Customer Reviews for ZODI OUTBACK GEAR Zodi Hot Camp Shower

ZODI OUTBACK GEAR Zodi Hot Camp Shower

With this easy-to-use portable shower, you can have hot water to 100° in less than one minute. Place the battery- operated high-pressure pump in any water source for the ultimate in portable showering convenience. The Hot Camp Shower is powered by four D-cell batteries and a 16-ounce propane bottle (not included) that will generate 25 hot five-minute showers before replacement. Piezo ignitor starts heat quickly. It has a waterproof battery case with an on/off switch, as well as an extra-long 8-foot flexible shower hose with a water-saving head. The high-impact plastic 4-gallon carry case holds enough water for a 10-minute shower. Case lid removes to serve as a propane cylinder base. Choose the one-burner or super-fast heating two-burner model. Batteries not included. Available: One burner - 8"L x 8"W x 19.5"H Two burner - 8"L x 16"W x 19.5H"
Overall Customer Rating:
3.906 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
7
1 Star
14
86 out of 106(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Review 1 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

do not buy

Date:December 21, 2013
i purchased the single burner-i would think the double burner would have same problems. on first camping trip it worked ok. after that it was hard to get it primed & required new batterys every time it was used. the next year i installed a new pump & battery pack. same results
first trip ok-next trips same problems. i used it during hunting season also. was not fun when below freezing & dark trying get it going to heat up. if suction hose comes out of bucket when hot you have to let it completly cool to try to get it going again.i purchased the zodi extreme-works great. the old one is in the trash.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Buy the double burner only

Date:August 13, 2013
Bought the single burner unit and although it brought the temperature of the water up by 25degrees as advertised, it still wasn't warm enough for a good shower. My water source was a mountain river where the water was cold (50degrees) so I should have purchased the double in the first place.
I returned the single burner unit and have not replaced it with the double because I do think an extra $100 is too much for an extra burner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

YOU HAVE TO HAVE ONE

Date:August 16, 2012
We love this shower this is our second one we are buying, one is staying at our cabin and one is coming camping with us just love it!! A Must have!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Zodi Camp Shower

Date:July 15, 2012
I have used this for a few years now and it works great. I camp at 5000 ft and have never had any problems with the water not heating. I found that if I raise my 5 gallon water container up on a table it gives me better water pressure. Glad I bought it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Little Shower

Date:May 24, 2012
Used this several times at our remote cabin. Works great!! Sometimes it takes a few minutes to get the air out of the hoses so you must have a little patience before the pump will work. The batteries last through at least 6 showers and the water gets very hot. The pressure isn't like your home shower but it is adequate enough to rinse off shampoo and soap.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Should have bought you years ago!!

Date:January 25, 2012
I will never go to elk camp without the Zodi shower. Not sure why we didn't buy this years ago for those hot sweaty early season hunts in September.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Beaverton, OR
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BETTER THAN EXPECTED!

Date:January 9, 2012
After reading several reviews I decided to purchase this and give it a shot.
My hunting party loves it.
It works well, water is hot after one run through the coils, and the batteries last a decent amount of time.
What I will say is not to expect your home shower.
If you do, you will be dissapointed with the preassure.
If you have a realistic expextation, you will really like this little unit!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

refreshing

Date:October 10, 2011
We spent 2 weeks hunting in a very remote location 150 miles south of the Alaska B.C. Border. After 2 or three days it sure was nice to have a hot shower. One bit of advise is to put shower head in the water source when not in use. This helps warm the water, especially nice at 20 below.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: San Jose, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Investment

Date:October 3, 2011
Had a chance to use this on one extended outing. The unit worked well but when cranked up on high, the burner would often go out. Maybe it was just too new and it has to break in but after backing off a little, it worked well and provided sufficient hot water. The true test will be in real cold weather though. I would not recommend or count on using the built-in stand that's part of the lid - it just isn't stable. I ended up making a tri-pole hanger to hang the unit. This also put it higher up and allowed the hose to route into the shower stall and made it so the controls were accessible from within the stall. This unit also served well for dish / hand washing. A little on the high-price side but well worth it for my needs. Due to the price and the few issues I mentioned, I'm only rating it at four stars but again, it's well worth the investment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lemoore Ca
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shower

Date:September 25, 2011
i upgrade this year to this item. The shower works great. However you have to make sure that you keep the burn outside of the shower due to it running on propane. i use this with the cabelas shower room. This item works great for dishes also. good hot water. I do wish that the shower had a better pump. Also have to make sure you have a good stand to put this one. the box stand that it comes with is not the greats to hold it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denton, TX.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hot Shower in Elk Camp

Date:September 22, 2011
This is a great purchase. In years past, I had to mix boiling water from a gas stove and cool water and put in a "black plastic" shower that was supposed to heat water from the sun's rays. That does not work well. This product does! I bought the two burner model and found it was not necessary. Two burners made the water too hot. We ended up using only one burner and even then, it was not turned on at full capacity. The plastic hose could be two to three feet longer but the product is excellent. Read the instructions! I tried the unit out at home and it worked well. When I went to take my first shower, it would not work at all. I then read the instructions which advised what to do in the event of a vapor lock. We were at 9500 feet so that was logical. Got the lock out of the line and it worked like a champ. You could use this device at home in the event your hot water heater went out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: north idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

it works great

Date:August 30, 2011
we took it camping it worked super
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Chicago, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good Concept - Bad Product

Date:July 29, 2011
while the concept is a great one...the product quality is very questionable. The heater unit appears to be of good quality, but the pump portion of this is very sub-par. Used this on one camping trip last year, and while the pump did work, the pressure was extremely low and barely made it to the shower head. Using this product this year was a huge problem. We figured that after only a few uses the year prior, this thing should still be good to go. My mistake. I should have tested before leaving this year for our camping trip. The pump would not pump. Tried using fresh batteries but no luck. I'm revamping this unit to use a completely different pump powered by 12VDC. I will see how this works, but the unit as sold is not worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Zodi 2 burner

Date:July 25, 2011
One burner did not work although had plenty of hot water. The pump does not give a lot of pressure but it is a welcome experience to get a warm shower when your out in the woods. Due to the issue with one burner not working we have returned our two burner for the single burner model. Caution the base is not stable unless the ground is perfectly level, the heater will fall over. Still happy to get a hot shower while out in the wilderness.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tulsa, OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:April 7, 2011
there is nothing like a warm shower after a day of getting dirty riding atv's.
the Zodi worked great. easy set up. good pressure. and heats the water very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wichita, Ks
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Too Hot

Date:March 11, 2011
I was very excited to finally have a hot shower when camping. Initially, the water was hot in fact steaming. It was all down hill from there. I read about higher elevations having problems, but HEY ! I live in Kansas. This unit wouldn't get water hot enough to wash dishes much less my family.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: norwell, ma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shower

Date:February 8, 2011
I am sure it would be a great thing, but when mine arrived it was broken. I didn't know this until I was in the middle of no where hunting and went to use it for the first time. Tip: check it out at home first.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Central Point OR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

READ THE DIRECTIONS FIRST BEFORE YOU BUY

Date:February 3, 2011
The Zodi works great at home(elevation 1100 ft. above sea level)BUT in the mountains,where our group hunts and fishes ,the Zodi is lukewarm at best.The directions point out that higher elevations decrease performance.My fault ,READ THE DIRECTIONS FIRST.Homemade showers will work ,I've seen 'em,and will copy that instead.Cannot recommend the Zodi.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Design issue

Date:January 24, 2011
Gas canister kept falling over out of the base-needs a more secure attachment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Zodi Hot Camp Shower
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oldtown, ID.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works very well

Date:January 19, 2011
Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 106