Customer Reviews for KATADYN Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter

KATADYN Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter

Filtering water in camp has never been this easy - just fill the Base Camp Microfilter, hang it up and you'll have 2.6 gallons of drinkable water in a few minutes. The gravity filter removes bacteria, giardia and cryptosporidium to EPA standards, and has an activated-carbon core that keeps water tasting and smelling fresh. Filters up to 200 gallons at a rate of 16 oz. per minute before cartridge replacement. A removable filter protector extends cartridge life in challenging conditions. Includes a 2.6-gallon water bag, removable filter protector, 48" outlet hose and on and off output hose valve.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.592 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
46 out of 49(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Review 1 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Investment

Date:October 3, 2013
For the second year now 4 guy's ate rehydrated food and drank from this water using a stream at 8,000 feet in the CO. Rockies for 10 days no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

easy to fill and huge

Date:September 17, 2013
I like it because it is huge for canoe groups to use.
I had the Sawyer which is very nice also but is smaller and harder to fill. This fills and filters quick compared to my older Sawyer gravity bag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome!!

Date:September 11, 2012
This beats the heck out of pumping!! Light weight. Takes up hardly any space.
Highly recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:July 21, 2012
Have used this bag on several elk hunts and canoe trips. Does a great job, just fill and let it filter into a clean, folding 5gal water jug for the camp needs. Easy to use, tough, closes and hangs well, no leaks, fast working, water tastes fine. My advice is to take any silty water and pre-filter it so that you don't block up the bag's filter. Recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fast and easy.

Date:May 18, 2012
I go to the Boundary Waters Canoe area quite frequently and after many trips hand pumping water through a purifier I wanted something easier. I gave this filter a try and was amazed at the ease and speed at which I could get alot of fresh water. Its light weight and easy to clean and nothing is easier after a long day of paddeling then to fill the bag and hang it from a tree.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect

Date:February 21, 2012
This worked perfect around the camp. Easy to use and filtered water quickly. Easy to transport and simply fill and hang.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montgomery, AL
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect for my use

Date:February 1, 2012
I bought this for a backcountry elk hunt. I haven't used it, but I did lots of reserch. It seems like this filter will be perfect for my use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alliance,Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Canoe Trip

Date:January 9, 2012
I used the camp filter on a 55 mile canoe trip into the Canadian wilderness. We started where the roads end and went North. It was one of the three "absolute must items" for a wilderness trip. It was light and compact and very easy to use.. Each day, It quickly provided more than enough safe drinking water for 4 big guys. I will not take a canoe or back pack trip without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Newport News, Va.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An easy solution for a clogged filter solution

Date:December 23, 2011
I like the base camp filter but I also ran into the quick clogging filter in murky water. A couple i ran into on the trail offered a simple solution. I take a container and pour water from the stream thru a coffie filter into a container then into the base camp filter bag. It dramatically extends the life of the base camp filter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was Amazed

Date:October 19, 2011
When I first put it together it leaked around the filter. Took it apart and put it back together and it was fine. It was perfect for our base camp in the Trinity Alps for 6 days during late season. We were close to water and hung it on a tree. Easy to fill and fast to filter. The guys that came along will be replacing their pumps with this. Very light weight too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use

Date:October 10, 2011
This water filter is so easy to use, and saves the wrists and elbows from wear and tear. Large volumes of water can be filtered in a short period of time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product Great Idea

Date:September 12, 2011
I have been bow hunting for more than 25 year. Most of the time we pack in 10+ miles to remote areas to hunt. We have always used the hand pump water purifiers. This year I was thinking there has got to be an easier way. Getting back late at night and having to hand pump to filter 2-3 gallons of water each day can take an hour or so.
I then came across this item and decided to give it a try. The only effort is filling it up then just hang it up and let it do the work. It seemed to hold a little more then it says and worked great. It does take a little time to filter but as long as you plan it ahead of time we always had plenty of filtered water with little to no effort. It is very light weight and takes up very little room. Would defiantly recommend to anyone doing any backpacking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boise, Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very useful

Date:August 26, 2011
I've used this product in desert springs and mountain rivers and lakes. Great base camp filter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boise, ID
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect water filter

Date:June 27, 2011
I've taken my Base Camp on a number of trips. The last two have been with about 25 school children. The paid 'guides' on the trip used filters with pumps that broke. The Base Camp I'd thrown in for my personal use and ended up saving the day. The 'guides' borrowed my Base Camp at the end of the trip because they had another trip the next day and no working filters.
I love the fact that this filter has no moving parts to break. It's dummy proof.
I try to make sure that the water that goes in is as clean as I can find. I pour the water in the bag from another vessel to make sure I don't get any unfiltered water running down the bag and down the hose.
This is my second Base Camp I've purchased. I wanted the second one to keep at home to use as part of an emergency preparedness kit.
Great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Westminster, Md
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth Every Penny!

Date:January 6, 2011
Bought this for a hike on the Appalachian Trail. My brother uses a Vario and this was intended as a back up filter and camp kitchen filter.
When it arrives you are forced to assemble it which is a great time to READ THE DIRECTIONS!! Which is the opposite of what I did in true guy fashion. I just used the pictures. Apparently there is a little bottle of lube that helps you get the filter cartridge in the bag. Had I known this, it would have been much easier to assemble. The cartridge fit is very snug so use the lube. Packing this in my pack as a little awkward. You have to roll it up so that it will fit into a pack. Take up a little room but there is almost zero weight. I was able to get mine rolled to about the size of a softball.
We get to camp and this is one of the first things I pull out. Go to the water source, fill and hang. That easy. Rolling it closed is easy too. Sure you may spill a little water rolling it closed but that is usually from over filling.
The only thing I recommend is carrying an extra cup to fill the bag. If you are dipping into a stream or other water body it's easier to keep the hose clean filling the bag with a cup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Decorah, IA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:October 3, 2010
This filter has worked wonderfully for two trips into the Boundary Waters now. Much easier to use than a pump filter in a base camp situation. Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Thatcher, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter

Date:November 18, 2009
Absolutely flawless operation. Easy to assemble, easy to use and did exactly what it was suppose to do. Would not be without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant product

Date:August 4, 2009
We do allot of back country packing and this product allows us to purify our water while enjoying the country we came to see.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CRYSTAL, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MINNESOTA BOUNDRY WATERS TRIP

Date:July 9, 2009
THE FIRST THING WE DID WHEN WE ARRIVED AT OUR CAMPSITE IN THE BWCA WAS TO SET UP THE KATADYN BASE CAMP UNIT. IT WAS EASY TO SET UP JUST HANG FROM A TREE LIMB. WE HAD IT DRIP RIGHT INTO A COLAPSABLE 5 GALLON WATER JUG, NO PUMPING AT ALL. MYSELF, MY WIFE, MY TWIN SONS ALL WERE SHOCKED AT THE FRESH TASTE OF THE WATER WITH NO ILL EFFECTS WHAT SO EVER. JUST BE EXTRA CAREFULL TO NOT CROSS CONTAMINATE FILTERED WATER WITH NON-FILTERED WATER..ITS A KEEPER...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Katadyn Base Camp Micro Filter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

katadyn

Date:February 22, 2009
We have used this filter,for 4 yrs in elk camp. Our water flows right out just below an old beaver pond and no one has ever gotten sick, it takes out all bacteria. It sure beats pumping gallons of water every day. It will freeze if left out, but during the first week of november at 9500 ft. most things do freeze.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 49