Customer Reviews for MR. HEATER Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater

MR. HEATER Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater

With the output to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 120 hours on a bulk cylinder, this powerful little heater is ideal for taking the chill off almost any place you need extra warmth. And because it’s equipped with a low-oxygen shut-off pilot safety, it can be used safely in tents, blinds, ice shacks and other enclosed areas. Three settings let you adjust the heat from 4,000, to 9,000 or 18,000 BTUs/hr. Two one-pound propane cylinders provide from 6 to 12 hours of radiant and convection heat for maximum efficiency. It even includes a blower fan, powered by four D-cell batteries (batteries not included) so you can direct warmed air into chilly corners or other hard-to-heat areas. A storage bay accommodates up to 12 feet of hose, sold separately, for use with bulk propane cylinders. Recommended for use at altitudes below 7,000 feet. Cannot be sold in Massachusetts. Dimensions: 17-1/2"H x 17"W x 10"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(420 Reviews) 420
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 420 reviews
5 Stars
331
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Star
15
400 out of 420(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 106 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Review 21 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

heater

Date:November 22, 2006
hard to lite
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MN, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SD Mule Deer Bow Hunt

Date:November 23, 2006
The Big Daddy Hearter made early morning wake up very comfortable. With early morning tempatures 10 to 15 degrees, I just clicked the heater on high, turned on the fan and within minutes the tent temperature was perfect. We all know the shock of getting out of that warm sleeping bag to freezing temperatures. The Big Daddy made the difference. I would also recommend turning the heater down once the comfort level is reached. The heater does like propane on the high setting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mountains of Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy and Efficient

Date:November 23, 2006
This heater is extremely easy to use, and very efficient!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Show Low Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big Buddy Heater

Date:November 27, 2006
I recently purchased The Big Buddy heater to use on a Deer hunting trip here in Arizona. The Heater was awesome---It was extremely cold and the heater kept us very warm in our tent. I usually wouldn't use a heater in a tent but the safety feature that shuts the heater off automatically if the carbon monoxide level reaches a certain level sold me on the heater.
IT'S AN AWESOME PRODUCT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Worland, Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cold Mornings at Rendezvous?

Date:November 28, 2006
My family and I have been going to Mountainman Rendezvous reactments fot 25 years. In the Rocky mountains it can be 90 degrees in the day and 30 degrees in the morning. Those days are as rare as snow on the 4th of July but it happens.
Well my experience with Mr. Heater was Big Buddy's little brother. We went to the Fort Bridger Rendezvous over Labor Day weekend and they have a thing called humidity it must get up into the 80% or better. Humidity is something we left in St.Louis when we moved to the Bighorn Basin of Wyoming. Any way it was getting into the lower 90s and who knows how cold it got at night but I was sleeping with the covers over my head. Well our friend was staying with us and she had the little Mr. Buddy. When she would go outside I would grab that heater and place it in front of me and warm my clothes before I put them on. A stove or heater was something I always though would be great for these morning, but the wife said I was nuts. Well guess what, she liked it too. So when we got home we looked it up in my favorite catalog. Since our little tent in 12-feet by 15- feet with a 9- foot peaked Wedge, we thought the Mr Heater Big Buddy with the fan dual tanks and extra BTUs would be the ticket. Well it sure helped on our front porch and now I have it in my work shop and it has been wonderful. That fan makes the Mr. Buddy a real heater and it is very quiet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reno, Nevada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mr. Heater Big Buddy Portable Propane Heater

Date:November 28, 2006
We used the Big Buddy Propane Heater during an extended deer hunting trip to northern Nevada in October, 2007. The heater was absolutely superb and kept a quality 10' x 14' tent comfortably warm with night temperatures ranging from 9 degrees to the low 20's without using the blower system. The low-oxygen and tip-over safety features made us feel secure using the heater. In fact, on one occasion the heater was accidently knocked over and it immediately shut off. I liked the heater so much that I recently purchased another heater for my son for Christmas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy Heater

Date:November 29, 2006
Just this week my heater went out in the home and the Mr. Heater Big Buddy ended up being a blessing to have on hand. I placed it in a 20 x 30 room, and it took the chill out of the air and even warmed up the room nicely but to do such a large room the blower needed to be on. So the AC adapter is an absolute must-have accessory to the Mr. Heater Big Buddy to get the heat generating throughout your tent or home and the adapter really saves batteries.
If you plan on using the Mr. heater do spend the extra money and get the accessory hose to use on the 20 pound tank because you will go through 1 pound propane tanks quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Washington St.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

unreliable

Date:December 14, 2006
I have 1 big buddy and 2 small buddys. We use them to heat our motorhome at elk camp. The fan quite working
with in 5 hrs of operation. Have problems keeping them burning also. I run 1 big buddy and 1 small buddy on a 100lb. tank to keep the tank from freezing. When they work, they work well, but we've had frozen pipes because they have shut down in the middle of the night. But for now they are in my opion the best heater out there for indoor use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disapointed in two of these now.

Date:January 9, 2007
Bought one of these the other day, brought it home and tried it out in the garage. The heater wouldn't stay lit for more than 5 minutes in a two car garage. Returned it for another unit same situation with this one. My house is at 6700 feet which may have something to do with it but its supposed to be rated to 7000. This ones going back, and I'll have to find another heater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Monroe, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Defective Heater

Date:January 9, 2007
My new heater will run 15 minutes and then shut down. I'm not impressed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:January 10, 2007
My friends and I own 3 Mr. heaters. We owned 1 smaller one but it just wasn't quite enough. 1 will keep our camp house really comfortable. Do recommend getting the hose to hook to a 20 pd. bottle as the heater loves to use the 1 pd bottles quickly. My wife uses it to heat her bathroom at home faster than the wall heater ever thought about. Won't go to deer camp without it now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gift

Date:January 23, 2007
I received the Big Buddy Heater as a gift for Christmas to eliminate the old sunflower heater in the ice house. I use it in my portable ice house and it works awsome. It was -10 degrees outside, put it on high with the fan on, and could only keep it that way for about 20 minutes. It got too warm in my Clam 6800. I went with the option of the hose with the 20lb tank, however in a quick pinch, the 1lb tanks work well, but not for a long time. Only lasted about 2 1/2 -3 hours on the 1 lb tank. Tip over sensor works great too. Father-in-law fell off his chair in the ice house, hitting the heater. Heater was not even knocked over and the emergency shut off worked great. Will recommed this to anybody.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Glendale Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

stay on

Date:January 26, 2007
Have used a lot of different heaters for camping and staying in a small cabin at Mormon Lake. The Big Buddy heater works fantastic.. when its working. On/off,on/off,on/off. Used both small and big tank, same problem at both high and low elevations. Havnt used with the filter, maybe that will help. Maybe its the oxygen sensor settings.. would be fantastic if it stayed on as long as you wanted it to. Zero degrees in Prescott could have been a little warmer that weekend.
Thanks....... Brent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NW, Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Heater But DOESN'T WORK @ 7,000' or above

Date:February 1, 2007
Nice Heater - But DOESN'T WORK @ 7,000' or above. Got one awhile back and the instructions said nothing about an altitude limit, but found out the hard way THEY DO NOT WORK @ or above 7' Grand. Brrrrrrr.
I love below that altritude, but over the OX sensor cuts it off. Hopefully by now the instructions tell us this!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

hard to light and stay on

Date:February 25, 2007
I just took out this heater on the ice on Feb 24 and it took 10 minutes to light inside my shanty. There was no spark. Then once it finally lit the pilot kept going out. Once that would finally stay on it would keep going out every 10-15 minutes. I had a small mr heater and that one worked fine. this one cost me alot of agrivation as I had to keep getting up and trying to relight it. So no spark and the pilot wouldnt want to stay lit. needs to be improved!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southern Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Engineers need to to use 'em to get the bugs out.

Date:March 6, 2007
Overall very good, and does freeze small tanks depending upon air humidity. ODS is good but I have never used it above 2000 feet as I bought it for my garage and early spring, late fall fishing but you have to design your own heat
proof coffee cup holder. Pilot is too sensitive as I need to tear
mine down and clean for the 2nd time but I have run at least
15, 20LB tanks through the Big Buddy and yes a gas filter is essential. Fan is biggest sore spot at 6 volts it wont run off my boat battery and the 6 volt AC adapter has a plug adapter that stinks/needs to be a single right angle plug the right size to fit the jack. I wound up changing out the jack on the heater (tossed the plug adapter) and now have a 6 volt wet cell in my boat to run the heater fan, with the AC adapter used
in my garage. The best part, lots of heat for my hands and feet that don't function well in the Brrrr/Cold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not impressed!!

Date:April 10, 2007
Heater had little to no spark to start pilot. Once pilot was lit, it would only stay lit for a short time. Returned heater for another unit. This unit lit but would not stay lit for more then two minutes. I returned this unit to. Product did not impress me and I would not recommend this product!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: soap lake
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ya you need this

Date:April 23, 2007
great. ez to use. screw bottle on and light with piezo. heat seconds later. my kids were happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WEST VIRGINIA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MR. HEATER

Date:May 8, 2007
WE SPENT 3 DAYS IN THE BACKCOUNTRY OF THE CRANBERRY GLADES IN YOUR ALASKAN GUIDE MODEL 8 MAN DOME TENT WITH TEMPS NOT ABOVE 45 DEGREES DURING THE DAY AND RUNNING ABOUT 20 DEGREES AT NIGHT. WE HAD NO TROUBLE STAYING WARM WITH THE PORTABLE BIG BUDDY HEATER ON THE LOW SETTING WITH 2 WINDOWS PARTIALLY OPEN. WE DIDN'T EVEN HAVE OUR SLEEPING BAGS ZIPPED UP.
THANKS FOR THREE MORE COMFORTABLE NIGHTS,10 MILES FROM NOWHERE,COMPLEMENTS OF CABELAS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: delta jct. AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

mr.heater portable buddy heater

Date:July 10, 2007
we think its going to work great for the area we bought it for, it came with good instructions & was easy to light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 420