Customer Reviews for Gerber Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Gerber Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives

The next generation in long-lasting cutlery performance. Revolutionary S30V® steel blades are harder, more wear resistant and far less brittle than any standard 440C series stainless steel blade. Tests also show it boasts 45% better edge retention over 440C stainless. Blade is Boron Carbide-coated for even greater wear resistance and strength. Handsome cocobolo handles are checkered with artisan’s skill in an intricate 16-lines-per-inch pattern. Each knife comes with a heavyweight 7-oz. leather sheath. Made in USA. Available:Folder Drop Point - Dual thumb-studs for easy one-hand opening and an open liner-lock design for easy cleaning. Blade length: 3-1/2". Overall length: 8".Weight: 6.5 oz. Folder Gut Hook Blade length: 3-1/2". Overall length: 8". Weight: 6.5 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.825 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
57 out of 57(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Review 41 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Knife

Date:November 3, 2007
When choosing a new knife this year, I looked at several at the store in Dundee. The salesman did a great job articulating the features, advantages and benefits of this knife and everything he said was true last weekend as I gutted out my nice buck in the dark Sunday evening. The blade sharpness is second to none; the handle texture is awesome for holding the knife even under dark, slippery conditions. My new all the time hunting knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GERBER S30V

Date:October 15, 2007
This knife is great I have a couple other gerber knives but this one is the best feeling and best looking. The cocobola grips feel nice and this is the sharpest knife I have ever felt out of the box. The heavy leather sheath is a plus also. This one is made in the USA. Another great Gerber knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tucson, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Knife

Date:October 8, 2007
This is a great knife. It comes from the factory very sharp, has a nice leather sheath that fits your belt two ways, and looks very nice with the dark steel and dark cocobolo wood handles. I have not had it long enough to determine how the steel works with re-sharpening but from what I've read S30V sounds like one of the best high carbon stainless varieties out. The knife itself is quite good-sized and heavy so its not ideal for carrying in a pocket. A very nice knife overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Everett, Wa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gerber Freeman Knife

Date:October 5, 2007
I was reluctant at first to purchase a knife that I was unfamiliar with but this is the best knife I have ever bought. It feels good in the hand and has great strength. The handle has great non-slip features and the blade is very sharp. I will take this with me every where.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like this knife!

Date:September 10, 2007
First of all, it's just really cool-looking! The dark finished steel and the brown coco bolo grip go together like bacon and eggs!
It's heft feel good in the hand. I like the blade locking mechanism. One word of caution...It is "Gerber Sharp"! Nearly sliced the end of my finger off fixing supper at dove camp last weekend! I highly reccommend it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gerber folding Freeman S30V

Date:August 28, 2007
I ordered this knife based on the description and photo online. The actual knife surpassed my expectations (which were high) It is beutiful, extremly solid, and very smooth to open one handed. The quality of the workmanship is excelent. The blade is razor sharp (not knife razor sharp, but RAZOR razor sharp. When I decided to get this, I was probably thinking more about the S30V blade. Now I appreciate the knife as a whole
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sikeston, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it!

Date:August 14, 2007
When it hits your hands you will know it is a nice knife. Very sharp. I have a few nice knives, Benchmade for i.e., that cost twice as much but I beleive this is my favorite of all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kingsland, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gerber Freeman Folders

Date:July 5, 2007
This is a high quality, good looking, durable knife. Yes its pricey, but you will get what you pay for. GOOD GERBER QUALITY AT ITS FINEST. I bought the drop point version. THANK YOU for another great product, Cabela's!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This Is One Terrific Folder!

Date:July 2, 2007
I have never had a knife with a blade so sharp as this one......and I own about 20. The combination of S30V steel and Tungsten Carbide coating seems to be much more effective than S30V alone. Quality of construction is first rate. Ergonomics excellent. This knife is a winner!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boulder, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gerber Freeman Knife (folder)

Date:June 25, 2007
excellant balance and handling capabilities. Keeps its edge and overall appearance is quite nice. Very impressive tool and finish, especially the cocabola wood handles and an excellent heavy leather sheath. I think I'll keep it!
Clark Montana (former hunting guide )
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

unbelievable quality

Date:March 25, 2007
at first glance of the blade, one might think this a brittle metal. it is exactly the opposite. this is the toughest blade i have used yet and holds an edge like no other. ive had this knife for 2 years now and it is still sharp enough to shave with.(actually did i t once). i have not sharpened this knife, it is still out of the box facory sharpened. i havent used n situations where the blade is going to be grinding against rocks or concrete, but this is an amazing knife and although it carries a weighty price tag, it is well worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT knife... poor wood finish

Date:March 2, 2011
This is my new favorite hunting knife. However, it took some work to make it the best knife I own (which is the ONLY reason it didn't get 5 stars).
Here was the problem:
The finish on the wood handles was like a very thick coating of dark-purple paint, almost black. You could not see the wood grain at all. On my first day of ownership, a chunk of the finish broke off, leaving a large unsightly pit clear down to the bare wood. With my fingernail, I was able to pick off other chunks of the finish, and realized just how weak it was. Thought about sending it back for a refund, but everything else about it was so impressive - instead I planned to just sand off what I could and spray paint the handles black.
However, when I started sanding I discovered some very beautiful wood! So I sanded the finish off of the smooth parts of the handles... then soaked them for 20 minutes in a glass of laquer thinner to soften the remaining finish. After that I used a small wire brush to clean out the checkering. Then I sanded all the smooth parts with 600 grit paper... and finally, soaked them in some lemon-oil furniture polish in a plastic bag for 30 minutes. WOW! You would never know the knife didn't come that way from the factory. Not sure why it didn't! Cocobolo wood is a VERY hard wood, and the grain is beautiful with many color variations, but has an overall red-orange appearance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sherwood, Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sharpest Knife I Have Owned

Date:October 13, 2010
I have owned several knives over the years, and the S30V Freeman Folder is the sharpest I have ever had. The S30V steel is the best stainless on the market today for the outdoorsman. I own both the Drop Point Blade and the Gut Hook Blade Freeman Folders. I would rate the Drop Point a 5-star and the Gut Hook Blade a 3-star based on the workmanship. The Gut Hook blade is not sharpened to the choil, and I thought it was a factory defect. I contacted Gerber and apparently that is their specification on the Gut Hook blade. I like the knife other than that issue. The edge is sharpened to 15 degrees which is perfect for S30V steel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Yep...this is the one you should get.

Date:January 29, 2008
Amazing knife... Gerber hit a home run on this one. There are only minor improvements that could be made.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the scales/grips seem a little slippery in my hand when wet. If they fully checkered the grips, it would be better. Also, my linerlock needed to be ground down a bit to ensure it stayed in a locked position since it wasn't to my liking for safety reasons. It locked, but only partly. A little bump on the linerlock would snap it shut, and I didn't want this to happen during hard use. 5 minutes with a carefully used Dremel tool fixed this, and I assume it was just due to whoever was grinding that day in the factory (they didn't take enough metal off).
As others have stated, this thing is SCARY sharp right out of the box and it stays that way! I can, and have shaved with it, even after use.
Linerlock design makes knife cleanup after field-dressing a snap.
I officially give it 4 and 3/4 stars out of 5.
Spend the cash...you won't be disappointed with this one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gerber freeman s30v

Date:January 15, 2008
I have owned a great variety of knives over the years and while I am not a great fan of drop point blades this knife seems like it will easily do a variety of chores. It is well made with excelant marks for quality. It is well balanced. The grip is non slip and easy to hold. The blade locks in place securly when opened; but it requires you to have your thumb underneath the blade to unlock and close the knife. The knife should have a safer locking mechanisim. Make the wrong move or slip (especially with cold or wet fingers) while closing the knife and you could lay your thumb open. This locking method is what you find on cheepy knives. They never seem to last in the long haul. Maybe because of the quality this one will. Time will tell. It is definitely better than the buck folding knife I recently bought. Because of the cost of the knife with the cheepy locking device I can only give this knife a 4, barely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Ortonville, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ups and downs

Date:January 17, 2012
This knife is very sharp and very sharp looking. A few things i dont like are that the belt loop strap on the case becomes loose and hangs loosely from your belt. Also it is a little uncofortable cutting through the rib cage on a deer with the finger slots on the handle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Gerber Freeman™ S30V® Folding Blade Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knife

Date:January 30, 2010
I love this knife. Large knife for a folder, but not to large. Edge is razor sharp. Opens easy with one hand and lock is solid. Not a knife for your pocket. Handle is checkered and fits my large hand perfect. Leather sheath is well made and snaps closed. Sheath will also go on belt horizontal which is a feature I like.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-57 of 57