Customer Reviews for MasterBuilt Masterbuilt Electric Smokers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MasterBuilt Masterbuilt Electric Smokers

Digital controls help you make culinary masterpieces with the new Masterbuilt Smoker. The heating element adjusts from 100° to 275° and is regulated by a digital thermostat, providing evenness in cooking temperature. The wood of your choice smolders in the electrically heated, removable wood chute. Insulated walls trap heat and eliminate drying. Four racks for cooking sausage, chicken, ham, fish, jerky and vegetables, providing 640 sq. inches of cooking space. Weight: 52.5 lb. Capacity: 29"H x 15-3/4"W x 17"D. Dimensions: 33"H x 20"W x 21"L.Available: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.336 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(435 Reviews) 435
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 435 reviews
5 Stars
283
4 Stars
90
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
15
1 Star
30
389 out of 435(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Review 81 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Ease of Smoking

Date:February 10, 2008
Granted you have the preparation of the food you are smoking but outside of that we have found the Masterbuilt smoker to be so simple and easy to use. We tried other charcoal smoker but the design and ease of use made smoking somewhat cumbersome.
The electric smoker is great. We use it all the time - and in the winter have not had any problems with it keeping temperature. We live in NH but use the smoker in the garage during the winter (aroung 30 - 40 degrees).
It's great. We typically smoke meat for a week or two and do very little cooking during the week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: LA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SMOKER

Date:February 12, 2008
VERY PLEASED WITH THIS MASTERBUILT SMOKER,I HAVE SMOKED DEER SAUSAGE,CHICKEN, PORK ROAST AND FISH, ALL WERE GREAT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Makes Smoking Easy

Date:February 19, 2008
Great smoker
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Turn it on and walk away

Date:February 20, 2008
Bought it as a slow cooker . Not to smoke . The lack of flare-ups , ease of use , large capacity , ease of clean-up were the main reasons to get it .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

first smoker review

Date:February 20, 2008
This is the first smoker I have used. Ease of operation is very good could not think of any way to improve.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MELBOURNE FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ELECTRIC SMOKER

Date:February 20, 2008
BEST THING I'VE BOUGHT IN A LONG TIME. EVEN THE WIFE LOVES TO SMOKE FOOD ON IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Paso Robles, Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Faulty Door Latch

Date:February 20, 2008
Masterbuilt made smoking easyer.
2-problems with the unit though....
#1 The door latch fail aprart the first time I used it, bad design and no easy way to fix it.
#2 Don't leave the unit out side, if it gets wet you will be buying new electronics, how knows what that would cost or even if masterbuilt will be in business when you need them.
Donald, Master Chef
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bozeman, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smoker is great!

Date:February 20, 2008
My husband just loves his smoker he got for Christmas! The electronics on it makes smoking easy. You can just set the time and temp. and walk away. We made 30 lbs. of sausage and could fit about half of our sausages in the first batch. They turned out awesome! I would highly recommend this smoker!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Laurinburg, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Electric Smoker

Date:February 20, 2008
I love my Masterbuilt Electric Smokers; I couldn’t wait for it to be delivered. As soon as I received it I got started. Read the instructions on letting it burn in. I tried a few different meats within the first week. The meat came out nice and juicy and smoked. I love the digital electronic temperature gauge, just set the temp and the hours you want and wait for that good smoked meat. It will automatically shut down power to the unit, according to the time you preset it for. I really like that safety feature. It is very easy to install the digital electronic temperature box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dickinson, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice smoker

Date:February 20, 2008
Great smoker, I used it last week when it was five degree's out side and it worked great. I would recommend this product if you are new to smoking like I am. Can't wait to use it when it gets warmer out side!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Masterbuilt Electric Smokers

Date:February 20, 2008
Good product for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hollister, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

can't believe I've paid others to ruin my game

Date:February 22, 2008
This smoker has exceeded my expectations. Have smoked chicken, pheasant, salmon, and duck. The provided cookbook times have been spot on and the game is moister than I ever expected. Butchers have been overcooking my game for years and I never knew it.
Takes about thirty minutes to get up to 225 degrees but once there it maintains temperature on a cold, windy, rainy 40 degrees without a problem. Loading wood chips is easy and electronic temp/timer control is the only way to go, when your food is cooked the required time the unit shuts off!!
Electronic controllers digital numbers are difficult to read in daylight (not bright enough to see), have to shadow with hand, and the seal has partially come out once, but has stayed in since. My unit came with a door latch which works great.
Good unit with good quality. I feel I've made the right choice after a month of research.
PS Bradley smoker cover fits this unit perfectly!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

incredible

Date:February 24, 2008
I do most of my smoking on wild game during the hunting season of late fall and winter in Minnesota. This smoker is so well insulated falling snow doesn't melt on top of the smoker. Hot water in the pan speeds up internal temp increase rapidly. I have used the refrigerator, charcoal, and charcoal/electric smokers. There is no comparison. This is the Best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mississippi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Masterbuilt Smoker = GREAT!

Date:February 26, 2008
I have owned 5 or 6 smokers both electric and charcoal. I've never had one that works as good as the Masterbuilt Smoker.
I ordered mine in January I've used it about 8 times in the month I've owned it and it's GREAT. It works exactly like it's supposed to work. I wish the manual had more recipes, but that's not a problem.
Best ribs I've ever cooked. Perfect Smoked chicken, Perfect Pork Butts. Perfect smoked beef roasts. No problems, well made, Just set the temperature, set the time, put the meat inside and leave it until the time says the meat is done.
The stainless steel inside grill work is easy to clean.
This is as close to a perfect smoker as I've found, and I've looked at nearly everyone on the market, including the "high dollar" stainless smokers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Albertville, Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smoking made easy!

Date:March 1, 2008
After years of struggling with various smokers and cooking techniques, this Masterbuilt smoker has made life easy. The electric unit is very convenient...simply set the temperature and cooking time, place your prepared meats inside, and walk away! Today I smoked baby back ribs and two chickens. I smoked them at the same temperature (225 degrees) for three hours. At that point I removed the chickens and placed the ribs inside a foil packet and smoked for an additional hour and a half. The chicken was delicious...smoky and tender and very moist. After removing the ribs, I applied a light glaze of apple juice and syrup mixed together. The ribs were absolutely delicious...super tender, smoky and full of flavor. Clean up is a breeze with hot water. I highly recommend this item. The price is very reasonable and the quality is outstanding. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smoker

Date:March 10, 2008
I've used this a couple of times now and havent had any problems with the door seal or anything else. I smoked some snack sticks and got about 8 lbs of 1/2" sticks layed out on the racks. I like the digital temp and timer control as it shuts down automatically after the timer preset is met.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent smoker!!

Date:March 15, 2008
I have never smoked any kind of meats before, but with this electric smoker, anyone can! It's so easy to use and makes such tender smoked meats. I have a brisket in there right now and can't wait for it to get done!
The electronic thermostat/timer is exactly correct and simple to use and the case and door is well made. The racks are easily removed for cleaning and the added wood chip tray is perfect in that you don't have to keep opening the door to add wood (which lets out the heat).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boise
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Smoker!

Date:March 16, 2008
Bought this smoker just for smoking a turkey for Thanksgiving 2007. I first brined the turkey with salt, brown sugar, and apple juice. I then smoked it at 225 degrees using a combination of apple, cherry, and hickory chips. It was a 12 lb turkey and took about 2 hours and 45 minutes, about the time it took for a meat thermometer in the breast to reach 170 degrees. (Caution, the directions included say 12 hours. WAY OFF!).
I'm really critical of my own cooking, but this turkey was the best turkey I've ever had, and I've fried my own turkeys in the past. It was the juiciest, most flavorable turkey I've ever tasted!
I've since smoked a tri-tip and ribs with good results. Plan on doing a brisket shortly.
Being this is my first smoker and first time smoking, I thought it would be much more complex than it it is. This smoker made it really easy and I'm quite happy with the results. The only real issue is that the smoker requires adding new chips about every 45 minutes, so smoking a brisket for 8 hours will be a bit tedious. Some smokers allow you to fill a bin so it's smoke and go for long smokes.
The chips load in from the side so no need to open the smoker.
It is also really easy to clean. I just put the various removable grates and pans in the dishwasher and use a damp sponge to wipe out the inside.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pensacola,FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Masterbuilt Electric Smoker

Date:March 17, 2008
This is a great product and easy to use. Set the timer and the temperature, and your meat comes out perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Argos, Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Serious Sausage Makers Reconsider

Date:March 19, 2008
I own several smokers including the Masterbuilt and use them frequently. The Masterbuilt Electric Smoker has several deficiencies that render it inadequate for sausage making where consistant low temperatures are required for long periods and drying is required.
1. Temperature swing. The temperature inside the smoker can vary plus or minus by as much as 10 Degrees from the temperature set on the electronic thermostat, dependent on ambient weather conditions. The temperature swings up and down with each heating cycle. The reason is that an electric heating element is used that is turned on or off by the thermostat. When the set temperature is reached the thermostat shuts power off to the heating element but the element keeps on generating heat until it cools down. Consequently the temperature continues to rise past the set point on the thermostat. The same happens in reverse when the thermostat turns the element on. It takes a while once switched on by the thermostat for the heating element to get hot enough to raise the tempurature of the smoker. In the meantime, the temperature is dropping below the set point. Observe the cooking elements on an electric stove and the problem can be easily seen. It takes a while for the burner to get hot and even longer for it to get cool.
2. Ventilation. There are no dampers or a smoke stack on this smoker. The cooking chamber is an airtight box. There is no air or smoke circulation. This permits creosote to build up on your food and the interior of the smoker. Smoke is generated by smoldering wood chunks or chips in an oxygen deficient environmet. The allows for excessive creosote build up with no way to vent it. Open the door of the smoker to check on your food and you can have an instant flare up(flames) of the wood chips or chunks. There is no ventilation of moisture. You can't use this smoker as a food dehydrator or adequately dry sausage in in it.
3. Hot spots. There are considerable variations of temperature
by location in the cooking chamber. The top right corner gets the hottest. In order to get a 3" dia. by 12" long salamie to cook evenly I had to keep rotating it end to end. Left alone the internal tempurature on the left end of the salamie was also 6 degrees cooler the the right end. Lack of ventilation and air circulation is probably the cause of these hot spots along with the location of the heating element which is on the riht hand side of the cooking chamber.
This smoker will do an acceptable job of slow cooking and smoking such items as brisket, pork butts, ribs, and chickens where teperatures of 210 to 235 degrees are used. The temperature variations won't matter in this application. Just go easy on the wood to avoid creosote buildup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 81-100 of 435