Customer Reviews for SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

Developed in cooperation with the U.S. military, government agencies, universities and others, this insect repellent offers superior protection from disease-carrying biting insects. The active ingredient is permethrin, developed from a substance called pyrethrin found in certain flowers. Not only does this product repel insects, but it actually kills ticks, mosquitoes, chiggers, mites and more than 100 other kinds of insects. Sawyer Duranon repellents are not for use on skin, but on your clothing, tents and other gear. A single application can last up to six weeks and will remain effective even if you wash the garment once a week. Permethrin is odorless when dry, and during the drying process it chemically bonds with the fibers of the treated garment, but will not stain or damage clothing, fabrics, plastics, finished surfaces, or any of your outdoor gear. Available: 9-oz. aerosol can, 24-oz. spray, 9-oz. aerosol can 4-pack, 24-oz. spray 4-pack.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.755 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(163 Reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 163 reviews
5 Stars
138
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
157 out of 163(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Review 1 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works

Date:April 22, 2014
Works very well...not much more I can add.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Preventer!!

Date:April 17, 2014
I use this every year on Spring turkey hunts and have never had a tick problem. During the summer for fall hunts when I'm scouting I treat my clothes with this and also have never had a tick problem. It also seems to repel mosquitoes quite nicely. I would highly recommend this product to any and all my fellow hunters, hikers and anyone who frequents tick infested areas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works good.

Date:March 4, 2014
I used his product during spring turkey season. You can watch the tics crawl on your clothing. They will make it 4 or 5 inches before they fall off dead. Will buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TICK FREE

Date:December 17, 2013
HAVE USED THIS PRODUCT FOR YEARS AND HAVE NEVER HAD A TICK PROBLEM,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No ticks or chiggers

Date:November 12, 2013
We are on the farm all summer then hunt all fall
No ticks or chiggers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Permethrin

Date:November 5, 2013
Fair price. Haven't had a tick on me in three trips. Either lucky or the stuff works !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I hate ticks

Date:September 27, 2013
I hunt a lot in MO for both deer and turkey and I cannot stand ticks. I spray this on my jeans, and hunting clothing and have had no trouble with ticks for the last three years I have been using it. Well worth the cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mosquito Deterent

Date:September 17, 2013
Worked good during a September Teal hunt in lower Texas. Got a few bites, but, compared to others, I fealt like it did it's job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works

Date:August 31, 2013
Sprayed my shirt and pants down with this a day or two before a deer scouting hike. Its been a bad tick summer, and I didn't have a single tick after busting through brush and grass all day. Impressive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Only one I use.

Date:August 27, 2013
This spray will keep all the redbugs and skeeters off you for days at a time. The only one I use to do that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Keeps Bugs Away

Date:July 23, 2013
Used this camping and sprayed the pop-up in an attempt to keep the bugs away...it worked like a charm. I also sprayed my clothes and it seemed to repel the mosquitoes quite well. Because it's odorless I have been thinking about using it for early bow season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:July 16, 2013
I use this on clothing while working on the farm. I've never seen a tick crawling on my clothing when they were properly treated. Follow the directions!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Truly Effective Bug Solution

Date:June 25, 2013
On the advice of a cousin of mine that has used this product in his military outings, I purchased a bottle of this prior to the spring bear hunt this year, My past experience with bugs in this bear hunting area has been that ticks and mosquitos have been a problem. I loathe ticks and mosquitos and need a solution that will keep me safe from them and their annoyance, discomfort, and disease. Therefore I treated my clothing and hats, boots and gloves with this according to the directions and headed out into the woods. The result was not one tick found on me nor did one mosquito bite me during my four weekends of bear hunting. I highly recommend this product. It works as advertised. It doesn't have a perceptible odor once dried and lasts for multiple washings. I won't EVER be without this stuff on my clothing / gear in the woods again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great on Ticks!

Date:June 11, 2013
This product works just as described. A must have..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:May 29, 2013
Best tick preventer I have ever seen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tick spray

Date:May 29, 2013
I have been using this type spray for 37 years and have yet to be bitten by a tick. i have only picked 6 ticks off my clothes in all that time. Five were in the last three years.
I take precautions, but i have been treating all my hunting,fishing, running,boots etc.with permethrin since 1976.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good stuff

Date:May 14, 2013
Works as described. Ticks will crawl up your leg and fall off by mid thigh!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product - but don't buy the aerosol can

Date:May 6, 2013
I have used this product for many years on spring turkey hunts, and it works like a champ! No Ticks!
However, I do not recommend the aerosol spray can, as the spray nozzle leaks all over your hands and everything else! This has happened with multiple cans. Just stay with the pump spray bottle, and you will be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works As Advertised

Date:April 16, 2013
I've never had a problem with ticks or mosquitoes when using this on my hunting clothes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A must have

Date:April 16, 2013
I bought this for the first time last year (2012) cause I was tired of getting ticks all over me. Put on all my gear a few days before spring turkey season and never found a tick on me the entire turkey season. It is a must have. Works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 163