Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw

Deboning game or bulk quantities of meat can be a tiring, arduous chore. But with this handy meat saw you can cut cleanly through the meat and bone for professional-quality bone-in steaks and hams. From elk and beef to venison and pork, this commercial-grade saw can handle all your meat-cutting chores. The powerful 110-volt, 1hp motor coupled with the stainless steel bone- and meat-cutting blade makes quick and easy work of even the largest cuts. A protective push bar and adjustable guard keeps your hands and fingers away from the blade. The cutting surface is constructed of stainless steel for quick cleanup and includes a polyethylene guide. Oversized on/off buttons make operation simple and safe. Unit measures: 17"W x 16-3/4"D x 32"H. Weight: 56 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Review 1 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent!

Date:March 28, 2012
Great band saw. cuts very good.would recommended it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great saw for the price

Date:January 10, 2012
Used the saw for the first time to cut up a pig. Worked great, lots of power, and easy to diassemble and clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: ww wa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

alignment knowledge a must

Date:December 6, 2011
Lower pulley can be moved in & out on shaft. Parts needed bent &filed to get it right. It works now almost sent it back
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WHITE BLUFF, TN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DURABILITY/BEST PURCHASE YOU CAN MAKE ..

Date:November 10, 2011
I bought this saw due to increasing pricing of processing deer that I had harvested. I'll say it has paid for itself 10 fold. May of 2010, we lost our house in a flood. This saw was under water at least 6 days and upon retrieving it I decided to see if it would work. I plugged it in and it ran. 18 months later to the day, I have processed another deer. I will need to purchase band saw blades however, due to them rusting and 1 jumps off the drives.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Delta Junction, Alaska.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buffalo saw

Date:April 26, 2011
After fighting my fall moose for four straight nights I decided to buy the saw when I drew a buffalo tag in Alaska. I waited until after I shot the buffalo and purchased the saw. It took two nights and I got some real quality steaks. I didn't have any of the problems some users mentioned. I set the saw up as per instructions and it worked great. My only problem was the throat of the saw wasn't quite deep enough for all the cuts I needed to make on the buffalo, but with the aide of a sazall, I geter done. Thanks,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Up State NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This Saw is Awesome!

Date:October 19, 2010
We butchered three bears in hours. Broke a blade at the weld. Cabela's sent a replacement next day air in Maine to our Bear Camp. Up and running in two days. Carry an extra blade. It breaks on the weld they pay for the replacement. Butchered a three more bears in Canada without skipping a beat. Take it with you or keep it at home. Great Saw. Great customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hagerman

Date:March 30, 2010
other reviews said the blade would not stay in place. a few munites of adjusting and and i cut up a whole beef and the blade never came off. the adjustment is just like a belt sander. i thought it did a great job, cutting meat, bone and frozen. and the blade is still sharp. a few munites of adjusting is all it took.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Getting Parts is a problem

Date:June 10, 2009
So many reviewers are complaining about the blade falling off. I had the same problem, but with some trial and error I found the right adjustment to keep the blade on (there is a screw on the upper wheel for this) and ever since the saw has been pretty reliable. I was happy until recently. I believe we have cut up approximately ten deer, six hogs, five lambs, and three cows. I have probably got my money's worth, but recently I was cutting through a large bone and it caused the blade to come off and when it did it caught on the lower blade guide and broke it. I thought no big deal, I contacted Pragotrade who manufactures/imports the saw and they said they can no longer get parts because the factory in Italy closed down. Now what?
I also needed to replace a piece of my 11lb sausage stuffer and that is also unavailable so unless I figure out how to manufacture my own replacement parts, these items are useless.
In the past I was able to get some parts from Pragotrade and if the situation changes I would change my recommendation, but until this gets sorted out I would shop elsewhere.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Blade wont stay on

Date:February 26, 2009
This machine really aggravates me. It looks good and runs well but no matter how I adjust it the blade keeps falling off. The blade rides on wheels that do not have any lip so every five minutes or so the blade falls off. I ordered a new blade hoping I had a blade problem and it kept doing it. We finally just went back to a hand saw. Most frustrating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh PA Chiropractor and outdoorsman
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Looks great, works poorly

Date:September 2, 2008
I bought this saw with great expectations as it carried the Cabela's brand name. The saw was easy to assemble and the directions were fairly simple to follow. The saw ran quietely and seemed to operate well, until I tried to cut some steaks from a semi-frozen loin. Blade fell off repeatedly. I would sugest that Cabela's discontinue selling this saw and replace it with a more reliable replacement even if it costs twice as much. I really feel let down for the first time by something with cabela's name on it. I am going to return the saw, hopefully they accept it back with out too much hassel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Murfreesboro,TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Do it yourself

Date:February 10, 2008
The Cabela's band saw does wonders on saving you money in the long run and bringing you closer to the game you have just taken. Do yourself a favor and process your own game with the ease of cutting meat in just the right links. If you want to take your experience to a new level purchase one of these. Have your hunting friends over for an enjoyment of an afternoon and everyone can get in the game!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: KS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butcher Band Saw

Date:January 18, 2008
The Butcher Band Saw works well.I would recommend this product to anyone.The first blade wasn't very sharp,but we ordered a second blade and it works great.We like to do our own butchering so this saw comes in handy.You can store and it doesn't take up much room.It's a great saw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: LOUISIANA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

CHEAP MADE

Date:January 7, 2008
CHEAP MADE FOR THE PRICE GOT 2- BOTH WERE BROKEN SENT BACK FOR REFUND NEVER USED THEM. I GOT TO SAY THIS CABELA DID REFUND MY MONEY WITH NO HASSEL AND TRYED TO HELP WITH THIS SAW BUT AFTER 2 THAT WAS BROKEN I GAVE UP ON THE SAW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works well but hard to clean

Date:December 3, 2007
I used the band saw for the first time to butcher a few lambs this weekend. The saw worked well, but the blade broke after only 2-1/2 lambs. Had to special order a new blade (2 weeks for delivery). Cleaning the saw is time consuming. It took me about 1 hour to disassemble and clean. It seems to be well made and is a heavy duty unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butcher Band Saw

Date:October 8, 2007
A real time saver, Can take frozen quarters out of the freezer and cut out perfect thick steaks, chops etc.
If you value your time, you will purchase this saw.
My only knock on the saw is that clean up takes time, and parts have to be unbolted for cleaning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Commercial Butcher Band Saw
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kremmling, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This product rocks

Date:November 13, 2006
I have had my saw for three years now and I recommend this item to anyone. Unless you like spending 12 hours deboning your critter, have fun I'll be hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.