Customer Reviews for SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

Developed in cooperation with the U.S. military, government agencies, universities and others, this insect repellent offers superior protection from disease-carrying biting insects. The active ingredient is permethrin, developed from a substance called pyrethrin found in certain flowers. Not only does this product repel insects, but it actually kills ticks, mosquitoes, chiggers, mites and more than 100 other kinds of insects. Sawyer Duranon repellents are not for use on skin, but on your clothing, tents and other gear. A single application can last up to six weeks and will remain effective even if you wash the garment once a week. Permethrin is odorless when dry, and during the drying process it chemically bonds with the fibers of the treated garment, but will not stain or damage clothing, fabrics, plastics, finished surfaces, or any of your outdoor gear. Available: 9-oz. aerosol can, 24-oz. spray, 9-oz. aerosol can 4-pack, 24-oz. spray 4-pack.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.761 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(184 Reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 184 reviews
5 Stars
157
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
177 out of 184(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Review 1 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It works!!!

Date:August 12, 2014
Tried this after finding a tick on me while working on deer stands in the Florida summer woods. After applying the spray to my clothing and allowing a day to dry, I've had 3 work days and have not been bothered with mosquitoes or found ticks. Thanks!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good stuff

Date:August 5, 2014
Even the bugs in northern Maine stay away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Never leave home without it

Date:July 29, 2014
I have been using Sawyer's Permethrin for years and have never had a tick on me. It can't get any better than that
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Use when going to buggy areas

Date:July 29, 2014
I used this to treat all of my clothes (and hat) before a 5 day backpacking trip in the Adirondacks High Peaks in July. It is hard to measure its success in repelling mosquitoes and other bugs but I was not bothered nearly as much as I would have expected. I will certainly use it again when going to buggy areas. It will not protect exposed skin though (i.e., arms and legs if wearing a t-shirt and shorts) so still best to cover up with treated clothes and/or deet in the evening.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great stuff

Date:July 22, 2014
Have used for several years in the heat of the summer through first frost and have found it 100 percent effective. Highly recommend if you don't like chiggers, ticks or Mosquitos, this is the only way to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product

Date:July 22, 2014
My Dad and I have spent many hours in tick, mosquito and chigger areas at the ranch this summer without any problems. I'll be buying this again to avoid dealing with insect bites.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

insect repel

Date:July 16, 2014
the sprayer leeked when i sprayed it on my cloths. i had 4 woodticks on me when i got out of the woods
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth every penny

Date:July 15, 2014
Great stuff and worth every penny. I hunt and fish in the north woods of WI and do my early pre season scouting in western WI where deer ticks are abundant and sawyer duranon permethrin has kept many ticks and mosquitoes off me.Love this stuff and swears by it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better Than Effective

Date:July 9, 2014
Easy to use. No odor. Extremely effective against
mosquitoes, flies and ticks. Long duration of effectiveness.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good product

Date:June 17, 2014
use this every spring in the southeast Missouri turkey woods. follow instructions, treat clothing, NO ticks or chiggers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

simple - no ticks

Date:June 3, 2014
I've used this product for years with the same results. Lightly wet clothing a couple days prior to going - I do everything but socks and underwear! - if you get real wet hunting - when clothes dry do it again - but it will last for 2 - 4 weeks easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome product

Date:June 1, 2014
I've used this product on my uniforms when deployed to locations all over the world (before I retired) as well as on my hunting and camping equipment. I've never used a product that works better than this does. When my buddies are getting bitten or "bugged" I'm not being bothered at all. I use this on ALL my outdoor clothing and equipment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Will be buy-en more!

Date:May 27, 2014
Sawyer's is the best in my book for Tick proofing my out door clothing, from my hunting camo to my work boots. Friends and family want me to pick up more for them!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best tick and chigger repellent period.

Date:May 23, 2014
I had this recommended to me by my forester and it works great. I sprayed my hunting clothes down the night before turkey season. I hunted the whole four week season without getting one single bite. I will finally be able to enjoy the September squirrel season again. Thanks Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best insect repellent period.

Date:May 22, 2014
This was recommended to me by my forester. I sprayed it on all my turkey hunting clothes, the night before season. I hunted the whole ohio turkey season without a tick or chigger bite. I will finally be able to enjoy squirrel season again. This is the last insect repellent I'll ever buy. Thanks cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:May 20, 2014
After taking medication for lyme disease I started using Sawyer Permethrin and have not had a tick since using this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No bugs

Date:May 15, 2014
All I can say is that on a turkey trip my buddies had ticks on them and I didn't. I sprayed my shirt and pants only, so worked for me!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Minimal ticks

Date:May 13, 2014
I recently spent the weekend in the turkey woods of Kansas. While I offered this product to everyone I was hunting with, not everyone used it. Those of use that used it as directed had 1 or 2 ticks crawling on use and none embedded. One guy that didn't use it picked off 19 ticks that were embedded. WORTH EVERY PENNY, imo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:May 6, 2014
Sprayed on. Has a strong odor but when it dried it was odorless. No bugs came my way in the woods
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Item for repelling ticks, & chiggers

Date:April 29, 2014
I've use this item for the past 4 years and haven't found anything any better. I spray it on the clothes I'm going to wear the night before let it dry and go Turkey hunting, or work on the farm fencing and have no problems with ticks or chiggers. Just purchased a 4 pack.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 184