Customer Reviews for MR. HEATER Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater

MR. HEATER Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater

With the output to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 120 hours on a bulk cylinder, this powerful little heater is ideal for taking the chill off almost any place you need extra warmth. And because it’s equipped with a low-oxygen shut-off pilot safety, it can be used safely in tents, blinds, ice shacks and other enclosed areas. Three settings let you adjust the heat from 4,000, to 9,000 or 18,000 BTUs/hr. Two one-pound propane cylinders provide from 6 to 12 hours of radiant and convection heat for maximum efficiency. It even includes a blower fan, powered by four D-cell batteries (batteries not included) so you can direct warmed air into chilly corners or other hard-to-heat areas. A storage bay accommodates up to 12 feet of hose, sold separately, for use with bulk propane cylinders. Recommended for use at altitudes below 7,000 feet. Cannot be sold in Massachusetts. 17-1/2"H x 17"W x 10"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.644 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(450 Reviews) 450
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 450 reviews
5 Stars
357
4 Stars
63
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Star
16
429 out of 450(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 124 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Review 21 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2006

heater

By
Location: utah
hard to lite
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2006

SD Mule Deer Bow Hunt

By
Location: MN, SD
The Big Daddy Hearter made early morning wake up very comfortable. With early morning tempatures 10 to 15 degrees, I just clicked the heater on high, turned on the fan and within minutes the tent temperature was perfect. We all know the shock of getting out of that warm sleeping bag to freezing temperatures. The Big Daddy made the difference. I would also recommend turning the heater down once the comfort level is reached. The heater does like propane on the high setting
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2006

Easy and Efficient

By
Location: Mountains of Montana
This heater is extremely easy to use, and very efficient!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2006

Big Buddy Heater

By
Location: Show Low Arizona
I recently purchased The Big Buddy heater to use on a Deer hunting trip here in Arizona. The Heater was awesome---It was extremely cold and the heater kept us very warm in our tent. I usually wouldn't use a heater in a tent but the safety feature that shuts the heater off automatically if the carbon monoxide level reaches a certain level sold me on the heater.
IT'S AN AWESOME PRODUCT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2006

Cold Mornings at Rendezvous?

By
Location: Worland, Wyoming
My family and I have been going to Mountainman Rendezvous reactments fot 25 years. In the Rocky mountains it can be 90 degrees in the day and 30 degrees in the morning. Those days are as rare as snow on the 4th of July but it happens.
Well my experience with Mr. Heater was Big Buddy's little brother. We went to the Fort Bridger Rendezvous over Labor Day weekend and they have a thing called humidity it must get up into the 80% or better. Humidity is something we left in St.Louis when we moved to the Bighorn Basin of Wyoming. Any way it was getting into the lower 90s and who knows how cold it got at night but I was sleeping with the covers over my head. Well our friend was staying with us and she had the little Mr. Buddy. When she would go outside I would grab that heater and place it in front of me and warm my clothes before I put them on. A stove or heater was something I always though would be great for these morning, but the wife said I was nuts. Well guess what, she liked it too. So when we got home we looked it up in my favorite catalog. Since our little tent in 12-feet by 15- feet with a 9- foot peaked Wedge, we thought the Mr Heater Big Buddy with the fan dual tanks and extra BTUs would be the ticket. Well it sure helped on our front porch and now I have it in my work shop and it has been wonderful. That fan makes the Mr. Buddy a real heater and it is very quiet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2006

Mr. Heater Big Buddy Portable Propane Heater

By
Location: Reno, Nevada
We used the Big Buddy Propane Heater during an extended deer hunting trip to northern Nevada in October, 2007. The heater was absolutely superb and kept a quality 10' x 14' tent comfortably warm with night temperatures ranging from 9 degrees to the low 20's without using the blower system. The low-oxygen and tip-over safety features made us feel secure using the heater. In fact, on one occasion the heater was accidently knocked over and it immediately shut off. I liked the heater so much that I recently purchased another heater for my son for Christmas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2006

Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy Heater

By
Location: Florida
Just this week my heater went out in the home and the Mr. Heater Big Buddy ended up being a blessing to have on hand. I placed it in a 20 x 30 room, and it took the chill out of the air and even warmed up the room nicely but to do such a large room the blower needed to be on. So the AC adapter is an absolute must-have accessory to the Mr. Heater Big Buddy to get the heat generating throughout your tent or home and the adapter really saves batteries.
If you plan on using the Mr. heater do spend the extra money and get the accessory hose to use on the 20 pound tank because you will go through 1 pound propane tanks quickly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2006

unreliable

By
Location: Washington St.
I have 1 big buddy and 2 small buddys. We use them to heat our motorhome at elk camp. The fan quite working
with in 5 hrs of operation. Have problems keeping them burning also. I run 1 big buddy and 1 small buddy on a 100lb. tank to keep the tank from freezing. When they work, they work well, but we've had frozen pipes because they have shut down in the middle of the night. But for now they are in my opion the best heater out there for indoor use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2007

Disapointed in two of these now.

By
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Bought one of these the other day, brought it home and tried it out in the garage. The heater wouldn't stay lit for more than 5 minutes in a two car garage. Returned it for another unit same situation with this one. My house is at 6700 feet which may have something to do with it but its supposed to be rated to 7000. This ones going back, and I'll have to find another heater.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2007

Defective Heater

By
Location: Monroe, LA
My new heater will run 15 minutes and then shut down. I'm not impressed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2007

Great

By
My friends and I own 3 Mr. heaters. We owned 1 smaller one but it just wasn't quite enough. 1 will keep our camp house really comfortable. Do recommend getting the hose to hook to a 20 pd. bottle as the heater loves to use the 1 pd bottles quickly. My wife uses it to heat her bathroom at home faster than the wall heater ever thought about. Won't go to deer camp without it now.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2007

Great Gift

By
Location: Grand Forks, ND
I received the Big Buddy Heater as a gift for Christmas to eliminate the old sunflower heater in the ice house. I use it in my portable ice house and it works awsome. It was -10 degrees outside, put it on high with the fan on, and could only keep it that way for about 20 minutes. It got too warm in my Clam 6800. I went with the option of the hose with the 20lb tank, however in a quick pinch, the 1lb tanks work well, but not for a long time. Only lasted about 2 1/2 -3 hours on the 1 lb tank. Tip over sensor works great too. Father-in-law fell off his chair in the ice house, hitting the heater. Heater was not even knocked over and the emergency shut off worked great. Will recommed this to anybody.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2007

stay on

By
Location: Glendale Arizona
Have used a lot of different heaters for camping and staying in a small cabin at Mormon Lake. The Big Buddy heater works fantastic.. when its working. On/off,on/off,on/off. Used both small and big tank, same problem at both high and low elevations. Havnt used with the filter, maybe that will help. Maybe its the oxygen sensor settings.. would be fantastic if it stayed on as long as you wanted it to. Zero degrees in Prescott could have been a little warmer that weekend.
Thanks....... Brent
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2007

Nice Heater But DOESN'T WORK @ 7,000' or above

By
Location: NW, Wyoming
Nice Heater - But DOESN'T WORK @ 7,000' or above. Got one awhile back and the instructions said nothing about an altitude limit, but found out the hard way THEY DO NOT WORK @ or above 7' Grand. Brrrrrrr.
I love below that altritude, but over the OX sensor cuts it off. Hopefully by now the instructions tell us this!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2007

hard to light and stay on

By
Location: michigan
I just took out this heater on the ice on Feb 24 and it took 10 minutes to light inside my shanty. There was no spark. Then once it finally lit the pilot kept going out. Once that would finally stay on it would keep going out every 10-15 minutes. I had a small mr heater and that one worked fine. this one cost me alot of agrivation as I had to keep getting up and trying to relight it. So no spark and the pilot wouldnt want to stay lit. needs to be improved!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2007

Engineers need to to use 'em to get the bugs out.

By
Location: Southern Ohio
Overall very good, and does freeze small tanks depending upon air humidity. ODS is good but I have never used it above 2000 feet as I bought it for my garage and early spring, late fall fishing but you have to design your own heat
proof coffee cup holder. Pilot is too sensitive as I need to tear
mine down and clean for the 2nd time but I have run at least
15, 20LB tanks through the Big Buddy and yes a gas filter is essential. Fan is biggest sore spot at 6 volts it wont run off my boat battery and the 6 volt AC adapter has a plug adapter that stinks/needs to be a single right angle plug the right size to fit the jack. I wound up changing out the jack on the heater (tossed the plug adapter) and now have a 6 volt wet cell in my boat to run the heater fan, with the AC adapter used
in my garage. The best part, lots of heat for my hands and feet that don't function well in the Brrrr/Cold.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2007

Not impressed!!

By
Location: Wyoming
Heater had little to no spark to start pilot. Once pilot was lit, it would only stay lit for a short time. Returned heater for another unit. This unit lit but would not stay lit for more then two minutes. I returned this unit to. Product did not impress me and I would not recommend this product!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2007

ya you need this

By
Location: soap lake
great. ez to use. screw bottle on and light with piezo. heat seconds later. my kids were happy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2007

MR. HEATER

By
Location: WEST VIRGINIA
WE SPENT 3 DAYS IN THE BACKCOUNTRY OF THE CRANBERRY GLADES IN YOUR ALASKAN GUIDE MODEL 8 MAN DOME TENT WITH TEMPS NOT ABOVE 45 DEGREES DURING THE DAY AND RUNNING ABOUT 20 DEGREES AT NIGHT. WE HAD NO TROUBLE STAYING WARM WITH THE PORTABLE BIG BUDDY HEATER ON THE LOW SETTING WITH 2 WINDOWS PARTIALLY OPEN. WE DIDN'T EVEN HAVE OUR SLEEPING BAGS ZIPPED UP.
THANKS FOR THREE MORE COMFORTABLE NIGHTS,10 MILES FROM NOWHERE,COMPLEMENTS OF CABELAS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Mr. Heater Portable Big Buddy™ Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2007

mr.heater portable buddy heater

By
Location: delta jct. AK
we think its going to work great for the area we bought it for, it came with good instructions & was easy to light.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 450