Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CABELA'S Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person

var flashOk = isFlashCurrent(6, 0, 65); if (flashOk){ document.write("<a href=\"javascript:openFlashWindowBig('/cabelas/en/common/product/popupzoom.jsp?company=cabelas&image=s7_516763_spinset_01&inStockColor=002,674,003,999&displayName=Cabelas XPG&#8482 Ultralight Tent&tProdID=0071594516763a','remote')\">360 view "); } If you're the type who covers miles of trail before you pitch camp for the night, you need the portability of this ultralightweight, packable XPG 1-person tent. DAC Featherlite® poles were selected due to their superior quality, performance and up to 15% weight reduction. DAC, an industry leader in quality, lightweight tent poles produces an exceptionally rigid pole that provides incredible recovery properties and uniform structure, important considerations for remote expedition and extreme weather conditions. The 75-denier 190T, polyester fly has a 1,500mm-rated waterproof coating for maximum protection from the elements. The fully waterproof "bathtub" floor prevents ground moisture from seeping in. The tent floor is constructed of 70-denier, 190T nylon taffeta with 1500mm PU coating. All seams are fully taped, so even moisture from a hard, driven rain won't make it inside. The top and the window mesh are constructed of 40-denier nylon No See Um Mesh. The tent walls are constructed of 68-denier 190T nylon taffeta with large mesh panels for ample ventilation. Reflective guy lines are highly visible. A large gear loft keeps clothes and supplies up and out of the way. Plus, a large vestibule lets you store your pack and boots out of the weather without having to bring them in the tent. Clips are color coded for easy setup. Single-door design with vents on the fly. Includes compression stuff sack. Imported. Capacity: 1 person. Backpacker rated this a "Killer Deal" in April 2011.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(198 Reviews) 198
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 198 reviews
5 Stars
136
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
188 out of 198(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Review 1 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas Tent

Date:August 13, 2013
Looks to be well made, planning on using it for a backpacking elk hunt. Sets up easily/packs up easily as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great backpacking tent

Date:April 23, 2013
I purchased theis tent to go backpacking and camping with my son and his scout troop. Normally, I would tow my camp trailer to go camping but that is not the scout way. Needless to say I am used to sleeping in a nice soft bed while "camping".
When I purchased the tent I also purchased the Cabelas 0 degree sleeping bag and the Cabelas tent cot. The first weekend camping trip I used my new gear on was a windy, rainy, nasty mess of a weekend. Everything in the tent stayed dry and sleeping was not a problem. I was very impressed with the quality of all my gear.
The only reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars is the cot was a little dificult to get into the tent even though the dimensions of the tent were more than enough to fit. If they redesigned the tent and put the door on the narrow side of the tent so you could just slide the cot straight in instead of putting it in at an angle and stretching the door I would purchase it.
I was a little apprehensive about tent camping but I am actually looking forward to the next hiking trip now that I know my gear can withstand the elements.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome tent

Date:March 19, 2013
I bought this tent specifically for a multi-day kayak fishing river float. Tempuratures ranged from 35-55 degrees. The tent packs nicely, is very light weight and takes a very fast 5 minutes to set up by yourself. It isn't the warmest tent so I would only recommend it for summer use or someone with a really nice sleeping bag. It was also windy and rainy on my trip but the tent kept me warm. This was a great buy for me and made setting up camp a breeze. Colors work well with wooded areas if you want to blend in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top Notch Value

Date:March 12, 2013
Perfect two person tent. Bought for BWCA trips and hiking along the shores of Lake Superior in Minnesota. Lightweight, spacious and comfortably easy to set up. Great overall value!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

light weight tent

Date:February 5, 2013
Have only used this once as I just recently bought it.
The tent sets up well in -4 F temps and seems to be OK for winter camping. Looking forward to it's use in the BWCAW this spring and summer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cramped Sleeping

Date:January 28, 2013
Easy, quick setup, even in the dark, when you're tired, and the wind is blowing
Small size = easy to find a camp spot
Durable, quality materials
My only complaint is the cramped interior. Though the floor is specified as 32" wide, I can barely get my 29" foam pad into it (it presses against the sides).
The walls are so short and narrow that it's nearly impossible to sit up fully or dress in the tent. You wouldn't want to spend a rainy afternoon inside; there's only enough space to get in and lay down.
I'm not exceptionally tall or overweight so that's not an excuse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tent

Date:December 5, 2012
Everything is great about this tent. Next design needs two doors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:November 27, 2012
I bought this for my son to go backpacking and camping with the Boy Scouts. He told me the tent was GREAT!!! Easy for him to Pack and Hike with. Several other Scouts have the exact same tent. I highly recommend this tent to anyone looking for a light weight well made and easy to use tent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tent and a great value!

Date:November 26, 2012
This is a great tent! It goes up quickly and it is really sturdy. I got caught in the rain with it a couple of times and I stayed completely dry as did my shoes in the vestibule. I'm 5'-4" average build female and the 1-person tent is a snug fit but I was able to sleep with my 60 liter bag inside with me. If the 1-person tent was 3 or 4 inches wider it would be perfect!
I also have the 2-person tent and it is great as well. However-the 2 person tent isn't as light & small as other ultralight 2p tents out there and takes up a lot of space-something to consider if you have a smallish pack.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabela's xpg ultralight tent

Date:November 26, 2012
it seems to be really good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trekking through the North Sisters wilderness

Date:October 1, 2012
I decided to get out of the city scene, so I pack my pack and headed east from Springfield OR. I spent 5 days on the north side of the North Sister mountain, The XPG ultraligt was quick and easy to set up, I have the three person, There was plenty of room for my self and my gear, The tent held up to some fierce winds and some morning moister.... The tent was great, I recommend it for any one!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2 man XPG Ultralight Tent One of are better buys

Date:August 28, 2012
We've used this tent several times since purchasing. Warm to hot weather camping so far works great set's up in about a minute a two man foam sleep pad from Cabela's is prefect in it plenty of room for two adults.Have not used it in foul weather yet but I'm sure I well not have no problems and Cabela's equipent well last you for years I have been using a six man Alaskan guide model for twenty years and one zipper just barley started giving me trouble that's a pretty good track record.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Backpacking Tent.

Date:August 27, 2012
Fantastic tent. Very light weight and small for packing. Water proofing is phenomenal. I was on a trip this spring with some other hikers in Hoosier National Forest and an overnight storm rolled in, a real gully washer. Everyone was soaked except for me! Thank you Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Tent!

Date:July 24, 2012
I just used this tent last week on a camping trip for my birthday. I had it set up in less than 15 min, way before my friends had there's put up. The poles are super light weight and I like how the door opens up and tucks out of the way. With the size sleeping bag I have, I could not imagine 3 people in there. Perfect for 2, I'm 6' 4". The rain fly is very nice, sits very low to keep wind out. I love this tent! Great purchase! Nice job Cabelas!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tent !!

Date:July 24, 2012
The XPG ultralight is a great little tent, we had rain on our first use and we both stayed dry!! Seems very durable for the extremely light weight. We especially liked the props to keep the vents open on the fly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far so good

Date:July 18, 2012
I recently purchased the XPG two person tent and used it just this past weekend. I have used it two days in light rain with little wind and it worked great. For only having two poles it is pretty sturdy. It packs small also which allowed me to put it in a tote and not out in the open when traveling in the car. The only improvement that can be made on it would be two doors so you can exit on either side. While it was just me in the tent it will be a pain if there are two of us in the tent.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stayed Dry!

Date:July 16, 2012
We hiked the Chilkoot Trail in Alaska and used this tent. 2 of the 3 nights it rained and we stayed completely dry. We had the 3 person tent and slept 3 people very comfortably. Easy to set up and take down, packs small and light and gives plenty of protection from the elements. One of the "Great Buys" for the trip.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Tent

Date:July 2, 2012
The two-person tent is great for one individual and their gear. I would not use this tent in freezing conditions as it is very light weight and the dome is open. Easy to set up and take down – ready to use in less than five minutes. I bought it specifically to use on overnight motorcycle trips due to its size, weight, and because the XPG’s great quality. I also own a four-season XPG and you just cannot go wrong with these tents. I highly recommend this tent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tent!

Date:July 2, 2012
As always, you can expect top quality merchandise when from Cabelas. I am so pleased with my choice, as I was considering other brands for the same price and higher. Great quality, extra touches of fantastic construction, and high quality materials. I have the 3 person size, and is plenty big for two, three, or just one and live like a king out in the woods!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's XPG® Ultralight Tent ™ 1-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:June 12, 2012
Rained every day on a BWCA trip in May. Stayed dry the whole time in the tent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 198