Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Meat Grinders

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Meat Grinders

Our manually operated meat grinders sport heavy-duty cast-iron construction with double-tin plating to resist stains and corrosion. All come complete with knife, two grinding plates (3/8" coarse and 3/16" fine) and sausage-stuffer tube. Available: No. 10 Grinder ? 3" x 4" hopper opening. Grinds 2 to 3 lbs. of meat per minute. No. 22 Grinder ? 4" x 5" hopper opening. Grinds 3 to 4 lbs. per minute.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.726 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
10
40 out of 51(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Review 1 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate, NY HUNTER OF THE WHITE TAIL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

# 10 Meat Grinder

Date:January 25, 2010
I have had my meat grinder about 3 weeks now and have used it three times. I must say it was easy to use and clean, set up is a snap. I really enjoy the venison chili I make with it and you will too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Meatgrinder

Date:January 20, 2010
I bought the smaller unit and followed the tips on this site for taking it apart and cleaning it and putting a coat of vegetable oil on it to protect it. I plan on using it this weekend. The only thing that I think could be better is the clamp that holds it to the table could be wider. It will fit a standard table, however my workbench is a lttle wider and it will not fit there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:January 18, 2010
The meat grinder works great and it was easy to put together. I ground up the leftover Christmas turkey for turkey salad and it worked great and was easy to operate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Meat grinder

Date:January 4, 2010
Would not feed meat wrapped around auger tried everything will be returning this item as does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: morrill, ne.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabelas's meat grinder

Date:November 30, 2009
although it is a hand operated grinder, the quality is good. this is just a prelude to me buying a electric grinder. this i will use for ssmall jobs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Park Hills, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

almost 5 stars

Date:October 30, 2009
I'm not sure why some reviewers are having trouble with their grinders. I had never used a grinder before on wild game and thought it would be a good addition to my home processing. I purchased a Cabelas #22 and could not be happier. I would have given it 5 stars but on the one I purchased one of the feet is a little short. I had to place shims between the short foot and the mounting board so it would not rock when used. Aside from that it worked perfectly. The first time I used it I had 20lbs pf perfectly ground venison in just a few minutes. Had I known it was going to work as well as it did, I would have prepared more meat for grinding. Make sure you coat the machine with oil after use or it will rust, just like any other brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not so good, but......

Date:October 19, 2009
I guess you get what you pay for! The grinder works.....barely.....but was the right price to take to Montana for our college kids there to grind their venison! My husband and I bought it , taking it to them at their request to grind their "harvest"........it was challenging in that the auger would not grind in a smooth manner, metal pieces were not smoothly matched.....we had to loosen front plate periodically to get it to grind, at the risk of over-loosening and getting meat caught around the center......and not cutting........
BUT.....
it did grind the meat, and when offered with the option to return it, my son felt it was better to have a poor grinder than NO grinder, so he opted to keep it...for now.....
Bottom line: if you are desperate, it will work....but challenging.... Save your pennies, and go with a better model....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Happy Chef

Date:September 21, 2009
I bought this for a class I was doing and needed a grinder when the blade to the electric grinder I was using got misplaced. It was great. It took me back to the days in grandma's kitchen before they had electric meat grinders. You have to remember to keep the pieces cold to get the best results, but this was truly a find and I was very happy to be able to teach a new generation, an old but effective method.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hollis, Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Meat Grinder #10

Date:September 20, 2009
Excellent grinder right out of the box. Takes way more arm strength and time than the big electric grinders, but that is why I got it in the first place. My old grinder left a funny burnt taste in a lot of the venison I put back. This one does the job and does it well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

don't waste your money

Date:June 15, 2009
The grinder worked fine...but after 1 use all the blades were covered w/rust. Waste of money..definitely wouldn't recommend to anyone..I returned it..looking for something different
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Meat Grinder

Date:April 22, 2009
This grinder worked great. The only problem was the wooden handel. IT crack the first time I used it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elba,Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

meat rinder

Date:February 9, 2009
we enjoy it. we use it all the time. we make sauage,hamburger meat. we thank you for your product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My new Cabela's #10 meat grinder

Date:February 3, 2009
I have only used the meat grinder once so far, but it has proven to be as advertised. It is heavy duty and well plated, but secures very well to any table or counter edge with the screw down vice attached to it. Just make sure it is secured tight before grinding or it will slip slightly. It grinds out meat very easily and in good quantity. The parts are very easily taken apart for cleaning in dish detergent and hot water. This is definitely a quality item.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Grinder

Date:January 26, 2009
This item was pretty dissapointing. I had no idea how "rough" the workmanship would be. The "fit and finish" is straight out of the 19th century. The parts didn't fit together very well and the threads of the parts that screw together were very rough. Luckily I had read other reviews and knew to avoid the rusting issue, but I expected better machining of the parts. I don't expect it will last very long before something strips or breaks. I may be wrong, we'll see.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Norco, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but flaws

Date:January 26, 2009
Besides that the fat and grissle got caught often on the cutting plates, it was Great! The smaller the meat was cut prior to putting it in the machine the better it works! It took a lot of muscle and the holes in the plates needed to be poked open often. A black oil started to come out with the meat when the fat was stuck on the blades too long. Overall it was great...takes a long time to make sausages but it was very GOOD!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Arlington, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's Hand Operated Meat Grinder

Date:January 21, 2009
Fundamentally a waste of money for anyone other than someone who has successfully used this type of meat grinder before. If this products works effectively at all for game, its effective use requires techniques not made clear in the instructions or anywhere else. The ports fairly rapidly block up to the point that meat will no longer exit the grinder. In ten minutes of use I got a cupful of ground meat, using meat I had already cut up into cubes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: orange,new jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabela's meat grinder #10

Date:January 2, 2009
works like a charm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyomng
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use and clean

Date:December 15, 2008
Bolt it down and grind to your hearts content. If you have hundreds of pounds buy an electric. For grinding a mule deer and antelope, it works fast and easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northeast Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

32 grinder

Date:December 4, 2008
Owned for about five years and have processed several deer. The hand cranck can be exhausting so I purchased the pully for this and attached an old air compressor motor to it, and now it works very well. You can oil the parts if you want but what I found is that if it sits for a year between uses the oil will almost glue the parts together. I found it works best to dry them immediatly after washing and pack them in plastic bags with a paper towel to absorb any remaining moisture. If it is not grinding well or mushing the meat you need to tighten the colloar a little more, this will put more force on the cutting blade, will also turn a little harder. Overall it has more than paid for itself but don't get me wrong I would prefer to have a 1hp professional model, just don't want to pay for it, until I can upgrade this one is working fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Meat Grinders
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brandon, MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice!

Date:December 2, 2008
#32 manual grinder is nice and simple. Please be sure you use a knife or scouring pad to clean each hole on the steel plates. There a tiny pieces of metal that are not cleaned off and they will ruin your meat and also your stomach! Please be very aware to get all the metal fragments off of each plate. You will enjoy this meat grinder and use it often. Easy to clean and set up!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 51