Customer Reviews for SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

Developed in cooperation with the U.S. military, government agencies, universities and others, this insect repellent offers superior protection from disease-carrying biting insects. The active ingredient is permethrin, developed from a substance called pyrethrin found in certain flowers. Not only does this product repel insects, but it actually kills ticks, mosquitoes, chiggers, mites and more than 100 other kinds of insects. Sawyer Duranon repellents are not for use on skin, but on your clothing, tents and other gear. A single application can last up to six weeks and will remain effective even if you wash the garment once a week. Permethrin is odorless when dry, and during the drying process it chemically bonds with the fibers of the treated garment, but will not stain or damage clothing, fabrics, plastics, finished surfaces, or any of your outdoor gear. Available: 9-oz. aerosol can, 24-oz. spray, 9-oz. aerosol can 4-pack, 24-oz. spray 4-pack.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 217
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 217 reviews
5 Stars
186
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
209 out of 217(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Review 1 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleased with this Product

Date:June 16, 2015
Have used it on clothing and it has been great, no bugs bothering me. Also had an issue with carpenter bees, nothing was working, sprayed the areas they were hitting and they immediately disappeared and have not come back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No insect bites

Date:June 16, 2015
Must obviously work, as I have not got any tick bites, even though working in the tick infested Ozarks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It works.

Date:June 16, 2015
Within the first ten minutes at my WI hunting land I had three ticks crawling on me without the product on my clothes or boots. After treatment, not one over three days. Beats spraying all the other smelly products on you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I hate ticks

Date:June 9, 2015
I trust this product to keep ticks off me and my gear, ordorless when it dries so great for hunting & hiking. If you are allergic to Chrysanthemum do not use this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tick Free

Date:June 9, 2015
I followed the directions with this product and during more than twenty days of turkey hunting I never had one tick on me. During my hunts I almost always sit directly on the ground, too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:June 9, 2015
I would not go in the woods without it, weather early bow or spring turkey. I have never had a tick, chigger on me. GREAT product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:June 9, 2015
Great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Keeps the Ticks off

Date:June 2, 2015
I always use this on my cloths as it keeps the Ticks off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Must

Date:May 19, 2015
This really does the trick, very effect
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

does what needs to

Date:May 19, 2015
bought this to keep ticks off while turkey hunting this year in ct as they are bad this year. sprayed camo and let dry 2 days and applied another day before not one tick my partner didn't want to use it found ticks on him all morning long!!! he went out bought a can for next outting GREAT PRODUCT!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First step in tick defense

Date:May 19, 2015
Have been using this for years here in Kentucky and wouldn't think of going into the woods in clothing that wasn't treated with Permethrin. It works and it lasts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product for turkey hunters

Date:April 7, 2015
I sprayed this product on all of my Turkey hunting clothes, vest, boots and hat and didn't have any bug problems during my spring turkey hunts. When you have turkeys in close the last thing you want is bugs buzzing around your face as you can't get away with any movement. I have told many of my fellow turkey hunters about this product after they are back at camp picking ticks off of themselves. Read the directions on the bottle and enjoy a bug free hunt. I also have a Thermacell but this may work better for all around protection, especially ticks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

classic choice and best choice

Date:March 31, 2015
I have been using its bigger bottle spray for years and worked well, take long time to finish it and always leaky, I just love this one because it sprays smoothly and better way, your hunting gear will be ready to go to forest by using this product, I appreciate!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one of the best purchases

Date:February 27, 2015
I turkey hunt and that means alot of ticks.I applied the repellent according to directions.I watch the ticks crawl part of the way up my pant leg then watch them fall off.
AWSUM!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tick killer

Date:January 20, 2015
The best product I have ever used to keep ticks in check. I have used Sawyer repellent for four or five years with great results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

insect repellant spray

Date:December 16, 2014
Good stuff really works
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent purchase

Date:December 9, 2014
I've been using it for years. I prefer the spray over the aerosol. it goes a lot farther and being a big guy I have no problem covering at least 3 complete outfits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Tick Repellant

Date:November 11, 2014
This product works great! Will save you a trip to the doctors office.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Tick Repelent

Date:November 10, 2014
When used properly last for weeks. Dont go in the woods again with out the clothes spray
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Never has let me down.....

Date:October 28, 2014
Sayer is the best repellent for clothes period. I hunt in tick infested areas and I have never seen a tick on my person since i have been using it for the past 5 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 217