Customer Reviews for SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

SAWYER Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent

Developed in cooperation with the U.S. military, government agencies, universities and others, this insect repellent offers superior protection from disease-carrying biting insects. The active ingredient is permethrin, developed from a substance called pyrethrin found in certain flowers. Not only does this product repel insects, but it actually kills ticks, mosquitoes, chiggers, mites and more than 100 other kinds of insects. Sawyer Duranon repellents are not for use on skin, but on your clothing, tents and other gear. A single application can last up to six weeks and will remain effective even if you wash the garment once a week. Permethrin is odorless when dry, and during the drying process it chemically bonds with the fibers of the treated garment, but will not stain or damage clothing, fabrics, plastics, finished surfaces, or any of your outdoor gear. Available: 9-oz. aerosol can, 24-oz. spray, 9-oz. aerosol can 4-pack, 24-oz. spray 4-pack.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.78 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(232 Reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 232 reviews
5 Stars
200
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
224 out of 232(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Review 1 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tick free hunting

Date:December 29, 2015
I've been using Saywer/ permethrin for years and I spent at least a couple of weeks a year, hunting deer in Virginia. Ever since I start using this product I haven't seen a single tick on my hunting clothes or my car.
Great product. I highly recommend this great safe chemical to all hunters and outdoor enthusiasts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This product works!

Date:December 15, 2015
My first day in deer season was earmarked by the presence of deer ticks...never seen them before in this area. After a "tick check" by my wife, a hot shower, and another "tick check," I found an embedded tick in my forearm. That night I purchased some Sawyer's Permethrin Repellent and treated all my outerwear, cushion, fanny pack, etc. It took about 15 mins. to complete the process, and I allowed everything to dry overnight. (The labels says it drys in two hours.) From that point on I never saw another tick. My son hunted with me one day and he had them crawling all over him. Standing alongside of him I had NO ticks. I hunted through season's end and did not encounter another tick. The label claims the treatment last six weeks and that was the case for me. I will always treat my clothing with Sawyers from now on..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best buy ever

Date:November 29, 2015
this stuff is the bet i've ever used i tried it out the day after i bought it and it worked just like i was told it would the only down fall is you can't spray it in doors the smell while spraying it inside will make you fell sick i spayed all my hunting gear with it and after 42 days i'll have to reorder more that 42 days is how long it will last and even if i wash my hunting clothes i'll not have to respray them again i would recommend this to everyone plus i suggest that you spray it out doors.not sorry i bought this
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No Ticks!

Date:November 18, 2015
I have been using this product for the past four years and have not found a tick on me or my clothing. Once dried it is scent free.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ticked off

Date:November 18, 2015
Tried to find something to keep ticks off in the spring and fall. Sawyers did the trick. Haven't had 1 since I tried it. Follow the instructions for applying it and you will be pleased with the results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:November 10, 2015
I have been using this for years on my clothes and gear. My friends that don't use it are busy picking ticks off themselves. This simply works awesome every time you use it - and you don't have to douse yourself in deet and other potentially harmful chemicals. Treat your clothes and boots and gear and go out with confidence
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works well

Date:November 3, 2015
When first applying it has a strong chemical smell, but once it drys and airs out a day the smell dissiapates. It has worked great. You can see the mosquitoes flying up to your gear but not a single bite while wearing it. Also it has lasted 4 wash cycles with no issues. Be advised you still need insect repellant on exposed skin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worked as advertised.

Date:October 6, 2015
Sprayed my hunting clothes and boots and avoided all of the preseason issues I was having with seed ticks. Would recommend this product to anyone that hunts in the South!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Security for Family

Date:August 18, 2015
Ticks here in Ontario are getting worse. My father in law was bitten by a black legged tick, that was confirmed to have The Powassan Virus. He was in ICU for over 7 weeks, and is now in Rehab learning how to walk again.
My family has now put this product on all of their hiking clothes, and since then all is well. This product needs to be available in Canada
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Use it regularly

Date:August 11, 2015
I hunt I tick and chigger infested woods. I make sure this is on my boots and all my clothes.
It makes a huge difference.
I keep it handy before I go in the woods. Spray bottle sends a mist on my clothes. Supposed to work thru 6 Washings, but can't hurt to do a mist before each hunt.
Do not get it on your skin per instructions.
Inexpensive solution to tick and chigger bits that last 2 weeks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Permethrin

Date:August 4, 2015
Went squirrel hunting and the flying bugs were everywhere especially in the weeds and the trail I was on had plenty. No bites of any kind. I highly recommend this brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

keep the bugs away

Date:July 28, 2015
I spray this on my fly fishing shirt and hat at the beginning of the spring and it keeps the gnats, flies and mosquitoes off my face and hands all through the summer. I use the aerosol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than OFF

Date:July 21, 2015
Used this on a Canadian fishing trip with better results than the brand OFF that others had
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent choice

Date:July 21, 2015
If there is a mosquito or chigger within 100 miles it will travel to find me. Bought the Permethrin repellent for a Boy Scout canoeing trip to the Boundary Waters in northern Minnesota knowing the reputation there for loads of mosquitoes! Wearing long sleeves, rubber gloves, eye protection and a face mask (followed precautions for not inhaling or getting it on skin for she says where she did get some skin contact her skin was tingly) my wife sprayed our clothing which the permethrin. I honestly believe it made a world of difference! Yes there were mosquitoes everywhere and they swarmed about me and my son but we were not bitten! If the others had tried this their skin might not have looked like a plague of continuous bites!
Take note-another adult tried the Permethrin as well but he had water repellent clothing which prevented the repellent from absorbing into the fabric so it was not as effective for him.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

this is a must have product

Date:June 30, 2015
Lyme dease is a huge problem and not understood by many in the medical field. I use this product all the time on any of my clothes I wear doing yard work, or simply taking my be able for a walk. Have yet to come home with a tick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleased with this Product

Date:June 16, 2015
Have used it on clothing and it has been great, no bugs bothering me. Also had an issue with carpenter bees, nothing was working, sprayed the areas they were hitting and they immediately disappeared and have not come back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No insect bites

Date:June 16, 2015
Must obviously work, as I have not got any tick bites, even though working in the tick infested Ozarks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It works.

Date:June 16, 2015
Within the first ten minutes at my WI hunting land I had three ticks crawling on me without the product on my clothes or boots. After treatment, not one over three days. Beats spraying all the other smelly products on you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I hate ticks

Date:June 9, 2015
I trust this product to keep ticks off me and my gear, ordorless when it dries so great for hunting & hiking. If you are allergic to Chrysanthemum do not use this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sawyer® Duranon Permethrin Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tick Free

Date:June 9, 2015
I followed the directions with this product and during more than twenty days of turkey hunting I never had one tick on me. During my hunts I almost always sit directly on the ground, too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 232