Customer Reviews for ZODI OUTBACK GEAR Zodi Hot Camp Shower

ZODI OUTBACK GEAR Zodi Hot Camp Shower

With this easy-to-use portable shower, you can have hot water to 100° in less than one minute. Place the battery- operated high-pressure pump in any water source for the ultimate in portable showering convenience. The Hot Camp Shower is powered by four D-cell batteries and a 16-ounce propane bottle (not included) that will generate 25 hot five-minute showers before replacement. Piezo ignitor starts heat quickly. It has a waterproof battery case with an on/off switch, as well as an extra-long 8-foot flexible shower hose with a water-saving head. The high-impact plastic 4-gallon carry case holds enough water for a 10-minute shower. Case lid removes to serve as a propane cylinder base. Choose the one-burner or super-fast heating two-burner model. Batteries not included. Available: One burner - 8"L x 8"W x 19.5"H Two burner - 8"L x 16"W x 19.5H"
Overall Customer Rating:
3.916 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 107 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
7
1 Star
14
87 out of 107(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Review 1 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2015

HOT Little Shower

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Our trail crew uses this little unit on our 8 day camp trips. While the unit holds four gallons of water (enough for a ten minute shower) if you think about it you can take a longer shower than that if you place your shower head back into the water when soaping up. By doing that you also heat the water and have to turn the propane down, which conserves propane also. The unit is durable and light. The propane lasted most of the trip at six showers a day (one bottle would last six of the eight days). The batteries also lasted a long time. The trick with this little bugger is remembering to turn the water pump on before starting the propane (keep the water nozzle in the bucket). The water pressure isn't great, but beats using a wet wipe.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2013

do not buy

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
i purchased the single burner-i would think the double burner would have same problems. on first camping trip it worked ok. after that it was hard to get it primed & required new batterys every time it was used. the next year i installed a new pump & battery pack. same results
first trip ok-next trips same problems. i used it during hunting season also. was not fun when below freezing & dark trying get it going to heat up. if suction hose comes out of bucket when hot you have to let it completly cool to try to get it going again.i purchased the zodi extreme-works great. the old one is in the trash.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2013

Buy the double burner only

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought the single burner unit and although it brought the temperature of the water up by 25degrees as advertised, it still wasn't warm enough for a good shower. My water source was a mountain river where the water was cold (50degrees) so I should have purchased the double in the first place.
I returned the single burner unit and have not replaced it with the double because I do think an extra $100 is too much for an extra burner.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2012

YOU HAVE TO HAVE ONE

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
We love this shower this is our second one we are buying, one is staying at our cabin and one is coming camping with us just love it!! A Must have!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2012

Zodi Camp Shower

By
Country: United States
State: California
Gender: Male
I have used this for a few years now and it works great. I camp at 5000 ft and have never had any problems with the water not heating. I found that if I raise my 5 gallon water container up on a table it gives me better water pressure. Glad I bought it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2012

Great Little Shower

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Used this several times at our remote cabin. Works great!! Sometimes it takes a few minutes to get the air out of the hoses so you must have a little patience before the pump will work. The batteries last through at least 6 showers and the water gets very hot. The pressure isn't like your home shower but it is adequate enough to rinse off shampoo and soap.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2012

Should have bought you years ago!!

By
Location: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I will never go to elk camp without the Zodi shower. Not sure why we didn't buy this years ago for those hot sweaty early season hunts in September.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

BETTER THAN EXPECTED!

By
Location: Beaverton, OR
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
After reading several reviews I decided to purchase this and give it a shot.
My hunting party loves it.
It works well, water is hot after one run through the coils, and the batteries last a decent amount of time.
What I will say is not to expect your home shower.
If you do, you will be dissapointed with the preassure.
If you have a realistic expextation, you will really like this little unit!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2011

refreshing

By
We spent 2 weeks hunting in a very remote location 150 miles south of the Alaska B.C. Border. After 2 or three days it sure was nice to have a hot shower. One bit of advise is to put shower head in the water source when not in use. This helps warm the water, especially nice at 20 below.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2011

Good Investment

By
Location: San Jose, CA
Had a chance to use this on one extended outing. The unit worked well but when cranked up on high, the burner would often go out. Maybe it was just too new and it has to break in but after backing off a little, it worked well and provided sufficient hot water. The true test will be in real cold weather though. I would not recommend or count on using the built-in stand that's part of the lid - it just isn't stable. I ended up making a tri-pole hanger to hang the unit. This also put it higher up and allowed the hose to route into the shower stall and made it so the controls were accessible from within the stall. This unit also served well for dish / hand washing. A little on the high-price side but well worth it for my needs. Due to the price and the few issues I mentioned, I'm only rating it at four stars but again, it's well worth the investment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2011

Great Shower

By
Location: Lemoore Ca
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
i upgrade this year to this item. The shower works great. However you have to make sure that you keep the burn outside of the shower due to it running on propane. i use this with the cabelas shower room. This item works great for dishes also. good hot water. I do wish that the shower had a better pump. Also have to make sure you have a good stand to put this one. the box stand that it comes with is not the greats to hold it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2011

Hot Shower in Elk Camp

By
Location: Denton, TX.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is a great purchase. In years past, I had to mix boiling water from a gas stove and cool water and put in a "black plastic" shower that was supposed to heat water from the sun's rays. That does not work well. This product does! I bought the two burner model and found it was not necessary. Two burners made the water too hot. We ended up using only one burner and even then, it was not turned on at full capacity. The plastic hose could be two to three feet longer but the product is excellent. Read the instructions! I tried the unit out at home and it worked well. When I went to take my first shower, it would not work at all. I then read the instructions which advised what to do in the event of a vapor lock. We were at 9500 feet so that was logical. Got the lock out of the line and it worked like a champ. You could use this device at home in the event your hot water heater went out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2011

it works great

By
Location: north idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
we took it camping it worked super
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2011

Good Concept - Bad Product

By
Location: Chicago, IL
while the concept is a great one...the product quality is very questionable. The heater unit appears to be of good quality, but the pump portion of this is very sub-par. Used this on one camping trip last year, and while the pump did work, the pressure was extremely low and barely made it to the shower head. Using this product this year was a huge problem. We figured that after only a few uses the year prior, this thing should still be good to go. My mistake. I should have tested before leaving this year for our camping trip. The pump would not pump. Tried using fresh batteries but no luck. I'm revamping this unit to use a completely different pump powered by 12VDC. I will see how this works, but the unit as sold is not worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2011

Zodi 2 burner

By
Location: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
One burner did not work although had plenty of hot water. The pump does not give a lot of pressure but it is a welcome experience to get a warm shower when your out in the woods. Due to the issue with one burner not working we have returned our two burner for the single burner model. Caution the base is not stable unless the ground is perfectly level, the heater will fall over. Still happy to get a hot shower while out in the wilderness.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2011

works great

By
Location: Tulsa, OK
there is nothing like a warm shower after a day of getting dirty riding atv's.
the Zodi worked great. easy set up. good pressure. and heats the water very well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2011

Not Too Hot

By
Location: Wichita, Ks
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I was very excited to finally have a hot shower when camping. Initially, the water was hot in fact steaming. It was all down hill from there. I read about higher elevations having problems, but HEY ! I live in Kansas. This unit wouldn't get water hot enough to wash dishes much less my family.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2011

shower

By
Location: norwell, ma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I am sure it would be a great thing, but when mine arrived it was broken. I didn't know this until I was in the middle of no where hunting and went to use it for the first time. Tip: check it out at home first.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2011

READ THE DIRECTIONS FIRST BEFORE YOU BUY

By
Location: Central Point OR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The Zodi works great at home(elevation 1100 ft. above sea level)BUT in the mountains,where our group hunts and fishes ,the Zodi is lukewarm at best.The directions point out that higher elevations decrease performance.My fault ,READ THE DIRECTIONS FIRST.Homemade showers will work ,I've seen 'em,and will copy that instead.Cannot recommend the Zodi.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

Design issue

By
Age: 46-55
Gas canister kept falling over out of the base-needs a more secure attachment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 107