugs buzzing around your face as you can't get away with any movement. I have told many of my fellow turkey hunters about this product after they are back at camp picking ticks off of themselves. Read the directions on the bottle and enjoy a bug free hunt. I also have a Thermacell but this may work better for all around protection, especially ticks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

classic choice and best choice

Date:March 31, 2015
I have been using its bigger bottle spray for years and worked well, take long time to finish it and always leaky, I just love this one because it sprays smoothly and better way, your hunting gear will be ready to go to forest by using this product, I appreciate!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one of the best purchases

Date:February 27, 2015
I turkey hunt and that means alot of ticks.I applied the repellent according to directions.I watch the ticks crawl part of the way up my pant leg then watch them fall off.
AWSUM!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tick killer

Date:January 20, 2015
The best product I have ever used to keep ticks in check. I have used Sawyer repellent for four or five years with great results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

insect repellant spray

Date:December 16, 2014
Good stuff really works
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 221