Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw

Deboning game or bulk quantities of meat can be a tiring, arduous chore. But with this handy meat saw you can cut cleanly through the meat and bone for professional-quality bone-in steaks and hams. From elk and beef to venison and pork, this commercial-grade saw can handle all your meat-cutting chores. The powerful 110-volt, 1hp motor coupled with the stainless steel bone- and meat-cutting blade makes quick and easy work of even the largest cuts. A protective push bar and adjustable guard keeps your hands and fingers away from the blade. The cutting surface is constructed of stainless steel for quick cleanup and includes a polyethylene guide. Oversized on/off buttons make operation simple and safe. Unit measures: 17"W x 16-3/4"D x 32"H. Weight: 56 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Review 1 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

Excellent!

By
Great band saw. cuts very good.would recommended it to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2012

Great saw for the price

By
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Used the saw for the first time to cut up a pig. Worked great, lots of power, and easy to diassemble and clean.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2011

alignment knowledge a must

By
Location: ww wa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Lower pulley can be moved in & out on shaft. Parts needed bent &filed to get it right. It works now almost sent it back
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2011

DURABILITY/BEST PURCHASE YOU CAN MAKE ..

By
Location: WHITE BLUFF, TN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this saw due to increasing pricing of processing deer that I had harvested. I'll say it has paid for itself 10 fold. May of 2010, we lost our house in a flood. This saw was under water at least 6 days and upon retrieving it I decided to see if it would work. I plugged it in and it ran. 18 months later to the day, I have processed another deer. I will need to purchase band saw blades however, due to them rusting and 1 jumps off the drives.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2011

Buffalo saw

By
Location: Delta Junction, Alaska.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
After fighting my fall moose for four straight nights I decided to buy the saw when I drew a buffalo tag in Alaska. I waited until after I shot the buffalo and purchased the saw. It took two nights and I got some real quality steaks. I didn't have any of the problems some users mentioned. I set the saw up as per instructions and it worked great. My only problem was the throat of the saw wasn't quite deep enough for all the cuts I needed to make on the buffalo, but with the aide of a sazall, I geter done. Thanks,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2010

This Saw is Awesome!

By
Location: Up State NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
We butchered three bears in hours. Broke a blade at the weld. Cabela's sent a replacement next day air in Maine to our Bear Camp. Up and running in two days. Carry an extra blade. It breaks on the weld they pay for the replacement. Butchered a three more bears in Canada without skipping a beat. Take it with you or keep it at home. Great Saw. Great customer service.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2010

hagerman

By
other reviews said the blade would not stay in place. a few munites of adjusting and and i cut up a whole beef and the blade never came off. the adjustment is just like a belt sander. i thought it did a great job, cutting meat, bone and frozen. and the blade is still sharp. a few munites of adjusting is all it took.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2009

Getting Parts is a problem

By
Location: California
So many reviewers are complaining about the blade falling off. I had the same problem, but with some trial and error I found the right adjustment to keep the blade on (there is a screw on the upper wheel for this) and ever since the saw has been pretty reliable. I was happy until recently. I believe we have cut up approximately ten deer, six hogs, five lambs, and three cows. I have probably got my money's worth, but recently I was cutting through a large bone and it caused the blade to come off and when it did it caught on the lower blade guide and broke it. I thought no big deal, I contacted Pragotrade who manufactures/imports the saw and they said they can no longer get parts because the factory in Italy closed down. Now what?
I also needed to replace a piece of my 11lb sausage stuffer and that is also unavailable so unless I figure out how to manufacture my own replacement parts, these items are useless.
In the past I was able to get some parts from Pragotrade and if the situation changes I would change my recommendation, but until this gets sorted out I would shop elsewhere.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2009

Blade wont stay on

By
Location: Texas
This machine really aggravates me. It looks good and runs well but no matter how I adjust it the blade keeps falling off. The blade rides on wheels that do not have any lip so every five minutes or so the blade falls off. I ordered a new blade hoping I had a blade problem and it kept doing it. We finally just went back to a hand saw. Most frustrating.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2008

Looks great, works poorly

By
Location: Pittsburgh PA Chiropractor and outdoorsman
I bought this saw with great expectations as it carried the Cabela's brand name. The saw was easy to assemble and the directions were fairly simple to follow. The saw ran quietely and seemed to operate well, until I tried to cut some steaks from a semi-frozen loin. Blade fell off repeatedly. I would sugest that Cabela's discontinue selling this saw and replace it with a more reliable replacement even if it costs twice as much. I really feel let down for the first time by something with cabela's name on it. I am going to return the saw, hopefully they accept it back with out too much hassel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2008

Do it yourself

By
Location: Murfreesboro,TN
The Cabela's band saw does wonders on saving you money in the long run and bringing you closer to the game you have just taken. Do yourself a favor and process your own game with the ease of cutting meat in just the right links. If you want to take your experience to a new level purchase one of these. Have your hunting friends over for an enjoyment of an afternoon and everyone can get in the game!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2008

Butcher Band Saw

By
Location: KS.
The Butcher Band Saw works well.I would recommend this product to anyone.The first blade wasn't very sharp,but we ordered a second blade and it works great.We like to do our own butchering so this saw comes in handy.You can store and it doesn't take up much room.It's a great saw.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

CHEAP MADE

By
Location: LOUISIANA
CHEAP MADE FOR THE PRICE GOT 2- BOTH WERE BROKEN SENT BACK FOR REFUND NEVER USED THEM. I GOT TO SAY THIS CABELA DID REFUND MY MONEY WITH NO HASSEL AND TRYED TO HELP WITH THIS SAW BUT AFTER 2 THAT WAS BROKEN I GAVE UP ON THE SAW
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2007

Works well but hard to clean

By
Location: Montana
I used the band saw for the first time to butcher a few lambs this weekend. The saw worked well, but the blade broke after only 2-1/2 lambs. Had to special order a new blade (2 weeks for delivery). Cleaning the saw is time consuming. It took me about 1 hour to disassemble and clean. It seems to be well made and is a heavy duty unit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2007

Butcher Band Saw

By
A real time saver, Can take frozen quarters out of the freezer and cut out perfect thick steaks, chops etc.
If you value your time, you will purchase this saw.
My only knock on the saw is that clean up takes time, and parts have to be unbolted for cleaning.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2006

This product rocks

By
Location: Kremmling, CO
I have had my saw for three years now and I recommend this item to anyone. Unless you like spending 12 hours deboning your critter, have fun I'll be hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.