Customer Reviews for SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

Developed in cooperation with the U.S. military, government agencies, universities and others, this insect repellent offers superior protection from disease-carrying biting insects. The active ingredient is permethrin, developed from a substance called pyrethrin found in certain flowers. Not only does this product repel insects, but it actually kills ticks, mosquitoes, chiggers, mites and more than 100 other kinds of insects. Sawyer Duranon repellents are not for use on skin, but on your clothing, tents and other gear. A single application can last up to six weeks and will remain effective even if you wash the garment once a week. Permethrin is odorless when dry, and during the drying process it chemically bonds with the fibers of the treated garment, but will not stain or damage clothing, fabrics, plastics, finished surfaces, or any of your outdoor gear. Available: 9-oz. aerosol can, 24-oz. spray, 9-oz. aerosol can 4-pack, 24-oz. spray 4-pack.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.762 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 202 reviews
5 Stars
172
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
194 out of 202(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Review 1 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

insect repellant spray

Date:December 16, 2014
Good stuff really works
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent purchase

Date:December 9, 2014
I've been using it for years. I prefer the spray over the aerosol. it goes a lot farther and being a big guy I have no problem covering at least 3 complete outfits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Tick Repellant

Date:November 11, 2014
This product works great! Will save you a trip to the doctors office.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Tick Repelent

Date:November 10, 2014
When used properly last for weeks. Dont go in the woods again with out the clothes spray
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Never has let me down.....

Date:October 28, 2014
Sayer is the best repellent for clothes period. I hunt in tick infested areas and I have never seen a tick on my person since i have been using it for the past 5 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good value

Date:October 15, 2014
This is the second time that I've used Sawyer Permethrin insect repellant,and had very good results both times.
The first was fishing in Canada at an outpost camp during mosquito season.
The second was on a safari to South Africa.
No bug problems either time.GOOD STUFF
Rick
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:October 14, 2014
This product works great , I hunt Kansas during the early muzzleloader season in September and the ticks are real bad during that time of year , for the past two years I have used Sawyer insect repellent to treat my hunting clothes . Now I can hunt with no worries about ticks and other unwanted insects !
I can't say enough about how well this product works !
I will not go to the woods with out it !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finally Releif

Date:October 14, 2014
s a guy ho has severe insect allergies and sensitive skin I can not be more happy with this product. Ticks and Chiggers tear me up with any early season trip to the woods. Nothing like being covered in spots for the winter. But that is all a thing of the past. Works great and saved the day. I recommend this to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

repellent

Date:October 1, 2014
works really well. with my usual trips to the woods I almost always end up with chigger bites in spite of taking all precautions. On my most recent trips I followed directions on spray and can say I did not have a single bite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sawyer Permethin Insect Repellent

Date:September 30, 2014
We have been using this for years in tick infested areas with 100% success. One bottle does several sets of clothes. Check out their great video on Sawyer's web site!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SAWYER INSECT REPELLENT

Date:September 30, 2014
I have been using this product for the last 5 + years. I can absolutely say in confidence that not once have I had a chigger or tick bite. I have seen ticks crawling up my pant leg while turkey hunting and just stop dead and fall off. And one of the cost benefits it good for 6 weeks even if you wash the garment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I was skeptical, but...

Date:September 16, 2014
I did not believe this product would really repel insects by spraying on my tent. I was also concerned about the odor. But I was mistaken on both counts. It does a good job of keeping bugs away, and the odor is not objectionable at all. I sprayed both the tent (exterior) and rain fly (interior) per instructions. I noticed much less bother by insects this summer and fall, even when camping in prime bug locations. I'm not in ME or AK or MN or the UP, so not sure how well it performs in serious mosquito country, but in MT it has so far worked better than expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best tick and chigger repellent

Date:September 10, 2014
I have been using Permethrin for the last fourteen years after contracting Lyme disease and haven't had a single tick bite me when using the product. I won't walk in the woods without spraying it on my clothes. I especially liked the pump spray instead of the aerosol as it doesn't clog the opening.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Keep the bugs away

Date:September 9, 2014
Use on every outing to keep the bugs out and away from biting. Make sure to read directions on package for safe use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works like a Charm

Date:September 9, 2014
I used this product to spray 4 outfits (shirt, pants, socks), which following the directions uses the whole bottle. I wanted something that would repel those vicious, nickle-sized, Canadian mosquitoes without having to spray myself with large amounts of deet. I was the only one in my party of 4 that used the Permethrin, and there were far less mosquitoes around me than the other guys. This stuff works well because you can wear thinner clothes and not over-heat, but still be protected from mosquitoes. They will not stay on your clothes long enough to bite you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A must for tick infested areas.

Date:September 2, 2014
The product works! Be sure to follow the directions. It goes on clothes NOT bare skin. Allow to dry then it is ready to go.. NO tick issues in an area that has major issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

problem

Date:August 26, 2014
The spray nozzle would not work. Had to buy a spray bottle in order to have a nozzle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stuff!

Date:August 19, 2014
Hunt the Hill Country of Texas and have lots of ticks, chiggers and nats. After spraying my clothing with the Sawyer's Repellent have had no problems with bugs! Works very well wether your stalking a big Axis or scouting for the coming season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It works!!!

Date:August 12, 2014
Tried this after finding a tick on me while working on deer stands in the Florida summer woods. After applying the spray to my clothing and allowing a day to dry, I've had 3 work days and have not been bothered with mosquitoes or found ticks. Thanks!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good stuff

Date:August 5, 2014
Even the bugs in northern Maine stay away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 202