Customer Reviews for MasterBuilt Masterbuilt Electric Smokers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MasterBuilt Masterbuilt Electric Smokers

Digital controls help you make culinary masterpieces with the new Masterbuilt Smoker. The heating element adjusts from 100° to 275° and is regulated by a digital thermostat, providing evenness in cooking temperature. The wood of your choice smolders in the electrically heated, removable wood chute. Insulated walls trap heat and eliminate drying. Four racks for cooking sausage, chicken, ham, fish, jerky and vegetables, providing 640 sq. inches of cooking space. Weight: 52.5 lb. Capacity: 29"H x 15-3/4"W x 17"D. Dimensions: 33"H x 20"W x 21"L.Available: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.336 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(435 Reviews) 435
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 435 reviews
5 Stars
283
4 Stars
90
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
15
1 Star
30
389 out of 435(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Review 21 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: East Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Masterbuilt Smoker-electrical problems! Dont Buy!

Date:November 7, 2009
Have had Masterbuilt electric smoker for 11 months. Up to this point was a good smoker. Prepped ribs for smoking and went to heat up smoker and nothing! The heating element did not work. Took the element off the inside and found the wiring to the element (thru the back wall) was disconnected, connectors broken or burnt thru??? I use this smoker approx 1x month. This is not good! now this smoker is a useless piece of junk!!@!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Belgrade, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

mastrcrcraft

Date:July 26, 2009
Did not get hot enough to smoke the chips. All it did was cook and not smoke. Also is very poor construction. I am very disapointed in this product and would not recomend to buy, a total piece of junk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Port Colborne, Ontario
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Masterbuild electric smoker model-20070206

Date:March 8, 2009
My first smoker did work 9 months, and heating element was gone. Under warranty I got a new one, and after 10 months the heating element is gone again. Imagine this: the smoker is full of meat and it does stop work in have way.
I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pacific Northwest
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor smoker

Date:March 4, 2009
This Masterbuilt smoker is the very worst of many I have had in my search for a good reliable smoker. The temp fluctuates a full 20 deg up and down from the temp the unit is set at. This is not acceptable for salmon, or anything else for that matter. The fit of the pull out shelves on the brackets is lousy. I nearly pulled the unit over trying to pull out a shelf full of salmon. Don't waste your money. It is going back, and I will try another brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mayflower, AR.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dont wast your money

Date:January 10, 2009
Ibought this masterbuilt smoker about a year ago. I used it about 8 times and keep it in the garage. This morning we loaded it with meat for a family dinner. The heating light came on but eliment wound not heat up. The heating eliment is not replaceable. The times it worked it did a good job but for the short life I would not recomend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very poor Quality

Date:December 23, 2008
First I would like to say that Cabelas and their customer service is outstanding. I cannot say enough good things about them. Second, this smoker is junk. I would like to see Cabelas stop carrying it. When it first arrived the back of it was bent and the drip tray would barely fit on. The seal on the door was warped and did not fit right and the door was loose. I emailed Masterbuilt twice and recieved an answer 2 weeks later saying that I could return it to Cabelas. I thought as long as it worked ok I would keep it. The first time I used it was ok. The second time I loaded it up with 30 pounds of pork butts and ribs. I went to start it and the display was blank and would not power up. I had to cook the meat in the oven. I called Mastebuilt and the "best" they could do is send a new control panel in 3 weeks. I have had enough of Masterbuilt and their very poorly built smoker and poor customer service. I will promptly return this product. If I could give it a negative rating I would. Don't waste your money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

stainless smoker

Date:December 10, 2008
First one ordered had to go back for exchange....seal falling off door and scratched up. 2nd one still had seal problems and had to add fireplace "rope" to effectively seal. Wood chip holder is exactly that....just chips. Too small for wood chunks. Would not recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worthless product

Date:June 1, 2008
This product is not worth a dime! I used this smoker 4 times within a years time. The electronic panel completely failed and was doa. The food was subpar at best. An electric smoker just does not generate enough smoke to produce decent bbq. I would not recommend this product at all! Get yourself a charcoal bullet smoker and make some great food. Yes its a charcoal smoker but I can run it for 8 hours on a single load of charcoal and apple wood.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Madison,Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

masterbuilt black electric smoker

Date:March 22, 2008
I bought this smoker just for making sausage and jerky because it could run between 100-200 degrees. I needed the low temp for cold smoking sausage snack sticks. First of all the smoker ran 30 degrees higher than the preset temp so my 100 degrees was 130. Next I only ran the smoker at 140 which is really 170 for 5 hours. My sausage sticks were burnt in some spots and fine in others. I could have done a better job with my weber charcoal smoker. If I could give this no stars I would. Also looks cheap.Thank you Cabellas for your great return policy. Buyer beware
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Green Lane, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed

Date:November 25, 2007
I purchased this unit with the hopes of smoking deer jerky, other meats and fish. It appeared to be relatively simple to use, clean and above all relatively compact from my review of other units. However, my first use of this item was met with disgust since I was not able to maintain the temperature, the unit shut-down repeatedly and required a great deal of monitoring. The unit required to be reset constantly. My second experience with the unit was met with further disappointment. I was not able to turn-on the unit. I dismantled the electric box to ensure all connections were firmly connected and nevertheless, the unit would not function at all.
I have read the many five star reviews about this unit prior to purchasing and after my use. I may simply have a lemon!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

smoker

Date:September 26, 2011
it works when it work
had 3 break down in 2 years
good price warranty is a must
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't buy this smoker if you want to smoke fish

Date:September 4, 2011
Some buddies and I chipped in a bought this smoker with the hopes of smoking our annual freezers full of salmon. However, the unit is not capable of producing smoke at temperatures below 225 degrees. NOTE: This was confirmed with a phone call to Masterbuilt. I can't understand why they would make a smoker with these issues. That renders it useless to someone like me that wants to smoke fish and other game at temperatures in the 160 degree range. We have made some "after market modifications" to get the thing to smoke, but I am sure we have voided any warranty and probably have created a fire hazard. The chip pan sits well above the heating element, almost a full 1/2", and is further separated by two sheets of sheet metal, making it nearly impossible to get the chips to start combusting at lower temperatures. If I did a lot of smoking of hams or other meats where I needed the 225+ degrees, this unit would be sweet. I like the size, the racks, accessibility, the controls, and the construction is solid. Therefore I am giving it two stars instead of one star. However, I would not recommend this brand to anyone looking to smoke fish. The literature that accompanies the smoker does not account for any of this. I have tried 10 different chip configurations (dust, chips, pellets, pucks, etc) and nada. From what I have read on Cabelas and other websites, the Bradley units (and I am sure, some others), can provide a better smoke output at lower temperatures. There were some other online reviews of this product that indicated an owner can contact the company and receive a free modified smoking pan, but whats the point of that? Why not make the thing right to begin with? Again, if you are smoking ribs and other stuff, go for it. But don't expect to get a good smoke output for any meats at lower temperatures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Colorado, Alaska, Florida Keys
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DOES NOT SMOKE BELOW 205 degrees-NOT GOOD FOR FISH

Date:July 4, 2011
This smoker does a fantastic job on pork and poultry, with the exception of the hot spots that can burn your meat or dry out the ends of ribs if you get it too close to the heat element or the back wall.
The MAIN reason I am not that pleased, is that it DOES NOT PRODUVE SMOKE at temperatures BELOW 205 degrees (farenheit).
If you dont' smkoe fish, this is a GREAT choice...if you are trying to smoke fish at lwoer temps, like 160 as the guide suggests, you will be disappointed.
Hope this helps others!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Columbus, OH
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Buy Another Brand

Date:June 14, 2011
I bought this last November and have used it 12-15 times and it has 2 significant problems: It doesn't work when it is cold outside and it does not create much smoke
1) As soon as it dropped to 35 outside it would not work. To get it to work you need to keep the control unit in the house and reconnect it in when you are ready to use it. You also need to "warm up" the temp sensor inside the smoker - i just held it between my thumb and index finger until it got to an acceptable temperature and would turn on.
2) The tray for the wood chips doesn't get hot enough to generate much smoke. I've taken it out after 9 hours and it would still have the original chips in - they looked slightly charred. I've had to put a tray directly on the heating element to get smoke - incredibly inconvenient especially to refill...I'm currently trying to devise a fix for this
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Othello wa.
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Masterbuilt electric smoker

Date:January 31, 2011
Overall it works good, but if you are trying to smoke meat at lower temps then 170 it does not keep the plate hot enough to keep the wood chips smoking!!!. (Not happy about that:( cause the reason I bought it was to smoke meats at lower temps)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Toledo, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Will it work?

Date:January 24, 2011
Went up to the Dundee store and bought one off the floor in the box. Got home and found that one of the corners was smashed in. Called Cabela's and they said they'd have one ready for me when I got there. Loaded up the unit and headed home. Took it out of the box, all looked good. Put it out on the porch (14 degrees outside) and started it up to season it. Came back in a hour and it was stone cold. Had an error code, "AEEP" on the display.. Called MasterBulit and they said because it was so cold I had to warm the temperature sensor. I'll try that and see what happens. Film at 11.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Smoker Problems in warm weather

Date:May 23, 2010
I can't get enough smoke from this thing. I tried smoking ribs (125 - 140) the wood chips only burn when the electric elements are on. With such low temperstures it does'nt stay on long enough to get the wood chips going. I tried to cook the ribs today the outside temp had reached 90. Maybe with lower temperatures (fall & spring) this thing may stay on longer. Any advice???
Would you recommend this product to a friend? -I'm not completely sold on this thing. My opinion would be MAYBE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Friendswood, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not much smoke here

Date:February 8, 2010
I'll start by saying I haven't really given this unit a fair chance but so far, there doesn't seem to be much smoke, therefore smoke flavor, generated in the cooking process. It holds heat fine but cleanup is a bear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Masterbuilt Technical Support

Date:December 30, 2009
We've had the smoker for a few years and never overused it. The element died on Christmas eve with 2 pork roasts in it. I finished them in the oven and tried to order the replacement part through customer service. The customer service rep said that they don't stock replacement parts for our unit so they can't help us.
Very disappointed and will have to buy a new smoker. Be assured that it will NOT be a Masterbuilt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Masterbuilt Electric Smokers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Independence, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Masterbuilt Electric Smoker (Black)

Date:July 6, 2009
I purchased this smoker based on other reviews. I am disappointed in this smoker for several reasons. First, the racks in the unit do not slide very well as they arrived warped. Second, the temperature control unit is not accurate by a long shot. I used a second digital thermometer to get an idea of the smoker's accuracy (My secondary thermometer is about two degrees off at 32F and 212F). When heating the smoker to 225F my secondary thermometer read 270F. I adjusted the smoker's temp down to 185F which on my secondary thermometer read about 225F. The third problem is that the temperature fluctuates wildly as the unit cycles on and off. I charted the Hi and Low temps as 190F - 265F. I tried to do ribs and a pork but they came out tougher than I wanted. Recently I used it to smoke two porks for 4 hrs, then I finished them my oven for another 6 hrs - this worked great. I am going to detail the unit back to its original luster and return it. Maybe I just have a dud of a unit. I hope others have better luck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 435