Customer Reviews for MR. HEATER Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater

MR. HEATER Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater

With the output to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 120 hours on a bulk cylinder, this powerful little heater is ideal for taking the chill off almost any place you need extra warmth. And because it’s equipped with a low-oxygen shut-off pilot safety, it can be used safely in tents, blinds, ice shacks and other enclosed areas. Three settings let you adjust the heat from 4,000, to 9,000 or 18,000 BTUs/hr. Two one-pound propane cylinders provide from 6 to 12 hours of radiant and convection heat for maximum efficiency. It even includes a blower fan, powered by four D-cell batteries (batteries not included) so you can direct warmed air into chilly corners or other hard-to-heat areas. A storage bay accommodates up to 12 feet of hose, sold separately, for use with bulk propane cylinders. Recommended for use at altitudes below 7,000 feet. Cannot be sold in Massachusetts. Dimensions: 17-1/2"H x 17"W x 10"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.629 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(410 Reviews) 410
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 410 reviews
5 Stars
322
4 Stars
59
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Star
15
390 out of 410(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 105 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a Heater for Cold Weather

Date:February 16, 2014
MN resident bought Heater March/2013 used for 3 season porch(smoking room). If outside temp is below -15 forget using the ingnitor, bring your BIC. If the outside temp is below -25 you better bring another heater to warm up the Big Buddy to be able to use it. Factory told me because the pressure inside my full 20lb cylinder was so low the pilot light doesn't work!!! Bought a portable electric heater to warm up Big Buddy to use it on the cold days. Glad I didn't plan to use Big Buddy when I go ice fishing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not my buddy

Date:February 19, 2013
I have a 6 year old unit that I bought mainly for ice fishing. It never worked we'll for that because it would never stay lit unless it was a beautiful calm day... Who needs a heater on those days? Now it doesn't even stay lit in the garage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Works Well when it Works

Date:December 10, 2012
Mine only lasted 2 years. First the heater would have a hard time lighting on the low setting. I would need to start the heater and immediately go to the medium or high setting and THEN set it on Low.
Then the pilot started acting up and the heater stopped lighting reliably. Their customer service dept told me to swab the pilot with a Q-tip doused with rubbing alcohol. I did, and it worked for awhile. Then it stopped working. I believe the pilot of clogged up, but the heater is a bear to disaassemble.
I ended up buying a refurbished heater hoping the second ones better. The only reason i did that is because I already have $60 worth of Mr Heater acessories!
Otherwise, when the heater works, it heats up very very nicely. Gets warm quick. The fan efficiently circulates the warm air around the enclosed space.
If you plan on cleaning it, don't use Q-tips, the cotton fiber will build up and clog the pilot tube. use pipe cleaner instead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Grand Jct, Co
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very poor customer service from Mr. Heater company

Date:November 2, 2011
I purchased this heater to use in my RV and my hunting tent. Unfortunately I didn't read the fine print on the side of the box that it doesn't work above 7000 feet elevation. IT DOESN'T!!!!!! This heater is worthless for hunting. Every place we hunt is above 7000 feet.
Then I got a nick in the male part on the heater for the quick disconnect coupler for the hose from my RV. I called the company and tried to buy the male part on the heater. They told me they would NOT sell me the part and that I would have to find another way to use my heater. I am stuck with a worthless heater that the company won't send me one small part so I can at least use it in my RV at lower elevations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: la Crosse WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Portable Big Buddy

Date:January 4, 2010
I have had several of these heaters since they came out. not happy at all with the performance. For the money you pay for them you will be lucky if the last one year. has several problems polit light no staying light unit will not go on high. I am going back to the old round mr heates that mount on to of lp tanks. less money and last a lot longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Mr. Buddy Heater

Date:January 17, 2008
We could not keep it lite. Did not work well for us.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Big Buddy Heater

Date:November 29, 2007
This is a pice of junk. Lights easily but goes out in five minutes. Not much help from the manufacture. I have tried all the "fixes" the manufacture recommends. Still don't stay lit. Don't waste your money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Sapulpa, Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Big Bad Heater

Date:November 26, 2007
I have had two of these heaters and my son has had two and one of my hunting buddies is on his second. Yoau must have a filter on the line for bulk gas or the heater will glog quickly. Each of us has had to replacde the entire unit and hagotten lousey service from manufacturer. The pilot orafice will glog easily and is vitually impossible to clean out. You will be lucky to get one seasons use out of the unit. Too expensive for the kind of problems you'll have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Western Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not good!!!

Date:November 17, 2007
Probably one of the worst purchase i have ever made, does not stay lit for more than a minute! Thought it would be a great product, very good idea, but does not work at all! My next step is to try conecting it to a 20 lb. propane tank because it does not work with the little containers. Will not stay lit in the ice shack, in the garage, even in the basement. I guess i am sticking with the good old trusty sunflower!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Sandy Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

My buddy's buddy

Date:September 26, 2007
My buddy bought a little buddy for his ice shanty and it was great. So I baught a big buddy for camping. Big mistake. Will not stay lit in the tent for more than 5 minutes. That's with all the flaps open. Elevation was well under 7000 feet and everything. Took it back and bought a Coleman.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not impressed!!

Date:April 10, 2007
Heater had little to no spark to start pilot. Once pilot was lit, it would only stay lit for a short time. Returned heater for another unit. This unit lit but would not stay lit for more then two minutes. I returned this unit to. Product did not impress me and I would not recommend this product!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

hard to light and stay on

Date:February 25, 2007
I just took out this heater on the ice on Feb 24 and it took 10 minutes to light inside my shanty. There was no spark. Then once it finally lit the pilot kept going out. Once that would finally stay on it would keep going out every 10-15 minutes. I had a small mr heater and that one worked fine. this one cost me alot of agrivation as I had to keep getting up and trying to relight it. So no spark and the pilot wouldnt want to stay lit. needs to be improved!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Monroe, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Defective Heater

Date:January 9, 2007
My new heater will run 15 minutes and then shut down. I'm not impressed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disapointed in two of these now.

Date:January 9, 2007
Bought one of these the other day, brought it home and tried it out in the garage. The heater wouldn't stay lit for more than 5 minutes in a two car garage. Returned it for another unit same situation with this one. My house is at 6700 feet which may have something to do with it but its supposed to be rated to 7000. This ones going back, and I'll have to find another heater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

THis is supposed to work in the cold, right?

Date:October 21, 2006
Tanks freeze up. Technology must be re-engineered.
I'm not impressed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: VA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Questionable

Date:August 26, 2011
Purchased our Big Buddy heater and was looking forward to some late camping in the mountains. Thank goodness I decided to try it out prior to our trip. Heats well and seems like it would do the job for what we expected, however, the fan will not work period. I cannot predict what it will do fully operational. Am awaiting a replacement....to be continued.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Works well INSIDE...

Date:December 7, 2009
I didn't like the fact that if you did use it indoors, you had to have a window open but of course it is a propane heater. We used it on a fishing dock with maybe 10 mph winds blowing and it would not light. We used a matchlight hand held match (which lit right away) and when we did get it lit, it would not stay lit. Cost me $30 bucks to ship it back too. Would not buy it for half the price!
Worked great in my garage and maybe for a back patio.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: springboro, ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

big buddy

Date:February 27, 2008
I have 2 big buddy heaters. When they work properly they are great. I would recommend this product but with a notice to the buyer of a problem. Out of the box and for the fist 20 hours of use you will have no problem. After that it is hits and misses. On my first big buddy I used a 20# tank with out the fuel filter. After about 20 hours of use I could no longer use this big buddy on the high setting. It would light fine and run great on low but when I would turn it up to the medium setting the pilot would act as if not getting enough fuel. If I would turn the heater up to the high setting the hearer would light but then the pilot would go out after about 15 minutes and the heater would shut off. Since I did not use a fuel fitter I felt I had caused this heater to malfunction. I still use this heater and it works and dose what I need it to but just not on the high setting. Last month I purchased a new big buddy heater needing a heater for a larger area I needed the high setting. With this new heater I purchased a fuel filter. However this heater started acting the same way as the first. I used the fuel filter as directed and after about 50 hours of use the high setting would not work. The high setting will light but will only stay on about 5 minutes before going out. The big buddy is a good heater with a short life span on high. The fan is nice and now that I have two they heat any area I need but they don’t work on the high setting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: huntsville alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Have a redundant heat source

Date:November 19, 2007
I have had two Big Buddy Heaters since Sept. 2004. The first one worked good until December 05 when the regulator on one side cloged and wouldn't run. I switched to the other side and it ran about 1 year and did the same thing this past Christmas. I ran my first one off a 20 pound bottel and didn't have a filter like the directions said to do.
I bought my second one before this past New Years and I got a filter for it this time. I have never used this new heater without the filter. I used it about 40 hours through the remainder of Alabama's 06/07 deer season. When I tried it the night before bowseason opened this year, the heater started and ran about 5 to 10 minutes and died. It would relight each time but would quickly cut off again. I took it apart and cleaned it as the directions described. This helped for about three weekends, but I spent a very cold night in my trailer this past Friday when it started it tricks again. I brought it home and cleaned it per the instructions again but it still doesn't burn more than 10 minutes at a time.
I called Mr. Heater today from work but I didn't have the serial numbers handy. He said that they where having similar problems with some of the units. I would recommend this heater to a friend but I would also warn them to make contigency plans in the event that the heater wouldn't work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: california blacktail hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

double bottle heater with a fan

Date:November 5, 2007
I didn't get much use from it before it would not stay lit. About 20 times I would say. I sent it back. The instuctions say to have a window open or somekind of fresh air but the profile indicates that it is OK to use indoors. I did not understand the contridiction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 410